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This basic tax guide is created to help you understand 
Washington’s tax structure. It’s intended to provide an 
overview of the taxes that apply to various business 
activities in Washington.

Washington does not have a corporate or personal 
income tax. Most Washington businesses  
are subject to three major state taxes, all administered 
or overseen by the Department of Revenue:
1.	 Business and occupation tax (B&O)

2.	 Retail sales tax

3.	 Use tax

Other taxes may apply to your business, such as:
▪▪ Public utility tax

▪▪ Specialty taxes

▪▪ County and city taxes

Reminder
State tax laws change regularly. The information 
provided is current at the time of the publication.

Questions
Specialists are available to answer your tax  
questions Monday through Friday from 8 a.m.  
to 5 p.m. (Wednesdays from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.)  
 
Toll-free: 1-800-647-7706

Live Chat: Go to dor.wa.gov, click Contact Us then 
click on the Live Chat icon.

Resources
Go to dor.wa.gov, then click Get a Form or Publication

▪▪ Industry-specific tax guides

▪▪ Special Notices

▪▪ Tax Topic articles

More services
Information on other services and publications can 
be found at the back of this publication or on our 
website at dor.wa.gov.

Business tax basics 
Where the money comes 
from (in billions):

	 $8.9 	 State retail sales and use tax	  

	 $3.4 	 Business and occupation tax	  

	 $2.0 	 State property tax levy	

	 $2.7 	 Other state taxes	

	 $3.5 	 Local retail sales and use tax	

	 $0.3 	 Other local revenues

	$20.8	Total state taxes

$8.9 	  
State retail sales  
and use tax

$2.7 	
Other state 
taxes

$3.5 	
Local retail 
sales and  
use tax	

0.3 	
Other local 
revenues

$3.4 	  
Business and  
occupation tax

$2.0 	
State property  
tax levy

dor.wa.gov
http://dor.wa.gov
http://dor.wa.gov
http://dor.wa.gov
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Your rights as a taxpayer include:
▪▪ Written explanations when tax assessments, 
interest, and penalties are issued.

▪▪ Reliable, written advice and reporting 
instructions provided by the Department 
specifically to the taxpayer, and to have 
interest, penalties, and in some instances, tax 
assessments waived if complying with that 
information worked against the taxpayer.

▪▪ Prompt administrative remedies when tax laws 
or rules are found to be unconstitutional by the 
final decision of a court of record.

▪▪ Confidentiality of their financial and business 
information in the Department’s possession 
in accordance with the requirements of RCW 
82.32.330.

▪▪ Clear and current tax instructions, rules, 
procedures, forms, and other tax information 
received upon request.

▪▪ Prompt and independent administrative review 
by the Department of a decision to revoke a tax 
registration, and to a written determination that 
either upholds the revocation or reinstates the 
registration. 

Your responsibilities as a taxpayer include:
▪▪ Register with the Department of Revenue.

▪▪ Know their tax reporting obligations, and to ask 
the Department for instructions when they are 
uncertain.

▪▪ Keep accurate and complete business records.

▪▪ File returns and pay taxes on time.

▪▪ Provide accurate information on tax returns.

▪▪ Substantiate claims for refund.

▪▪ Pay all taxes on time after closing a business, 
and request cancellation of the registration 
number.

▪▪ Respond to communications from the 
Department in a timely manner.

Rights and  
responsibilities

Register if:
▪▪ Your business is required to collect retail  
sales tax

▪▪ Your gross income is $12,000 per year or more

▪▪ You are a buyer or processor of specialty wood 
products

▪▪ Your business is required to pay any other taxes  
or fees to the Department of Revenue

Do not register if:
▪▪ Your gross income is less than $12,000 per 
year under both the business and occupation 
tax and the public utility tax, and you are not 
required to collect or pay any tax or fee to the 
Department of Revenue.

Registering with  
the Department  
of Revenue
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Helpful hints
Collecting sales tax, spirits liter tax and spirits 
sales tax 
Set up a separate account for sales tax, spirits liter 
tax, and spirits sales tax (collected trust funds). 
Every time you collect these taxes, put the funds 
in that account. This way, you won’t accidentally 
spend these funds and they’ll be available to 
remit with your return.

Changes to your business information
Contact the Department of Revenue of any 
changes, including:

▪▪ Your address (physical and mailing)

▪▪ Email address

▪▪ Phone number

▪▪ Business entity

▪▪ Business activity

▪▪ Business closure

You can update your information online. To use 
this service, go to our website at dor.wa.gov and 
sign up for My Account. If you are already signed 
up, go to Manage business account in the left 
navagation and click Update business information 
or Close business. 

You may also report changes to your account 
using the Business License Application. The 
Business License Application is available on our 
website at business.wa.gov/BLS

Avoid late payments	
▪▪ File electronically through our electronic filing 
system (E-file). See the E-file information on  
page 20.

▪▪ Mark your calendar. It is your responsibility 	
to ensure your excise tax return is postmarked  
or filed electronically by the due date.  
Tip: Oce you sign up for email notifications 
(Listserv) in My Account, you will automatically 
receive e mail reminders of your filing deadlines. 
You will no longer receive a paper return once 
you E-file.

Granting access to your account 
Only registered individuals on a business’ account 
are allowed to see confidential tax information. 
If you choose to hire a representative, such 
as a bookkeeper or attorney, and give that 
person access to your information kept by 
the Department of Revenue, you and your 
representative must fill out a Confidential Tax 
Information Authorization and submit it to us.

For more information
If you have questions, call us at 1-800-647-7706.

dor.wa.gov
dor.wa.gov
business.wa.gov/BLS
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Business and  
occupation (B&O) tax
The state business and occupation (B&O) tax is 
a gross receipts tax measured on the value of 
products, gross proceeds of sales, or gross income 
of your business. The B&O tax is part of a business’ 
operating overhead and is levied upon the person 
or company engaged in the business activity. It is 
not imposed on the purchaser or customer, like 
sales tax. Almost all businesses located or doing 
business in Washington are subject to the B&O tax, 
including corporations, LLCs, partnerships, sole 
proprietors, and nonprofit corporations.

The B&O tax is due on gross income from business 
conducted in Washington. No deductions are 
allowed for labor, materials, taxes, or other costs 
of doing business. Your business may qualify for 
certain exemptions, deductions, or credits.

Unlike the sales tax, a sale does not have to occur 
for a business to owe B&O tax. For example, if you 
extract or manufacture goods for your own use, 
you owe B&O tax.

The B&O tax rate is based on the type of business 
activity. Your business can have multiple 
activities (classifications). You are responsible for 
determining which classification(s) to report your 
income under. Contact us if you are unsure of the 
classification(s) you need to report under.

In addition to the major B&O tax classifications, 
there are several specific classifications. Some have 
the same rate as the general classifications, but are 
reported on different lines on the return. Others 
have their own unique tax rates. 

For a list of B&O tax classifications, visit dor.wa.gov 
and click on Find Taxes and Rates. You can also view 
them in My Account.

B&O tax rates
The most common classifications are:

Retailing 		  0.471 percent

Wholesaling		  0.484 percent

Manufacturing		  0.484 percent

Service and other activities	  	 1.5 percent

Major B&O tax classifications
There are nearly 40 B&O tax classifications for 
business activities. Following are brief descriptions 
of four major classifications. You may also refer to 
the common business activities table on page 42.

Retailing
Businesses that sell goods and certain services 
to consumers are retailers. Taxable retail services 
include:

1.	 Improving real or personal property, such as:
▪▪ Custom construction

▪▪ Repairs to real or personal property

2.	 Certain personal services,  such as:
▪▪ Tanning

▪▪ Use of athletic and fitness facilities

▪▪ Recreational services

▪▪ Tattooing

3.	 Specialized activities, such as:
▪▪ Lawn mowing, tree and shrub pruning,  

and trimming

▪▪ Escrow services

▪▪ Renting equipment with operators

▪▪ Extended warranties 

Businesses making retail sales are subject to 
the retailing B&O tax, even when the sales are 
not subject to sales tax. For example, certain 
food products are exempt from sales tax, but 
the income from food sales is taxable under the 
retailing B&O tax. 

Wholesaling
Wholesalers sell goods and services to businesses 
who will resell them to others in the regular 
course of business. The B&O tax is calculated 
on the wholesale selling price. If you are a 
wholesaler, you must keep a reseller permit or 
other approved exemption certificate on file from 
each buyer to document the transaction as a 
wholesale sale. Do not send reseller permits to the 
Department of Revenue.

Retail sales tax is not collected on wholesale 
transactions. Reseller permits are good as long as 
the buyer and seller do business with each other 
once every 12 months. A sample of a reseller 
permit is on page 32. For more information, see 
page 7 or visit dor.wa.gov/resellerpermit. 

http://dor.wa.gov
http://dor.wa.gov/resellerpermit
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New nexus standard for wholesale sales
Beginning September 1, 2015, economic 
nexus standards apply to most out-of-state 
wholesaling businesses. This means that out-of-
state businesses making wholesale sales into 
Washington will be subject to the wholesaling 
B&O tax on wholesale sales delivered into 
Washington for the current year if they are a 
business entity is organized or commercially 
domiciled in Washington or meet any of the 
following economic nexus thresholds during  
the prior calendar year:

▪▪ More than $267,000 of gross income in 
Washington 

▪▪ More than $53,000 of payroll in Washington 

▪▪ More than $53,000 of property in Washington 

▪▪ At least 25 percent of total property, payroll, or 
income in Washington 

These thresholds are effective for 2015 until 
revised. Please see ETA 3195.2015 for previous 
years and more information.

Wholesale businesses meeting either the payroll 
or property threshold most likely already have 
had a physical presence nexus, requiring them to 
be registered with the Department or Revenue.

Wholesale businesses without physical nexus but 
exceeding the $267,000 receipts threshold in any 
calendar year are subject to B&O tax on wholesale 
sales into Washington.

When determining whether a wholesale 
business exceeds the $267,000 nexus threshold, 
both apportionable income attributable to 
Washington and wholesale sales delivered to 
Washington are included.

This change from physical nexus to economic 
nexus only affects businesses making wholesale 
sales taxed and reported under the wholesaling 
B&O tax.

Establishing economic nexus for wholesale sales 
doesn’t by itself also establish nexus for purposes 
of sales tax, use tax or retailing B&O tax. These 
taxes still require physical presence nexus.  

For more information, see dor.wa.gov/
economicnexus and WAC 458-20-193.

Manufacturing
The manufacturing B&O tax is paid by firms 
manufacturing items in Washington. 
Manufactured products used by the 
manufacturer, but not sold or used prior to sale, 
also are subject to this tax. The manufacturing 
B&O tax is based on the value of the products, 
usually determined by the selling price. In cases 
when there is no sale, the value is the selling price 
of similar products. 

The producer must also report under the 
wholesaling or retailing B&O tax. However, 
because of the multiple activities tax credit, only 
one tax is due. A multiple activities tax credit 
(Schedule C) must be completed to claim the 
credit. See page 29.

Service and other activities
This classification is for businesses that provide 
personal and professional services. Any business 
not described under a particular classification 
of the B&O tax must report under this catch all 
category. Types of businesses and services that 
fall under this category include:

Consulting services

Management 
services

Doctors

Lawyers

Beauticians

Tutors

Janitors

Gambling (less than $50,000 a year)

If you need help figuring out your business 
classification, call 1-800-647-7706. 

Economic nexus
Washington has an economic nexus standard for 
businesses that report under apportionable B&O 
tax classifications. For these classifications, your 
business doesn’t need a physical presence to have 
nexus and be subject to Washington tax.

Apportionable income is earned from engaging  
in the following activities:

▪▪ Wholesaling (beginning September 1, 2015)

▪▪ Service and other activities

▪▪ Royalties

▪▪ Travel agents and tour operators

▪▪ International steamship agent, customs house 
broker, freight forwarder, vessel and/or cargo 
charter broker in foreign commerce, and/or air 
cargo agent

dor.wa.gov
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Rules/eta3000/ETA3195.2015FINAL.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/economicnexus
http://dor.wa.gov/economicnexus


6

▪▪ Stevedoring and associated activities

▪▪ Disposing of low-level waste

▪▪ Insurance producers, title insurance agents,  
or surplus line brokers

▪▪ Public or nonprofit hospitals

▪▪ Real estate brokers

▪▪ Research and development performed by 
nonprofit corporations or associations

▪▪ Inspecting, testing, labeling, and storing canned 
salmon owned by another person

▪▪ Representing and performing services for 
fire or casualty insurance companies as an 
independent resident managing general agent 
licensed under RCW 48.17 RCW

▪▪ Contests of chance

▪▪ Horse races

▪▪ International investment management services

▪▪ Aerospace product development

▪▪ Printing or publishing a newspaper (but only 
with respect to advertising income)

▪▪ Printing materials other than newspapers and 
publishing periodicals or magazines (but only  
with respect to advertising income)

▪▪ Cleaning up radioactive waste and other by-
products of weapons production and nuclear 
research and development, but only with 
respect to activities that would be taxable 
as an apportionable activity if this special tax 
classification did not exist

If your business earns income from an 
apportionable B&O classification in another 
state or country and meets one of the following 
thresholds within the prior calendar year, you are 
eligible to apportion your income attributable to 
that state or country away from Washington.

▪▪ Pay business activities tax in the other state  
or country 

▪▪ Have more than $53,000 of payroll in the  
other state or country 

▪▪ Have more than $53,000 of property in the other 
state or country 

▪▪ Have more than $267,000 of gross income  
in the other state or country 

▪▪ Have at least 25 percent of your total property, 
payroll, or income in the other state 

For periods before September 1, 2015: The 
timeframe for determining whether a business 
exceeds the economic nexus thresholds is the 
current tax year.

If you are eligible to apportion your income,  
it may reduce the amount of Washington tax  
you owe. Businesses that apportion their income 
must file an annual reconciliation form by 
October 31 of the following year.

More information and a video tutorial are 
available at dor.wa.gov/economnicnexus

Exemptions, deductions  
and credits
Although Washington’s B&O tax applies to most 
business income, some exemptions, deductions, 
and credits are available.

Exemptions
These four activities are exempt and are not 
subject to B&O tax. There is no need to report 
these activities to the Department of Revenue on 
your excise tax return.  
If your type of business, business income, or 
business activities are listed below as exempt, 
and you do not owe or collect any other taxes for 
the Department of Revenue, you do not need to 
register with us.

Nonprofit and social service organizations
In Washington, nonprofit organizations are 
subject to tax like any for-profit business, but 
the organization may qualify for exemptions or 
deductions. Qualifying activities include: 

▪▪ Fundraising activities by qualified nonprofit 
organizations. This does not include the regular 
operation of a business enterprise such as a 
bookstore, thrift shop, or restaurant.

▪▪ Auctions conducted by public benefit 
organizations

▪▪ Child care provided by churches and child care 
resource and referral income

Government 
▪▪ County, city, school, and fire district income, 
except utility or enterprise operations in 
competition with other businesses, which are 
more than 50 percent funded by user fees

▪▪ State and federal grants received by political 
subdivisions when no significant services are 
performed in return

http://dor.wa.gov/Content/Home/help/tutorials/Nexus/
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▪▪ Labor and services in preparing sand and gravel 
taken from pits that are owned or leased by a 
city or county, and used by the city or county for 
road construction and repair

▪▪ Printing done by cities, counties, and school 
districts for their own purposes

Financial
▪▪ International banking facilities

▪▪ Federally chartered credit unions

Farming
Certain farming activities are exempt from B&O 
tax. Some examples are:

▪▪ Farmers making wholesale sales of agricultural 
products produced by them, on land owned or 
leased by them

▪▪ Raising and selling plantation Christmas trees  
at wholesale

▪▪ Processing hops into extract, pellets,  
or powder sold to out-of-state buyers

For more information, see our Agricultural  Tax 
Guide at dor.wa.gov/farmers

Deductions
Six common B&O deductions are listed below. 
Deductions for one B&O tax classification 
might not apply to another. A complete list of 
deductions and deduction definitions can be 
found at dor.wa.gov under Find taxes & rates.

