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Cigarettes Sold in Washington Required to be Certified as Reduced Ignition Propensity 

With the exception of existing inventory (as noted below), effective August 1, 2009, only reduced ignition pro-
pensity cigarettes may be sold in Washington State. A “reduced ignition propensity cigarette” is one that has 
been designed to be less likely than a conventional cigarette to ignite soft furnishings, couches, and other flam-
mable items. 2SSB 5642. (Chapter 239, Laws of 2008) 

Sales of existing inventory 
Retail and wholesale dealers may continue to sell from their existing inventory of not reduced ignition propen-
sity cigarettes on or after the August 1, 2009 effective date, but only if the dealer can establish that: 

1) 	state tax stamps were affixed to the cigarettes before August 1, 2009; and 
2) 	the inventory was purchased before August 1, 2009, in a comparable quantity to the inventory purchased 

during the same period in 2008. 

Sales of certified cigarettes 
Cigarettes stamped and sold on or after August 1, 2009, must be certified by the manufacturer and filed with 
the Washington State Director of Fire Protection as reduced ignition propensity. Manufacturers must pay a 
fee of $250 for each cigarette listed in a certification. Cigarettes that are certified must be marked to indicate 
compliance with the testing and performance standard requirements. In addition, certified cigarettes must be 
recertified every three years. 

The law does not prohibit the manufacture or sale of cigarettes that do not meet the reduced ignition propensity 
requirement. However, these cigarettes must be stamped for sale in another state or packaged for sale outside 
the United States. 

Penalty for not complying with requirements 
Any manufacturer, wholesale dealer, agent, retailer, or other person who knowingly sells non-certified 
cigarettes faces fines from $500 to $25,000 per sale, not to exceed $100,000 in any 30 day period, and seizure 
of the cigarettes. 

If a federal cigarette ignition propensity standard is adopted and becomes effective, the Washington State 
Director of Fire Protection will prepare and submit necessary legislation to repeal this chapter. 

More information 
If you need assistance or have questions, contact the Special Programs Division at (360) 570-3265. 
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