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 BEFORE THE INTERPRETATION AND APPEALS SECTION 
 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 STATE OF WASHINGTON 
 
In the Matter of the Notice of     )    D E T E R M I N A T I O N 
Use Tax Due of                     ) 
                                   )           No. 86-223 
                                   ) 
          . . .                    )    Notice of Use Tax Due 
                                   ) 
                                   ) 
 
[1] RULE 178; RCW 82.12.020; RCW 82.12.010; USE TAX; MOTOR HOME:  

VALUE OF ARTICLE 
 

Use tax due on motor home when first brought into state 
by Washington resident; not exempt because taxpayer 
intended to sell the vehicle and only stored vehicle at 
his residence until he could find a buyer.  Retail 
selling price of vehicle held to be value of motor home 
for use tax purposes; amount not reduced because 
purchased in Indiana two months prior to entering 
Washington. 

 
[2] RCW 82.32.050; EVASION PENALTY 
 
Penalty upheld where Washington resident registered and licensed 
motor home in Oregon using an address that was not his own.  
Additional facts that taxpayer was former car salesman and that he 
was cited in Washington driving the vehicle under authority of a 
Washington trip-permit also indicated intention to evade paying 
Washington taxes. 
 

Penalty assessed only on additional taxes found owing. 
 
TAXPAYER REPRESENTED BY:   . . . 
 
DATE OF HEARING:  June 4, 1986 
 
 NATURE OF ACTION: 
 
On March 20, 1986, the taxpayer was issued a Notice of Use Tax Due 
on an Oregon licensed motor home used by him in Washington.  The 
assessment included $12,640 for taxes and $6,320 in penalties.  The 
taxpayer submitted evidence of Washington use tax paid on the 
vehicle in the amount of $5,070.  An amended notice of use tax was 
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issued May 2, 1986 for a total of $11,355 in tax and penalties.  
The taxpayer's petition seeks a cancellation of the assessment. 
 
 FACTS AND ISSUES: 
 
Anne Frankel, Administrative Law Judge--The taxpayer purchased the 
motor home at issue on September 6, 1985 from Barth, Inc. in 
Milford, Indiana.  The total purchase price was $74,843--that 
figure represents $65,000 for the basic unit and $9,843 for 
additional optional equipment. 
 
On March 15, 1986, the taxpayer was cited by the Washington State 
Patrol in Wenatchee for not having a Washington vehicle license on 
the motor home.  At the time he was stopped, the vehicle was 
displaying a Washington trip permit.  The taxpayer appeared in 
court and was told to register the vehicle. 
 
The taxpayer registered the motor home in Washington three days 
later.  The vehicle was listed as a 1986 motor home series 35 with 
a taxable value of $65,000.  Tax and fees totaling $6,316 were 
paid; $5,070 of that amount was for use tax. 
 
The taxpayer was sent a Notice of Use Tax Due on March 20, 1986.  
The assessment was based on an alleged value of the motor home of 
$160,000.  The assessment was subsequently reduced by the amount of 
use tax paid.  The assessment includes an evasion penalty. 
 
The taxpayer protests both the figure used for valuing the motor 
home and the imposition of a 50 percent evasion penalty.  The 
taxpayer contends the assessment was based on a figure which does 
not represent the true value of the motor home and that $65,000 is 
a fair market value of the motor home.  The taxpayer contends he 
never intended to avoid the use tax and that the facts do not 
support the assessment of an evasion penalty.  Furthermore, the 
taxpayer argues RCW 82.32.050, which provides for the evasion 
penalty, clearly contemplates a deficiency as a necessary 
prerequisite to imposing an evasion penalty.  The taxpayer asserts 
that at the time the Notice of Use Tax Due was issued, there was no 
deficiency. 
 
 DISCUSSION: 
 
1. USE TAX--The statute imposing the use tax is RCW 82.12.020.  
It provides in part: 
 

There is hereby levied and there shall be collected from 
every person in this state a tax or excise for the 
privilege of using within this state as a consumer any 
article of tangible personal property purchased at retail 
. . . 
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The tax shall be levied and collected in an amount equal 
to the value of the article used by the taxpayer 
multiplied by the rate in effect for the retail sales tax 
under RCW 82.08.020, as now or hereafter amended. 

 
The "value of the article used" is defined in RCW 82.12.010(1) as: 
 

(T)he consideration, whether money, credit, rights or 
other property, expressed in terms of money, paid or 
given or contracted to be paid or given by the purchaser 
to the seller for the article of tangible personal 
property, the use of which is taxable under this chapter. 

 
 . . . 
 

In case the article used . . . is sold under conditions 
wherein the purchase price does not represent the true 
value thereof, the value of the article used shall be 
determined as nearly as possible according to the retail 
selling price at place of use of similar products of like 
quality and character under such rules and regulations as 
the department of revenue may prescribe. 

 
RCW 82.12.010(2) provides: 
 

"Use," "used," "using," or "put to use" shall have their 
ordinary meaning, and shall mean the first act within 
this state by which the taxpayer takes or assumes 
dominion or control over the article of tangible personal 
property (as a consumer), and include installation, 
storage, withdrawal from storage, or any other act 
preparatory to subsequent actual use or consumption 
within this state; . . . 

 
The administrative rule implementing the above provisions is WAC 
458-20-178 (Rule 178).  The rule also states that the tax is levied 
on an amount equal to the value of the article used and defines 
value the same as in RCW 82.12.010(1) quoted above.  Rule 178 
clearly provides that the tax liability imposed under use tax 
arises at the time the property is first put to use in this state, 
which includes any act by which the taxpayer "takes or assumes 
dominion or control over the article." 
 