Deductions must be included in your gross 
income, then subtracted as deductions. 

1.	 Bad debts: Previously reported income not 
received–written off in your accrual-based 
account books for federal income tax purposes 
(WAC 458-20-196).  
Applies to all classifications.

2.	 Cash and trade discounts: The amount of bona 
fide discounts from the selling price that are 
included in the gross amount reported  
(WAC 458-20-108). 
Applies to all classifications.	

3.	 Interstate and foreign sales: Amounts 
received for items delivered by the seller or 
by a common carrier to out-of-state locations 
are deductible. Also applies to apportionable 
income as described on page 5 under Economic 
nexus (WAC 458-20-193). 
Applies to selling and services classifications. 
Does not apply to manufacturing, processing,  
or extracting classifications.

4.	 Returns and allowances: When the buyer 
returns items purchased and the entire selling 
price is refunded or credited, the seller may 
deduct the selling price previously reported. 
(WAC 458-20-108)  
Applies to all classifications.

5.	 Freight on out-of-state deliveries: 
Manufacturers, processors, and extractors may 
take a deduction for actual transportation costs 
from the point of origin in Washington to the 
point of delivery outside Washington (WAC 
458-20-112). 
Applies to manufacturing, processing for hire,  
and extracting classifications.

6.	 Casual sales: A casual sale is a sale of tangible 
personal property by a person who is not 
engaged in the business of selling the type  
of property involved.

B&O tax does not apply to casual sales. The 
amount of the sale must be reported under 
retailing B&O tax, but a deduction may be taken 
on the deduction detail sheet.

However, the retail sales tax must be collected 
on all casual sales made by a person engaging 
in a business activity.

Example: A dealership is upgrading its 
computer system and sells an old computer to 
an employee. The dealer is not in the business 
of selling computers, so no B&O tax is due, but 
the dealer must charge sales tax on the selling 
price of the computer (WAC 458-20-106).

Deductions not allowed
Businesses are not allowed to deduct any costs for 
doing business. For most businesses, this generally 
includes:

▪▪ Gasoline or other fuel purchases

▪▪ Wages and salaries

▪▪ Product costs

▪▪ Delivery costs (freight), except for those  
decribed under Freight on out-of-state deliveries

▪▪ Surcharges

Credits
Credits exist for specific purposes, reducing the 
B&O tax liability, and in turn, your tax payment. 
Examples of credits include:

▪▪ Small business B&O tax credit*

▪▪ International services tax credit

dor.wa.gov
dor.wa.gov
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-196
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-108
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-193
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-108
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-112
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-112
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-106
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Businesses buying goods or services for resale 
must use a reseller permit or other approved 
exemption certificate to make purchases without 
paying sales tax. 

A sample reseller permit is printed on page 32.

Reseller permits may be used to buy:
▪▪ Merchandise and inventory for resale without 
the buyer using it first

▪▪ Ingredients, components, or chemicals used  
in processing new products for sale

▪▪ Feed, seed, seedlings, fertilizer, and spray 
materials if you are a farmer

▪▪ Materials and contract labor for retail/wholesale 
construction

▪▪ Items for dual purposes

Reseller permits may not be used to buy:  

▪▪ Items for personal or household use

▪▪ Items used in a business that are not resold,  
these include office supplies and equipment

▪▪ Promotional items or gifts

▪▪ Tools, equipment, or equipment rentals

▪▪ Materials and contract labor for public road 
construction, federal government contracting,  
or speculative building

Verify customers’ reseller permits are valid
We recommend verifying your reseller permit 
information at least once per year.

▪▪ For a single permit, use our Business Records 
Database at dor.wa.gov/brd and print a copy for  
your records.

▪▪ For multiple records, use our Reseller Permit 
Verification Service at fortress.wa.gov/dor/efile/
secureforms/content/resellerpermitverification

▪▪ Keep the confirmation codes for your records.

Misuse of a reseller permit
Misusing a reseller permit can result in substantial 
penalties for the buyer, including revocation of 
the permit. The Department of Revenue examines 
purchases made with reseller permits to verify 
they were used appropriately. 

Anyone found misusing a permit will owe the tax 
due plus a 50 percent penalty, even if no fraud was 
intended. The permit may be revoked as well.

Reseller permits▪▪ Rural county B&O tax credit

▪▪ Multiple activities tax credit (MATC)

▪▪ Commute trip reduction credit program
Credits are also issued when you overpay your 
taxes in a reporting period.
Small Business B&O tax credit tables are available 
at dor.wa.gov under Credits.

Local B&O tax
In addition to the state B&O tax, many cities also 
tax businesses on their gross income. There is no 
connection between the state and local B&O taxes. 
To find out if your city has a B&O tax, call your city’s 
business license office.

http://dor.wa.gov/brd
http://fortress.wa.gov/dor/efile/secureforms/content/resellerpermitverification
http://fortress.wa.gov/dor/efile/secureforms/content/resellerpermitverification
http://dor.wa.gov
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Other certificates 
Buyers may also use specific exemption 
certificates to make purchases without paying 
sales tax. These may include:

▪▪ Streamlined sales tax exemption certificate 

▪▪ Multi-state tax exemption certificate 

▪▪ Farmers’ certificate for wholesale purchases  
and sales tax exemptions 

Find information about these exemption 
certificates at dor.wa.gov/resellerpermit. 

The Department of Revenue routinely verifies 
purchases made with reseller permits. Sellers are 
not responsible for uncollected sales tax if they 
have record of a permit or other valid exemption 
certificate to support a sale.

How to apply
Apply for a reseller permit through My Account at 
dor.wa.gov

Tax paid at source 
If you don’t have a reseller permit, you can claim  
a taxable amount for tax paid at source deduction 
on your return or request a refund from the 
Department of Revenue. For more information, see 
Deductions on page 7.

Special rules for contractors
Most retail and manufacturing businesses are 
automatically issued reseller permits. Permits are 
generally valid for four years and are automatically 
renewed. 

Construction businesses will not be automatically 
issued a permit. They must apply and provide 
detailed information about material and labor 
purchases. Construction business reseller permits 
are valid for 24 months. The Department of 
Revenue will notify businesses by mail prior to 
expiration if a permit will not be automatically 
renewed.

The retail sales tax, often referred to simply as 
“sales tax,” is Washington’s largest tax source. Local 
sales tax is the second-largest revenue generator 
for local governments, behind property tax.

All sales tax amounts collected from customers are 
considered trust funds of the state. These amounts 
are to be held by the retailer until remitted to the 
Department of Revenue. 

Definition of a retail sale
Unless specifically exempt by law, a retail sale 
is every sale of tangible personal property and 
digital products, including articles produced, 
fabricated, or imprinted. It also includes sales of 
services, such as installing, repairing, cleaning, 
altering, improving, constructing, and/or 
decorating real or personal property of or for 
consumers.

Certain services are specifically defined in the law  
to be retail sales, such as charges for transient 
lodging, automobile parking, title, and escrow 
services, touring services, extended warranties, 
and use of athletic or physical fitness facilities. 

Collecting and reporting sales tax
Retail sales tax applies to the selling price of 
taxable transactions and must be separately 
stated on the bill to the customer. The selling 
price includes shipping and delivery charges. The 
advertised price may include the amount of tax, if 
so indicated in an advertisement.

Local sales tax charts are available online or 
by calling 1-800-647-7706. The charts show 
combined state and local taxes for each selling 
price. Sellers must use the correct tax rate and 
location code for each location where sales are 
made. See page 11 for a list of online tools.

Tax liability must be reported for all sales made 
during the reporting period on either the accrual 
or cash receipts basis of accounting. Sellers are 
personally liable for remitting the correct amount 
of sales tax, even if they did not collect the proper 
amount, or any, from the purchaser. 

All amounts collected are legally considered 
trust funds of the state. Any excess sales tax 
collected from the customer must be paid to the 
Department of Revenue unless the over-collected 
amount is refunded to the customer.

Retail sales tax

dor.wa.gov
http://dor.wa.gov
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Sales of goods and merchandise are coded to the 
location where the customer receives the goods 
or services. For most retailers, this is the location 
of his or her place of business. But when an item 
is shipped or delivered, the sale is coded to the 
location where it is received by the customer; 
that might be a customer’s home address, work 
address, construction site or wherever the buyer 
takes possession of the item.

Labor and services are coded according to where 
they are primarily performed. If an installation 
charge is normally added to the cost of an item, 
the entire charge for that item is coded to the site 
where it is installed. 

If goods are delivered into Washington from 
outside the state, the delivery address determines 
the place of sale for collecting sales tax. Certain 
sales are excluded from destination sourcing, 
such as automobiles, boats, planes and florists 
(WAC 458-20-145).

Rental of tangible personal 
property
Local sales tax on the lease or rental of tangible 
personal property depends upon whether the 
lease/rental involves periodic payments. 

Single payment 
If a single payment is made and the lessee picks 
up the equipment at the location of the rental 
company, then the location of the rental company 
determines the sales tax rate and location code.

Periodic payments
If the item is rented or leased for a length of 
time and periodic payments are made, the first 
payment is coded to the location where the lessee 
receives the equipment, normally the location 
of the rental company. All subsequent payments 
are coded to the location where the equipment is 
primarily located or garaged (WAC 458-20-145). 

Distribution of sales tax
Retail sales tax is used by the government entity 
that imposes the tax. The state tax is deposited 
in the state general fund, while city and county 
taxes are returned to the local governments. 
The city and county governments use these 
taxes for general expenditures. The Regional 
Transit Authority tax is used to operate local 
transportation systems. Revenues are returned to 
taxing districts based on the location of the sale. 

Sales tax rates
The state retail sales tax rate is 6.5 percent. Local 
retail sales tax, ranging from 0.5 to 3.1 percent, is 
collected by retailers along with the state tax. The 
local tax may contain four elements:

1.	 The basic 0.5 percent city/county tax is effective 
in all areas of the state.

2.	 An optional city/county tax, of up to an 
additional 0.5 percent, is used by a majority of 
counties and all but a few cities. 

3.	 A retail sales and use tax for the support of local 
transit systems of up to 0.8 percent. 

4.	 A 0.1 percent tax for criminal justice programs, 
which certain counties may impose with voter 
approval.

Other taxes collected
In addition to retail sales tax, certain retail sales 
may require the seller to collect the following:

▪▪ Regional Transit Authority (RTA) is a 0.9 percent 
tax collected on sales made in parts of King, 
Pierce, and Snohomish counties.

▪▪ Motor vehicle sales/leases tax is a 0.3 percent 
tax that applies to sales, leases, and transfers 
of motor vehicles (including trucks and 
motorhomes) licensed for on-road use. This 
tax does not apply to retail car rentals that are 
subject to the rental car tax.

For information on other specialized taxes, see 
Special taxes and fees on page 15.	

Local coding of retail sales
Retailers must report the total sales by location 
code for each place of sale so local sales tax 
revenues are accurately distributed to cities and 
counties. 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-145
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-20-145
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Tools for determining sales tax 
rates and codes
To help businesses assign the correct tax rates  
we have listed a number of tools available: 

▪▪ Local sales & use tax rates and changes flyer, 
on dor.wa.gov, under Find Taxes and Rates.

▪▪ Tax rate lookup, searches according to the 
address, map, or latitude/longitude. 

▪▪ An app for iOS and Android devices, free from 
the Apple App Store or Google Play.

▪▪ Real-time web service interface, downloadable 
databases.

▪▪ Excel workbook, and a customer database 
conversion service that matches location codes 
to your customers’ addresses. Visit dor.wa.gov/
streamlined for more information.

Retail sales tax deductions
The following retail sales tax deductions must be 
included in your gross income on the excise tax 
return and then subtracted as a deduction:

Bad debts	
Deductible when written off in account books  
(i.e. deductible for federal income tax purposes)  
and reported on a previous tax return.

Interstate and foreign sales	  
Shipped by common carrier or delivered by seller 
outside Washington (WAC 458-20-193).

Sales to the U.S. government	
Bought with U.S. government funds. Doesn’t 
include sales to federal employees (WAC 458-20-
190).

Motor vehicle fuel sales	
Gas stations selling fuel which includes motor 
vehicle and special fuel taxes in the price. These 
taxes are administered by the Department of 
Licensing (WAC 458-20-126).

Prescription drugs, hearing aids, etc.
Sales of these items for human use when the 
buyer presents a prescription (WAC 458-20-
18801).

Exempt food sales	
Food and food ingredients per RCW 82.08.0293 
must meet specific criteria (see WAC 458-20-244 
and Restaurant Tax Guide).

Qualified nonresident sales	
Proof of residency in qualifying state required  
(see ETA 3054.2011).

Trade-in allowances 	
Like-kind exchanges (see WAC 458-20-247).

Sales of manufacturing machinery
Must meet specific criteria. See WAC 458-20-
13601or the Manufacturers’ Sales/Use Tax 
Exemption fact sheet available at dor.wa.gov.

Taxable amount for tax paid at source
Amount on which sales tax was previously 
paid on goods purchased for resale without 
intervening use (see WAC 458-20-102).

Sales to Indians with delivery on reservation
Sales to enrolled tribal members with delivery  
on member’s Indian reservation or trust land  
(see Indian Guide).

Other	
Must identify applicable RCW or WAC.

dor.wa.gov
dor.wa.gov
http://dor.wa.gov/streamlined
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-193
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-190
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-190
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-126
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-18801
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-18801
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.08.0293
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-244
http://dor.wa.gov/docs/rules/eta3000/eta3054.2011.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-247
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-13601
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-13601
dor.wa.gov
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-102
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Use tax, unlike sales tax, is due at the rate 
applicable to the location where you first use 
the article, not where the sale takes place. The 
state portion of the tax is 6.5 percent, with local 
governments imposing their own additional 
use tax. Depending on the rate of local tax, the 
combined use tax rates vary. 

Use tax is figured on the value of the goods when 
first used in Washington, which is generally the 
purchase price. Fair market value may be used if 
the goods are used outside the state for a lengthy 
period of time before being used in Washington 
by the same person.

The value of the goods includes shipping and 
delivery charges. 

Property used in a trade or business
Use tax is due when goods are purchased for 
consumption or used by a business and sales 
tax has not been paid. Some examples of goods 
purchased without sales/use tax is due include: 

▪▪ Supplies, fixtures, and equipment purchased 
from an out-of-state vendor

▪▪ Supplies, fixtures, and equipment acquired 
when an existing business is purchased

▪▪ Promotional items, such as hats, T-shirts, 
matches, calendars, and other items given to 
customers or other individuals

▪▪ Magazine subscriptions

▪▪ Advertising or promotional materials printed out 
of state and distributed in Washington

▪▪ Parts installed and labor performed on tangible 
personal property repaired out of state

▪▪ Materials installed when performing federal 
government, city/county housing authority,  
or public road construction contracts

▪▪ Equipment loaned to a contractor on which 
sales tax was not previously paid

▪▪ Articles withdrawn from inventory and used 	
by the business

▪▪ Items leased from out of state companies

▪▪ Gifts received (if donor has not paid sales tax)

▪▪ Prizes (limited use tax exemption on prizes or 
purchases from contests of chance that are 
part of a qualifying fundraising activity (RCW 
82.12.225)).

Use tax
Many people don’t realize there are Washington 
tax obligations for goods purchased or acquired 
when sales tax was not paid. For instance, even 
though you don’t pay sales tax when you shop 
in Oregon, your purchases are subject to use tax 
when you bring them into Washington.

