Departmemof@ Application and Certification for Extension

Revenue . .
Washington State of Special Valuation on Improvements to
Form 65 0040 Historic Property (rcw 84.26)
File with the assessor no later than 90 days before the current exemption
expires.
O Reset form
File number: County:
Applicant
Property owner:
Parcel number/account number:
Mailing address:
City: State: Zip:
Legal description:
Property address (location):
City: State: Zip:

Affirmation
As owner(s) of the improvements described in this application for extension of special valuation of historic
property, |/we hereby indicate by my signature that this property continues to meet the criteria provided
in RCW 84.26.030 and is located in a county that is listed as distressed by the state employment security
department and in a city under 20,000 in population.
I/we hereby certify that the following information is true and complete.

Signature of all owners:

County Assessor
The undersigned does hereby certify that the ownership, legal description and the special valuation amount
listed below is correct.

Special valuation amount: S

Date original special valuation expires:
Assessor/Deputy Signature: Date: Famd Print form
To ask about the availability of this publication in an alternate format for the visually impaired, please call
360-705-6705. Teletype (TTY) users may use the WA Relay Service by calling 711.
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Application and Certification for Extension of Special Valuation on Improvements to RDe\F}érﬁl;ef@
Historic Property Washington State

Instructions and Frequently Asked Questions

Who can file this application for extension? to all of the following:

The owner of record may file an application with the o o
a. The actual cost of rehabilitation multiplied

by the levy rate in each year the property
When should I file my application? was subject to special valuation.
The application must be filed at least 90 days prior to

the expiration of the special valuation.

county assessor in which the property is located.

b. Interest on the amounts of the additional
tax at the statutory rate charged on

Is there a fee to file this application? delinquent property taxes from the dates
The county assessor may charge such fees that are on which the additional tax could have
necessary for the processing and/or recording of been paid without penalty if the property
documents. had not been valued as historic property.
What happens after | file the application? c. Apenalty equal to twelve percent of
Within 10 days, the county assessor will forward the the amount determined in (a) and (b).

application to the local review board. The local review
board will approve or deny the application before
December 31 of the year in which the application is
made. The local review board will notify the assessor
and the applicant of the approval or denial of the

2. The additional tax, interest, and penalty shall
not be imposed if the disqualifications resulted
solely from any of the following:

a. Sale or transfer of the property to an
ownership making it exempt from

application.
taxation.
What are the requirements that property must meet
to be considered for an extension to the special b. Alteration or destruction through no
valuation as historic property? fault of the owner.

Property must meet both of the following criteria to

i i i c. Ataking through the exercise of power of
qualify for an exemption extension:

eminent domain.
e Continues to meet the criteria provided in RCW

Appeals
84.26.030. .. .
1. Any decision by a local review board on an
* Islocated in a county that s listed as a application for classification as historical
distressed area as reported by the state property may be appealed to Superior Court
employment security department and a city under RCW 34.05.570 in addition to any other
under 20,000 in population. remedy at law.
Statement of additional tax, interest, and penalty 2. Any decision on disqualification of historic
due upon removal or disqualification from special v f 2l valuati G
valuation under chapter 84.26 RCW. property for special valuation exemption or any

other dispute may be appealed to the current
year Board of Equalization by July 1 or 30 days

1. Whenever property that is classified and valued
as eligible historic property under Chapter
84.26 RCW is removed or disqualifies for the after the disqualification, whichever is the later,

valuation, there must be an additional tax equal except the denial on the original application.
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