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Washington State

FOREST EXCISE TAX

Reporting information
Timber from private and public land

Registration

A Forest Excise Tax Registration Number is a unique
account number assigned by the Department of Revenue to
identify each harvester. This is not a UBI number.

Tax paid by the harvester
Timber harvested in Washington is subject to the Forest
Excise Tax.

When timber is harvested from private land, the person who
owns the timber at the time of the harvest is responsible for
paying Forest Excise Tax. Contractors performing labor and
services for the timber owner are not responsible for the
Forest Excise Tax. When the owner of the timber cannot be
determined, the landowner at the time of harvest will be
responsible for the Forest Excise Tax.

When timber is harvested from public lands, the timber
owner is the first person (other than the public entity) to
acquire title or possessory interest to the timber.

Export restrictions

Please be advised that all timber harvested from public lands
is export restricted. Purchasers have specific reporting
requirements to the Department of Revenue, and logs must
be properly painted and branded prior to leaving the harvest
site. For a complete description of regulations, see WAC
chapter 240-15. Contact the Department for additional
information or reporting forms by calling 1-800-548-8829 or
visit foresttax.dor.wa.gov.

Reporting periods

Forest Excise Tax is paid quarterly. For private land the tax is
due at the end of the month following the quarter in which
the timber is harvested. For public land the tax is due at the
end of the month following the quarter in which the
purchaser is billed by the seller for the timber.

Quarter 1

January 1 through March 31 due April 30
Quarter 2

April 1 through June 30 due July 31
Quarter 3

July 1 through September 30 due October 31
Quarter 4

October 1 through December 31 due January 31
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Penalties
Late filing penalties are due on returns if payment is not
received by the due date.

e 9 percent penalty assessed after the due date.

e 19 percent penalty assessed after the last day of
the month following the due date.

e 29 percent penalty assessed after the last day of
the second month following the due date.

Forest Excise Tax return

All harvesters with active permits must file a return each
quarter until the harvest is completed. Most timber
harvests on private land require a permit from the
Department of Natural Resources. A copy of your
approved permit will be sent to the Department of
Revenue. If a permit is not required, you must call the
Department of Revenue at

1-800-548-8829 to get setup with an in-house permit.

A harvester can file online or by paper. The Department
of Revenue will mail tax returns at the end of each
quarter to all harvesters with active permits. If you do not
receive your return contact the Department of Revenue.
If a harvester chooses to start E-filing, they can sign up
for alerts and an email reminder will be sent quarterly.
Paper returns will no longer be mailed.

E-file returns

With our E-file system, harvesters can file and pay
Forest Excise Taxes online. E-file does the calculations,
remembers taxpayer information, offers you more ways
to pay, and saves time and money.

Visit dor.wa.gov and click “Register” in the upper right
corner to begin. You will need your Tax Reporting
Account Number (TRN) and Pre-Assigned Access Code
(PAC) from the forest tax return mailed to you. Once
registered you can sign up for alerts and notifications.



Tax rate

The tax rate is 5 percent and is calculated on the stumpage
value of the timber. Stumpage Value Tables are published
by the Department of Revenue twice a year for those
reporting on the Standard Harvester return. Anyone who
cuts less than two million board feet per calendar year has
the option of using the Small Harvester return and calculates
their tax based on the gross mill price minus the harvesting
and marketing costs. For public harvesters, the taxable
stumpage value is the actual amount paid for the timber in
cash and other considerations.

Harvesters owing tax less than $50 (after EARR credit is
applied) for the quarter (combined private and public land)
are excused from payment of tax. However, they must
complete the return and submit it to the Department of
Revenue through E-file or by mail.

EARR credit

Permits that are eligible for the EARR credit (Enhanced
Aquatic Resources Requirements) receive a credit equal to
0.8 percent of stumpage value. Credit eligibility is
determined by the Department of Natural Resources.

No harvest

If there is no harvest activity in a quarter, a “No Harvest”
return must be filed to avoid delinquency. Check the No
Harvest box on the return and mail it to the Department of
Revenue. Check the appropriate closure columns if the
harvest is complete or no future harvest is to be reported.
You may also file a “No Harvest” return on E-file or by
calling 1-800-547-9815.

Business and Occupation Tax (B&O)

Timber harvesting is considered a business activity under
Washington law and must be reported on your B&O tax
return. Small harvesters with no other business activity will
become liable for the B&O tax and must register when the
annual gross harvest value is $225,000 or more. For more
information, call us at 1-800-548-8829.

Records retention

For purposes of audit, the records used to determine the
amount of tax due must be kept available for review by the
Department of Revenue for five years (RCW 82.32.070).

For help with tax returns

If you need help filing a paper tax return, you may call a
forester to make an appointment. The district offices and
foresters telephone numbers are listed on this page.

You may call our toll-free telephone number at
1-800-548-8829 for assistance Monday through Friday,
8am.to5 p.m.

District Offices

Bellingham

1904 Humboldt St.
Suite A

Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 305-0201

Spokane

1330 N. Washington St.
Suite 5600

Spokane, WA 99201-2456
(509) 327-0271

Tacoma

Home Street Bank

3315 S 23" St.

Suite 300

Tacoma, WA 98405-1685
(253) 382-2180

Tumwater

6400 Linderson Way SW
Tumwater, WA 98501
(360) 534-1324

Vancouver

8008 NE 4" Plain Blvd.
Suite 320

Vancouver, WA 98668
(360) 256-2126

Mailing Address
Department of Revenue
Special Programs Division
Forest Tax Program

PO Box 47472

Olympia, WA 98504-7472

Toll Free: 1-800-548-8829

Website: foresttax.dor.wa.gov

For tax assistance or to request this document in an alternate format, please call 1-800-548-8829. Teletype (TTY) users may use the Washington Relay Service

by calling 711.
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