Washington citizens also owe use tax in this state 
when they purchase items in other states that 
have a sales tax rate lower than Washington’s.

Use, used, and put to use are defined as the first 
act within Washington which the person takes or 
assumes control of the article (RCW 82.12.010). 
The definition applies to tangible personal 
property, extended warranties, digital goods, 
digital codes, digital automated services, and 
some services (RCW 82.04.050(2)(a), (9), (6)(b)).

Unpaid use tax costs state and local governments 
millions of dollars in revenues each year. 

There are many instances when Washington’s 
sales tax is not paid on purchases. In most of 
these situations, use tax is due. Unless specifically 
exempted, goods used in this state are subject to 
either sales tax or use tax, but not both. The tax 
applies regardless of where, or from whom, the 
property is purchased.

Here are some situations when use tax is due:

▪▪ Goods purchased from out of state by 
subscription, through the Internet, or from a 
mail order catalog company when the company 
doesn’t collect Washington sales or use tax.

▪▪ Goods purchased from someone not required 
to collect sales tax. For example, when you 
purchase furniture or appliances from an 
individual through a newspaper classified ad  
or a garage sale.

▪▪ Personal property acquired with the purchase  
of real property. Machinery and equipment 
used in a manufacturing process may qualify for 
the Manufacturers’ Sales/Use Tax Exemption. 

Taxable amount and rates
The use tax rates are the same as the sales tax 
rates and can be found at dor.wa.gov. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.12.225
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.12.225
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.12.010
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.04.050
dor.wa.gov
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▪▪ Articles manufactured by the business for its 
own use. If the articles are machinery and 
equipment used directly in a manufacturing 
operation, they may be exempt from the sales/
use tax through the Manufacturers’ Sales/Use 
Tax Exemption.

Trade-ins
If you purchase goods in another state and trade 
in a like-kind item to reduce the amount you 
pay for the goods, use tax is due on the amount 
after the value of the trade-in is subtracted. For 
example, you purchase a car in another state 
for $5,000. The dealer accepts your current car 
as a trade-in for $2,000. Therefore, you owe 
Washington use tax on $3,000 at the rate in 
effect where you garage the car (normally your 
residence). 

If the dealer gives you $2,000 cash instead of 
subtracting that amount from the new car price, 
you have not traded-in your vehicle and use tax is 
due on the full $5,000 price of the new vehicle.

Use tax exemption and credit
Exemption
Residents of another state who move to 
Washington are exempt from the use tax on their 
household goods, personal effects, and private 
motor vehicles, if they acquired the property more 
than 90 days prior to the move.

For this exemption, boats, motorhomes, trailers, 
and other recreational vehicles don’t qualify as 
private motor vehicles or personal effects and 
are subject to use tax. A credit, in the amount of 
sales/use tax that was previously paid on the non-
exempt item, can be used to offset the amount of 
Washington use tax owed. Proof of previously paid 
sales/use tax must be provided.

When items are donated to nonprofit, charitable 
organizations, local governments, and the state, 
the use tax isn’t due, even if the donor didn’t 
originally pay sales or use tax on the item. The 
donor is also exempt from the use tax as long as 
there was no intervening use of the item prior to 
the donation.

Credit
When you bring goods into Washington that you 
purchased in another state and paid sales tax at 
the time of the purchase, you can receive a credit 
for this tax by subtracting the amount of sales or 
use tax paid from the amount you owe. However, 
you must have proof that the tax was actually paid 
to the other state prior to use of the property in 
Washington.

See WAC 458-20-178 or RCW 82.12 for more 
information.

Reporting and paying use tax
Registered businesses must report use tax under 
the use tax section of the excise tax return. 
Individuals must report use tax to the Department 
of Revenue on the consumer use tax return.

Under state law, the use tax is due when the 
goods are first used in Washington (see page 12). 
For example, if you purchase a new computer 
while traveling in Oregon, use tax is due when 
you return to Washington.

dor.wa.gov
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/UseTx/ConsumerUseTxRtrn.pdf
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The public utility tax applies if you engage in any 
of the following activities in Washington (RCW 
82.16). If the public utility tax applies, B&O tax 
does not.

▪▪ Water distribution: operation of a plant  
or system for the distribution of water for hire  
or sale

▪▪ Sewer collection: collection of sewerage

▪▪ Power: operating a plant or system for 
generating, producing, or distributing of 
electrical energy for hire or sale

▪▪ Gas distribution: operating a plant or system  
for the producing or distributing, for hire or sale, 
of natural and/or manufactured gas

▪▪ Motor transportation: operating any motor 
propelled vehicle which persons or property 
of others are moved for hire (except when 
transportation business).

▪▪ Urban transportation: operating any motor 
propelled vehicle by which persons or property  
of others are moved for hire when: 

▪▪ operated entirely within the corporate limits 
of any city or town or within five miles of the 
corporate limits of any city or town.

▪▪ operated entirely within or between cities or 
towns whose corporate limits are not more 
than five miles apart or are within five miles 
of each other.

▪▪ Railroad, Railroad car:

▪▪ Railroad: operating any railroad or carrying 
property for public hire on the line of any 
common carrier operated in Washington.

▪▪ Railroad car: rental, lease, or operation of 
cars used for transportation of property 
or persons upon the line of any railroad 
operated in Washington when the railroad 
isn’t owned or leased by the person engaging 
in such business.

▪▪ Log transportation: the business of transporting 
logs by truck, except when the transportation:

▪▪ meets the definition of urban transportation, 
or

▪▪ occurs only on private roads, effective August 
1, 2015

Public utility tax Income from transporting logs on private roads is 
subject to the service and other activities B&O tax  
(WAC 458-20-179, 180, Trucking Tax Guide).

Public utility tax income exemption
Public utility businesses earning gross revenues 
under these amounts must report, but do not 
owe the tax:

Monthly	 $2,000
Quarterly	 $6,000
Annually	 $24,000

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=82.16
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=82.16
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-179
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-180
http://dor.wa.gov/Content/DoingBusiness/BusinessTypes/Industry/Truck/default.aspx
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Convention and trade center tax
Additional tax is charged by hotels/motels with 60 
or more units located in King County. Convention 
and trade center tax location codes are found in 
the Lodging Information Rates and Changes flyer, 
available at dor.wa.gov.

Special hotel/motel tax
Some areas levy an additional tax for transient 
rentals (less than 30 consecutive days) of hotel/
motels, RV parks, or any other type of lodging. 
Special hotel/motel location codes are found in 
the Lodging Information Rates and Changes flyer, 
available at dor.wa.gov.

Tobacco products tax
Tax on distributors who sell tobacco products 
at wholesale, or retailers who purchase tobacco 
products direct from out-of-state manufacturers.

Refuse collection tax
Paid by customers and remitted by the refuse 
collectors on the refuse collection charge only. 
Landfill charges are also subject to the tax (3.6 
percent).

Hazardous substance tax
Tax on the first possessor in Washington 
of substances defined as hazardous by the 
Department of Ecology.

Petroleum products tax
Paid by the first person possessing petroleum 
products in Washington. This special fund has  
a predetermined target amount. When reached,  
the tax is no longer due. Once the fund falls below 
the predetermined amount, the tax is again due 
based on the wholesale value of the petroleum 
product sold.

Solid fuel burning device fee
A $30 fee is charged to the consumer by retailers 
on sales of wood stoves, coal stoves, fireplaces, 
including masonry and zero clearance fireplace 
inserts, and other similar devices which burn  
solid fuel.

Special taxes and fees Syrup tax
Tax on the volume of syrup used to produce 
carbonated beverages sold at wholesale and 
retail in Washington. The business activity of 
selling such syrups in Washington is also taxed. 
An exemption is provided for syrup previously 
subject to this tax in Washington. 

Tire tax fee
Requires tire retailers to collect a $1 fee from the 
customer for each retail sale of new replacement 
vehicle tires.

Litter tax
Paid by manufacturers, wholesalers, and retailers 
of products that contribute to the state’s litter 
problem. The tax is due on the gross amount of 
sales within the state. 

Items in the following categories are subject to 
litter tax:

▪▪ Food for human or pet consumption 

▪▪ Groceries

▪▪ Cigarette and tobacco products 

▪▪ Soft drinks and carbonated waters 

▪▪ Beer and other malt beverages 

▪▪ Wine 

▪▪ Newspapers and magazines 

▪▪ Household paper and paper products 

▪▪ Glass containers 

▪▪ Metal containers 

▪▪ Plastic or fiber containers made  
of synthetic material 

▪▪ Cleaning agents and toiletries 

▪▪ Non-drug drugstore sundry products 

Rental car tax
Paid by the consumer on the rental of a passenger 
car for a period of less than 30 days in addition to 
sales tax. The rate varies from 5.9–7.7 percent. 

Transient rental income 
Businesses providing lodging for less than 
30 days must report transient rental income. 
Lodging businesses include hotels, motels, bed 
and breakfasts, vacation rentals, trailer camps, 
RV parks, and tent campgrounds. Reporting this 
income allows cities and counties to receive a 
distribution from the state portion of the retail 
sales tax. It is not an additional tax.

dor.wa.gov
dor.wa.gov
dor.wa.gov
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Spirit liter tax 
A tax on the sales of spirits in the original 
container and is based on the volume sold. 

The tax rate for consumers is $3.7708 per liter. 
The tax rate for on-premises retailers such as 
restaurants, bars, etc., is $2.4408 per liter.

Spirits sales tax
A tax on the selling price of spirits in their original 
container.

The tax rate for sales to consumers is 20.5 percent. 
The tax rate for on-premises retailers such as 
restaurants, bars, etc., is 13.7 percent. 

Retail sales tax doesn’t apply to sales of spirits 
unopened in the original container, but does 
apply to sales of spirits by the drink or glass  
(RCW 82.08.150).

Other special taxes
For more information on other special taxes  
and fees, visit dor.wa.gov or call 1-800-647-7706.

Tourism promotion area (TPA) charges 
These charges may apply to lodging businesses 
in participating cities or counties. Different zone 
rates may apply. For information, please see the 
Lodging Special Notice for your county, available 
at dor.wa.gov.

Leasehold excise tax
Paid by private parties using public property 
in lieu of property tax. Public entities that lease 
property to lessees or tenants of a community 
center collect the tax based on the rent paid 
for the property and report to the Department 
of Revenue quarterly on a Leasehold Excise Tax 
Return. The rate is 12.84 percent of the rent paid 
for the property.

Oil spill response tax and oil spill 
administration tax
Tax imposed on the person who owns crude oil 
or petroleum products at a marine terminal in 
Washington from a waterborne vessel or barge 
operating on the navigable waters of Washington. 

Beginning July 1, 2015, the tax is extended 
to owners of crude oil or petroleum products 
received into the storage tanks of a bulk oil 
terminal from a tank car (transported by rail). 

The oil spill tax has two components:

▪▪ Oil spill administration tax: four cents per barrel 

▪▪ Oil spill response tax: one-cent per barrel 
(suspended when account balance exceeds  
$9 million)

Spirits (hard liquor) taxes
Washington has two spirits taxes: the liter tax  
and the sales tax. 

If you sell spirits, collect the taxes from your 
customer and remit it to the Department of 
Revenue on your excise tax return monthly 
using E-file. If you have a waiver to file a paper 
return, report the sales on the Spirits Sales Tax 
Addendum.

“Spirits” means any beverage containing alcohol 
obtained by distillation, including wines with 
more than 24 percent alcohol by volume.

dor.wa.gov
http://dor.wa.gov
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Tax incentives
General manufacturing
Machinery and equipment sales/use  
tax exemption
Available to: Manufacturers, processors for 
hire, manufacturers performing research and 
development (R&D), and testing operations.

Qualifying activity: Purchase of qualifying 
machinery and equipment used directly for 
manufacturing or research.

High unemployment county/Community 
Empowerment Zones (CEZ) sales/use tax 
deferral/waiver
Available to: Manufacturers, R&D laboratories, 
and commercial testing facilities located in high 
unemployment counties or a CEZ.

Qualifying activity: Certain construction and 
equipment purchases for new and expanding 
businesses.

Rural county/CEZ B&O credit for new 
employees
Available to: Manufacturers, R&D laboratories, 
and commercial testing facilities located in rural 
counties or within a CEZ.

Qualifying activity: Increase in-state employment 
by 15 percent.

Aerospace
Reduced B&O tax rate for aerospace 
businesses 
Available to: Manufacturers and processors for 
hire of commercial airplanes or component parts 
of commercial airplanes, non-manufacturers 
engaged in the business of aerospace product 
development, certificated FAR repair stations 
making retail sales, and aerospace tooling 
manufacturers.

Qualifying activity: Manufacturers and 
Processors for Hire: Manufacturing, and sales 
by the manufacturer, of commercial airplanes 
or component parts of commercial airplanes; 
or tooling especially designed for use in 
manufacturing commercial airplanes and 
component parts of commercial airplanes.

FAR repair stations: Retail sales made by 
certificated FAR Part 145 repair stations.

Aerospace non-manufacturers: Aerospace 
product development for others.

B&O credit for preproduction development 
expenditures
Available to: Manufacturers and processors  
for hire of commercial airplanes or component 
parts of commercial airplanes, non-manufacturers 
engaged in the business of aerospace product 
development, certificated FAR repair stations 
making retail sales, and aerospace tooling 
manufacturers.

Qualifying activity: Expenditures for aerospace 
preproduction development.

B&O credit for property/leasehold taxes paid  
on aerospace manufacturing facilities
Available to: Manufacturers and processors for 
hire of commercial airplanes or component parts 
of commercial airplanes, non-manufacturers 
engaged in the business of aerospace product 
development, certificated FAR repair stations 
making retail sales, and aerospace tooling 
manufacturers.

Qualifying activity:  
For manufacturers: Payment of property/
leasehold taxes on new buildings, land, the 
increased value of renovated buildings, and 
equipment eligible for the machinery and 
equipment exemption that is used exclusively 
in manufacturing commercial airplanes 
or components of such airplanes; or in 
manufacturing tooling specifically designed for 
use in manufacturing commercial airplanes or 
components of such airplanes.

For certificated FAR Part 145 repair stations 
and aerospace non-manufacturers: Payment 
of property/leasehold taxes on new buildings, 
land, the increased value of renovated buildings, 
and qualifying computer equipment and 
peripherals used exclusively in aerospace product 
development or in providing aerospace services.

Sales/use tax exemption for aerospace 
manufacturers for computer hardware, 
software, and peripherals
Available to: Manufacturers and processors for 
hire of commercial airplanes or component parts 
of commercial airplanes, non-manufacturers 
engaged in the business of aerospace product 
development, certificated FAR repair stations 
making retail sales, and aerospace tooling 
manufacturers.

dor.wa.gov
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Qualifying activity: Purchases of computer 
hardware, software, and computer peripherals, 
and charges for labor and services for installation 
of such equipment.

Biofuel
Reduced B&O rate for manufacturers of wood 
biomass fuel
Available to: wood biomass fuel manufacturers.

Qualifying activity: Manufacturing qualifying fuel 
products.

Property/leasehold tax exemption for 
biodiesel/alcohol fuel manufacturers
Available to: Alcohol fuel, biodiesel fuel, biodiesel 
feedstock, or wood biomass fuel manufacturers. 

Qualifying activity: Manufacturing qualifying fuel 
or feedstock.

Food processing
B&O tax exemption for manufacturers  
of fresh fruit & vegetables 
Available to: Fresh fruit and vegetable 
manufacturers.

Qualifying activity: Manufacturing fresh fruits 
or vegetables by canning, preserving, freezing, 
processing, or dehydrating fresh fruits or 
vegetables; or selling at wholesale fruits or 
vegetables manufactured by the seller when  
sold to purchasers who transport the goods 
outside Washington for business purposes.

