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General Information

Unclaimed property is money, tangible 
or intangible property owed to an 
individual or business. Property is 
considered unclaimed after a period  
of time with no owner contact and after 
a “good faith” effort has been made  
to locate the owner. Unclaimed 
property is turned over to us from 
many sources, including banks, utilities 
and governments among others
The Uniform Unclaimed Property Act 
protects unclaimed property until it is 
returned to its rightful owners or their 
heirs. Washington State law requires 
businesses and other organizations 
to review their records each year to 
determine whether they hold any funds, 
securities or other property that have 
remained unclaimed for the required 
abandonment period. Holders file an 
annual report and transfer the property 
to the state. The holding period before 
property is considered unclaimed varies 
by property type. 

Businesses must report unclaimed 
property to the state of Washington if:
1.	The owner’s last known address  

is in the state of Washington. 
2.	The owner’s address is unknown  

or the owner is unidentified and 
Washington is the state of corporate 
domicile.

3.	The owner’s property is not reportable  
to another state and the property 
transaction arose in Washington.

Examples of unclaimed property 
include:

•• deposits at financial institutions

•• uncashed checks

•• wages

•• account credits

•• utility deposits

•• insurance proceeds

•• stocks

•• bonds

•• dividend payments

•• safe deposit box contents

This guide provides general information on unclaimed property and defines some commonly used terms. 

What is Unclaimed Property?

Revenue’s role
The public may search reported owner 
names and addresses on our internet site. 
Reported funds are deposited into the State’s 
General Fund and are available for state 
purposes until claimed. We act as custodian 
of the property and run a program to locate 
the owners. Once reported and remitted, 
abandoned property is available for refund  
to the owner or their heirs indefinitely. 

Administered as a consumer protection 
program, unclaimed property has three 
main purposes:

•• To safeguard and return unclaimed 
property to the rightful owners or their 
legal heirs. 

•• To place any unclaimed property of 
unknown owners with the state to  
benefit the citizens of Washington.

•• To relieve holders from liability of  
the property. 

Important points:

•• There is no time limit to claim  
reported property. 

•• Owners are not charged a fee to reclaim 
their property.

•• Interest-bearing accounts earn interest  
as reported for up to 10 years. 

•• Holders are indemnified against liability  
on claims for reported and remitted 
property.
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What to report
Report all abandoned property that 
you owe to a Washington resident or 
corporation. Washington corporations 
should report unknown owners, items with 
no address and property where the last 
known address of the owner is in a foreign 
country. The Property Category Code Table 
provides examples of the types of property 
that are reportable as unclaimed property. 

Reciprocity
You may report property that belongs 
to an owner in another state with your 
Washington Unclaimed Property report 
as long as it is 10 or fewer properties, 
totaling $1,000 or less. Items that exceed 
these qualifications, must be reported 
directly to the other State(s). Once your 
report is received and balanced, our office 
will forward the names of out-of-state 
owners to the appropriate states. Whether 
you report the property to our office or to 
the state directly, you must follow each 
state’s laws on dormancy periods. Some 
states may require you to report to them 
directly even if the property is considered 
incidental. (Note: Due to law changes, any 
property owing to owners with a last known 
address in California must be reported 
directly to California no matter how many 
names or the value.)

Exceptions to the Reciprocity  
Agreement Program:

•• Travelers checks & money orders: This 
property is reportable to the state where 
they were purchased. 

•• Safe deposit boxes: Holders need  
to report safe deposit box contents to 
the state where the branch is located.

When to report
Reminders are mailed to all active holders 
each year. Reports and payment are due  
by October 31 each year. You must include 
all property that has remained unclaimed 
for the required dormancy period as of 
June 30. Our Report Year Conversion 
Table may be helpful in determining what 
property needs to be reported. You can 
find the Report Year Conversion table at 
ucp.dor.wa.gov.

Holder education  
and audit program
Reporting and compliance information  
is available to companies, including:

•• Reporting guides that cover common 
industry and property questions 

•• On-site consultation visits 

•• Holder education workshops  
We perform audits to verify that 
companies are complying with the law. 
There are interest charges and penalties  
if a company fails to timely report and 
deliver unclaimed property.

Penalties
The following penalties apply to  
Unclaimed Property Reports:

•• 10% - Late report penalty if report  
is not filed or paid by the due date.

•• 10% - Assessment penalty when an 
examination results in an assessment 
for amounts unpaid or property not 
delivered.

•• 5% - Additional penalty for amounts 
assessed and not paid by due date.

•• 5% - Report penalty when holder  
does not file and pay electronically  
when required.

Note: Penalty amounts are based on 
amounts unpaid and the value of any 
property not delivered. These penalties  
are cumulative. 

Finding owners
We make significant efforts to locate the 
owners of unclaimed property received 
each year, including:

•• Advertising in local newspapers
•• Mailing a claim form to the last known 

address of each owner with over $75
•• Issuing news releases about 	

unclaimed property
•• Maintaining an online owner search 

database at ucp.dor.wa.gov
•• Accepting toll free inquiries in 

Washington at 1-800-435-2429
•• Locating owners using advanced 	

search tools

Who must report
Businesses, whether or not located in 
Washington, should report any unclaimed 
property they hold that is due to an owner. 
All holders are responsible for filing reports 
on behalf of their branches, divisions  
or other affiliated entities.

