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 BEFORE THE INTERPRETATION AND APPEALS SECTION 
 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 STATE OF WASHINGTON 
 
In the Matter of the Notice of)    D E T E R M I N A T I O N 
Use Tax Due of                ) 

)           No. 87-213 
) 
)    Registration No.  . . . 

. . . )    Notice of Use Tax Due 
)    Tax Warrant No.  . . . 

 
[1] RULE 178:  USE TAX - MOTOR VEHICLES - 

NONRESIDENT - WASHINGTON VOTER - BUSINESS 
USE.  The use tax exemption provided by RCW 
82.12.0251 and Rule 178 is inapplicable 
because taxpayers were not nonresidents.  
Additionally, the motor home, by their own 
admission, was repeatedly used in this 
state for business purposes. 

 
[2,3] RULE 228:  DELINQUENT PENALTY - WARRANT 

PENALTY- WAIVER - ERRONEOUS WRITTEN ADVICE 
BY DEPARTMENT.    When tax was not paid nor 
an appeal submitted under Rule 100, despite 
continuing correct written and oral advice 
from Department personnel, the twenty 
percent delinquent penalty and the five 
percent warrant penalty were properly added 
to the tax due. 

 
[4] RULE 228:  WARRANT INTEREST - CANCELLATION 

- EXTENSION OF DUE DATE FOR SOLE 
CONVENIENCE OF THE DEPARTMENT.  When    the 
publication of a determination has been 
delayed, for the sole convenience of the 
department, for more than a reasonable 
period of time after a taxpayer has 
submitted an appeal, relief from interest 
which has accrued after a reasonable time 
may be granted. 
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Headnotes are provided as a convenience for the reader and are 
not in any way a part of the decision or in any way to be used 
in construing or interpreting this Determination. 
 
TAXPAYER REPRESENTED BY:  . . . 
 
DATE OF HEARING:  January 16, 1986 
 
 NATURE OF ACTION: 
 
The taxpayers (husband and wife), who claimed they were 
residents of Oregon, were assessed use tax on the value of a 
motor home purchased in Washington. 
 
 FACTS: 
 
Burroughs, ALJ -- On February 26, 1985 the Department issued a 
Notice of Use Tax Due, advising the taxpayers that they were 
liable for state and local use tax in the amount of $7,216.96 
upon the use within Washington of a 1984 Country Camper Motor 
Home, Oregon license plate number . . . .  This amount was not 
paid, and on October 14, 1985 Tax Warrant No.  . . . in the 
amount of $7,216.96, plus a twenty percent delinquent penalty 
of $1,443.39 and a five percent warrant penalty of $360.85, 
for a total of $9,021.20 was issued.  This amount has not been 
paid, and the taxpayer has appealed.  Warrant interest has 
accrued since the date of the warrant. 
 
The taxpayers purchased the camper in Marysville, Washington 
in May 1984, stating on a nonresident affidavit that they were 
residents of Klamath Falls, Oregon, and that the vehicle was 
being purchased for use in that state.  The taxpayers obtained 
a Washington Trip Permit by which the camper was presumably 
taken to Oregon.  The taxpayers were registered to do business 
within this state. 
 
The evidence relied on by the auditor in determining the use 
tax was due includes the following: 
 
1.  An anonymous complaint received by the Everett office on 
January 7, 1985 reporting that a motorhome with Oregon license 
plates, later identified to be that which is the subject of 
this appeal, had been parked at . . . Lane and 84th, . . . 
Condominiums, . . . , Washington for about a year. 
 
2.  The affidavit of nonresidency given to the dealer by the 
taxpayers used a temporary address in Klamath Falls, Oregon. 
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3.  An out-of-state driver's license number was not given on 
the affidavit of nonresidency as required. 
 
4.  Financing for the vehicle was obtained from Everett 
Federal Savings & Loan, Everett, Washington. 
 
5.  The taxpayers voted by absentee ballot in the November 
1984 General Election as Washington residents. 
 
6.  The taxpayers' address in Washington was in . . . , where 
they had owned a condominium since July 13, 1973. 
 
7.  Utilities were disconnected at the . . . address on March 
5, 1985, and utility companies were given a Lynnwood address.   
 