B&O tax exemption for manufacturers  
of seafood products 
Available to: Seafood product manufacturers.

Qualifying activity: Manufacturing seafood 
products that remain in a raw, raw frozen, 
or raw salted state at the completion of the 
manufacturing by that person; and selling at retail 
or wholesale seafood products manufactured 
by the seller that remain in a raw, raw frozen, or 
raw salted state to purchasers who transport the 
goods outside Washington for business purposes.

B&O tax deduction for manufacturers of dairy 
products 
Available to: Dairy product manufacturers.

Qualifying activity: Manufacturing dairy products; 
selling at retail or wholesale dairy products 
manufactured by the seller to purchasers who 

transport the goods outside Washington for 
business purposes; and wholesale sales by 
dairy product manufacturer to a customer who 
uses such dairy products as an ingredient or 
component in the manufacturing of another dairy 
product in Washington.

Other incentives
Sales tax remittance on construction of 
warehouses, grain elevators, and distribution 
centers 
Available to: Wholesalers, retail distribution 
centers, and third-party warehouse businesses.

Qualifying activity: Construction of 200,000 
square feet or more warehouse and distribution 
center, 1 million bushel capacity grain elevators, 
or purchases of material handling and racking 
equipment. 

Reduced B&O rate for extracting/
manufacturing timber and wood products
Available to: Extractors, manufacturers, and 
processors for hire of timber products and wood 
products.

Qualifying activity: Extracting, manufacturing,  
or processing for hire of qualifying products.

Reduced B&O rate for solar energy system 
manufacturers and wholesalers
Available to: Manufacturers and processors 
for hire of solar energy systems and silicon 
components.

Qualifying activity: Manufacturing qualifying 
products.

B&O tax credit for workforce training
Available to: All Washington employers.

Qualifying activity: Payments to the Employment 
Training Finance Account through the 
Customized Employment Training Program.

B&O tax credit for international service 
providers
Available to: Persons providing international 
services, such as computer; data processing; 
information; legal; accounting and tax 
preparation; engineering; architectural; business 
consulting; business management; public 
relations and advertising; surveying; geological 
consulting; real estate appraisal; or financial 
services in designated geographical areas.
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Qualifying activity: Creating new jobs in these 
fields in the designated areas.

High unemployment county sales/use tax 
deferral/waiver for manufacturing facilities 
Available to: Manufacturers, persons conditioning 
vegetable seeds, research and development 
and commercial testing for manufacturers in a 
qualifying county or in a CEZ. 

Qualifying activity: Certain construction and 
equipment purchases for new and expanding 
businesses.

Sales/use tax exemption for motion picture 
and video production companies 
Available to: Motion picture and video 
production companies.

Qualifying activity: Rental of production 
equipment  and purchase of production services 
by motion picture and video production 
companies.

Commute trip reduction program–B&O/public 
utility tax credit
Available to: Employers and property managers. 

Qualifying activity: Employers and property 
managers who provide commute trip reduction 
incentives to or on behalf of their own or other 
employees. 

Main Street tax credit–B&O/public utility  
tax credit
Available to: All businesses that make qualified 
contributions.

Qualifying activity: Contributions made to 
approved designated revitalization programs  
or the Main Street Trust Fund.

Washington Filmworks contributors B&O tax 
Credit 
Available to: All businesses that make qualified 
contributions.

Qualifying activity: Contributions made to 
Washington Filmworks (an approved Motion 
Picture Competitiveness Program). 

For more information 
To learn more about these and other incentives, 
visit dor.wa.gov, then select Tax Incentive 
Programs.

Personal property 
tax
Most people know that property tax applies to real 
property, such as land and improvements to land. 
Property tax also applies to personal property used  
in conducting business, when not exempt by law.

The chief characteristic distinguishing personal 
property from real property is mobility. Personal 
property includes machinery, equipment, 
furniture, and supplies. It doesn’t include business 
inventories.

Administration
County assessors and treasurers administer the 
property tax in Washington. Assessors value 
property at 100 percent of its true and fair value and 
treasurers collect the property tax. The Department 
of Revenue advises assessors and treasurers, and 
oversees the valuation and taxation of property 
across the state to ensure uniformity.

Personal property tax listing form
By April 30 of each year, property owners must 
complete and file a Personal Property Listing 
Form with the county assessor. Forms are 
available at your county assessor’s office and 
at dor.wa.gov. Each Personal Property Listing 
Form must list all taxable property located in the 
county that was owned on January 1 of that year. 
For multiple locations, property owners must file 
a separate listing for each location.

Penalty for failure to file
Property owners who do not file a listing of 
personal property by April 30 are subject to an 
estimated tax assessment by the assessor. A 
penalty of 5 percent of the tax will be added for 
each month after the deadline the listing is filed. 
The maximum penalty is 25 percent of the tax.

For more information
A personal property tax fact sheet is available at  
dor.wa.gov. Specific questions should be directed 
to your county assessor. Questions about property 
tax statements should be sent to your county 
treasurer.

dor.wa.gov
http://dor.wa.gov
dor.wa.gov
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Accounting methods
Unless you keep your books on a cash basis, 
taxes must be paid for all sales made during the 
reporting period, even if you have not received 
payment.

Paying your taxes
Your state B&O tax is reported on the excise tax 
return. Businesses file tax returns either monthly, 
quarterly, or annually. After registering your 
business, we will determine your reporting 
frequency based on your estimated gross income 
and your type of business. 

If you don’t conduct any business or don’t  
owe tax, you are still responsible for filing a no 
business return. 

Due dates
Monthly filers
The 25th day of the month following the 
reporting period

Monthly filers must file and pay taxes electronically 

Quarterly filers
Last day of the month following the reporting 
period

Quarterly filers must file and pay taxes electronically

Annual filers
January 31 of each year

Annual filers may file and pay taxes electronically

If the due date falls on a weekend or legal holiday, 
the due date is extended to the next business day.

Electronic filing (My Account)
Electronic filing through Revenue’s My Account is 
a free service that lets you prepare and file your 
tax return electronically any time of the day. E-file 
allows you to: 

▪▪ Customize your tax return, showing only the 
lines you need.

▪▪ Calculate taxes due and flag potential errors, 
helping you avoid costly mistakes. 

▪▪ Choose one of several payment methods  
- Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT), e-check,  
credit card, or paper check. 

▪▪ Save postage and avoid the chance of your 
return being lost or delayed in the mail. 

▪▪ File your return early and choose the date you 
want your payment withdrawn (EFT debit) or 
your bank to send funds (EFT credit). 

E-file is fast, convenient, and secure. Visit  
dor.wa.gov for more information. If you need  
help with E-file, call 1-877-345-3353. 

Reporting no business activity
Your business must file a tax return each reporting 
period even if you did not conduct business or 
receive income. There are three ways to report.

▪▪ Online: Go to our website at dor.wa.gov 
and login to your My account. If you are not 
registered, follow the instructions to create an 
online account.

▪▪ Phone: Call our 24-hour automated system at 
1-800-647-7706. At the greeting enter 111 then 
enter your UBI/tax registration number and 
follow the instructions.

▪▪ Mail: If you receive a paper excise tax return, fill 
in the No Business activity box. Sign, date the 
return and include a daytime number.

Make a copy for your files and mail the original 
return in the self-addressed envelope provided.

Note: If you are signed up to use E-file, you will 
not receive a paper return. Follow the instructions 
above to report no business activity through E-file 
or by phone.

For more information, call 1-800-647-7706 or your 
local Revenue office. Please have your UBI/tax 
registration number available.

Tax return payment 
and reporting

dor.wa.gov
dor.wa.gov
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Correcting a previously  
filed return
If you have reported your taxes incorrectly, 
you can file an amended return or schedule to 
correct the error. If additional taxes are due and 
the original return was late, the amount should 
be remitted along with the returns and any 
applicable interest and penalties. 

If taxes have been overpaid, a refund will be 
issued or a credit will be applied to your future 
taxes. The Department of Revenue can only 
honor refunds for taxes paid dating back four 
calendar years before the year the refund request 
is made (WAC 458-20-229).

You may amend your return:

▪▪ Online: Log on to My Account at dor.wa.gov, 
and click Amend next to the period and year of 
the previously filed return you need to correct, 
or from the menu at the left, choose File a 
return, then Amend a return. Only returns filed 
electronically may be amended online.

▪▪ Secure Message: Log on to My Account at 
dor.wa.gov, and click Email and Notices, then 
Secure Email. Click on Select a topic, then select 
Amended tax returns.

▪▪ Mail: Make or print a copy of the return you 
need to correct. At the top, write Amended 
Return in large letters. Draw a single line through 
any incorrect information and write the correct 
information on the side or above using black 
ink. Recalculate your totals. Attach a cover letter 
explaining why you are submitting an amended 
return.  
Mail the amended return and cover letter to:

Taxpayer Account Administration 
Washington State Department of Revenue 
PO Box 47476 
Olympia, WA 98504-7476

If you have multiple periods to correct, you can 
photocopy each return and mark your changes, 
or send us a spreadsheet, listing each period and 
the correction to each period. Spreadsheets can 
be mailed or sent to us electronically by using the 
Amend Multiple Periods feature in My Account.

Penalties
If you can’t file or pay on time
Contact your local Department of Revenue office 
right away. The penalties on late payments are: 

▪▪ 9 percent after the due date until the last day  
of the month following the due date.

▪▪ 19 percent after the last day of the month 
following the due date.

▪▪ 29 percent after the last day of the second 
month following the due date, and anything 
after.

Filing extensions can be requested and penalties 
may be waived under limited circumstances.

dor.wa.gov
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-229
dor.wa.gov
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Audit process
As a registered business you may be selected for 
an audit. Audits are routine procedures used to 
determine whether state excise taxes (B&O, sales, 
public utility, etc.) have been reported and paid 
correctly. The majority of businesses we audit are 
chosen at random using statistical methods.

In general, your records will be reviewed to verify 
proper tax reporting. Where appropriate, you will 
also receive helpful instructions and information 
on how to fill out returns in the future. We are 
committed to working with you in a professional 
and cooperative manner.

Audit procedures and programs may include:

▪▪ Obtaining electronic files of the accounting 
records for the audit period.

▪▪ Random, non-statistical sampling of specific 		
audit areas.

▪▪ Computer-assisted audits using a statistical 	
sampling technique. These are primarily used 	
for large businesses.

What to expect during an audit
Audits normally cover the four preceding 
calendar years, plus the current year through 
the end of the last calendar quarter. All taxes, 
deductions, and exemptions reported on your 
excise tax return will be reviewed.

An audit of your business activities will cover 
several major areas, including:

1.	 Gross Income: verification of proper amounts 
and classifications reported on the return.

2.	 Deductions, credits and exemptions: 
verification of proper amounts, classifications, 
and documentation.

3.	 Purchases: verification of retail sales or use tax 
paid on capital assets, consumable supplies, or 
articles manufactured for your own use. 

Recordkeeping requirements
To minimize inconvenience and the time it takes 
to complete an audit, you will be asked to have  
records available for the audit period for your 
meeting with the auditor, these include:

▪▪ State excise tax return and work papers

▪▪ Federal income tax return for the business

▪▪ Summary accounting records and source 
journals such as the check register, general 
ledger, sales journal, general journal, cash 
receipts journal, and any other records you use 
to record income and expenses

▪▪ Sales invoices

▪▪ Purchase invoices (accounts payable, receipts)

▪▪ Depreciation schedules listing all assets 
acquired or disposed of during the audit period 
along with purchase or sales invoices for those 
assets

▪▪ Reseller permits for any wholesale sales

▪▪ Supporting documentation for all deductions 	
and exemptions

You have the right to appeal when you disagree 
with an assessment issued by the Department of 
Revenue. 

Taxpayers who disagree with an assessment 
may ask for a supervisory conference before 
the assessment is issued. For example, when 
your business records are audited, the auditor 
will meet with you to discuss the results. If you 
disagree with those results, you can have a 
conference with the auditor’s supervisor.

If the differences can’t be resolved at the 
supervisory level, you can file a petition for review 
with the Department of Revenue’s Appeals 
Division. 
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Our website, dor.wa.gov, offers a wide variety of 
information and resources, including:

▪▪ Electronic filing (My Account): File and pay taxes 
online.

▪▪ Business information update: You can notify  
us online if your business has moved, closed,  
or changed activities.

▪▪ Tax Rate Lookup Tool (GIS): Find the correct code 
and tax rate for specific locations. 

▪▪ Business Records Database: Look up information 
on businesses registered in Washington, or verify 
a reseller permit. Public information includes 
business name, open and close dates, North 
American Industry Classification Code System 
(NAICS), UBI/TRA number, and owner type. 
Reseller permit information includes the permit 
number, the effective date and expiration date. 
This information is available for non-commercial 
purposes only.

▪▪ Publications and forms: Find our tax guides, fact 
sheets, reports, news releases, and forms online. 

▪▪ Tutorial videos: Access free videos with answers, 
resources, and step-by-step tax reporting help. 

▪▪ Ruling request: Request a tax ruling binding 
on you and the Department of Revenue on a 
specific tax question. 

▪▪ Reporting fraud: Report Washington State tax  
and license fraud using our online form. You may 
also link to other state agencies for information  
on fraud cases and consumer protection.

▪▪ Research statistics: Access research publications, 
data on tax collections, tax-related statistics on 
business activity by industry and geographical  
area, and other statistical information about the 
state’s tax structure.

▪▪ Laws and rules (Taxpedia): Search our online 
database for Department of Revenue rules 
and laws. Also research Special Notices, Tax 
Topic articles, industry guides, advisories, 
administrative decisions, and court cases 
through Taxpedia.

▪▪ Local offices: Find telephone numbers, office 
hours, and directions to a local office near you.

Services and resources
You must file an appeal before the due date  
or extension date of the assessment. 

After the due date, you must:
▪▪ Pay the assessment

▪▪ File a petition for review requesting a refund 
within four years of the close of the tax year in 
which taxes were paid 

Example: If you paid tax in June 2015, you have 
until December 31, 2019, to petition for a refund. 

Appeals must be mailed to:

Appeals Division

Washington State Department of Revenue

PO Box 47460

Olympia, Washington 98504-7460

For more information
Visit dor.wa.gov/appeals

WAC 458-20-100 contains a full discussion of the 
administrative appeals process. For a copy of the 
rule, visit dor.wa.gov or call 1-800-647-7706.

Appeals process

dor.wa.gov
http://dor.wa.gov
http://dor.wa.gov/appeals
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-100
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Contacts for specific  
taxes and programs
Additional contact information available at  
dor.wa.gov. Click Contact us, then Revenue 
telephone directory.

Brokered natural gas tax		
Taxpayer Account Administration Division		
(360) 902-7151		

Business licensing and renewal
Business Licensing Service			 
bls.dor.wa.gov  
(360) 902-7126	

Cigarette tax
Special Programs Division 				  
(360) 534-1503

Corporate withdrawals or dissolutions
Audit Division 					   
(360) 704-5704 	

Electronic filing (My Account)
dor.wa.gov  
1-877-345-3353	

Electronic funds transfer (EFT) program
Taxpayer Account Administration Division		
(360) 902-7170

Enhanced food/fish tax
Taxpayer Account Administration Division 		
(360) 902-7110

Estate tax/escheats
Special Programs Division				  
(360) 534-1503

Excise tax status letters
Taxpayer Account Administration Division  
dor.wa.gov, click Doing Business, then My Account 
(360) 902-7138		

Excise tax refunds
Taxpayer Account Administration Division 		
(360) 902-7151

Forest excise tax
Special Programs Division 				  
1-800-548-8829

Hotel/motel special excise tax
Taxpayer Account Administration Division 		
(360) 902-7164

Leasehold excise tax
Special Programs Division				  
(360) 534-1503

Oil spill response and administration tax	
Taxpayer Account Administration Division 		
(360) 902-7027

Property tax (general information)
Property Tax Division 
(360) 534-1400

For information regarding a specific property tax 
assessment, please contact your county assessor.

