
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

  
 

 
 

  
 

 
 

  
 
 

   

 

 

 
 

 
  

  

 

   
 

  
    

 
 

  

   

 
 

 

 
 

  
 

   

  

  
 

 

  
  

  
  

  
 

  
 

 

  
 

  
 

  

 
 

 
 

 
 

  
  

   

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
  

 

 
  

  

 

 

Most boats must be titled and registered with the
Department of Licensing except for boats that are less
than 16 feet in length and motorized by 10 horsepower
or less.
You may register your boat at your local county
auditor’s office or with a vehicle licensing agency.

You must have the vessel’s hull number; signatures
of all owners with the exception of lien holder(s);
and proof of ownership, such as the Manufacturer’s
Certificate of Origin, Carpenter’s Certificate,
Manufacturer’s Invoice or original Certificate of Title.
If you have already paid sales or use on the vessel, you
must show proper documentation to receive a tax credit.

Registration Process
The registration year for vessels registered in
Washington begins July 1 and runs through
June 30. When you register your vessel with the
Department of Licensing, you may request the
continued use of your Coast Guard registration
number.
Boat registration fees include:
f a one-time titling fee (due when applying

for the certificate of ownership)

f an annual registration fee

f an applicable filing fee

You must complete a Declaration of Value if
the most recent purchase price of your boat is
unknown, your boat is homemade, or you acquired
the boat by trade, lease or gift. The Department of
Revenue may review the declared value.
All boat owners must notify the Department
of Licensing within 15 days of the following:
f owner’s change of address

f destruction, loss, abandonment, theft,
or recovery of the boat

f loss or destruction of a valid certificate or
registration

Within five working days of selling your vessel,
you must notify the Department of Licensing of
the following:
f the name and address of the owner and

transferee

f the vessel’s registration number (WN) and/or
hull identification number (HIN)

Renewal reminder notices are mailed in April. If
you do not receive a renewal notice, contact your
local county auditor or licensing agent.

Registration for Nonresidents
A nonresident may use their “properly registered”
vessel in Washington for 60 days or less without
the need to register or pay use tax. A properly
registered vessel is one that:
f is registered or numbered under the laws of

a country other than the United States

f has a valid United States Customs Service
cruising license

f has a valid number issued under federal law
or by an approved issuing authority from the
vessel’s state of principal operation

After 60 day of use, the vessel is subject
to Washington’s registration requirements and
is subject to use tax based on the vessel’s
current value. A nonresident individual may
extend the time of use in this state by:
f obtaining an identification document from the

Department of Licensing within the first 60
days of use in this state. The document allows
the vessel to be used in this state for up to six
months in any consecutive 12 months (RCW
88.02.030)

f purchasing a one-time vessel use permit, if the
vessel is 30 feet or longer and has not been
used in this state before. The permit must be
purchased within 14 days of when the vessel
enters the state

The above exceptions do not apply to vessels
owned by nonresident entities (partnerships,
corporations, limited liability companies, etc.) For
information about the purchase of a vessel in
Washington State by a nonresident or a one-time
vessel use permit, please refer to the Sales and
Use Tax section.

Title and Registration Notice to Boat Dealers 
All boat dealers must register annually with 
the Department of Licensing and pay a fee. 
Contact the Dealer Division, Vehicle Services 
at (360) 664-6466 for more information. 

For More Information  
Titling and Registration: 
Department of Licensing 
Customer Service Unit 

PO Box 9042 
Olympia, WA 98507-9042 
(360) 902-3770, option 5 

Boating Safety and Environmental  
Protection Programs: 
Parks and Recreation Commission 
Boating Program 

PO Box 42654 
Olympia, WA 98507-2654 
(360) 586-6592 

If the vessel is used primarily for commercial 
purposes and not for pleasure, contact the 
Department of Revenue at (360) 570-3265, option 5 
for information regarding property tax obligations. 

To request a Use Tax Return, register to conduct 
business, or ask questions about the sales or use 
taxes, contact any Department of Revenue field 
office or the Telephone Information Center at 
1-800-647-7706. 

Teletype (TTY) users please call (360) 705-6718. 

The Department of Licensing has a policy of 
providing equal access to its services. 

