This publication provides
general information about
the cigarette tax. It does not
cover every aspect of the tax.
In addition, it does not change
or overrule any administrative
regulation or ruling issued by

the Department of Revenue.

DID YOU KNOW ...

If you buy cigarettes in another
state and bring them back to
Washington, you may owe
Washington taxes.

Cigarettes purchased at military
installations also carry some
restrictions.

If you possess untaxed
cigarettes in Washington, you
may be subject to penalties.

Note: An additional cigarette
tax is collected by the United
States government. The federal
excise tax is normally collected
when a manufacturer removes
cigarettes from the factory or
when a importer removes

cigarettes from customs custody.

TAXES ON CIGARETTES

Washington imposes a cigarette tax
on the sale, use, consumption,
possession or distribution of
cigarettes.

The Washington tax on a pack of 20
cigarettes is $3.025 and on a pack
of 25 cigarettes is $3.78125.
Cigarette tax is paid by purchasing
tax stamps. The stamps must be
affixed to cigarette packs to show
proof of payment of the tax.

Cigarettes possessed in Washington
are subject to cigarette tax and either
the sales or use tax. Use tax is due on
items that are used in Washington,
including cigarettes, that are
purchased without paying sales tax.
Use tax is calculated in the same
manner as the sales tax.

You are entitled to a credit for sales
or use taxes paid to another state.
There is no credit for cigarette taxes
paid to another state.

When a consumer purchases
cigarettes from a Washington retailer,
the cigarette tax is included in the
purchase price (tax stamp should

be affixed to the package) and the
sales tax is collected.

UNTAXED CIGARETTE PURCHASES

BY CONSUMERS

Effective July 26, 2009 it is illegal to
ship or transport cigarettes ordered or
purchased by mail or through the
internet to anyone in Washington State
other than a licensed cigarette retailer
or wholesaler. Shipping or transporting
of unstamped cigarettes ordered or
purchased by mail or through the
internet to a consumer is a class C
felony (maximum fine of $5,000).
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If a consumer buys cigarettes from an
out-of-state retailer (i.e. while visiting
Oregon or Idaho) or from an in-state
tribal retailer (without a Washington
or tribal tax paid stamp affixed),
Washington's cigarette and use taxes
must be paid directly to the Department
of Revenue on a Tax Declaration for
Cigarettes form within 72 hours of
possession of the cigarettes. The tax
declaration form is available on our
website dor.wa.gov or by calling
1-800-647-7706.

Keep a copy of the completed form
and evidence of payment to support
your legal possession of unstamped
cigarettes. If you have unstamped
cigarettes in your possession and you
are stopped by law enforcement
officers, you must have evidence with
you that you intended to report and pay
any taxes due, such as the completed
tax declaration. If you do not have this
evidence with you, the cigarettes will
be considered contraband.

PENALTIES FOR POSSESSION

OF UNTAXED CIGARETTES

Any untaxed cigarettes found in your
possession are considered contraband
and, under state law, are subject to
seizure and forfeiture. You will be
assessed cigarette tax, sales or use
tax, a 5% assessment penalty and

a remedial penalty at the greater

of $250 or $10 per pack.

Possession of 50 cartons or less of
untaxed cigarettes, without proper
notice, authorization and documentation
is a misdemeanor. Possession of more
than 50 cartons, without proper notice,
authorization and documentation

is a class C felony.



TRIBAL RESERVATIONS

Most tribes collect tribal cigarette and
sales tax in place of the state taxes
pursuant to tax agreements between
the tribes and the state. Anyone of
legal age may purchase and possess
cigarettes from tribal retailers covered
by one of these contracts.

Enrolled tribal members may
purchase cigarettes within their
tribe’s jurisdiction without paying
state taxes. Some Native American
tribes receive an allocation of tax
exempt cigarettes for this purpose.

Tribal retailers are obligated to collect
tax on sales to individuals who are
not enrolled members of the tribe.

