home home Questions & answers home Search questions & answers Search questions & answers
Search Results 7 results found
Does the state of Washington have an estate or inheritance tax? 100% relevancy.

Yes, Washington State has an estate tax. The estate tax replaced the inheritance tax in 1982 and is essentially a pick-up tax or credit against the federal estate tax...
What is the Washington estate tax filing threshold for deaths occuring on or before May 16, 2005? 100% relevancy.

The following chart shoes the filing threshold through May 16, 2005. Year Death Occurred Filing Threshold (Gross estate or taxable estate plus any taxable gifts) Unified Credit 2002 - 2003 $1,000,000 or more $345,800 2004 - May 16, 2005 $1,500,000 or more $555,800...
What do we need to send Washington State when filing an estate tax return for deaths on or before May 16, 2005, where do we send it and who do we make the check out to? 100% relevancy.

Please send: The Washington State Estate and Transfer Tax Return , a copy of the federal 706 return if you are required to file one, a copy of the death certificate,...
What is the due date of the estate tax return? 100% relevancy.

The due date of the Washington State Estate and Transfer Tax Return is nine months after the date of death...
What is the interest rate for estate tax? 100% relevancy.

The interest rate for estate tax changes annually. See our interest rate chart for current rates...
Is the estate tax a new tax? 85% relevancy.

The state has had an Inheritance Tax since 1901. A Gift Tax was established in 1941. The Legislature substantially revised the Inheritance and Gift Taxes in 1979. In 1981, voters approved Initiative 402 which repealed the Inheritance and Gift Taxes. They were replaced with a "pickup tax" on estates equal to the amount that could be credited against the federal estate tax (known as the State Death Tax Credit). Federal law changed in 2001 and the available credit was phased out. The Department of Revenue continued to collect the full estate tax credit until February 2005 when the state Supreme Court ruled Washington must conform to the changes made by Congress in 2001 and that refunds were due to estates that paid more than the federal law allowed. (Refunds totaling $156 million were made in 2005.) The Legislature enacted a stand-alone estate tax, effective May 17, 2005. The current state estate tax is not affected by the status of the federal estate...
How is the estate tax calculated? 18% relevancy.

The tax is calculated using the Washington taxable estate and Table W . The “ Washington taxable estate” means the federal taxable estate before deducting state estate, inheritance, legacy, or succession taxes less:...


You can also try a Google search on our site.