If you need special accommodation, please call 
(360) 702-3770 or TTY (360) 664-8885. 

While boat ownership can be fun 
and exciting, it involves some 
responsibilities. This brochure 
explains the title, registration and 
tax responsibilities. 

Title, Registration and 
Tax Responsibilities 

of Boat Owners 

Prepared by the Taxpayer Services Division 

Printed on recycled paper 
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Sales and Use Tax 
Use tax applies to the use of articles within this state 
acquired without payment of sales tax. Thus, articles 
purchased for use in this state are subject to sales tax 
or use tax, but not both.
Sales tax is based on the selling price, while use tax is 
based on the value of the article when it is first used 
in Washington. The value includes any delivery charges 
paid to the seller.
You owe use tax if you acquired your boat without 
paying sales tax.
f Sales tax and use tax rates are the same and,

depending on location, range from 7 to 9.5 percent.
If you purchase your boat from a Washington retailer,
the retailer will collect the sales tax due based on the 
rate in effect at the retailer’s location. If you purchase 
your boat from an individual or from out-of-state, the 
county auditor or licensing agent will collect the use 
tax based on the location the boat will be kept. If your 
boat is not required to be registered, you may pay the 
use tax by completing a Use Tax Return. This form is 
available on the Department of Revenue’s website at 
dor.wa.gov or call 1-800-647-7706.

Retail sales and use tax exemptions for boats are limited
to the following:
f boats 30 feet or longer owned by nonresident

individuals and brought into this state temporarily
for their use or enjoyment if the owner purchases a
vessel use permit, explained in Nonresident Boats
Purchases

f boats owned by nonresidents and brought into this
state temporarily for their use or enjoyment. Refer
to the Registration for Nonresidents section

f boats purchased in this state by nonresidents for
use outside of Washington, subject to the conditions
explained in Nonresident Boats Purchases

f boats purchased primarily for use in conducting
interstate or foreign commerce by transporting persons
or property for hire, or for use in conducting commercial
deep sea fishing operations outside the territorial
waters of this state. (“Primarily” means more than 50
percent of the time. If the boat is not used primarily for
the exempt purpose, sales or use tax applies.)

f boats purchased only to rent/lease or charter at
substantially fair rental value without an operator.The
lessor must collect sales tax on the lease payments. (If
the boat is leased or rented with an operator, or provided
to others at substantially less than fair rental value, the
lessor owes use tax on the full value of the boat.)

Nonresident Boats Purchases
Sales tax exemptions are available to a nonresident  
who purchases a boat in Washington for use outside  
the state if:
f the boat requires Coast Guard registration or 

registration by the state of principal use, and it will not 
be used within Washington for more than 45 days, and 
an appropriate exemption certificate is completed at 
the time of sale.

f the boat is 30 feet or longer and the buyer is a 
nonresident individual who, when purchasing the 
boat, purchases a one-time vessel use permit from 
the boat dealer. The cost of the permit is $500 for 
boats 50 feet in length or less and $800 for boats 
over 50 feet. The nonresident individual must make 
an irrevocable election to take the exemption and 
complete an affidavit. The vessel use permit, which 
must be displayed on the boat, allows the nonresident 
individual to use the boat in Washington for up to 
12 continuous months without being subject to 
registration and use tax requirements. After the 
permit expires, the nonresident individual may not 
use the boat in Washington for 24 months after the 
permit expires. Any use of the boat in Washington 
before the 24-month period ends will subject the 
nonresident individual to the state’s registration 
and use tax requirements. After the 24-month 
period ends, the nonresident individual may use the 
vessel in Washington as explained in the section 
discussing registration requirements for nonresidents.
Nonresident entities, such as partnerships,
corporations, limited liability companies, etc., are not 
eligible for this exemption. Not all boat dealers have 
chosen to sell the vessel use permits.

f the boat is 30 feet or longer and the buyer is a 
nonresident individual who, after purchasing the boat 
from someone other than a boat dealer, purchases a 
one-time vessel use permit as described above within 
14 days of purchasing the boat.

Tax Responsibility
 
Affected Vessel Owners 
Check the chart to see if you have to register your boat and 
pay the excise or property tax. 

Excise Tax Registration/ 
Required Titling Required 

Sailboats 
Less 
than 
16ft. 