Clearly under both RCW 82.12.010(20) and Rule 178, use tax was due 
on the motor home when the taxpayer brought the motor home to 
Washington.  The taxpayer does not dispute that he is, and has been 
for many years, a Washington resident; thus the exemption provided 
by RCW 82.12.0251 as to the use by a nonresident of a motor vehicle 
licensed in another state does not apply.  Nor was the taxpayer 
exempt from use tax because he brought the motor home to Washington 
in order to sell it. 
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The issue, therefore, is not whether the use tax applies,  but 
whether the assessment was based on a figure which represented the 
true value of the equipment. 
 
The value of $160,000 placed on the vehicle by the Department was 
based on a sales brochure which states a suggested retail selling 
price for a 1986 Barth 35 Regency motor home is $179,000.  That 
price is the base retail price for a motor home F.O.B. Barth's 
factory in Milford, Indiana. 
 
The taxpayer, however, has submitted copies of the invoices and his 
cancelled check showing he purchased the motor home, including the 
added equipment, for $74,843.  A phone call to the Barth salesman 
in Indiana confirmed the price paid by the taxpayer.  The salesman 
stated the taxpayer purchased a 1982 model year chassis and shell 
in which the interior was completed in 1985.  That unit was a 
fiberglass unit which the company has not manufactured since 1983.  
The chassis frame on the new Barth 35 Regency series is heavy-duty 
welded steel, and it is a much more expensive model than the one 
purchased by the taxpayer.  The salesman stated the price paid by 
the taxpayer was the retail selling price for the motor home. 
 
The taxpayer contends that $65,000 was a fair value of the motor 
home for use tax purposes.  He stated the value was determined by 
the local licensing agent after consulting with the Olympia revenue 
office.  He states the $65,000 figure is apparently the result 
obtained from applying a reasonable depreciation factor to the 
original purchase price.  The taxpayer adds that he had attempted 
to sell the vehicle on numerous occasions but has been unable to 
find a buyer.  He contends he would accept $65,000 as a purchase 
price. 
 
The taxpayer brought the motor home to Washington two months after 
its purchase.  At the time of the purchase, the taxpayer thought he 
was getting a good deal and would be able to sell the motor home 
for much more than the $74,843 he paid.  We believe that the 
evidence suggests the total retail selling price of the unit and 
equipment represents a true value of the motor home for use tax 
purposes. 
 
2. EVASION PENALTY--The taxpayer also objects to the imposition 
of the 50 percent evasion penalty.  He contends that he never 
intended to avoid the use tax, but that it was his intent to sell 
the motor home, hopefully for a profit, when he first purchased it.  
When he first purchased the vehicle, he drove it under the 
authority of a temporary Indiana trip permit.  He stated that the 
Indiana trip permit had expired when he entered Oregon in late 
September.  He was stopped at the Oregon weigh station and told to 
obtain an Oregon in-transit permit or an Oregon license if he 
wanted to drive the vehicle in Oregon.  The taxpayer asserts that 
because it was a Saturday, he could not procure an in-transit 
permit.  He was, however, able to contact a licensing agency and 
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obtain Oregon plates. He used an Oregon address that was not his.  
The taxpayer states that the purchase of the Oregon plates seemed 
logical as he intended to leave the vehicle in storage in Coos Bay, 
Oregon, for an indeterminate period of time.  The vehicle remained 
stored in Coos Bay until mid-November of 1985.  The vehicle was 
then brought into Washington State and stored by the taxpayer at 
his residence. 
 
The taxpayer states the vehicle was not driven until last March.  
He obtained a Washington three-day trip-permit to drive the vehicle 
to Wenatchee to show it to a prospective purchaser.  Because the 
sale to that buyer did not materialize, and because he believed it 
would be some time before the vehicle could be sold, he licensed 
the vehicle and paid the Washington fees and taxes. 
 
The taxpayer believes that his actions "although maybe not in 
complete technical compliance with the letter of the law with 
regard to the registration of vehicles, was not an attempt to evade 
Washington tax."  Supplemental letter of June 23, 1986. 
 
RCW 82.32.050 states that 

If the department finds that all or part of the 
deficiency resulted from an intent to evade the tax 
payable hereunder, a further penalty of 50 percent of the 
additional tax found to be due shall be added. 

 
In an attempt to evade this state's sales and use taxes and to take 
advantage of Oregon's lower cost of licensing, many Washington 
residents have registered their motor vehicles with the state of 
Oregon using spurious Oregon addresses.  This Department has 
routinely assessed the evasion penalty in addition to the use tax 
in cases where an attempt to evade the tax is apparent. 
 
The taxpayer was a Washington resident.  He gave the Oregon 
authorities an address that was not his when he applied for the 
Oregon license.  This action is not mitigated by his statement that 
he intended to sell the vehicle in Oregon and did store it in that 
state for a short period.  Nor are we convinced that he could not 
have obtained an in-transit permit in Oregon. 
 
We also note that the taxpayer has sold motor vehicles and that the 
bill of sale in this case states the vehicle was sold to "Ron 
Marston of M & K Sales Company."  As such, he should be familiar 
with Washington laws regarding vehicle taxes and licensing 
requirements.  We find his actions can be interpreted as an attempt 
to avoid the Washington use tax and licensing requirements. 
 
 DECISION AND DISPOSITION: 
 
The Notice of Use Tax Due shall be amended to reflect a taxable 
value of the vehicle of $74,843.  Tax and the 50 percent evasion 
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penalty shall be computed on the $9,843 for which no use tax has 
been paid.  The assessment shall be due on the date shown thereon. 
 
DATED this 23rd day of July 1986. 


