
BENEFITS OF VOLUNTARY DISCLOSURE
The Voluntary Disclosure Program will 
provide you the following benefits:

ff The “look back” period for your tax 
liability is generally limited to the prior 
four years plus the current year

ff Up to 35 percent in potential penalties 
may be waived

ff The Department can summarize your 
unreported tax liability in a single tax 
assessment. 

Full statutory interest will still be 
imposed on all amounts due.

If your business is discovered through 
the Department’s normal investigation, 
examination, or audit procedures you 
may be liable for tax, interest, penalties 
of 35 percent of the tax due, and a  
“look back” period of seven years plus 
the current year (WAC 458-20-228 and  
458-20-230).

WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR THE PROGRAM
To qualify for voluntary disclosure 
benefits a business must have:

ff Never registered with or reported 
taxes to the Department

ff Never been contacted by the 
Department for enforcement purposes 
(e.g., audit/compliance, contacts or 
requests) 

ff Not engaged in evasion or 
misrepresentation in reporting  
tax liabilities

OVERVIEW
The Department of Revenue’s Voluntary 
Disclosure Program encourages 
unregistered businesses to comply with 
Washington tax laws and to voluntarily 
register and pay prior tax obligations. If 
your business has established substantial 
nexus in Washington and is required to 
register and report we can assist you in 
becoming compliant.

TAX OBLIGATIONS IN  
WASHINGTON STATE
A business must register with the 
Department if it conducts activities that 
establish nexus in Washington. There are 
two types of nexus:

ff PHYSICAL NEXUS
 	 A business making retail or wholesale 

sales into Washington is deemed to 
have a substantial nexus with this 
state if it has a physical presence 
in this state, which includes having 
property, employees, or a third party 
representative. Refer to WAC 458-20-
193 for more information.

ff ECONOMIC NEXUS
	 A business that provides services and 

other apportionable activities does 
not need to have a physical presence 
to be subject to Washington tax. 
Rather, if a business meets certain 
thresholds for having employees 
or property in Washington, or for 
receiving income from Washington 
customers, it may be required to 
register and report. Refer to WAC 
458-20-19401 for more information.

PREVIOUSLY OR CURRENTLY 
REGISTERED BUSINESSES
You may not know if your business  
has been previously registered with  
the Department for tax collection 
purposes. Before completing the online 
voluntary disclosure application we 
recommend that you go to our Lookup 
Business Information database at  
www.dor.wa.gov/BRD and search for 
your business. 

PRIOR CONTACT
If our records indicate your business was 
previously contacted by the Department 
in an effort to determine your registration 
and reporting requirements, or regarding 
other enforcement issues, you will not 
qualify for the Voluntary Disclosure 
Program. (WAC 458-20-228 (5)(a)(iii))

RELATED AND AFFILIATED ENTITIES
If you have unregistered affiliates, 
subsidiaries, or related entities that are 
required to register and report, they are 
encouraged to come forward through 
the Voluntary Disclosure Program. A 
separate application must be filed for 
each business entity.

www.dor.wa.gov/BRD
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TELEPHONE INFORMATION CENTER 
1-800-647-7706

WEBSITE
dor.wa.gov

For tax assistance or to request this document in 
an alternate format, visit http://dor.wa.gov or call 
1-800-647-7706. Teletype (TTY) users may use 
the Washington Relay Service by calling 711. 
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COMPLETING THE VOLUNTARY  
DISCLOSURE PROCESS
After a formal agreement is signed and 
returned to the Department, you will 
receive instructions for registering your 
business. We will work with you to 
determine how your business activities 
are taxable, your tax liability, and will 
finalize the process with the issuance  
of a tax assessment. 

NEED MORE INFORMATION?
If you would like more information  
about our Voluntary Disclosure Program, 
please contact us by:

Phone: (360) 704-5649 

Email: voluntarydisclosure@dor.wa.gov

Website: dor.wa.gov/voluntarydisclosure

 

ANONYMITY 
At the time of application you will be 
asked to disclose your business name 
and contact information so we can verify 
your eligibility. However, there is still an 
option to come forward anonymously. 

If you choose to apply anonymously, 
you must disclose your business 
identity within 15 calendar days of 
the application date. You are afforded 
protection from discovery by the 
Department for this period of time only.

APPLICATION PROCESS
All requests for voluntary disclosure  
must be submitted through the 
Department’s online application at  
dor.wa.gov/voluntarydisclosure.

FORMAL AGREEMENT
If the Department has determined 
that you meet the voluntary disclosure 
qualifications you will be approved 
for the program. The Department will 
prepare a voluntary disclosure agreement 
which must be signed and returned to 
the department within 30 calendar days 
of the original application date. If you 
do not return the signed agreement 
within 30 days your application will not 
be approved and you could be liable for 
tax, interest, and penalties of up to 35 
percent of the tax due for a period of 
seven years plus the current year. 
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