
Unclaimed Property

Quick Start 
Reporting 
Guide

Can I charge an inactivity-based or 
processing fee against unclaimed accounts?
Most businesses may not charge a fee based on 
inactivity or dormancy against unclaimed property. 
You may not assess your costs of complying with the 
law unless you have an enforceable written contract 
with the owner that permits the fee.

I discovered past due property and would like 
to report it without penalty. Will your office 
accept it without charging me a penalty?
In many cases, we are able to make arrangements 
for past due property. Send an email to ucp@dor.
wa.gov to request a voluntary disclosure agreement.

Are there interest and penalties if I don’t 
comply?
Yes. Both interest and penalties may be assessed 
against any person who willfully fails to render any 
unclaimed property found to be due and owing to 
another.  See RCW 63.29.340 for more information 
regarding interest and penalties.

Need additional assistance?
Attend a free workshop. Visit our website at  
ucp.dor.wa.gov and click on Workshops for 
businesses to register. 

For additional information about unclaimed  
property, including step by step electronic  
reporting instructions, download a copy of  
our Unclaimed Property Reporting booklet  
at http://ucp.dor.wa.gov/holderContent.aspx

This brochure is designed to help you 
understand unclaimed property, what 
types of abandoned property qualify and 
how to report to the Department.

For tax assistance or to request this document in an alternate format, 
visit http://dor.wa.gov or call 1-800-647-7706. Teletype (TTY) users  
may use the Washington Relay Service by calling 711.

Contact Information	
State of Washington 
Department of Revenue
Unclaimed Property Section
PO Box 34053
Seattle, WA 98124-1053

Website: ucp.dor.wa.gov
Toll free: 1-800-435-2429
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Identify
Review your records for any unclaimed property  
that your company may be holding.

Washington abandonment periods
1 Year	 Payroll & Utility deposits
2 Years	 Public agencies
3 Years	 Most other property categories
5 Years	 Safe deposit box contents

Attempt to locate the owner before  
reporting unclaimed property
If your business is holding property for others  
with last known addresses in Washington, you are 
required to report this unclaimed property to the 
Department of Revenue (reference RCW 63.29). 

Between May 1 and August 1, business owners 
are required to send a due diligence letter to 
unclaimed property owners who appear to have 
valid addresses and property valued at more  
than $75. A sample letter is available on our 
website at ucp.dor.wa.gov, page 4 of the Guide  
to Reporting Unclaimed Property.

Gather reporting information
For the owners that you were unable to locate, 
gather any additional information such as social 
security numbers, birth dates, and property  
types. This helps us find the rightful owners for  
the property. 

Steps to reporting unclaimed property
Your first report is due within 30 days of contact by the Department. All subsequent reports are due by November 1 of each year.

What is unclaimed property?
Unclaimed property is money or intangible property 
owed to an individual or business. Property is 
considered unclaimed after it is held for a period  
of time with no owner contact, and a good faith 
effort has been made to locate the owner.

Adandoned property is turned over to the 
Department of Revenue from many sources, 
including banks, credit unions, corporations,  
utilities, insurance companies, governmental 
entities, and retailers throughout the United States.

Types of unclaimed property 
77 Uncashed checks (including payroll)

77 Customer/patient credits

77 Utility deposits and other refunds

77 Safe deposit box contents

77 Life insurance funds

77 Savings, checking, and time deposits

77 Stocks and mutual funds

Are you holding unclaimed property? 
Businesses frequently hold abandoned or 
unclaimed property that must be reported to  
the Washington State Department of Revenue.

Even if you do not have any property to report,  
you must submit a negative (no property) report. 
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Preparing and reporting methods
Choose one of the following options:

77 Electronic reporting (preferred). Use the free, 
secure UPExchange software to enter your 
information and create a NAUPA II file. This 
allows you additional options to either submit 
your report online or by CD.

77 Paper reporting (10 items or less). Visit our 
website at ucp.dor.wa.gov to download the 
forms and instructions. Complete both the 
Summary Report and the Detail Report.

77 Negative reporting (no property). You  
may file your negative report electronically  
or by paper. Download our Guide to Reporting 
Unclaimed Property from our website at  
ucp.dor.wa.gov for specific filing instructions.

Filing your report to Washington State 
Department of Revenue
Use one of the following options and submit  
your report. 

Online (preferred):
77 Department of Revenue website. Upload  

your electronic NAUPA II file to our secure site 
at ucp.dor.wa.gov. Pay by E-check, ACH Credit 
or by mailing a check.

77 UPExchange website. File your electronic 
NAUPA II file using the UPExchange website  
at www.byetm.com.

Postal mail:
77 CD. Save your NAUPA II file to a CD. Mail  

us your report and payment. 

77 Paper report (10 properties or less). 
Complete and mail the Summary and Detail 
Report with your payment. 

Washington State Department of Revenue 
Unclaimed Property Section 
PO Box 34053 
Seattle, WA 98124-1053