If a state tax or a tribal tax is not
collected, non-tribal members who
purchase cigarettes on reservations
must pay state cigarette and use
taxes on their purchases. To remit the
tax, see section on “untaxed cigarette
purchases by consumers” on page 1.

MILITARY RESERVATIONS

If you are on active duty or retired
military person, or a dependent, you
are entitled to purchase cigarettes on
military reservations for your own use
without owing any state tax.

Military personnel are not allowed

to purchase cigarettes to give or resell
to others. The military may revoke
your commissary and exchange
privileges if you are caught doing so.
Also, the person receiving the
cigarettes will be subject to the taxes
and penalties described on page 1.

Note: Cigarette sales at non-military
retail outlets to military personnel
are taxable.

ROLL YOUR OWN CIGARETTES
Effective July 1, 2012 retailers who
provide customers with access to

a commercial roll-your-own (RYO)
cigarette-making machine are required
to provide containers for customers

to transport RYO cigarettes from the
retailer's place of business and to affix
special RYO cigarette tax stamps to
each container provided. Cigarette
tubes/papers must be provided in

one or more 20-units denominations.

CIGARETTE STAMPS
PROOF OF TAX PAID

In Washington, all cigarettes, except
those sold on military reservations,
should have a cigarette stamp affixed
to the bottom of each pack or RYO
container.

Washington State distributes stamps
with serial numbers and various
colors. Cigarettes on which
Washington State cigarette taxes
have been paid will have pink and
blue stamps on 20-packs, and blue,
white and silver stamps on 25-packs.
RYO cigarettes will have a yellow and
black stamp on a 20 cigarette
container and violet and black

stamp on a 200 cigarette container.
Tax-exempt cigarettes sold on Indian
reservations to tribal members will
have green and white stamps labeled
“Washington Tax Exempt.”

Most tribes have signed contracts
to sell cigarettes and are collecting
tribal taxes in place of state taxes.
All cigarettes sold by tribes under
an agreement will have either a
green compact stamp or their own
tax stamp.

Purchases of tribally stamped
cigarettes by non-tribal members
are intended for personal use only
and not for re-sale.

ENFORCEMENT

The Liquor and Cannabis Board
enforces the cigarette tax for
Washington State. The Board enforces
retail and wholesale licensing, sales
to minors, vending machine sales,
sampling and illegal cigarette sales
and possession.

For more information on cigarette
enforcement activities or to file a
complaint or a tip, you can visit the
Liquor and Cannabis Board's website
www.lig.wa.gov.

LICENSING

Retail, wholesale and vending
machine cigarette licenses must

be obtained through the Business
Licenses Services. They can be reached
by calling (800) 451-7985 or visiting
their website at www.bls.dor.wa.gov.

Annual license fees are:

Wholesaler........................$650
Branch Wholesaler.................. $115
Retailer..............ocv i 393
Commercial Cigarette

Making Machine........c.ccceuueee. $93
Vending Machire...................$30

Wholesalers are required to post

a $5,000 Proper Performance Bond.
Retailers and wholesalers are
required to complete a personal/
criminal history statement.

CIGARETTE TAX FUNDING

The cigarette tax is currently
deposited into the state's general
fund, which supports most state
services. In the fiscal year 2011
(July 1, 2010 thru June 30, 2011),
the cigarette tax generated
$432.6 million.




Cigarette tax stamps used in Washington State

Washington State distributes these ten stamps:

Regular stamps for packs containing 20 cigarettes Stamps for wide packs or hand stamping

" 03452
o4l 7E 24680

Indian allocation tax exempt stamps for sale
to enrolled tribal members only

Effective July 1, 2012, retailers who provide customers with access to a commercial roll-your-own (RYO) cigarette-
making machine are required to provide containers for customers to transport RYO cigarettes from the retailer's place
of business and to affix cigarette tax stamps to each container provided.