Motor no yes 

No 
Motor no no 

16ft. & 
longer Motor yes yes 

No 
Motor yes yes 

Human 
Powered 

Any 
length no no 

Motorized 
Less 
than 
16ft. 

no yes* 

16ft. & 
longer yes yes 

Documented yes** Reg. Only 

Personal property tax applies to most commercial boats. 
* No, if 10 horsepower or less when used only on 

non-federally regulated waters. 
** Unless vessel qualifies for exemption. 

Watercraft Excise Tax 
The watercraft excise tax generally applies to all 
registered boats that are 16 feet or longer or equipped 
with a motor capacity of more than 10 horsepower. 
Excise tax is calculated at one-half of one percent of 
the boat’s fair market value. A vessel is exempt from  
the watercraft excise tax if it is: 
f used exclusively for commercial fishing purposes 

f less than 16 feet in overall length and is not used 
on federally regulated waters 

f owned and held for sale by a dealer 

f owned by certain nonprofit youth organizations 

For more information, contact the Department of 
Licensing at (360) 902-3770. 

Personal Property Tax 
Generally, boats exempt from the watercraft excise tax 
are, instead, subject to the personal property tax. You 
must list your vessel with the Special Programs Division 
of the Department of Revenue at (360) 570-3265, 
option 5. Certain vessels are taxed only for the time 
they are in Washington. In January of each year, the 
Department sends a Watercraft Personal Property Notice 
of Value to each vessel owner showing the market value 
and asking each owner to report how many days the 
vessel was in the state the previous year. In March, the 
property tax statement is mailed to each taxpayer with 
full payment due by April 30. 

Business Tax 
If you use your boat for commercial activities, such as 
charter or commercial fishing, you must register your 
business with the Department of Revenue. Based on 
the type of activity, your income may be subject to the 
business and occupation tax or public utility tax. In 
certain instances, you may be required to collect retail 
sales tax. 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 
 

 

 

 
  

 
 

 

 

  
 
 
 

   
  

  

  
 

  
 
 

 
 
 

  
  

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

  

Watercraft Excise Tax
The watercraft excise tax generally applies to all 
registered boats that are 16 feet or longer or equipped 
with a motor capacity of more than 10 horsepower.
Excise tax is calculated at one-half of one percent of  
the boat’s fair market value. A vessel is exempt from  
the watercraft excise tax if it is:
f used exclusively for commercial fishing purposes

f less than 16 feet in overall length and is not used  
on federally regulated waters 

f owned and held for sale by a dealer

f owned by certain nonprofit youth organizations

For more information, contact the Department of 
Licensing at (360) 902-3770.

Personal Property Tax
Generally, boats exempt from the watercraft excise tax 
are, instead, subject to the personal property tax. You 
must list your vessel with the Special Programs Division 
of the Department of Revenue at (360) 570-3265,
option 5. Certain vessels are taxed only for the time 
they are in Washington. In January of each year, the 
Department sends a Watercraft Personal Property Notice 
of Value to each vessel owner showing the market value 
and asking each owner to report how many days the 
vessel was in the state the previous year. In March, the 
property tax statement is mailed to each taxpayer with 
full payment due by April 30.

Business Tax
If you use your boat for commercial activities, such as 
charter or commercial fishing, you must register your 
business with the Department of Revenue. Based on 
the type of activity, your income may be subject to the 
business and occupation tax or public utility tax. In 
certain instances, you may be required to collect retail 
sales tax.

Affected Vessel Owners
Check the chart to see if you have to register your boat and
pay the excise or property tax.

Excise Tax 
Required

Registration/
Titling Required

Sailboats
Less
than
16ft.

Motor no yes

No
Motor no no

16ft. &
longer Motor yes yes

No
Motor yes yes

Human 
Powered

Any
length no no

Motorized
Less
than
16ft.

no yes*

16ft. &
longer yes yes

Documented yes** Reg. Only

Personal property tax applies to most commercial boats.
* No, if 10 horsepower or less when used only on

non-federally regulated waters.
** Unless vessel qualifies for exemption.

