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 BEFORE THE INTERPRETATION AND APPEALS DIVISION 
 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 STATE OF WASHINGTON 
 
In the Matter of the Petition    )    D E T E R M I N A T I O 
N 
For Correction of Assessment of  ) 

   ) No. 88-432 
   )            

. . .              )    Unregistered 
        ) 

 
[1] RULE 178:  USE TAX -- WATERCRAFT USED AS RESIDENCE -

-HOUSEHOLD GOODS -- PERSONAL EFFECTS. Where a 
taxpayer locates a watercraft purchased in another 
state upon the waters of the state of Washington and 
lives aboard the watercraft, the watercraft is not 
exempt from use tax pursuant to RCW 82.12.0251 (WAC 
458-20-178(7)(C)) as household goods--personal 
effects. 

 
Headnotes are provided as a convenience for the reader and are 
not in any way a part of the decision or in any way to be used 
in construing or interpreting this Determination. 
 
 NATURE OF ACTION:                 
 
Taxpayer petitions for correction of assessment of use tax on 
value of watercraft purchased in another state and used as a 
residence in the state of Washington. 
 
 FACTS AND ISSUES: 
 
Zagelow, A.L.J. -- The taxpayer purchased the vessel " . . . " 
in the state of Minnesota in 1983 and thereafter moved the 
vessel to the state of Washington.  The taxpayer is presently 
living aboard the vessel at moorage leased yearly from  . . .  
, Washington.  The present lease expires January 14, 1989.  
The taxpayer has been assessed use tax of $1,485.54  on the 
value of the vessel ($18,340) by a notice of use tax due dated 
July 12, 1988.  The due date of the return is August 5, 1988.  
The taxpayer petitioned for a correction of the assessment 
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($1,485.54 ) claiming the vessel is exempt under WAC 458-20-
178(7)(C) as household goods and personal effects.  The vessel 
is apparently not presently registered with the state of 
Washington pursuant to chapter 88.02 Revised Code of 
Washington. 
 
 DISCUSSION: 
 
RCW 82.12.0251 providing the exemption upon which the taxpayer 
relies states: 
 

The provisions of this chapter shall not apply in 
respect to the use of any article of tangible 
personal property brought into the state of 
Washington by a nonresident thereof for his or her 
use or enjoyment while temporarily within the state 
of Washington unless such property is used in 
conducting a nontransitory business activity within 
the state of Washington; or in respect to the use by 
a nonresident of Washington of a motor vehicle or 
trailer which is registered or licensed under the 
laws of the state of his or her residence, and which 
is not required to be registered or licensed under 
the laws of Washington, including motor vehicles or 
trailers exempt pursuant to a declaration issued by 
the department of licensing under RCW 46.85.060; or 
in respect to the use of household goods, personal 
effects, and private automobiles by a bona fide 
resident of Washington or nonresident members of the 
armed forces who are stationed in Washington 
pursuant to military orders, if such articles were 
acquired and used by such person in another state 
while a bona fide resident thereof and such 
acquisition and use occurred more than ninety days 
prior to the time he or she entered Washington. 
 
For purposes of this section, "state" means a state 
of the United States, any political subdivision 
thereof, the District of Columbia, and any foreign 
country or political subdivision thereof. 

 
Rule 178, WAC 458-20-178, paragraph (7), subparagraph (c) 
explaining the exemption states: 
 

The use of household goods, personal effects, and 
private automobiles by a bone fide resident of this 
state or nonresident members of the armed forces who 
are stationed in this state pursuant to military 
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orders, if such articles were acquired and used by 
such person in another state while a bone fide 
resident thereof and such acquisition and use 
occurred more than ninety days prior to the time 
such person entered this state.  

 
The watercraft is exempt from use tax if it is "household 
goods" and/or "personal effects" as the facts reveal the boat 
was acquired and used by the taxpayer while the taxpayer was a 
resident of another state and such acquisition and use was 
more than ninety days prior to the taxpayer entering the state 
of Washington. 
 
WAC 458-12-270 defines household goods and personal effects as 
follows:  
 

. . . Household goods and furnishings shall include 
movable items of necessity, convenience, or 
decoration, such as bedding , tables, chairs, 
refrigerators, stoves, freezers, food, clocks, 
radios, televisions, pictures, tools and equipment 
used to maintain the residence.  It shall include 
all personal property normally located in or about a 
residence and used or held to enhance the value of 
enjoyment of the residence (including its premises).  
Those items of personal property constructed 
primarily for use independent of and separate from a 
residence do not qualify for the exemption (i.e., 
boats, pickup campers, ( pickup campers attached to 
the vehicle by the methods authorized in department 
of licenses bulletin, dated January 26, 1965 shall 
be considered a part of the vehicle and are not 
taxable as personal property) etc.). 
 
. . . Personal effects shall be construed to mean 
tangible property which usually ordinarily attends 
the person.  Such articles as wearing apparel, 
jewelry, toilet articles and articles of similar 
nature would qualify for this exemption. 

 
[1]  As a boat is specifically not a household goods item, and 
a boat is not an item of tangible personal property which 
attends the person, the subject vessel is neither an item of 
household goods or an item of personal effects.  Therefore, 
the taxpayer is not entitled to the exemption from use tax as 
provided in RCW 82.12.0251 and explained in WAC 458-20-178. 
        
 DECISION AND DISPOSITION: 
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The petition of the taxpayer is denied. The assessed tax in 
the amount of $1,485.54 is due for payment by December 22, 
1988. The taxpayer is entitled to a credit for sales tax paid 
in another jurisdiction.  If the vessel is not registered in 
the state of Washington, the watercraft must be registered as 
provided in chapter 88.02 RCW and the excise tax of chapter 
82.29 RCW paid as this vessel clearly has been physically 
located in the waters of the state of Washington for more than 
sixty days and is not exempt from registration by RCW 
88.02.030, or taxation by RCW 82.49.020.  
 
DATED this 22nd day of November 1988. 
 


