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NEW SECTION 
 
 WAC 458-20-27701 Model Two (2) Volunteer Sellers --
Compensation. (1) Introduction.  As a requirement of membership 
in the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA), 
Washington has agreed to provide compensation to model 2 
volunteer sellers collecting and remitting tax in Washington. 
For more information concerning the SSUTA, visit 
http://www.streamlinedsalestax.org.  This section explains who 
qualifies as a model 2 volunteer seller and the compensation 
available to such sellers as authorized under RCW 82.32.715.  

The web site referenced in this section is not maintained 
by Washington or the department.  This referenced web site may 
contain recommendations that require a change to Washington law 
before becoming effective in Washington.  The web site is 
current as of the date of adoption of this section, but may 
change in future periods by action of the owner of the web site 
without notice.   
 
 (2) Model 2 volunteer sellers.  This subsection discusses 
the qualifications for status as model 2 sellers and model 2 
volunteer sellers.  Only those model 2 sellers qualifying as 
model 2 volunteer sellers are eligible to receive compensation 
for remitting sales and use taxes to Washington. 
 
 (a) What is a model 2 seller?  You will qualify as a model 
2 seller if you meet the following conditions: 

(i) You use a certified automated system to perform part of  
your sales and use tax functions.  See (e) of this subsection 
(2) for a definition of certified automated system; 

(ii) You retain the responsibility for remitting your sales 
and use taxes to Washington; and 

(iii) You are registered through the SSUTA central 
registration system (CRS) as a model 2 seller. 
 
 (b) What is a model 2 volunteer seller (also referred to 
as a “qualified seller” in this section)?  If you are a model 2 
seller under subsection (2)(a) above, you will be a qualified 
seller if you meet the following conditions: 

(i) You have represented that you do not have a legal 
requirement to register and do not in fact have a legal 
requirement to register in Washington at the time you register 
with the CRS, regardless of any previous registration you may 
have made in Washington; or 

(ii) If you have registered with Washington after November 
12, 2002 and you meet all of the following requirements 
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immediately before the date of your registration in Washington: 
(A) You have no fixed place of business in Washington 

for more than thirty (30) days; 
(B) You have less than fifty thousand dollars 

($50,000) of property in Washington; 
(C) You have less than fifty thousand dollars 

($50,000) of payroll in Washington; and 
(D) You have less than twenty-five percent (25%) of 

your total property or payroll in Washington.  
If you are required to register with the department under 

RCW 82.32.030(1), you are not relieved of the obligation to 
register in Washington by reason of subsections (2)(a) and 
(2)(b) of this section. If you have registered in Washington 
because you had a legal requirement to register resulting from 
an administrative, legislative, or judicial action, you cannot 
be a qualified seller under subsection (2)(b)(ii) of this 
section.    

 
(c) What is property for purposes of subsection (2)(b) and 

how is it valued? Property refers to the “average value” of the 
real property and tangible personal property that you own or 
rent.  This property is valued at its original cost basis. 
Rented property will be valued at eight (8) times the net annual 
rental rate of that property.  The net annual rental rate is the 
annual rental rate paid by you less any annual rental rates you 
receive from sub-rentals.  

The “average value” of this property is determined by 
averaging the value of property at the beginning of the twelve 
month (12) period immediately before the date you register with 
Washington with the value of property at the end of the twelve 
month (12) period immediately before you register. 

 
(d) What is payroll for purposes of subsection 2(b)? 

Payroll is the total amount paid by you for compensation during 
the twelve (12) month period immediately preceding the date you 
register with Washington. Compensation means wages, salaries, 
commissions, and any other form of payment to employees that 
meets the definition of gross income under section 61 of the 
Internal Revenue Code in effect on the effective date of this 
section.   

Compensation is deemed paid in Washington if: 
(i) The employee’s service is performed entirely within 

Washington;  
(ii) The employee’s service is performed both within and 

outside Washington, and the performance of services outside 
Washington is merely incidental to the services performed within 
Washington;  
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(iii) The employee performs some services within 
Washington, and the base of operations or the place from which 
the services are directed or controlled is within Washington; or  

(iv) The employee performs some services within Washington, 
and the base of operations or place from which the services are 
directed or controlled is not within any state (where the 
services are performed), but the employee’s residence is within 
Washington. 

 
 (e) What is a certified automated system?  A certified  

automated system is software certified by Washington under the 
SSUTA:  to calculate the sales and use tax imposed by each 
taxing jurisdiction on a transaction; to determine the amount of 
tax to remit; and to maintain a record of the transaction. 
  