Tax Responsibility Sales and Use Tax 
Use tax applies to the use of articles within this state 
acquired without payment of sales tax. Thus, articles 
purchased for use in this state are subject to sales tax 
or use tax, but not both. 
Sales tax is based on the selling price, while use tax is 
based on the value of the article when it is first used 
in Washington. The value includes any delivery charges 
paid to the seller. 
You owe use tax if you acquired your boat without 
paying sales tax. 
f Sales tax and use tax rates are the same and, 

depending on location, range from 7 to 9.5 percent. 
If you purchase your boat from a Washington retailer, 
the retailer will collect the sales tax due based on the 
rate in effect at the retailer’s location. If you purchase 
your boat from an individual or from out-of-state, the 
county auditor or licensing agent will collect the use 
tax based on the location the boat will be kept. If your 
boat is not required to be registered, you may pay the 
use tax by completing a Use Tax Return. This form is 
available on the Department of Revenue’s website at 
dor.wa.gov or call 1-800-647-7706. 

Retail sales and use tax exemptions for boats are limited 
to the following: 
f boats 30 feet or longer owned by nonresident 

individuals and brought into this state temporarily 
for their use or enjoyment if the owner purchases a 
vessel use permit, explained in Nonresident Boats 
Purchases 

f boats owned by nonresidents and brought into this 
state temporarily for their use or enjoyment. Refer 
to the Registration for Nonresidents section 

f boats purchased in this state by nonresidents for 
use outside of Washington, subject to the conditions 
explained in Nonresident Boats Purchases 

f boats purchased primarily for use in conducting 
interstate or foreign commerce by transporting persons 
or property for hire, or for use in conducting commercial 
deep sea fishing operations outside the territorial 
waters of this state. (“Primarily” means more than 50 
percent of the time. If the boat is not used primarily for 
the exempt purpose, sales or use tax applies.) 

f boats purchased only to rent/lease or charter at 
substantially fair rental value without an operator. The 
lessor must collect sales tax on the lease payments. (If 
the boat is leased or rented with an operator, or provided 
to others at substantially less than fair rental value, the 
lessor owes use tax on the full value of the boat.) 

Nonresident Boats Purchases 
Sales tax exemptions are available to a nonresident  
who purchases a boat in Washington for use outside  
the state if: 
f the boat requires Coast Guard registration or 

registration by the state of principal use, and it will not 
be used within Washington for more than 45 days, and 
an appropriate exemption certificate is completed at 
the time of sale. 

f the boat is 30 feet or longer and the buyer is a 
nonresident individual who, when purchasing the 
boat, purchases a one-time vessel use permit from 
the boat dealer. The cost of the permit is $500 for 
boats 50 feet in length or less and $800 for boats 
over 50 feet. The nonresident individual must make 
an irrevocable election to take the exemption and 
complete an affidavit. The vessel use permit, which 
must be displayed on the boat, allows the nonresident 
individual to use the boat in Washington for up to 
12 continuous months without being subject to 
registration and use tax requirements. After the 
permit expires, the nonresident individual may not 
use the boat in Washington for 24 months after the 
permit expires. Any use of the boat in Washington 
before the 24-month period ends will subject the 
nonresident individual to the state’s registration 
and use tax requirements. After the 24-month 
period ends, the nonresident individual may use the 
vessel in Washington as explained in the section 
discussing registration requirements for nonresidents. 
Nonresident entities, such as partnerships, 
corporations, limited liability companies, etc., are not 
eligible for this exemption. Not all boat dealers have 
chosen to sell the vessel use permits. 

f the boat is 30 feet or longer and the buyer is a 
nonresident individual who, after purchasing the boat 
from someone other than a boat dealer, purchases a 
one-time vessel use permit as described above within 
14 days of purchasing the boat. 

http:dor.wa.gov


 

 
 

 
 

 
  

  
 

 
 

  
 

 
 

  
 
 

   

 

 

 
 

 
  

  

 

   
 

  
    

 
 

  

   

 
 

 

 
 

  
 

   

  

  
 

 

  
  

  
  

  
 

  
 

 

  
 

  
 

  

 
 

 
 

 
 

  
  

   

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
  

 

 
  

  

 

 

While boat ownership can be fun 
and exciting, it involves some 
responsibilities. This brochure 
explains the title, registration and 
tax responsibilities.

