
  
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 
 

 

 

 
 

  
 

 

  
 

 
 

 
 
  

WASHINGTON STATE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE  

Understanding Washington’s
 

Timber Excise Tax
 
RCW 84.33 and WAC 458-40 

Timber Excise Tax 
In 1971, the Washington State 
Legislature replaced property tax 
on timber with an excise tax based 
on the stumpage or standing 
value of trees. This tax is due when 
the timber is harvested. 

Who pays the Timber Tax? 
Timber excise tax is paid quarterly 
by the timber owner also referred 
to as the timber harvester. 
y Timber is considered harvested 

at the time the timber volume 
is first determined, usually by 
scaling or weighing. 

yA person hired under contract 
for labor or mechanical services 
(i.e. logger) is not liable for 

timber tax. 


y Timber tax applies to timber 
harvested from any private or 
public lands within the State  
of Washington. 

yWhen timber is harvested from 
public lands, the harvester  
is the first person (other than 
a public entity) to acquire title 
or possessory interest in the 
timber. 

Distribution of Timber Tax 
The five percent timber excise tax 
collected by the Department of 
Revenue is composed of a four 
percent county tax and a one 
percent state tax.  
y The county portion is distributed 

back to the county where the 
timber was harvested.  
It helps fund capital projects, 
voter-approved bonds, school 
maintenance and operations, 
county roads, libraries and  
fire districts.  

y The state’s portion goes to the 
state general fund. 

How to register for 
Timber Tax 
Call the Department of Revenue’s 
Forest Tax Section at  
1-800-548-8829. 

Due Dates 

Quarter of  
Harvest 

Tax Due 

1st Quarter 

(Jan 1– March 31) 

April 30 

2nd Quarter 

(April 1 – June 30) 

July 31 

3rd Quarter 

(July 1 –Sept. 30) 

October 31 

4th Quarter 

(Oct. 1 – Dec. 31) 

January 31 

AUGUST 2010 

When to use the Standard 
Harvester Return 
Anyone who harvests more than 
two million board feet of timber 
in a calendar year must use the 
Department’s Standard Harvester 
return. 

y Standard harvesters calculate 
their taxable stumpage value 
by using the Department 
Stumpage Value Tables. 

y The tables and timber tax 
reporting instructions are 
available online at www. 
foresttax.dor.wa.gov. 

When to use the Small 
Harvester Return 
Anyone who harvests less than 
two million board feet of timber in 
a calendar year is a small harvester 
and has the option of filing their 
timber tax using either: 

y The Standard Harvester Return 
or 

y The Small Harvester Return, 
where the taxable stumpage 
value is either: 

y The gross mill price minus 
allowable documented 
harvesting and marketing costs 
or if actual harvesting and 
marketing costs are unknown 
use the Department allowance 
of 35 percent of gross mill price. 

http:foresttax.dor.wa.gov


 

 
 

 

 

  
 

  

 

 

 

 

  

 
 

 

 

 

 

   

 
 

 
  

 

 

 

 
 

  
 

 

 
 

    

WASHINGTON STATE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE  

How to report Standing 
Timber sales 
Small harvesters who purchase 
timber that has not been cut from 
the stump. 

y If timber is harvested within 30 
months of purchase use the Small 
Harvester return to determine 
their taxable stumpage value by 
using the total purchase price, 
plus other considerations such  
as permanent roads, 
reforestation, etc. 

y If the timber is harvested after  
30 months the harvester must 
use either the standard return  
or the small harvester return. 

For those who harvest over two 
million board feet in a calendar 
year use the Department 
Stumpage Value Tables to 
determine the taxable stumpage 
value. 

How to report purchases 
of Public Timber 
For timber harvested on public 
land, the taxable stumpage value  
is determined as follows: 

For Competitive or Bid Sales: 
The taxable stumpage value is the 
actual amount paid for the timber 
in cash and other consideration 
entered on the Department’s Public 
Harvester Return. 

yOther consideration includes 
anything of value given in lieu of 
cash – such as permanent roads 
constructed as part of the timber 
sale contract. 

y For “Log sort sales” the taxable 
stumpage value is the price paid 
for the logs minus the harvesting 
and marketing costs provided by 
the selling agency.  

y If the selling public agency does 
not supply actual costs to the 
purchaser, use the 35 percent 
Department allowance. 

For Non-Competitive Sales: 
Use the Department’s Stumpage 
Value Table to determine the 
taxable stumpage value or if 
reporting as a qualified small 
harvester use the gross mill 
receipts minus harvesting and 
marketing costs to determine 
taxable stumpage value. 

Public Timber is Export 
Restricted 
Public timber in unprocessed 
form is export restricted. Four 
forms need to be submitted to the 
Department of Revenue Forest Tax 
Section by the purchaser:  

File the following Forms 
y Purchaser Certification: Due  

at the time of purchase 

yOperations Plan: Due before 
commencing the harvest 

y Transferee Certification: Due 
prior to logs being transported 

yDisposition Certification: Due 
after the harvest is completed 

Log Export Forms are available on 
line at www.foresttax.dor.wa.gov 

Are Christmas Trees subject 
to Timber Tax? 
Christmas trees grown by 
intensive cultivation (tilling of 
the soil and control of the brush 
and weeds) on land classified as 
agricultural land under the open 
space tax law are not subject to 
Timber excise tax. 

Christmas trees grown under 
“wild” conditions, on designated 
forest land are subject to Timber 
tax when harvested. 

Are Short Rotation 
Hardwoods subject 
to Timber Tax? 
No, the harvesting of short 
rotation hardwoods, such as 
hybrid cottonwoods or poplars 
are not subject to timber tax when 
grown using agricultural methods 
and are less than 15 years old. 

Tax Credit Available 
A tax credit (Enhanced Aquatic 
Resources Requirements (EARR 
credit) equivalent to 0.8 percent 
of the taxable stumpage value 
is available if approved by DNR 
Forest Practices. 

Business and Occupation 
Tax (B&O) 
Timber harvesting is considered  
a business activity and is subject 
to B&O.  

Standard and public timber 
harvesters need to file their B&O 
tax electronically and complete 
the annual tax survey by March 31 
in order to receive a lower rate. 

Small harvesters are not required 
to file their B&O tax electronically 
or complete the annual tax 
survey to use the lower rate. Small 
harvesters are also eligible for up 
to a $100,000 deduction and  
a Small Business credit. 

Go to www.dor.wa.gov for more 
information. 

Taxpayer Assistance 
Contact Forest Tax 
at 1-800-548-8829  
or visit our website  
www.foresttax.dor.wa.gov 

http://dor.wa.gov 

To inquire about the availability of this publication in an alternate format for the visually impaired, please call (360) 705-6715. 
Teletype ( TTY ) users please call (360) 705-6718. 
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