Real estate excise tax refunds
Special Programs Division				  
(360) 534-1503

For information on the real estate excise tax, please 
contact the county treasurer’s office where the 
property is located. 	

Retainage fees
Audit Division  
(360) 704-5650	

Rule hearings	
Interpretations & Technical Advice Division 
(360) 534-1580

Sales tax deferrals
Special Programs			    	  
(360) 534-1503	

Tax appeal questions
Appeals Division					  
(360) 534-1335	

Unclaimed property
Special Programs Division 
1-800-435-2429 
claimyourcash.org

Voluntary disclosure
Audit Division  
(360) 704-5649

dor.wa.gov
http://bls.dor.wa.gov
dor.wa.gov
dor.wa.gov
www.claimyourcash.org
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Internal Revenue Service
Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

1-800-829-1040

1-800-829-4933 
irs.gov

If you pay employment taxes, such as industrial 
and unemployment insurance, you need to have 
a FEIN. In some special cases, businesses without 
employees may be required to obtain a FEIN. 

 
Washington cities and towns

bls.dor.wa.gov/citycounty.aspx 
If your city or county has business taxes and you 
are located within the city limits, you will need to 
register with the city taxing authority. Businesses 
located outside city limits should register with 
the county taxing authority.

The Business Licensing Service processes license 
applications for many cities and provide contact 
information for counties, cities and towns that they 
don’t process applications for at this time.

 
County assessors

dor.wa.gov/content/findtaxesandrates/
propertytax/links.aspx

Also, remember to contact your county assessor 
as soon as your business opens. Businesses are 
required to report personal property - assets used 
in the operation of a business - to the assessor. 
Personal property includes furniture, office 
equipment, machines, and supplies used in the 
course of doing business. 

See Personal Property Tax on page 17 for more 
information.

 
Washington BusinessHub

(360) 725-4000
business.wa.gov

Find information and services from multiple 
agencies to help you start, register, operate, and 
grow your business. Washington BusinessHub  
is continually updated and improved to make  
it easier for you to handle tasks such as applying 
for permits, getting and renewing licenses,  
paying taxes and more. 

Access Washington: access.wa.gov

Labor and Industries
Industrial insurance (worker’s compensation)

(360) 902-4817

www.lni.wa.gov 

If you have one or more employees, you must 
apply for industrial insurance coverage with 
the Washington State Department of Labor and 
Industries. Industrial insurance is not required 
for business owners, but those who want it can 
complete an application for employer coverage. 
To apply or for more information, contact the 
Business Licensing Service at 1-800-451-7985 or 
BLS@dor.wa.gov	

 
Employment Security

Unemployment insurance

Regulatory questions:

1-855-829-9243

esd.wa.gov

If you have employees, you must apply for 
unemployment insurance coverage with 
the Washington State Employment Security 
Department. To apply or for more information, 
contact the Business Licensing Service at  
1-800-451-7985 or BLS@dor.wa.gov

 
Secretary of State

Corporations Division

(360) 725-0377

secstate.wa.gov/corps
corps@sos.wa.gov

Contact the Secretary of State’s office to file 
Articles of Incorporation or a Certificate of 
Limited Partnership if your business has either 
type of ownership. The Secretary of State also 
registers trade marks, as well as trade names for 
corporations and limited partnerships.

 
City and county taxing offices

Washington State Counties			 
www.mrsc.org/byndmrsc/counties.aspx  

Other agencies  
to contact

dor.wa.gov
www.irs.gov
http://bls.dor.wa.gov/citycounty.aspx
http://dor.wa.gov/content/findtaxesandrates/propertytax/links.aspx
http://dor.wa.gov/content/findtaxesandrates/propertytax/links.aspx
Business.wa.gov
http://access.wa.gov
www.lni.wa.gov
mailto:BLS%40dor.wa.gov?subject=
http://esd.wa.gov
mailto:BLS%40dor.wa.gov?subject=
www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
http://corps@sos.wa.gov
www.mrsc.org/byndmrsc/counties.aspx
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Appendix A   |   Combined excise tax return

Internet/Fax  (11-11-16) ¨ Penalty waiver request? Check this box and attach a letter of explanation.  Page 1 

Multi-Purpose 
Combined Excise Tax Return 

    Period  Year 
 ¨   /     
  

If you have no business activity, check the box and mail this return 
(unless filed electronically) 

    Tax Registration Number          
    
     

NAME   

FIRM NAME    

STREET ADDRESS    

CITY, STATE, ZIP    
 

!Use Black Ink &  
Return Original Form 

 
!This Return is Effective 

August 2016, Forward  
     

    Address Changes? Business Location ¨ Mailing Address ¨ Business Closed? ¨ Date Closed ___/___/___ See Additional Information, pg 2 Other Correspondence?   ¨ 
Effective date of change  ___/___/___ 
Please fill in the appropriate box and note address changes above.  
!Use Black Ink & Return The Original Form I  STATE BUSINESS AND OCCUPATION TAX  

Line 
No. Tax Classification Code 

Column I 
Gross Amount 

Col. 2 Deductions* 
Totals from Pg. 3 & 4 

Column 3 
Taxable Amount 

Col. 4 
Rate 

Column 5 
Tax Due 

1 Extracting, Extracting for Hire 16       .00484   
2 Slaughter, Break Proc, Perish Meat-Whlse; Mfg Wheat 

into Flour; Soybean & Canola Proc 30       .00138   

3 Travel Agent Com/Tour Operators; Intl Charter Freight 
Brokers; Stevedoring; Assisted Living Facilities 28       .00275   

4 Insurance Producers; Title Insurance Agents; 
Surplus Line Broker Commissions; Child Care 14       .00484   

5 Prescription Drug Warehousing; Mfg: Wood Biomass 
Fuel; or Split/Proc Dried Peas 21       .00138   

6 Processing for Hire; Printing and Publishing 10       .00484   
7 Manufacturing 07       .00484   
8 Royalties 80       .015   
9 Wholesaling 03       .00484   

10 Warehousing; Radio & TV Broadcasting; Public Rd Const; Gov 
Contracting; Chem Dependency Ctr; Canned Salmon Labelers 11       .00484   

11 Public or Nonprofit Hospitals; Qualified Food Co-ops 55       .015   
12 Cleanup of Radioactive Waste for US Gov  83       .00471   
13 Service & Other Activities and/or Gambling Contests of 

Chance (less than $50,000 a year)  04       .015   
14 Gambling Contests of Chance ($50,000 a year or greater) 192       .0163   
15 For Profit Hospitals; Scientific R&D 135       .015   
16 Retailing of Interstate Transportation Equip 19       .00484   
17 Retailing  02       .00471   

 * Deductions taken but not itemized on pages 3 and 4 will be disallowed. TOTAL B&O TAX   
     

  II  STATE SALES AND USE TAX   
18 Retail Sales (also complete local tax section III) 01         .065   
19 Use Tax/Deferred Sales Tax (also complete local use 

tax section III) 05   Value of articles used by taxpayer as a consumer 
on which no Washington sales tax has been paid   .065   

          
III  LOCAL CITY AND/OR COUNTY SALES AND USE TAX 

Local Sales Tax (Enter applicable rate of tax.) Code 45 
Total Taxable Amount must be the same as line 18, column 3, Taxable Amount 

Line 
No. Location Code Taxable Amount Local Rate Tax Due City or Co. 

20       
21       
22       
23       

TOTAL 
TAXABLE   TOTAL   

 
Local Use Tax/Deferred Sales Tax (Enter applicable rate of tax.) Code 46 
Total Value of Articles must be the same as line 19, column 1, Gross Amount 

Line 
No. Location Code Value of Articles Local Rate Tax Due City or Co. 

24       
25       

TOTAL VALUE  
OF ARTICLES   TOTAL   

 
Line 
No. 

Tax 
Classification Code Taxable Amount Rate Tax Due 

26 Motor Vehicle 
Sales/Leases 120   .003   

27 Litter Tax 36   .00015   

 

TOTAL STATE SALES & USE TAX    
 
o   Filing an Amended Return? Check this box and attach a letter of explanation. 

  

4Signature  

4Print Name  

4Ph. (              ) Date  
  

«  9% Penalty Assessed After Due Date 
19% Penalty Assessed After the Last Day of the Month Following the Due Date 
29% Penalty Assessed After Last Day of the Second Month Following the Due 
Date 

If the due date falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the due date is extended 
to the next business day. 

  
     

 Line 
No. Item VII  TOTALS 

28 Total All Tax Due from page 1   
29 Total All Tax Due from page 2   
30 Total All Addendums (example: Rental Car Addendum)   
31 Subtotal (add lines 28-30)   
32 Credit (from page 2, section VI, total credit)   
33 Subtotal (subtract line 32 from line 31)   
34 Add Penalty, if applicable  « %  Minimum $5.00   

 TOTAL AMOUNT OWED (add lines 33 - 34)   
Please make check or money order payable to the Washington State Department of 
Revenue. Include your tax registration number on your check. 

 

GROSS AMOUNTS FOR RETAILING AND 
RETAIL SALES MUST BE THE SAME   

MAIL TO: Washington State 
Department of Revenue 
PO Box 47464 
Olympia WA 98504-7464 
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Appendix  A   |   Combined excise tax return

 Internet/Fax (11-11-16)    Page 2 
  

 IV  LODGING TAXES  
TRANSIENT RENTAL INCOME INFORMATION Code 47  TOURISM PROMOTION AREA LODGING CHARGE Code 170 

Line 
No. Location Code Income  Line 

No. Location Code Number of 
Unit/Days 

Unit/Day Rate 
Charged Total Charges Due 

35     39      

 

36     40      
 37     41      
 38     42      

 (enter location code and income only)  TOTAL TOURISM PROMOTION AREA LODGING CHARGE   
 

CONVENTION AND TRADE CENTER TAX  Code 48  SPECIAL HOTEL/MOTEL TAX Code 70 
Line 
No. Location Code Taxable Amount Rate Tax Due  Line 

No. Location Code Taxable Amount Rate Tax Due 

43        46       

44        47       

45        48       

TOTAL CONVENTION & TRADE CENTER TAX    TOTAL SPECIAL HOTEL/MOTEL TAX   

 
 V  OTHER TAXES  
Line 
No. Tax Classification Code Column I 

Gross Amount 
Col. 2 Deductions*  
Totals from Pg. 4 

Column 3 
Taxable Amount 

Col. 4 
Rate 

Column 5 
Tax Due 

49 Tobacco Products/Cigars (less than $0.69) 20       .95   
50 Refuse Collection 64       .036       
51 Petroleum Products Tax 57       .003   
52 Hazardous Substance 65       .007   
53 Intermediate Care Facilities 79       .06   

 
Line 
No. Tax Classification Code Item Quantity Rate Tax Due 

54 Solid Fuel Burning Device Fee 59 Number of Stoves, Fireplaces, & Solid 
Fuel Burning Devices Sold:  30.00   

55 Syrup Tax 54 Number of Gallons (whole numbers only) Sold:  1.00   
56 Tire Fee 73 Number of Tires Sold:  .90   
57 Studded Tire Fee 77 Number of Tires Sold:  4.50   
58 Cigar Tax ($0.69 or more) 194 Number of Cigars ($0.69 or more):  .65   
59 Little Cigar Tax (acetate integrated filters) 198 Number of Little Cigars:  .15125   
60 Moist Snuff (1.2 oz. or less) 162 Number of Units:  2.526   
61 Moist Snuff (more than 1.2 oz.) 163 Number of Ounces (including partial ounces):   2.105   

* Deductions taken but not itemized on page 4 will be disallowed.   

 
TOTAL OTHER TAXES (add lines 49-61) 

  
 
uAdditional Informationu  
The easiest way to file your return is to use our free E-file 
service at dor.wa.gov 

Penalties and Interest 
Penalties: 
• Any unpaid tax (including partial payments) is subject to delinquent 

return penalty at the rate on the front of the return. (RCW 82.32.090) 
• A 5% assessment penalty may be assessed if the return is 

substantially underpaid. (RCW 82.32.090) 
Interest: Interest will accrue from the first day of the month following  
the due date, until paid. (RCW 82.32.050) 
Internet Assistance – Go to DOR’s home page at dor.wa.gov 
• Get tax return information and instructions, penalty waiver 

information, and more. 
• Get the Local Sales and Use Tax Addendum, and other tax-related forms. 
• Update your account information or close your account with the 

Department of Revenue.  
Telephone Assistance 
• If you did not have business activity call 1-800-647-7706. At the greeting, 

enter 1 after each of the first two prompts, and then follow the instructions 
given. Do not mail a paper return back to the Department. 

• For penalty waiver criteria information, call 1-800-334-8969 and  
enter code 429. 

• For business closure information, call 1-800-334-8969 and enter  
code 430. 

For tax assistance or to request this document in an alternate format, 
please call 1-800-647-7706. Teletype (TTY) users may use the 
Washington Relay Service by calling 711. 

 

 
 

 VI  CREDITS   
Line 
No. Credit Classification Credit 

I.D. Amount 

62 Multiple Activities Tax Credit (attach Schedule C) 800   

63 International Services Credit 855   

64 Small Business B&O Tax Credit (go to dor.wa.gov) 815   

65 Renewable Energy System Cost Recovery Credit 925   

66 Bad Debt Tax Credit (attach Schedule B) 801   

67 Hazardous Substance 805   

68 Public Utility Tax Credit for Billing Discounts/Qualified 
Contributions to a Low Income Home Energy Assistance Fund 880   

69 Tobacco Products Tax Credit 930   

70 B&O Credit for Syrup Tax Paid 945   

71 Destination Sourcing Tax Credit 602   

72 Other Credits (attach appropriate documents) 810   

 
 

TOTAL CREDIT (transfer to page 1, line 32)   
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Appendix B   |  Multiple activities tax credit

Internet/Fax (11-11-16)   Page 3 

  
  

 Period  Year 

 

Multi-Purpose 
Deduction Detail    /     

     

4 Name  4 Tax Registration No.          
• If you have deductions, return pages 3 and 4. If you do not have deductions do not return pages 3 and 4.  
• We cannot approve deductions taken on the Combined Excise Tax Return that are not itemized on pages 3 and 4. 
• Report deductions under the heading that corresponds to your reporting activity. 
• Transfer the total deduction amount for each classification from this page to the corresponding line on your tax return in 

the deduction column. 
 

 

If completing, fill out name, tax registration number and attach to your Combined Excise Tax Return. 
 