8.  Telephone service was moved from the . . . address to the 
Lynnwood address. 
 
 TAXPAYERS' EXCEPTIONS: 
 
The taxpayers in their petition received by the Department on 
November 14, 1985 set forth the following explanation: 
 

I feel that I owe no tax because I started planning 
a move to Portland, Or. in Feb 1983.  Two listings 
ran out and we moved first to Klamath Falls, leaving 
the furnished Condo to be sold. 

 
In May '84 we saw an ad in the paper for a motorhome 
which we knew and liked.  We saw and bought it at a 
good price, trading the old motorhome in. 

 
In the latter part of Dec. 84 the condo was sold.  
We went to . . . to dispose of things and gather the 
rest and clean up to make it ready for the buyers. 

 
This is the time we met and talked with them. 

 
[A Department employee] was firm in his opinion that 
I owed the use tax.  [Another Department employee] 
felt that if I could prove our intention to move 
before the purchase, we were on safe ground.  The 
next time I met them they said I must pay. 

 
I would like to meet the appeals board and see if 
you agree with them or me and explain what I have 
done that justifies the tax and penalties. 
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At the hearing the taxpayer (husband) explained that he 
travels five states, including Washington, for business 
purposes, and represents a tobacco jobbing company in San 
Francisco by brokering.  It is a retirement job. 
 
A review of the file and the taxpayer's testimony reveals the 
sequence of events to have been as follows: 
 
2/12/83 - Listed condominium in . . . for sale after deciding 
to move to Oregon.  Two listings eventually ran out. 
 
3/3/84 - Taxpayers moved to Klamath Falls, Oregon to stay with 
friend who was having health problems.  Daughter moved into 
condominium to house sit while realtors continued to try to 
find a buyer. 
 
5/25/84 - Purchased new motor home here at issue for 
$109,899.00.  Both taxpayers still had Washington drivers 
licenses.  Taxpayers claim that although they had taken their 
tests for Oregon drivers licenses, they had both failed their 
tests.  They did later obtain Oregon drivers licenses.  
Insurance was booked out of Oregon. 
 
7/84 - Friend in Klamath Falls died, and taxpayers moved to 
Portland, Oregon. 
 
11/84 - Taxpayer voted in Washington election by absentee 
ballot. 
 
12/20/84 - Earnest money agreement signed.  Taxpayers returned 
to Seattle to sign paperwork.  Wife's mother died in 
Bellingham at Christmas. 
 
2/26/85 - Letter from Department (enclosing tax warrant) 
advising that use tax was due on the motor home, attaching the 
Notice of Use Tax Due (based on estimated value), and asking 
for bill of sale so the value could be accurately adjusted.  
The letter was sent to the . . .  condominium address where 
the motor home had been reportedly parked for an extended 
length of time, and was forwarded to Klamath Falls. 
 
2/28/85 - Taxpayer came into Everett office to discuss tax 
liability and to explain sequence of events. 
 
3/1/85 - Closing on condominium.  Taxpayers returned to 
Seattle to remove their furniture. 
 



 87-213  Page 5 

 

3/6/85 - Summons issued to taxpayers to obtain documentation 
as to sales price of motor home, such information having not 
been supplied as requested in the February 26 letter1.   
 
3/29/85 - Department, by letter to taxpayer's . . . address, 
requested further documentation as to claimed Oregon 
residency. 
 
4/22/85 - Taxpayer came to Everett office to again discuss use 
tax liability.  No further proof was provided that tax was not 
due. 
 
4/23/85 - Department letter advised taxpayers that use tax 
would be due in twenty days and again further explained appeal 
procedures under Rule 100 (letter sent to Klamath Falls 
address). 
 
5/28/85 - Taxpayers' business tax account closed with 
Department of Revenue. 
 
7/12/85 - Department mailed "Notice of Intent to Issue 
Warrant" to taxpayers at . . . address. 
 
7/29/85 - Taxpayers called Everett office from Portland 
concerning the status of their "appeal."  The taxpayers 
apparently thought that those arguments made to Department 
officials on 2/29/85 and 4/22/85, which arguments had been 
answered in the 4/23/85 letter, constituted an "appeal". The 
taxpayer claimed that he had never received the 4/23 letter.  
Taxpayer was advised to appeal to  Interpretation and Appeals. 
 
10/14/85 - Warrant was issued. 
 
