Watercraft Excise Tax

RCW	Chapter 82.49			
Tax Base	Fair market value of noncommercial boats used on Washington waters. The Department of Revenue prepares a depreciation schedule to be used in the determination of fair market value, RCW 82.49.040. Boats which were not purchased, or whose purchase price does not represent fair market value, may be appraised by the Department of Revenue. Tax exemptions may reduce the tax liability for this tax base. For more information, refer to the <u>Tax Exemption Study</u> .			
Tax Rate	0.5 percent,	, with a minimum of \$	55.	
Recent Collections	Fiscal Year	Collections	% Change	% of All State Taxes
(\$000)	2016	\$13,809	1.2%	0.1%
	2010	\$13,649	4.7%	0.1%
	2013	\$13,039	4.6%	0.1%
	2014	\$12,463	0.4%	0.1%
	2013	\$12,418	-8.7%	0.1%
	2012	\$13,598	8.4%	0.1%
	2011	\$12,547	-27.0%	0.1%
	2010	\$17,192	-2.6%	0.1%
	2003	\$17,651	7.8%	0.1%
	2007	\$16,381	1.9%	0.1%
	Source: Washington State Department of Licensing			
Distribution of Receipts	Receipts are distributed to the State General Fund.			
Levied by	State			
Administration	Department of Licensing.			
	The tax is paid annually by owners when registering the vessel. It is collected the Department of Licensing and its agents, including county auditors and authorized private firms.			

Watercraft Excise Tax

The tax is due June 30 each year for the upcoming 12-month period; the tax for newly registered boats is prorated to the following June 30. The Department of Revenue is authorized to collect any unpaid excise tax, including any penalties and interest.

History 2014 New penalties for unregistered vessels instituted.

1983 The watercraft excise tax was adopted, effective July 1. Prior to this, boats were subject to assessment as personal property.