 

 

Line 1 - Extracting, Extracting for Hire I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 1601   

Cash & Trade Discounts 1602   

Other (Explain): 1699   

TOTAL   
 

Line 2 - Slaughter, Break Processing… I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 3001   

Cash & Trade Discounts 3002   

Other (Explain): 3099   

TOTAL   
 

Line 3 – Travel Agent Com; Intl Charter… I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 2801   

Cash & Trade Discounts 2802   

Other (Explain): 2899   

TOTAL   
 

Line 4 - Insurance Producers; Title… I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 1401   

Other (Explain): 1499   

TOTAL   
 

Line 5 – Prescription Drug Warehousing… I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 2101   

Cash & Trade Discounts 2102   

Freight on Out-of-State Deliveries 2103   
Interstate & Foreign Sales (Use for Prescription 
Drug Warehousing Only.) 2104   

Advances Reimbursements; Rtrns & Allowances 2107   

Other (Explain): 2199   

TOTAL   
 

Line 6 – Processing for Hire; Printing and… I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 1001   

Cash & Trade Discounts 1002   

Freight on Out-of-State Deliveries 1003   

Advances Reimbursements; Rtrns & Allowances 1007   

Other (Explain): 1099   

TOTAL   

   
 

 
 

Line 7 – Manufacturing I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 0701   

Cash & Trade Discounts 0702   

Freight on Out-of-State Deliveries 0703   

Advances Reimbursements; Rtrns & Allowances 0707   

Other (Explain): 0799   

TOTAL   
 

Line 8 – Royalties I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 8001   

Cash & Trade Discounts 8002   

Advances Reimbursements; Rtrns & Allowances 8007   

Other (Explain): 8099   

TOTAL   
 
Line 9 – Wholesaling I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 0301   

Cash & Trade Discounts 0302   

Interstate & Foreign Sales 0304   

Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax 0305   

Casual Sales; Accommodation Sales 0306   

Advances Reimbursements; Rtrns & Allowances 0307   

No Local Activity 0308   
Dairy, Fruit/Veg, & Seafood Mfd Products  
(see below) * 0367   

Dairy Products Used in Mfg of Dairy Products 0375   

Other (Explain): 0399   

* Local sales for transport out-of-state TOTAL   
 
Line 10 – Warehousing; Radio & TV… I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 1101   

Cash & Trade Discounts 1102   

Interstate & Foreign Sales 1104   

Advances Reimbursements; Rtrns & Allowances 1107   

Radio/TV Advertising 1109   

Other (Explain): 1199   

TOTAL   
 
Line 11 – Public or Nonprofit Hospitals; Qualified 
Food Co-ops I.D. Amount 

Bad Debts 5501   

Cash & Trade Discounts 5502   

Advances Reimbursements; Rtrns & Allowances 5507   

Other (Explain): 5599   

TOTAL   

MAIL TO: Washington State 
Department of Revenue 
PO Box 47464 
Olympia WA 98504-7464 
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Appendix  B   |  Multiple activities tax credit

 Internet/Fax (11-11-16)   Page 4 

  

 
 
 

Not all deductions are allowable from 
both Retailing (B&O) and Retail Sales Tax. 

  

Line 12 – Cleanup of Radioactive Waste… I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 8301   
Cash & Trade Discounts 8302   
Interstate & Foreign Sales 8304   
Advances Reimbursements; Rtrns & Allowances 8307   
Other (Explain): 8399   

TOTAL   
 

Line 13 – Service & Other Activities and/or Gambling 
Contests of Chance (less than $50,000 a year) I.D. Amount 

Bad Debts 0401   
Cash & Trade Discounts 0402   
Apportionment (Interstate & Foreign Sales)  0404   
Advances Reimbursements; Rtrns & Allowances  0407   
Gambling, Prizes, & Cash Pay-Outs 0410   
Qualified Initiation Fees; Dues;  
Contributions Received 0411   

Interest on Certain Invest/Loan Obligations 0412   
Artistic/Cultural Activities 0416   
Qualifying Blood Banks 0448   
Other (Explain): 0499   

TOTAL   
 

Line 14 – Gambling Contests of Chance  
($50,000 a year or greater) I.D. Amount 

Gambling, Prizes, & Cash Pay-Outs 19210   
Other (Explain): 19299   

TOTAL   
 

Line 15 – For Profit Hospitals; Scientific R&D I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 13501   
Cash & Trade Discounts 13502   
Apportionment (Interstate & Foreign Sales)  13504   
Advances Reimbursements; Rtrns & Allowances  13507   
Qualified Initiation Fees; Dues;  
Contributions Received 13511   

Other (Explain): 13599   
TOTAL   

 

Line 16 - Retailing of Interstate Transport... I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 1901   
Cash & Trade Discounts 1902   
Interstate & Foreign Sales 1904   
Advances Reimbursements; Rtrns & Allowances 1907   
Consignment Sales 1915   
Other (Explain): 1999   

TOTAL   
 

Line 17 – Retailing (B&O) I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 0201   
Cash & Trade Discounts 0202   
Interstate & Foreign Sales 0204   
Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax 0205   
Advances Reimbursements; Rtrns & Allowances 0207   
No Local Activity 0208   
Casual Sales; Accommodation Sales 0213   
Tax in Gross 0214   
Consignment Sales 0215   
Artistic/Cultural Activities 0216   
Presc. Drugs Sold by Pub. Oper/Nonprofit Hospitals 0217   
Dairy and Seafood Mfd Products (see below)* 0267   
Other (Explain): 0299   

* Local sales for transport out-of-state TOTAL   

 
 

Line 18 – Retail Sales Tax I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 0101   

Cash & Trade Discounts 0102   

Interstate & Foreign Sales 0104   

Tax in Gross 0114   

Sales to U.S. Government 0118   

Motor Vehicle Fuel Sales 0119   

Prescription Drugs/Hearing Aids/Lenses/etc 0121   

Exempt Food Sales 0122   

Qualified Nonresident Sales 0123   

Trade-in Allowance 0124   

Newspapers 0125   

Sales to Indians with Delivery on the Reservation 0128   

Sales of Feed to Fish Farmers 0129   

Taxable Amount for Tax Paid at Source 0130   

Returns & Allowances 0131   
Sales to Nonprofit Organizations of Artistic/Cultural  
Art Objects for Displays 0132   

Ride-Sharing Vans 0134   

Purebred Livestock for Breeding 0135   

Tax Deferral/Investment Certificate No.  0136   

Sale of Manufacturing Mach/Equip; Install Labor 0156   

Retail Sales Tax Exempt Purchases by Farmers 0159   

Direct Pay Permits 0170   

Retail Sales Tax Reported on SER 0179   

Other (Explain): 0199   

 TOTAL   
 

Line 50 - Refuse Collection I.D. Amount 
Bad Debts 6401   

Sales to U.S. Government 6418   

Sales to Other Refuse/Solid Waste Collectors 6445   
Other (Explain): 6499   

TOTAL   
 

Line 51 - Petroleum Tax I.D. Amount 
Petroleum Products Exported Out of State 5746   
Other (Explain): 5799   

TOTAL   
 

Line 52 - Hazardous Substance I.D. Amount 
Other (Explain): 6599   

TOTAL   
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Appendix B   |   Multiple activities tax credit

State of Washington
Multiple Activities Tax Credit 

Schedule C 
 NAME REG NO. 

 FIRM NAME  

 ATTACHED TO:  EXCISE TAX RETURN   
Period Year 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PART I
Use Part 1 ONLY if you have paid taxes to other states with respect to activities also taxable in Washington. 

1. Find the Activity (A through E) which applies to your business (more than one activity may apply).  
2. Enter in Column 1 the taxable amount pertaining to that activity as reported on the Combined Excise Tax Return.  
3. Enter in Column 2 the amount of Washington B & O Tax due on the amount in Column 1.  
4. Enter in Column 3 the amount of gross receipts tax paid to other states under the appropriate heading.  
5. Enter in Column 4 the lesser of the amounts entered in Columns 2 and 3.  
6. Add all amounts in Column 4 and enter in the Subtotal Box.  

PART 1 - EXTERNAL CREDITS “Taxes Paid To Other States” 
 Column 1 Column 2 Column 3  Column 4 

ACTIVITY WHICH RESULTS Taxable 
B & O 
Taxes

Gross Receipts Taxes Paid 
Line Total 

IN A TAX CREDIT Amount Paid Other 
U.S. States 

Non-Washington 
Local Govts. 

Foreign Countries 
and Territories 

Code Credit  

A. Sales in Washington of products 
extracted outside of Washington 67

         

B. Sales in Washington of products 
manufactured outside of Washington 67

         

C. Washington manufactured products 
extracted outside of Washington 67

         

D. Washington extracted products sold
outside of Washington 68

         

E. Washington manufactured products 
sold outside of Washington 68

         

    Multiple Activities Tax Credit Subtotal
    of taxes paid to other states

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PART II
Use Part II ONLY if you have reported taxable amounts under two or more Washington B & O tax classifications. 

Make no entries in the shaded boxes. 
1. Find the Activity (F, G or H) which applies to your business (more than one activity may apply).
2. Enter in Column 1 the taxable amount pertaining to this activity.
3. Enter in Column 2 the B & O Tax applicable to this activity under the appropriate heading(s).  (Use the appropriate tax rates for

your activities as shown on the Combined Excise Tax Return, Column 5). 
4. For Activity F enter in Column 3 the tax amount listed under Extracting.
5. For Activity G combine the amounts entered under wholesaling and retailing and enter the result in Column 3. 
6. For Activity H combine the amounts entered under wholesaling and retailing.  Enter in Column 3 the lesser of the manufacturing 

or the combined wholesaling and retailing amount. 
7. Add all amounts in Column 3 and enter in Subtotal Box.

 PART II - INTERNAL CREDITS “Taxes Paid To Washington State”
ACTIVITY WHICH RESULTS Column 1 Column 2  Column 3 

IN A TAX CREDIT 
Taxable Business And Occupation Tax Reported Line Total 

 Amount Extracting Manufacturing Wholesaling Retailing Code Credit  
F. Washington extracted products 

manufactured in Washington 16
        

G. Washington extracted products 
sold in Washington 16

         

H. Washington manufactured products 
sold in Washington    07

       

    Multiple Activities Tax Credit Subtotal 
    of taxes paid to Washington State. 

Enter the total credits from Part I and Part II in this box and transfer the amount to 
the Multiple Activities Tax Credit line on the Combined Excise Tax Return 

Credit
ID 800 

For tax assistance visit dor.wa.gov or call 1-800-647-7706. To inquire about the availability of this form in an alternate format for the visually 
impaired, please call (360) 705-6715. Teletype (TTY) users may use the Washington Relay Service by calling 711. 

REV 40 0014 (2/5/13)

Washington State 
Department of Revenue 
Taxpayer Account Admin. 
PO Box 47476 
Olympia WA 98504-7476 

dor.wa.gov
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Appendix  C   |   Sample reseller permit

 

PO Box 47476 • Olympia, WA 98504-7476 • 1-800-647-7706

Important: The Department of Revenue may use information from sellers to verify all purchases made with this 

This permit can be used to purchase:
• Merchandise and inventory for resale without intervening use
• Ingredients, components, or chemicals used in processing new articles of tangible personal property produced  

for sale
• Feed, seed, seedlings, fertilizer, and spray materials by a farmer
• Materials and contract labor for retail/wholesale construction
• Items for dual purposes (see Purchases for Dual Purposes on back)

This permit cannot be used to purchase:
• Items for personal or household use
• Promotional items or gifts
• 
• 
• Materials and contract labor for speculative building

This permit is no longer valid if the business is closed.

The business named on this permit acknowledges:
• It is solely responsible for all purchases made under this permit
• Misuse of the permit: 

 – Subjects the business to a penalty of 50 percent of the tax due, in addition to the tax, interest, and penalties 
imposed (RCW 82.32.291)

 – May result in this permit being revoked

Notes (optional):

DETACH HERE

Business Activities:
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Appendix

CONFIDENTIAL TAX INFORMATION AUTHORIZATION

Attention: Fax:

Tax information is confidential and cannot be shared with anyone without the business/employer’s express permission. By completing this 
form, you are authorizing the agency to share your confidential tax information with the person(s) you name below. This is not a Power of 
Attorney form; it does not authorize parties to represent you by speaking on your behalf. Please fill in all parts of this form, carefully 
describing the specific information you want the agency to share and the periods covered by this authorization. This request may cover all 
confidential tax information or it may be limited to certain information and/or periods of time. Please read instructions on Page 2.

NOTE: This form will remain in effect until cancelled or replaced. Please refer to the Instructions on Page 2, Part 4.

1.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF THIS AUTHORIZATION:  
2.  Enter UBI Number: 
3.  Name of business/employer giving the selected agency authorization to share confidential tax information. 
Business/employer name(s) and mailing address: Telephone:  

Fax:  
E-mail: (optional)  
FEIN No: (optional)  
Check if new:   Address   Phone No. 

4.  Person, company, or firm with whom your confidential information can be shared.
Name and mailing address: UBI/TIN/EIN:  

Telephone:  
Fax:  
E-mail: (optional)  
Check if:   New and cancels any current Authorization 

  Adds an additional person or company to  
current Authorization on file 

Note: This does not change the official mailing address for sending information to the business/employer. 

5.  Information to be shared (please describe or state “All”) 6.  Year(s) or filing period(s) (be specific or state “All”) 

7.  Signature of person giving authorization (see instruction)

I declare, under penalty of perjury, that I am authorized to sign this form. I am listed as the real property owner or as the business
owner, partner, corporate officer, or LLC member or manager in official records held by Washington State, or I have attached 
documentation (e.g., power of attorney, annual report, executor) that grants me the authority to sign.

x
Print Name  Title (if applicable) Please Print 

x    

Signature     

x    

Dated  City and State in Which Signed 

8.  Make a copy of this form for your files. Fax or mail original form to each agency as needed.

Washington State 
Department of Revenue 
Taxpayer Services  
PO Box 47478 
Olympia, WA 98504-7478 
FAX: (360) 705-6733

Washington State 
Department of Labor & Industries 
PO Box 44140 
Olympia, WA 98504-4140 
FAX: (360) 902-4988 
Scanned copy: QuarterlyFiling@lni.wa.gov

For tax assistance or to request this document in an alternate format, visit http://dor.wa.gov or call 1-800-647-7706. Teletype (TTY) users may use 
the Washington Relay Service by calling 711.  
REV 27 0053e (08/19/15) 

EXC/TIA

D   |   Confidential tax information authorization

dor.wa.gov
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Appendix  D   |   Confidential tax information authorization

Instructions for Completing the Confidential Tax Information Authorization 
The Confidential Tax Information Authorization form (Authorization) grants the Department of Revenue (DOR) and 
Department of Labor and Industries (L&I)  permission to disclose to any individual, corporation, firm, organization, or 
partnership you designate to inspect and/or receive your confidential tax information for the specified type and for the 
year(s) or period(s) you list on the form. Note: This is not a Power of Attorney form; it does not authorize parties to 
represent you by speaking on your behalf. Please read the instructions that follow. 

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE 
If you were asked to send this document to a specific department employee enter the person’s name on the Attention line at 
the top of the document along with his or her fax number. Otherwise, see instructions Part 8. A copy needs to be sent to each 
agency as needed. 

Part 1 
Enter the date you want this authorization to begin. Normally this will be the current date.
Part 2 
Enter UBI number. 

Part 3 
Provide complete information about the person that is granting authorization for disclosure of their confidential tax 
information. This must include the following information or the Authorization cannot be processed: 

 Legal name of the person (eg. Owner name/partnership name/corporate name/limited liability company (LLC) name 
etc).

 Mailing address of the person. 
 Contact telephone number for the person (including fax number, e-mail address, and FEIN if available). 
 Indicate if either the address or telephone number are new to the account. 

Part 4 
Provide complete information regarding the person or company to whom the information is to be disclosed. This must 
include the following information or the Authorization cannot be processed: 

 Name of the person, company, or firm to whom the information can be released. 
 Full mailing address of the person, company, or firm. 
 Contact telephone number of the person, company, or firm (including fax number and e-mail address if available). 
 Check the applicable box * indicating whether this Authorization is new or replaces current Authorization(s) on file, 

or adds an additional person or company to the current Authorization on file. 
(*Checking the new box will cancel previous Authorization on file). 

Note: This does not change the official mailing address for sending information to employer.

To only cancel an existing Authorization on your account: Complete Parts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 7. In Part 4 write “Cancel 
Previous Authorizations” in the name and address box. 

Part 5 
Indicate the information to be released to the person or company. You can choose to be very specific, limiting the 
information to be disclosed, or you can indicate “All” to indicate no limitations to the information to be disclosed. 

Part 6 
Indicate the year(s) or filing period(s) for the information that you wish to be disclosed to the person or company, or state 
“All” to indicate that there are no limitations.  

