OLYMPIA – March 22, 2011 – Less than four weeks remain to apply for tax amnesty with the Washington State Department of Revenue.
April 18 is the application deadline for this temporary opportunity to pay back taxes without penalties or interest. All back taxes must be paid by April 30.
The Washington State Legislature authorized the limited-period amnesty at the request of Governor Chris Gregoire.
“This unique opportunity allows businesses that have struggled during this difficult economic period to get caught up on their state business taxes,” said Revenue Director Suzan DelBene. “It also helps the people of Washington State by generating dollars that can be used to fund essential state services.”
The amnesty program allows businesses that have outstanding liability on certain taxes due prior to February 1, 2011, to pay those taxes without paying the associated penalties and interest.
So far, more than 5,000 businesses have applied for the program, generating more than $12.6 million for the state while saving themselves $4.2 million in penalties and interest.
Businesses wishing to take advantage of this program need to act soon.
“Businesses shouldn’t wait until the last minute to apply,” said DelBene. “If they do, and they inadvertently make a mistake on their application, they may not have time to submit a corrected application and could miss out on this opportunity.”
The amnesty application and other information on qualifying can be found on the Department’s website at www.PayMyTax.org.
# # #