11/12/85 - Taxpayer finally appealed to Interpretation and 
Appeals. 
 
Throughout this period the taxpayers continued to visit 
Washington in their motor home for both business and personal 
reasons.  They claim that most visits in Washington were from 
about a week to ten days.  They would try to combine 
condominium visits with business, and they would stop and see 

                                                           

1  The actual purchase price, as revealed in the documents 
supplied, was actually $17,374 higher than that estimated in the 
original Notice of Use Tax Due.  The use tax due, however, has 
never been adjusted to account for the higher value, a benefit to 
the taxpayer of $1,094.56.   
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friends.  They keep a log book of their mileage and purpose in 
travelling for federal income tax purposes. 
 
The taxpayer explained that the utility companies were given a 
Lynnwood address because a friend lived there who would 
forward bills to the taxpayers' accountants in Seattle.  These 
same friends maintain an answering service for the taxpayers, 
and forward their mail. 
 
The taxpayers object strenuously to the twenty percent 
delinquent penalty, the the five percent warrant penalty, and 
warrant interest which has since accrued, since they had not 
intended to do anything wrong in the first place and claim 
that the office in Everett did not advise them that they had 
to appeal in writing.  The taxpayers argue that, since they 
had not intended to evade taxes, they shouldn't be penalized. 
 
 ISSUE: 
 
The issues to be determined in this appeal are: 
 
1. Whether the use tax is due and owing on the taxpayers' 

motor home, and if so, 
 
2. Whether the twenty percent delinquent penalty was 

correctly assessed,  
 
3. Whether the five percent warrant penalty was correctly 

assessed, and 
 
4. Whether the warrant interest should be excused. 
 
 DISCUSSION: 
 
The issues will be discussed in the order presented. 
 
The taxpayer does not dispute that the motor home was 
purchased in Washington without payment of retail sales tax, 
but contends that no sales was due on the original sale by 
virtue of the exemption provided by RCW 82.08.0264: 
 

The tax levied by RCW 82.08.020 shall not apply to 
sales of motor vehicles, trailers, or campers to 
nonresidents of this state for use outside of this 
state, even though delivery be made within this 
state, but only when (1) the vehicles, trailers, or 
campers will be taken from the point of delivery in 
this state directly to a point outside this state 
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under the authority of a one-transit permit issued 
by the director of licensing pursuant to the 
provisions of RCW 46.16.1602, or (2) said motor 
vehicles, trailers, or campers will be registered 
and licensed immediately under the laws of the state 
of the purchaser's residence, will not be used in 
this state more than three months, and will not be 
required to be registered and licensed under the 
laws of this state. 

 
Thus, in determining whether or not this particular exemption 
from the retail sales tax is applicable the dealer must 
establish the facts, first, that the purchaser is a bona fide 
nonresident of Washington and that the vehicle is for use in 
the state of the purchaser's residence and, second, that the 
vehicle is to be driven from his premises under the authority 
of either (a) a one-transit permit, or (b) valid license 
plates issued to that vehicle by the state of the purchaser's 
residence. 
 
The use tax is imposed upon the privilege of using within this 
state as a consumer any article of tangible personal property 
purchased at retail without payment of retail sales tax.  RCW 
82.12.020.  The taxpayers, however, claim that the provisions 
of RCW 82.12.02513, which for the time period in question read 
as follows, provided an exemption from use tax liability: 
 

The provisions of this chapter shall not apply in 
respect to the use of any article of tangible 
personal property brought into the state by a 
nonresident thereof for his use or enjoyment while 
temporarily within the state unless such property is 
used in conducting a nontransitory business activity 
within the state;  or in respect to the use by a 
nonresident of this state of a motor vehicle or 
trailer which is registered or licensed under the 
laws of the state of his residence, and which is not 
required to be registered or licensed under the laws 
of this state;  or in respect to the use of 
household goods, personal effects, and private 
automobiles by a bona fide resident of this state or 
nonresident members of the armed forces who are 

                                                           

2  The "One-transit Permit" is now called a "Washington Trip 
Permit" by the Department of Licensing. 

3  Formerly 82.12.030(1). 
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stationed in this state pursuant to military orders, 
if such articles were acquired and used by such 
person in another state while a bona fide resident 
thereof and such acquisition and use occurred more 
than thirty4 days prior to the time he entered this 
state. 