Notice to Boat Dealers
All boat dealers must register annually with
the Department of Licensing and pay a fee.
Contact the Dealer Division, Vehicle Services
at (360) 664-6466 for more information.

For More Information  
Titling and Registration:
Department of Licensing
Customer Service Unit

PO Box 9042
Olympia, WA 98507-9042
(360) 902-3770, option 5

Boating Safety and Environmental  
Protection Programs:
Parks and Recreation Commission
Boating Program

PO Box 42654
Olympia, WA 98507-2654
(360) 586-6592

If the vessel is used primarily for commercial
purposes and not for pleasure, contact the
Department of Revenue at (360) 570-3265, option 5
for information regarding property tax obligations.

To request a Use Tax Return, register to conduct
business, or ask questions about the sales or use
taxes, contact any Department of Revenue field
office or the Telephone Information Center at
1-800-647-7706.

Teletype (TTY) users please call (360) 705-6718.

The Department of Licensing has a policy of
providing equal access to its services.

If you need special accommodation, please call
(360) 702-3770 or TTY (360) 664-8885.

Title, Registration and 
Tax Responsibilities 

of Boat Owners

BR0019  09/11
Printed on recycled paper

Prepared by the Taxpayer Services Division

Title and Registration
 
Most boats must be titled and registered with the 
Department of Licensing except for boats that are less 
than 16 feet in length and motorized by 10 horsepower 
or less. 
You may register your boat at your local county 
auditor’s office or with a vehicle licensing agency. 

Registration Process 
The registration year for vessels registered in 
Washington begins July 1 and runs through 
June 30. When you register your vessel with the 
Department of Licensing, you may request the 
continued use of your Coast Guard registration 
number. 
Boat registration fees include: 
f a one-time titling fee (due when applying
 

for the certificate of ownership)
 

f an annual registration fee 

f an applicable filing fee 

You must complete a Declaration of Value if 
the most recent purchase price of your boat is 
unknown, your boat is homemade, or you acquired 
the boat by trade, lease or gift. The Department of 
Revenue may review the declared value. 
All boat owners must notify the Department
 
of Licensing within 15 days of the following:
 
f owner’s change of address
 

f destruction, loss, abandonment, theft,
 
or recovery of the boat
 

f loss or destruction of a valid certificate or
 
registration
 

Within five working days of selling your vessel, 
you must notify the Department of Licensing of 
the following: 
f the name and address of the owner and
 

transferee
 

f the vessel’s registration number (WN) and/or 
hull identification number (HIN) 

Renewal reminder notices are mailed in April. If 
you do not receive a renewal notice, contact your 
local county auditor or licensing agent. 

You must have the vessel’s hull number; signatures 
of all owners with the exception of lien holder(s); 
and proof of ownership, such as the Manufacturer’s 
Certificate of Origin, Carpenter’s Certificate, 
Manufacturer’s Invoice or original Certificate of Title. 
If you have already paid sales or use on the vessel, you 
must show proper documentation to receive a tax credit. 

Registration for Nonresidents 
A nonresident may use their “properly registered” 
vessel in Washington for 60 days or less without 
the need to register or pay use tax. A properly 
registered vessel is one that: 
f is registered or numbered under the laws of 

a country other than the United States 

f has a valid United States Customs Service
 
cruising license
 

f has a valid number issued under federal law 
or by an approved issuing authority from the 
vessel’s state of principal operation 

After 60 day of use, the vessel is subject 
to Washington’s registration requirements and 
is subject to use tax based on the vessel’s 
current value. A nonresident individual may 
extend the time of use in this state by: 
f obtaining an identification document from the 

Department of Licensing within the first 60 
days of use in this state. The document allows 
the vessel to be used in this state for up to six 
months in any consecutive 12 months (RCW 
88.02.030) 

f purchasing a one-time vessel use permit, if the 
vessel is 30 feet or longer and has not been 
used in this state before. The permit must be 
purchased within 14 days of when the vessel 
enters the state 

The above exceptions do not apply to vessels 
owned by nonresident entities (partnerships, 
corporations, limited liability companies, etc.) For 
information about the purchase of a vessel in 
Washington State by a nonresident or a one-time 
vessel use permit, please refer to the Sales and 
Use Tax section. 
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