Part 7 
To complete this section, you must be an authorized signer. Authorized signers are generally the business owner, a partner, 
corporate officer, or LLC member listed in Washington State records. If you cannot be verified by the Agency as an 
authorized signer, it is your responsibility to provide supporting documentation that indicates you are authorized to give the 
Agency this permission (e.g. corporate minutes, annual report, letter of delegation, job description, certain in-person contact,
guardian, executor, receiver, administrator, etc.). If your documentation cannot be verified, your request will not be allowed 
and you will be notified by the Agency. 

Part 8 
Keep a copy of this completed form for your files. Unless instructed otherwise, send a copy of this form to each agency as 
needed, using the fax numbers or addresses on the front of this form.

REV 27 0053e (08/19/15)
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Appendix E   |   Tax inquiry statement

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
TAX INQUIRY STATEMENT 

You may use this form as a guide to request a written response to your tax inquiry. You may leave this form 
with a Department of Revenue employee or mail your question to the address below. 

Date:  Year:

1. My name is:  

 Business Name:  

 Street Address:  

 City:  State:  Zip Code: 

 Phone: ( ) Tax Registration/UBI No.:  

 Email Address:  

2. My question is (give detailed information about your request.  If more space is needed, please attach 
additional sheets to this form).

Taxpayer Services 
PO Box 47478 

Olympia, WA 98504-7478 
Fax: (360) 705-6655 

You can expect a reply within 10 working days if the taxpayer in question is identified.

For tax assistance or to request this document in an alternate format, visit http://dor.wa.gov or call 1-800-647-7706.
Teletype (TTY) users may use the Washington Relay Service by calling 711.

REV 27 0008 (2/5/13)

dor.wa.gov
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Appendix  F   |   Buyers’  retail sales tax exemption certificate

REV 27 0032 (11/23/15) 1

BUYERS’ RETAIL SALES TAX EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE
Not to be used to make purchases for resale

Type of Certificate 

Single Use Certificate                  A Single use certificate must be used each time an exempt item is purchased. 

Blanket Certificate                       Blanket certificates are valid for as long as the buyer and seller have a recurring business relationship. A “recurring 
                                                                         business relationship” means at least one sales transaction within a period of twelve months. RCW 82.08.050 (7)(c)). 

Vendor/Seller Date

Street Address City State Zip Code 

I, the undersigned buyer, certify I am making an exempt purchase for the following reason: (Enter information and/or 
check applicable box(es))
1. Nonresident:
 Place of residence: 
 Type of proof of residence accepted (drivers license, fishing license, etc)   ,
 including any identification numbers   , and expiration date  .

a.  Tangible personal property other than motor vehicles for use outside Washington by a resident of a 
state, possession, or province of Canada, with a sales tax rate of less than three percent.

b.  Watercraft (Include make, model and serial number of vessel): 

 Registered or documented with the US Coast Guard or state of principal use and will leave 
Washington waters within 45 days; or

 Buyer is a resident of a foreign country. Purchase is for use outside Washington and will leave 
Washington waters within 45 days. 

Seller’s Signature: 
2.  Electric Vehicles:

a.  Batteries for electric vehicles or the purchase of labor and services rendered in respect to installing, 
repairing, altering, or improving electric vehicle batteries. 

b.  Tangible personal property that will become a component of electric vehicle infrastructure or the purchase 
of or charge made for labor and services rendered in respect to installing, constructing, repairing, or 
improving electric vehicle infrastructure. 

3. Intrastate Air Transport: 
 Airplanes for use in providing intrastate air transportation by a commuter air carrier and the sale of repair 

and related services for these airplanes. 
4. Interstate or Foreign Commerce or Commercial Deep Sea Fishing Business: 

a.  Motor vehicles, trailers and component parts thereof used to transport persons or property for hire in 
interstate or foreign commerce. 

b.  Airplanes, locomotives, railroad cars or watercraft and component parts thereof used in transporting 
persons or property for hire.

c.  Labor and services rendered to construct, repair, clean, alter or improve for hire carrier property. 
d.  Items for use connected with private or common carriers engaged in air, rail or water in interstate or 

foreign commerce. (Note: Items consumed in the state are subject to use tax.)
e.  Fuel to be consumed outside of Washington by a vessel primarily engaged in foreign commerce. 

 Vessel Name: 
 Type of Fuel: Quantity: 

f.  Watercraft, component parts, labor and services, and/or diesel fuel used in a qualifying commercial deep 
sea fishing operation. 

 Registered Vessel Name:  Vessel Number:  
g.  Purchases of liquefied natural gas (LNG) by private or common waterborne carriers in interstate or foreign 

commerce. The exemption applies to ninety percent of LNG transported and consumed outside this State by 
the buyer. (Effective July 1, 2015) 
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Appendix F   |   Buyers’  retail sales tax exemption certificate

REV 27 0032 (11/23/15) 2

5. Sales to Indians: 
a.  Tangible personal property (other than motor vehicles) or services purchased by Indians or Indian tribes when 

the goods are delivered to or services provided within Indian country. For motor vehicle sales, sellers must 
use the Retail Sales/Use Tax Exemption Certificate for Vehicles Sold to Enrolled Tribal Members by Auto 
Dealers form. 

b.  Supplies or services purchased by prime contractors hired by Indian tribes to perform construction in Indian 
Country when the goods are delivered to or services provided in Indian country. 

6. Other:
Prescription items: You must use the Sales Tax Exemption Certificate for Health Care Providers to claim 
exemptions for items prescribed for human use and other medical purchases. 
a.  Machinery and equipment (including labor and services to install) used directly in generating electricity 

using solar energy in a system capable of generating not more than 10kW of electricity. 
b.  Machinery and equipment (and the labor charges to install the same) used directly in producing thermal 

heat from collectors or solar hot water systems that produce 3 million BTU per day or less.
c. Waste vegetable oil used to produce biodiesel fuel for personal use. 
d.  Equipment rental and purchase of services for use in motion picture and video production. 
e.  Objects of art or cultural value purchased by an artistic or cultural organization. 
f.  Adaptive automobile equipment purchased by disabled veterans. 
g. Animal pharmaceuticals purchased by veterinarians. This exemption does not apply to pharmaceuticals for 

 pets. (Describe):
h.  Computer hardware, peripherals, software and related installation, used by the aerospace industry. 
i.  Labor, services, and tangible personal property related to the constructing of new buildings, or new parts of 

buildings, by a manufacturer of commercial airplanes, fuselages, or wings of a commercial airplane, or by a 
port district, political subdivision, or municipal corporation to be leased to such a manufacturer. 

j.  Computer hardware, peripherals, software and related installation, purchased by publishers and printers.
k.  City, County, Tribal, or Inter-Tribal Housing Authorities. 
l. Tangible personal property for use in a noncontiguous state delivered to the usual receiving terminal of

 the shipper.
 Type of Goods Purchased: 
 Point of Delivery: Carrier/Agent:

m.  Gases and chemicals used by a manufacturer or processor for hire in the production of semiconductor materials.
n.  Hog fuel used to produce electricity, steam, heat, or biofuel. 
o. Tangible personal property under the weatherization assistance program. 
p. Trail Grooming Services. 
q. Honey bees/honey bee feed purchased by an eligible apiarist. Apiarist ID #:
r. Federal credit union purchases. 
s.  Wax, ceramic materials, and labor used to create molds consumed during the process of creating 

investment castings. 
t. Sales of ferry vessels to the state or local governmental units, components thereof, and labor and service charges. 
u. Joint Municipal Utilities Services Authority. 
v. Paratransit vehicles purchased by paratransit service providers. 
w. Large/private airplanes purchased by nonresidents. 
x. Standard financial information purchased by qualifying international investment management companies. 
y. Clay targets purchased by nonprofit gun clubs. 
z. Charcoal, wood chips, & similar items to flavor food purchased by restaurants. 
aa. Material and supplies directly used in the packing of fresh perishable horticultural products by persons who 

receive, wash, sort, and pack fresh perishable horticultural products for farmers. 
ab. Vessel Deconstruction Services. 
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I, the undersigned buyer, understand that by completing and signing this certificate I am certifying that I qualify for the tax-
exempt purchase(s) indicated above. I understand that I will be required to pay sales or use tax on purchases that do not 
qualify for an exemption. In addition, I understand that false or erroneous use of this certificate will result in liability for
unpaid tax with interest and may result in additional penalties. 
Type of entity:  Individual  Corporation  Sole Proprietor  Partnership  Other (Explain) 
Type of Business: Tax Registration No.: 
Name of Buyer: Title:
Signature of Buyer: 
Street Address: 
City: State: Zip: 

Seller must maintain a copy. Do not send to Department of Revenue.
Each exemption on this form has specific rules (see instructions) 

INSTRUCTIONS
Buyers must ensure entitlement to the exemption before using this Certificate. For information regarding 
exemptions, contact Washington State Department of Revenue Taxpayer Information Center at (360) 705-6705 or  
1-800-647-7706 or visit the Department’s web site at: dor.wa.gov.

Line 1a applies to the purchase of tangible personal 
property other than motor vehicles for use outside 
Washington by a resident of a state, possession, or 
province of Canada with a sales tax rate of less than three 
percent (e.g. Oregon, Alaska). Reference: 
RCW 82.08.0273, WAC 458-20-193 (6) (b) and ETA 
3054.2011.

NOTE: Sales of motor vehicles are not covered by this 
certificate; please refer to RCW 82.08.0264 and 
WAC 458-20-177 for certificate and exemption 
information.

Line 1b applies to watercraft purchased by a nonresident 
for use outside Washington when delivery takes place in 
Washington. The buyer must provide proof of residency 
(picture ID) and check the applicable box. By checking the 
box, the buyer certifies that the vessel will leave 
Washington State waters within forty-five days. Sellers 
must examine and document the proof of residency 
provided by the buyer. Seller must sign the form. By 
signing the form, the seller certifies that the seller has 
examined and listed the buyer’s proof of residency. See 
WAC 458-20-238 for acceptable proof of residency for 
corporations, partnerships and limited liability companies. 
Reference: RCW 82.08.0266,
RCW 82.08.02665 and WAC 458-20-238. 

Line 2a applies to the purchase of electric vehicle 
batteries or to labor and services rendered in respect to 
installing, repairing, altering, or improving electric 
vehicle batteries. Reference: RCW 82.08.816 

Line 2b applies to the purchase of tangible personal 
property that will become a component of an electric 
vehicle infrastructure or to labor and services rendered in 
respect to installing, constructing, repairing, or 
improving electric vehicle infrastructure.  
Reference: RCW 82.08.816 

Line 3 applies to the purchase of airplanes for use in 
providing intrastate air transportation by a commuter air 
carrier and the sale of repair and related services for 
these airplanes. Commuter air carriers are air carriers 
holding authority under Title 14, part 298 of the code of 
federal regulations that carries passengers on at least five 
round trips per week on at least one route between two 
or more points. 
Reference: RCW 82.08.0262 and 82.12.0254. 

Line 4a applies to the purchase of motor vehicles, or 
trailers by a business operating or contracting to 
operate for the holder of a carrier permit issued by the 
Interstate Commerce Commission. The exemption also 
applies to component parts and repairs of such carrier 
property including labor and services rendered in the 
course of constructing, repairing, cleaning, altering or 
improving the same. The buyer must attach a list 
stating make, model, year, serial number, motor 
number and ICC permit number. Reference: RCW 
82.08.0263 and  
WAC 458-20-174. 

Line 4b applies to the purchase of airplanes, 
locomotives, railroad cars, or watercraft for use in 
conducting interstate or foreign commerce by 
transporting therein or therewith persons or property for
hire. The exemption also applies to component parts of 
such carrier property. Reference:  
RCW 82.08.0262 and WAC 458-20-175. 
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Line 4c applies to charges for labor and services rendered 
in the course of constructing, repairing, cleaning, altering 
or improving carrier property when carrier property is 
used for hire. Reference:
RCW 82.08.0262 and WAC 458-20-175. 

Line 4d applies to the purchase of durable goods or 
consumables, other than those mentioned in line 4b, for 
use in connection with interstate or foreign commerce by 
such businesses. The goods must be for exclusive use 
while engaged in transporting persons or property in 
interstate or foreign commerce. The exemption does not
apply to charges for labor or services in regard to the 
installing, repairing, cleaning or altering of such property. 
Although exempt from retail sales tax, materials are 
subject to use tax if consumed in Washington. 
Unregistered businesses must attach a list stating the 
description and quantity of items that will be consumed in 
Washington and pay use tax to the seller. 
Reference: RCW 82.08.0261 and WAC 458-20-175. 

Line 4e applies to fuel consumed outside the territorial 
waters of the United States by vessels used primarily in 
foreign commerce. Buyers must list the vessel name, type 
of fuel and quantity. Reference: RCW 82.08.0261 and 
WAC 458-20-175. 

Line 4f applies to the purchase of vessels, component 
parts, or repairs by persons engaged in commercial deep 
sea fishing operations outside the territorial waters of the 
state of Washington. The exemption also applies to the 
purchase of diesel fuel used in commercial deep or 
commercial passenger fishing operations when annual 
gross receipts from the operations are at least five thousand 
dollars. Reference: RCW 82.08.0262,
RCW 82.08.0298, and WAC 458-20-176. 

Line 4g  applies to the purchase of LNG by carriers that 
are registered with the Department of Revenue. Carriers 
not registered with the Department must pay sales tax on 
all LNG at the time of purchase, and may later apply for a 
partial refund directly from the Department. 

Line 5a applies to the purchase of tangible personal 
property (other than motor vehicles) or services by an 
Indian or Indian tribe. The goods or services must be 
delivered to, or performed on the reservation. The 
purchaser must present a tribal membership card, a 
treaty fishing card, a certificate of enrollment, or a letter 
from a tribal official. Sellers must document the buyer’s 
name, dollar amount of purchase, tribal affiliation and 
reservation where delivery is made. For motor vehicle 
sales, sellers must use the Retail Sales/Use Tax 
Exemption Certificate for Vehicles Sold to Enrolled 
Tribal Members by Auto Dealers form. Reference: 
RCW 82.08.0254 and WAC 458-20-192. 

Line 5b applies to the purchase of consumable supplies, 
equipment rentals or services by a prime contractor hired 
by an Indian tribe to perform construction in Indian 
Country where the goods or services are delivered to, or 
performed on the reservation. The purchaser must present 
a construction contract with the tribe or a letter from a 
tribal official evidencing that they are working directly 
with the Tribe. Sellers must document the buyer’s name, 
dollar amount of purchase, and reservation where 
delivery is made. Reference: RCW 82.08.0254 and 
WAC 458-20-192. 

Line 6a applies to the purchase of qualifying machinery 
and equipment (and charges for labor to install) used 
directly in generating electricity using the sun. The solar 
energy system must be no larger than 10kW.  Effective 
July 1, 2009 – June 30, 2018. 
Reference: RCW 82.08.963 

Line 6b applies to the purchase of qualifying machinery 
and equipment (and charges for labor to install) used 
directly in producing thermal heat using solar collectors 
or solar hot water systems that produce 3 million BTU 
per day or less. Effective July 1, 2013 - June 30, 2018. 
Reference: RCW 82.08.963. 

Line 6c applies to the purchase of waste vegetable oil from 
restaurants and food processors to produce biodiesel fuel 
for personal use. The exemption does not apply to persons 
that are engaged in selling biodiesel fuel at wholesale or 
retail. Reference: RCW 82.08.0205. 

Line 6d applies to the rental of production equipment 
and purchases of production services by motion picture 
and video production companies. 
Reference: RCW 82.08.0315 and Motion Picture-Video 
Production Special Notice. 