 
(Emphasis provided.) 
 
It is clear that the taxpayers erroneously claimed that they 
were "nonresidents" for retail sales tax exemption purposes 
when they purchased the motor home, since subsequent to their 
motor home purchase, the taxpayers were still representing 
that they were Washington residents in order to vote in the 
November 1984 general election. 
 
Chapter 29.36 RCW, which concerns absentee voting in the state 
of Washington, provides strict requirements for the 
procurement of absentee ballots.  In addition to verifying 
Washington residence on the application (RCW 29.36.020), an 
absentee voter must return to the election officer along with 
his ballot a statement which is outlined by RCW 29.36.030 as 
follows: 
 

State of _____________________ ) 
                                    )  ss. 

County of ____________________ ) 
 

I, _______________________, do solemnly swear under 
the penalty as set forth in RCW 29.36.110 (see 
below), that I am a resident of and qualified voter 
in __________________ precinct of ____________city 
in __________________ county, Washington;  that I 
have the legal right to vote at the election to be 
held in said precinct on the ____ day of 
_____________, 19___:  That I have not voted another 
ballot and have herein enclosed my ballot for such 
election. 

 
                           (signed)  
___________________________ 
                                                Voter 
 
                           (date of oath) 
______________________ 

                                                           

4  This time period was extended to ninety days in 1985. 
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PENALTY PROVISION:  Any person who violates any of 
the provisions, relating to swearing and voting, 
shall be guilty of a felony and shall be punished by 
imprisonment for not more than five years or a fine 
of not more than five thousand dollars, or by both 
such fine and imprisonment. 

 
Coordination with the Snohomish County Auditor has verified 
that both taxpayers, in applying for their absentee ballots 
almost six months after purchasing the motor home, claimed 
residency at their . . . condominium address.  This, and the 
facts that the motor home was reported to have been parked 
there for extended lengths of time, and that the taxpayers 
maintained a phone listing in Washington, indicate that at the 
very least the taxpayers continued to maintain a residence in 
Washington as well as Oregon.  Although not an issue herein, 
we must note that because the retail sales tax exemption 
provided by RCW 82.08.0264 extends only to "nonresidents of 
this state," retail sales tax was properly due and should have 
been paid on the motor home's purchase. 
 
[1]  The use tax exemption provided by RCW 82.12.0251 is 
similarly inapplicable to the taxpayers in this case, as it 
also applies to "tangible personal property brought into the 
state by a nonresident thereof for his use or enjoyment while 
temporarily within the state unless such property is used in 
conducting a nontransitory business activity within the 
state;..."  (Emphasis added.)  Not only were the taxpayers not 
nonresidents, but the motor home, by their own admission, was 
repeatedly used in this state for business purposes5. 
 
Because the value of the motor home was underestimated by the 
Department, the issue of valuation will be referred back to 
the Audit Division for a new assessment based on the sales 
receipts which were supplied by the taxpayers. 
 
The twenty percent delinquent and the five percent warrant 
penalties to which the taxpayers have objected are mandated by 
RCW 82.32.090, which provides in pertinent part: 
 

If payment of any tax due is not received by the 
department of revenue by the due date, there shall 
be assessed a penalty of five percent of the amount 

                                                           

5  The taxpayers had maintained a business registration here 
since 1982. 
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of the tax;  and if the tax is not received within 
thirty days after the due date, there shall be 
assessed a total penalty of ten percent of the 
amount of the tax;  and if the tax is not received 
within sixty days after the due date, there shall be 
assessed a total penalty of twenty percent of the 
amount of the tax.  No penalty so added shall be 
less than two dollars. 

 
 . . . 
 

If a warrant be issued by the department of revenue 
for the collection of taxes, increases, and 
penalties, there shall be added thereto a penalty of 
five percent of the amount of the tax, but not less 
than five dollars. 

 
(Emphasis added.) 
 