Stamps for containers of 20 cigarettes Stamps for containers of 200 cigarettes
" WASHINGTON * WASHINGTON
03452 03452
19508 | - 19508

RYO20 " RYO 200

Actual size of stamp:
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These compact tribes have designed their own stamps. Cigarettes bearing these
stamps can be purchased by anyone and are legal on and off the reservation.
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Compact stamps are used by tribes that have signed a

contract with the state to collect cigarette and sales taxes.
Cigarettes with compact stamps can be purchased by
anyone and are legal on and off the reservation.

Actual size of stamp:

eaiss | dgE
SPECIAL NOTICE

Special notice dated May 25,
2012 - Commercial cigarette-making
machines operated at retail
establishments and the taxation

of roll-your-own cigarettes.

Special Notice dated April 13,
2010 - Cigarette tax rate increases,
identifies the new tax rate that
began May 1, 2010.

FORMS

Tax Declaration for Cigarettes
(#82-2090)

Washington Cigarette Wholesaler
Information (#82-2099)

Lummi

Nisqually
Nooksack

Muckleshoot

These tribes use the generic compact stamp:
Jamestown S'Klallam

Quinault
Sauk-Suiattle
Skokomish
Snoqualmie
Suquamish

Port Gamble S'Klallam

LAWS AND RULES

Revised Code of Washington
(RCW) Chapter 82.24

Tax on cigarettes

Washington Administrative Code
(WAC) WAC 458-20-186
Tax on cigarettes

WAC 458-20-192
Indians - Indian Country

Special notices, forms, rules and laws
and other publications are available
on our website at dor.wa.gov or you
can request copies by calling our
Telephone Information Center at
1-800-647-7706.

Resources to help quit smoking
Washington State Department of Health Tobacco Quit Line website: quitline.com

Washington Tobacco Quit Line Phone Numbers: 1-800-QUIT-NOW (1-800-784-8669)
Spanish Line: 1-877-2NO-FUME (1-877-266-3863)

Hearing Impaired: 1-877-777-6534
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FOR MORE INFORMATION

If you have specific questions
about the cigarette tax, contact
the Department of Revenue at
1-360-534-1503, option 3.

You may also write to:

Special Programs
Washington State
Department of Revenue
PO Box 47477

Olympia, WA 98504-7477
FAX (360) 534-1499



DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE

LOCAL OFFICE LOCATIONS

1904 Humboldt St, Suite A 19800 North Creek Parkway, Suite 101
PO Box 1176 BOTHELL, WA 98011
2101 4th Ave, Suite 1400 BELLINGHAM 98227-1176 (425) 984-6400

SEATTLE 98121-2300
(206) 727-5300

(360) 594-4840

734 E First St, Suite B
PO Box 400

PORT ANGELES 98362-0064
(360) 417-9900

20819 72nd Ave South
Suite 680

KENT 98032

(425) 656-5100

6500 Linderson Way SW
Suite 102

PO Box 47478
OLYMPIA 98504-7478
1-800-647-7706

3315 South 23rd St, Suite 300 8008 NE 4th Plain Blvd, Suite 320
PO Box 111180 PO Box 1648

TACOMA 98411-1180 VANCOUVER 98668-1648

(253) 382-2000 (360) 256-2060

TELEPHONE INFORMATION CENTER
1-800-647-7706

WEBSITE
DOR.WA.GOV

For tax assistance or to request this document in an alternate format,
visit our website, dor.wa.gov or call 1-800-647-7706. Teletype (TTY) users
may call (360) 705-6718.

The information contained in this fact sheet is current as of the date of this
publication and provides general information about Washington's business taxes.
It does not cover every aspect of the taxes, nor does it alter or supersede any
administrative regulations or rulings issued by the Department.

Department of n
Revenue (4

Washington State

630 N Chelan Ave, Suite B-3
PO Box 220

WENATCHEE 98807-0220
(509) 663-9714

SPOKANE 99201-2456
(509) 327-0200

3703 River Rd, Suite 3
YAKIMA 98902-7325
(509) 454-5160

1657 Fowler St
PO Box 140
RICHLAND 99352
(509) 987-1201

1330 N Washington, Suite 5600
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