(3) Qualified Seller Compensation.  This subsection 
explains compensation available to qualified sellers. 
 
 (a) What type of compensation is available to qualified 
sellers?  If you are a qualified seller, you are entitled to 
monetary allowances from Washington.  You obtain these monetary 
allowances by retaining a portion of the Washington State retail 
sales and use tax you collect. However, you are not entitled to 
retain monetary allowances with respect to the Washington local 
retail sales and use taxes that you collect and remit.  You are 
not entitled to monetary allowances unless you have properly 
registered as a model 2 seller in the CRS and have filed and 
paid a timely return  

 
(b) How long are qualified sellers permitted to receive 

monetary allowances?   You are entitled to monetary allowances 
for a period up to twenty-four (24) months from the date that 
you install your certified automated system.  

 
(c)(i) How do qualified sellers calculate their monetary 

allowances?  You will calculate your monetary allowance under 
the following formula: 

 
(Base rate) multiplied by (Washington retail sales and use tax you 
collect and remit).    
 
The base rate for this formula is one and one-half percent 

(1.5%).  You are not entitled to monetary allowances with 
respect to Washington local retail sales and use taxes, and you 
must collect and remit these local sales and use taxes in full 
to the department.   

(ii) Your total monetary allowance for the first twelve 
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months (12) of the twenty-four (24) month period described in 
(b) of this subsection (3) cannot exceed ten thousand dollars 
($10,000). Your total monetary allowance for the second twelve 
months (12) of the twenty-four (24) month period described in 
(b) of this subsection (3) cannot exceed ten thousand dollars 
($10,000).  For purposes of determining when the ten thousand 
($10,000) limit is reached, affiliated qualified sellers must be 
treated as a single qualified seller if they would qualify as 
“related persons” under sections 267(b) or 707(b) of the 
Internal Revenue Code in effect on the effective date of this 
section.   

(iii) You may not retain monetary allowances based on any 
sales taxes determined or calculated without the use of a 
certified automated system.  Moreover, you may not retain 
monetary allowances based on any sales taxes determined or 
calculated with a certified automated system that you have 
failed to update or modify in accordance with your agreement 
with your certified automated system provider.  It is your duty 
to make sure all updates and modifications to your certified 
automated system are properly implemented.

 
(d) Can a qualified seller continue to receive monetary 

allowances if it ceases to be a qualified seller?  No. If you 
cease to be a qualified seller, you are not entitled to monetary 
allowances.  If you cease to be a qualified seller during any 
part of a calendar month, you will not be entitled to monetary 
allowances for that entire month. You will cease to be a 
qualified seller if you conduct activities in Washington that 
would require you to register in Washington and as a result of 
these activities fail to meet one or more of the requirements of 
subsection (2)(b)(ii)(A) –(D), above. The meanings given to 
property and payroll in subsections (2)(c) and (2)(d) of this 
section apply for purposes of this subsection (3)(d).  

(i) “Average value” of property, for purposes of this 
subsection (3)(d), is determined by averaging the values at the 
beginning and end of your last fiscal year that terminates at 
least thirty (30) days before the date the determination is 
made.   

(ii) Payroll, for purposes of this subsection (3)(d), is 
determined by calculating the total amount of compensation paid 
to employees during your last fiscal year that terminates at 
least thirty (30) days before the date the determination is 
made.  
 
 (4) Do qualified sellers have any liability protections 
when operating in Washington?  You are not liable for charging 
or collecting the incorrect amount of sales or use tax when that 



Preliminary draft rule.  This draft is provided for discussion purposes only 
to determine what topics a possible proposed rule might address.  This 
discussion draft is under no circumstances to be used to determine a tax 
liability and/or eligibility for tax exemptions. 
 

\ 

error results from reliance on incorrect data provided in the 
department's taxability matrix. To obtain a copy of the 
taxability matrix, visit the SSUTA web site located at:  
http://www.streamlinedsalestax.org.   

Additionally, you will be held harmless and not liable for 
sales and use taxes, including interest and penalties on those 
taxes, not collected due to reliance on Washington's 
certification of the certified automated system you use.  
However, you will not be held harmless for the incorrect 
classification of an item or transaction into a product based 
exemption certified by the department unless that item or 
transaction is listed within a product definition approved by 
the SSUTA’s Governing Board or the department.  See also RCW 
82.32.745.   
  
 