Thus, if an assessment is not paid within sixty days of the 
prescribed due date, a twenty percent penalty is mandated.  
Likewise, if a warrant is issued, a five percent penalty must 
be added.  The only situations in which penalties may be 
excused are set forth in WAC 458-20-228 (Rule 228).   The only 
situation in that rule which would possibly apply the 
taxpayer's claims in this case is as follows: 
 

2.  The delinquency was due to erroneous information  
given the taxpayer by a department officer or 
employee. 

 
A review of the synopsis of events reveals that the taxpayers 
were repeatedly advised of their tax liability and of correct 
appeal procedures.  The first Notice of Use Tax Due was mailed 
to the taxpayers in February.  A second copy of the Notice was 
mailed to the taxpayers' last known address, accompanied by 
Rule 100 and the advice to appeal under the provisions of that 
rule within twenty days, by the Everett office on April 23, 
1985. 
 
The taxpayers during this and subsequent periods clearly made 
no real effort to voluntarily supply meaningful documentation 
as to their correct use tax liability (which was actually more 
than the Department's original estimate) or to submit a 
written appeal to the proper authorities.  Even when on July 
29 the taxpayers were again orally advised by Everett 
personnel to appeal in writing to Interpretation and Appeals 
(already approximately two months past the last of the appeal 
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period), the taxpayers did not appeal.   Only approximately 
thirty days after the warrant was issued was a written appeal 
received by this office on November 146. 
 
[2,3]  Thus, by October 14, the day the warrant was issued, 
the tax still had not been paid, nor an appeal submitted under 
Rule 100, despite continuing written and verbal advice from 
personnel of the Everett office.  Clearly, the twenty percent 
delinquent penalty and the five percent warrant penalty were 
properly added to the tax due. 
 
As to the taxpayer's argument that warrant interest should not 
be payable, we must likewise disagree.  RCW 82.32.210 mandates 
the assessment of interest when the Department has exercised 
its discretion to issue a warrant.  RCW 82.32.210 provides in 
pertinent part as follows: 
 

If any tax, increase, or penalty or any portion 
thereof is not paid within fifteen days after it 
becomes due, the department of revenue may issue a 
warrant under its official seal in the amount of 
such unpaid sums, together with interest theron at 
the rate of one percent of the amount of such 
warrant for each thirty days or portion thereof 
after the date of such warrant. 

 
(Emphasis added.) 
 
Thus, if a warrant is issued, interest is required to be 
assessed. 
 
RCW 82.32.105 provides only limited relief from the payment of 
interest: 
 

If the department of revenue finds that the payment 
by a taxpayer of a tax less than that properly due 
or the failure of a taxpayer to pay any tax by the 
due date was the result of circumstances beyond the 
control of the taxpayer, the department of revenue 
shall waive or cancel any interest or penalties 

                                                           

6  The appeal, even though accepted by this office, was not 
received by the department of revenue "within twenty days after 
the issuance of the original notice of the amount of the 
deficiency or within the period covered by any extension of the 
due date granted by the department."  The granting of this appeal 
by the Department, then, was gratuitous. 
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imposed under this chapter with respect to such tax.  
The department of revenue shall prescribe rules for 
the waiver or cancellation of interest or penalties 
imposed by this chapter. 

 
WAC 458-20-228 provides for the cancellation of interest in 
only two circumstances: 
 

1.  The failure to pay the tax prior to issuance of 
the assessment was the direct result of written 
instructions given the taxpayer by the department. 

 
2.  Extension of the due date for payment of an 
assessment was not at the request of the taxpayer 
and was for the sole convenience of the department. 

 
In this case, the first situation clearly does not apply, as 
the taxpayer has never received any written Departmental 
guidance to indicate that the tax or assessment was not due 
and owing. 
 
[4]  The second situation for waiver of interest applies here 
only in the limited sense that the publication of this 
determination has been delayed, for the sole convenience of 
the department, for more than a reasonable period of time 
after the taxpayer had submitted his appeal.  Accordingly, the 
taxpayer will be entitled to limited relief in this respect. 
 
 DECISION AND DISPOSITION: 
 
The taxpayer's petition as to the first three issues is 
denied.  The Use Tax Section, after making the adjustment 
indicated by this determination regarding the measure of the 
use tax, will issue an amended assessment, payment of which 
will be due on the date indicated therein. 
 
The taxpayer's petition as to the fourth issue is granted in 
part and denied in part.  Because the due date of payment of 
the assessment and warrant has been extended for the sole 
convenience of the Department, warrant interest will be waived 
for the period from May 14, 1986 through the new due date. 
 
DATED this 24th day of June, 1987. 