Line 6e applies to the purchase of objects of art or 
cultural value, and items used in the creation of a work 
of art (other than tools), or in displaying art objects or 
presenting artistic or cultural exhibitions or 
performances by artistic or cultural organizations. 
Reference: RCW 82.08.031 and WAC 458-20-249. 

Line 6f applies to the purchases of add-on adaptive 
automotive equipment purchased by disabled veterans 
and disabled members of the armed forces currently on 
active duty.  To qualify the equipment must be 
prescribed by a physician and the purchaser must be 
reimbursed by the Department of Veterans Affairs and 
the reimbursement must be paid directly to the seller.  
Reference: RCW 82.08.875

dor.wa.gov


40

Appendix  F   |   Buyers’  retail sales tax exemption certificate

REV 27 0032 (11/23/15) 5

Line 6g applies to the purchase of animal 
pharmaceuticals by veterinarians or farmers for the 
purpose of administering to an animal raised for sale by a 
farmer. Animal pharmaceuticals must be approved by 
the United States Food and Drug Administration or the 
United States Department of Agriculture. This 
exemption does not extend to or include pet animals. 
Reference: RCW 82.08.880. 

Line 6h applies to the purchase of computer hardware, 
peripherals, and software, and related installation, not 
otherwise eligible for the M&E exemption, used 
primarily in development, design, and engineering of 
aerospace products or in providing aerospace services. 
Reference: RCW 82.08.975. 

Line 6i applies to charges for labor and services 
rendered in respect to the constructing of new 
buildings, or new parts of buildings, used primarily to 
manufacture commercial airplanes, fuselages of 
commercial airplanes, or wings of commercial 
airplanes. The exemption is available to manufacturers 
engaged in manufacturing commercial airplanes, 
fuselages of commercial airplanes, or wings of 
commercial airplanes. It is also available to port 
districts, political subdivisions, or municipal 
corporations who lease an eligible facility to a 
manufacturer engaged in eligible manufacturing 
activities. The exemption also applies to sales of 
tangible personal property that will become a 
component of such buildings during the course of the 
constructing, and to labor and services rendered in 
respect to installing, during the course of constructing, 
building fixtures not otherwise eligible for the 
exemption under RCW 82.08.02565(2)(b). Reference: 
RCW 82.08.980 and RCW 82.32.850. 

Line 6j applies to the purchase of computer hardware, 
peripherals, digital cameras, software, and related 
installation not otherwise eligible for the M&E 
exemption that is used primarily in the printing or 
publishing of printed materials. The exemption 
includes repairs and replacement parts. 
Reference: RCW 82.08.806. 

Line 6k applies to all retail purchases of goods and 
services by City, County, Tribal, or Inter-Tribal 
Housing Authorities. Reference: RCW 35.82.210. 
Line 6l applies to the purchase of goods for use in a 
state, territory or possession of the United States which 
is not contiguous to any other state such as Alaska, 
Hawaii, Guam, and American Samoa. For the 
exemption to apply, the seller must deliver the goods to 
the usual receiving terminal of the for-hire carrier 
selected to transport the goods. Reference: RCW 
82.08.0269. 

Line 6m applies to the purchase of gases and chemicals 
by a manufacturer or processor for hire in the 
production of semiconductor materials. Limited to 
gases and chemicals used to grow the product, deposit 
or grow permanent or sacrificial layers on the product, 
to etch or remove material from the product, to anneal 
the product, to immerse the product, to clean the 
product, and other uses where the gases and chemicals 
come into direct contact with the product during the 
production process, or gases and chemicals used to 
clean the chambers and other like equipment in which 
processing takes place. Reference: RCW 82.08.9651. 

Line 6n applies to the purchase of hog fuel to produce 
electricity, steam, heat, or biofuel. Hog fuel is defined as 
wood waste and other wood residuals including forest 
derived biomass. Hog fuel does not include firewood or 
wood pellets. Reference: RCW 82.08.956. 

Line 6o applies to the purchase of tangible personal 
property used in the weatherization of residences under 
the weatherization assistance program. The tangible 
personal property must become a component part of the 
residence. Reference: RCW 82.08.998. 

Line 6p applies to the purchase of trail grooming 
services by the state of Washington and nonprofit 
corporations organized under chapter 24.03 RCW. 
Trail grooming activities include snow compacting, 
snow redistribution, or snow removal on state or 
privately-owned trails. Reference: RCW 82.08.0203. 

Line 6q applies to all honey bees and honey bee feed 
(e.g. sugar) purchased by an eligible apiarist.  An 
eligible apiarist is a person who: owns or keeps one or 
more bee colonies; grows, raises , or produces honey bee 
products for sale at wholesale; and registers their 
hives/colonies with the WA State Department of 
Agriculture as required by RCW 15.60.021 References: 
RCW 82.08.0204 and RCW 82.08.200 

Line 6r applies to the purchase of goods and retail 
services by federally chartered credit unions. Federal 
credit unions are exempt from state and local consumer 
taxes under federal law, such as sales tax, lodging taxes 
and rental car tax. To be exempt, the federal credit union 
must pay for goods and services directly, such as by a 
check written on the federal credit union or a credit card 
issued to the federal credit union. Sellers should keep a 
copy of the check or credit card used for payment to 
substantiate the exempt nature of the sale. 
Reference: WAC 458-20-190 
Line 6s applies to the purchase of wax and ceramic 
materials used to create molds consumed during the 
process of creating ferrous and nonferrous investment 
castings used in industrial applications. Also applies to 
labor or services used to create wax patterns and 
ceramic shells used as molds in this process. 
Reference: RCW 82.08.983 
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Line 6t applies to sales of ferry vessels to the state of 
Washington or to a local governmental unit in the state 
of Washington for use in transporting pedestrians, 
vehicles, and goods within or outside the territorial 
waters of the state. The exemption also applies to sales 
of tangible personal property which becomes a 
component part of such ferry vessels and sales of or 
charges made for labor and services rendered in respect 
to constructing or improving such ferry vessels. 
Reference RCW 82.08.0285. 

Line 6u applies to cities, counties, and other 
municipalities that create a Joint Municipal Services 
Authority. Reference: RCW 82.08.999 

Line 6v applies to purchases of small buses, cutaways, 
and modified vans not more than 28 feet long by a 
public social service agency (transit authority) or a 
private, nonprofit transportation provider.
Reference: RCW 82.08.0287. 

Line 6w applies to purchases of private airplanes by 
nonresidents weighing over 41,000 pounds. It also 
provides an exemption for charges for repairing, 
cleaning, altering or improving such airplanes owned 
by nonresidents. A nonresident qualifies for these 
exemptions when they are not required to register the 
airplane with the Department of Transportation.  
Reference: RCW 82.08.215 

Line 6x applies to the purchase and use of standard 
financial information by a qualifying international 
investment management company. The bill provides 
definitions for both “standard financial information” 
and “qualifying international investment management 
company” and limits the amount of qualifying 
purchases to $15 million dollars in a calendar year. The 
standard financial information may be provided in a 
tangible format (e.g. paper documents), on a tangible 
media (e.g. DVD, USB drive, etc.) or as a digital 
product transferred electronically.  
Reference: RCW 82.08.207 

Line 6y applies to the purchases of clay targets by nonprofit 
gun clubs. The exemption applies to clay target shooting 
when a fee is charged for the activity. The exemption expires 
July 1, 2017. Reference: RCW 82.08.205 

Line 6z applies to purchases of certain wood chips, grape 
vines, charcoal for use by restaurants. The products must 
impart flavor to the food and be substantially consumed by 
the combustion process during cooking. The exemption also 
extends to wooden planks that are used to support the food 
during cooking, such as cedar grilling planks. The exemption 
does not apply to any purchases of gas fuel.  Reference: 
RCW 82.08.210 

Line 6aa applies to purchases of materials and supplies used 
in packing horticultural products. The exemption applies only 
to persons who receive, wash, sort, and pack fresh perishable 
horticultural products for farmers as defined in RCW 
82.04.330 and that are entitled to a deduction under RCW 
82.04.4287 either as an agent or an independent contractor. 
Reference: RCW 82.08.0311

Line 6ab applies to deconstruction of vessels. "Vessel 
deconstruction" means permanently dismantling a 
vessel, including: Abatement and removal of hazardous 
materials; the removal of mechanical, hydraulic, or 
electronic components or other vessel machinery and 
equipment; and either the cutting apart or disposal, or 
both, of vessel infrastructure. For the purposes of this 
subsection, "hazardous materials" includes fuel, lead, 
asbestos, polychlorinated biphenyls, and oils. "Vessel 
deconstruction" does not include vessel modification or 
repair. In order to qualify for this exemption the vessel 
deconstruction must be performed at either a qualified 
vessel deconstruction facility; or an area over water 
that has been permitted under section 402 of the clean 
water act of 1972 (33 U.S.C. Sec. 1342) for vessel 
deconstruction. Reference RCW 82.08.9996 

For tax assistance or to request this document in an alternate format, please call 1-800-647-7706. Teletype (TTY) users may use the 
Washington Relay Service by calling 711.

F   |   Buyers’  retail sales tax exemption certificate

dor.wa.gov


42

Appendix  

Business activity Tax classification Rules/laws 

Accounting, 

bookkeeping,   

tax preparation 

Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Actuarial Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Advertising agencies Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-218 

Athletic & fitness  

facilities

Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-183, 

RCW 82.04.050 

Appraiser Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Architects Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O,  

Retail Sales Tax

WAC 458-20-170, 224  

RCW 82.04.050

Athletic clubs Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-183, 

RCW 82.04.050 

Attorneys Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-207 

Beauty salon/barber Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O,  

Retail Sales Tax

WAC 458-20-138, 224, 

Beauticians Tax Guide 

Business consulting Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Car wash Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-173 

Catering Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O WAC 458-20-119, 124 

Child care Child Care B&O (School Age Children) WAC 458-20-167,  

Child Care Operators  

Fact Sheet

Collection contracts 

(without escrow) 

Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-156 

Commission 

salespersons/agents 

Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-159 

G  |  Common business activities table

This table shows the common classifications reported on the excise tax return. It provides general 
guidelines, not specific reporting instructions. 

For instance, if you conduct multiple activities, it may be necessary to report under several B&O tax 
classifications. Specific activities, such as cigarette sales, may also be subject to other taxes. If you have 
questions, contact us or visit your local Revenue office.
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Computer services Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, 

Wholesaling B&O 

WAC 458-20-15501, 

15502, 15503 

Consumer goods Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O, Litter Tax RCW 82.04.050 

   Construction Wholesaling B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Public Road 

Construction B&O, Government Contracting B&O 

WAC 458-20-170; 17001;  

171; 172; 173;  

Construction Tax Guide 

Court reporters Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Credit bureau services Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax RCW 82.04.050 

Data processing Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-15503; 

RCW 82.04.192, 257 

Dentists/orthodontists Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O,  

Retail Sales Tax

WAC 458-20-151 

Design services Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O,  

Retail Sales Tax

WAC 458-20-224; 170 

RCW 82.04.050 

Engineers Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O,  

Retail Sales Tax

WAC 458-20-170; 224 

Escrow Services Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-156 

Farming for Hire Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-209,  

RCW 82.04.625

Games of Chance Service & Other Activities B&O and/or Gambling Contests of 

Chance B&O (less than $50,000 a year), 

Gambling Contests of Chance B&O ($50,000 a year or greater) 

WAC 458-20-131 

Graphic Design Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O,  

Retail Sales Tax 

WAC 458-20-15503, 

RCW 82.04.050, 192 

Grocery & Convenience 

Stores 

Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Litter Tax, Service & Other 

Activities B&O 

WAC 458-20-244, 243, 

Convenience Store Tax 

Guide

Hotels, Motels Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Convention & Trade, Special Hotel/

Motel, Service & Other Activities B&O 

WAC 458-20-118, 124,  

166, Lodging Tax Guide

Insurance Agent, Broker, 

Solicitor 

Insurance Agent Commissions WAC 458-20-164, 163 

Insurance Adjuster Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-164, 224 

Internet Service 

Providers 

Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224, 

RCW 82.04.297, 290 

G  |  Common business activities table

Business activity Tax classification Rules/laws 
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Janitorial Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-172 

Landscape gardeners Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-226, 

RCW 82.04.050 

Laundry services Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-165, 173

Legal, arbitration & 

mediation 

Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-207, 224 

Mailing bureaus Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O WAC 458-20-141 

Marijuana producers, 

processors & retailers

Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O,  

Manufacturing B&O

RCW 82.04.050

Optometrists Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O, 

Retail Sales Tax, Regional Transit Authority 

WAC 458-20-150 

Painting Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O, Government 

Contracting B&O, Public Road Construction

WAC 458-20-173, 170, 

171, 17001 

Photographers Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O, Service & Other 

Activities B&O, Royalties

WAC 458-20-140, 142, 

224, Photography Tax 

Guide 

Physicians Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-138, 151, 

18801 

Pressure washing Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O WAC 458-20-173, 

RCW 82.04.050 

Private investigators Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Protective services Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Recreational services Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Service & Other Activities B&O RCW 82.04.050

Rental of equipment 

with operator 

Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O WAC 458-20-211, 

RCW 82.04.050, 

Construction Tax Guide

Repair tangible personal 

property 

Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O WAC 458-20-173 

Restaurants Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Litter Tax WAC 458-20-119, 124, 

Restaurant Tax Guide 

Royalties Royalties B&O RCW 82.04.2907 

Sales of goods to U.S. 

government 

Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-190 

G  |  Common business activities table

Business activity Tax classification Rules/laws 



dor.wa.gov  |  1-800-647-7706 45

Appendix

Sales to state/local 

government/schools 

Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-189 

Secretarial/clerical/

stenographers 

Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Software Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Service & Other Activities B&O, 

Royalties 

WAC 458-20-15501, 

15502, 15503  

RCW 82.04.215, 2907 

Taverns Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Litter Tax, Service & Other 

Activities B&O, Gambling Contests of Chance B&O (less than 

$50,000 a year), Gabbling Contests of Chance B&O ($50,000 a  

year or greater)

WAC 458-20-119, 124, 

131, 243 

Tavern Tax Guide 

Taxi Urban Transportation Public Utility Tax, Motor Transportation 

Public Utility Tax 

WAC 458-20-180, 179, 

Taxicabs Tax Guide

Tour operators Tour Operator B&O, Travel Agent B&O, Service & Other Activities 

B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax

WAC 458-20-183, 258 

Travel agents Travel Agent Commission B&O WAC 458-20-258 

Trucking Urban Transportation Public Utility Tax, Motor Transportation 

Public Utility Tax, Service & Other Activities B&O 

WAC 458-20-179, 180, 

193D, Trucking Tax 

Guide 

Vending machines Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-244, 187 

Veterinarians Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-222, 

Veterinarians Tax Guide 
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1657 Fowler St
PO Box 140
RICHLAND 99352
(509) 987-1201

630 N Chelan Ave 
Suite B3
PO Box 220
WENATCHEE 98807-0220
(509) 885-9825

6500 Linderson Way SW
Suite 102
TUMWATER 98501
(800) 647-7706

3315 South 23rd St
Suite 300
PO Box 111180 
TACOMA 98411-1180
(253) 382-2000

3703 River Rd
Suite 3
YAKIMA 98902-7325
(509) 454-5160

1330 N Washington
Suite 5600
SPOKANE 99201-2456
(509) 327-0200

19800 North Creek Parkway, 
Suite 101
BOTHELL, WA 98011
(425) 984-6400

734 E First St 
Suite B
PO Box 400
PORT ANGELES 98362-0064
(360) 417-9900

2101  4th Ave 
Suite 1400
SEATTLE 98121-2300
(206) 727-5300

20819 72nd Ave South
Suite 680
KENT 98032
(425) 656-5100

1904 Humboldt St
Suite A
BELLINGHAM 98225
(360) 594-4840

8008 NE 4th Plain Blvd 
Suite 320
PO Box 1648
VANCOUVER 98668-1648
(360) 256-2060

dor.wa.gov