The following entities are  
required to report:

1.	Banking and Financial 		
Organizations, including:
•• State or Federally Chartered Banks
•• Private Bankers
•• Trust Companies
•• Savings and Loan Associations
•• Savings Banks
•• Credit Unions and Investment 	

Companies
 
2.	Business Associations wherever 		
	 located, domiciled or incorporated, 	
	 such as:

•• Corporations
•• Partnerships
•• Sole Proprietors
•• Limited Liability Company (LLC)
•• Joint Stock Companies
•• Cooperatives or other Business 

Associations
•• Business Trusts
•• Insurance Companies

 
3.	Utilities owned or operated for public 

use for services, including:
•• Communications
•• Water
•• Electricity
•• Steam 
•• Gas

4.	Other Legal Entities, including:
•• State, County and City Governments
•• Public Corporations
•• Political Subdivisions and  

Public Authorities
•• Nonprofit Organizations
•• Trust or other Legal or 	

Commercial Entities

http://ucp.dor.wa.gov
http://ucp.dor.wa.gov
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Abandoned property: Tangible or 
intangible property unpaid or undelivered 
to the rightful owner for the time period 
specified by law.

Activity: Action taken on property by the 
owner, including deposits or withdrawals, 
or a written memorandum to the holder. 
It does not include automatic transfers, 
payments or charges.

Aggregate: A group of related property 
type items reported as a single line item. 
The owner names and addresses are not 
included with the report. Property valued 
at $50 or less may be aggregated when 
reporting to Washington.

Claimant: A person believing they are 
legally entitled to abandoned property. The 
claimant is not always the actual “owner” 
of the property. A claimant could be an 
heir, or someone who has a legal right to 
claim the property on the owner’s behalf.

Custodian: A custodian holds and 
controls property until delivered to the 
rightful owner. 

Intangible property: Property that 
represents or is negotiable to cash. Items 
such as a stock certificate represent 
ownership interest in a company or a 
savings bond represents an obligation to 
pay a certain amount. Both are convertible 
to cash and represent cash values.

Negative report: An unclaimed property 
report filed when no property was 
abandoned during the current reporting 
period. This is also referred to as a zero 
report.

Owner: The person the property originally 
belonged to and reported by the holder 
of the property. Report the payee as the 
owner for money orders, gift certificates 
and cashier checks.

Positive owner contact: Documented 
contact by the owner.

Real property: This is real estate and 
fixtures. Unclaimed property does not 
cover abandoned land, houses, boats,  
cars or real property. 

Tangible personal property: Personal 
property that is represented by itself. 
A diamond ring and a silver coin are 
examples of tangible property.

How to report
Electronic reporting 
All reports must be electronically filed and 
paid. Follow the two-step process located 
on our website at ucp.dor.wa.gov (click on 
File your Unclaimed Property Report).

Electronic payment
You will have payment options after your 
report has been successfully loaded to our 
website. Currently, you may electronically 
pay by either E check or ACH Credit.  
If you choose to pay by mailing a paper 
check, a 5% penalty applies and will be 
added to the amount due.

Negative (no property) report
If you have nothing to report, you need 
to file a negative (zero) report. Negative 
reports should be filed electronically.

Business closing or inactive
If your business is closing or if you do not 
expect to report in the foreseeable future, 
email a request to close or inactivate your 
account to ucp@dor.wa.gov.

Remittance at time of report
Remit all reported property, except safe 
deposit box contents, with the report by 
October 31. For safe deposit box
contents, the Department will notify you  
in writing of the delivery date and shipping 
instructions.

Securities and Mutual Funds
Reporting of securities and mutual funds 
is not complete until you provide evidence 
of the property being transferred into 
ownership of the State. Please refer to our 
Guide to Reporting Unclaimed Property 
on the Department’s Unclaimed Property  
website ucp.dor.wa.gov.

Glossary of terms
The following definitions are helpful when reporting unclaimed property to the state of Washington.  
These definitions are an aid, not a substitute for legal advice. 

Dormant or inactive period: The time 
period during which an owner of property 
does not take action on his or her property.

Due diligence: A letter sent to the last 
known address in an effort to find the 
rightful owner of abandoned property 
before delivering it to the state.

Escheat: A transfer of property that makes 
the state the legal owner of the transferred 
property. Washington State does not 
escheat abandoned property, but holds it  
in trust for the owner in perpetuity.

Holder: The entity in possession of 
abandoned property until transferred  
to the owner or the state.

Holder access number: The number 
you will need to file your first report 
electronically. 	

Holder reporting number: A number is 
assigned when we receive your first report. 
Once assigned, use this number on all 
correspondence with  
the Unclaimed Property Section.

Incidental property: Ten or fewer 
properties, totaling $1,000 or less per state.

http://ucp.dor.wa.gov
mailto:ucp%40dor.wa.gov?subject=
http://ucp.dor.wa.gov
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	 Website:	 ucp.dor.wa.gov	

	 Main Phone:	 (360) 534-1502

	 Toll Free:	 1-800-435-2429
		  (Washington State only)  
	 Fax: 	(360) 534-1498 
	 Email: 	ucp@dor.wa.gov 
	 Mail:	 State of Washington 
		  Department of Revenue  
		  Unclaimed Property 
		  PO Box 34053 
		  Seattle, WA 98124-1053

Unclaimed Property 
Contact Information

For tax assistance or to request  
this document in an alternate format, 
visit http://dor.wa.gov  
or call 1-800-647-7706.  
Teletype (TTY) users may use  
the Washington Relay Service  
by calling 711. 

Permission is granted to other state 
governments to use and modify this 
material to their particular needs and laws. 
This publication, or any part thereof, may 
not be reproduced or transmitted in any 
form or by any means for a fee or for the 
purposes of profit-making activities.

Prepared by Customer Experience and  
Communications Division
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