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RULE 228 AND RCW  82.32.090:  PENALTY -- WAIVER -- 
SITUATION (6). 
The Department will consider a waiver of penalties 
where a taxpayer makes a timely application in 
writing for the proper forms and they are not 
furnished in sufficient time to file the return 
before delinquent.  An out-of-state business which 
began doing business in this state in 1986 not found 
to have made timely application for proper forms by 
registering in 1982 but not requesting 1986 excise 
tax returns when it began doing business here. 

 
TAXPAYER REPRESENTED BY:  . . . 
 
DATE OF HEARING:  December 8, 1987 
 
 NATURE OF ACTION: 
 
The taxpayer protests the assessment of late payment 
penalties. 
 
 FACTS AND ISSUES: 
 
Frankel, A.L.J. -- The taxpayer's records were examined for 
the period January 1, 1984 through December 31, 1986.  The 
audit disclosed taxes, interest, and a 10 percent late payment 
penalty owing in the total amount of $ X .  Assessment No.  . 



 

 

. . in that amount was issued on April 7, 1987 with a due date 
of May 7, 1987. 
 
The taxpayer is an out-of-state drilling contractor.  It 
registered with this state in 1982, but had no business in 
Washington until 1986.  In 1986, the taxpayer entered into two 
contracts in this state.  The larger contract was with the 
City of . . . .  The work commenced on that contract in June 
of 1986 and was completed in January of 1987.  The other 
contract was a small subcontract for the rental of equipment 
with operator. 
 
The taxpayer did not file a 1986 tax return.  Before the 
taxpayer could get its retainage for the City of . . . 
contract, its records were audited.  At that time the taxpayer 
was advised of the taxes owing.1 
 
The taxpayer does not dispute the assessment of taxes, but 
does protest the late payment penalty.  The taxpayer contends 
that since it had registered with this state in 1982, it 
should not be penalized because the state never sent it the 
forms for reporting the taxes due.  The taxpayer's controller 
is new and thought that obtaining the contractor's license was 
all that was required.  She stated that if this state had sent 
excise tax returns to the taxpayer for 1986, that she would 
have sent them to the taxpayer's accountant to review for 
payment.  Because the state sent no forms, she was not aware 
of the tax liability. 
 
 DISCUSSION: 
 
1)  The taxpayer objects to the imposition of a penalty for 
late payment since it did not know of the obligation to pay 
Washington taxes.  The late payment penalty, however, does not 
                                                           

1The Notice of Completion of the Public works contract includes 
the following figures: 
 
          Contract amount               $  X  
          Additions                        X 
          Deductions                    (  X  ) 
          Sales tax                        X  
          Total                         $  X 
 
Using those figures, the taxpayer's income from the contract was 
$ X .  The auditor assessed sales tax at 7.8 percent ($ X ) on 
that amount.  After the audit, the city paid the additional $ X 
in sales tax owing. 



 

 

hinge on deliberate or willful delinquency.  Late payment 
penalties have been mandated since 1965 when the legislature 
specifically amended the law to limit the Department's 
discretion to waive penalties. 
 
RCW 82.32.100 provides that if a taxpayer fails to make any 
return as required, the Department shall proceed to obtain 
facts and information on which to base its estimate of the 
tax.  As soon as the Department procures the facts and 
information upon which to base the assessment, "it shall 
proceed to determine and assess against such person the tax 
and penalties due, . . .   To the assessment the department 
shall add, the penalties provided in RCW 82.32.090."  RCW 
82.32.100.  (Emphasis added.) 
 
RCW 82.32.090 provides that if any tax due is not received by 
the Department of Revenue by the due date, there shall be 
assessed a penalty.  The penalty for returns which are not 
received within 30 days after the due date is 10 percent of 
the amount of the tax.  A 20 percent penalty is mandated for 
returns which are not received within 60 days after the due 
date. 
 
Penalty provisions for the late payment of taxes are common.  
See, e.g., I.R.C. 6651.  Imposition of the late penalty is 
viewed as a means to partially compensate the state for the 
additional expense in collecting taxes that are late or not 
paid rather than solely as a punitive measure.  The state does 
recognize the difference between nonpayment due to lack of 
knowledge of a tax obligation and tax evasion.  In the case of 
intentional tax evasion, the Department is required to impose 
a penalty of 50 percent of the additional tax found due.  RCW 
82.32.050.  No evasion penalty is assessed unless 
misrepresentation or fraud is specifically found.  No such 
intent was found in the present case. 
 
The only authority to cancel penalties or interest is found in 
RCW 82.32.105.  That statute allows the Department to waive or 
cancel interest or penalties if the failure of a taxpayer to 
pay any tax on the due date was the result of circumstances 
beyond the control of the taxpayer.  The statute also requires 
the Department to prescribe rules for the waiver or 
cancellation of interest and penalties. 
 
The administrative rule which implements the above law is 
found in WAC 458-20-228 (Rule 228, . . . ).  Rule 228 lists 
the situations which are clearly stated as the only 



 

 

circumstances under which a cancellation of penalties and/or 
interest will be considered by the Department. 
 
The only situation that could be considered to apply in this 
case is situation No. 6: 
 

6.  The taxpayer, prior to the time for filing the 
return, made timely application to the Olympia or 
district office, in writing, for proper forms and 
these were not furnished in sufficient time to 
permit the completed return to be paid before its 
delinquent date. 

 
The taxpayer suggests that by registering in 1982, it did make 
timely application for the proper forms.  We do not find the 
rule should be construed so broadly.  Once the taxpayer began 
doing business in Washington it had the obligation to 
determine its tax liability.  One engaging in business in 
Washington reasonably could expect to pay Washington taxes. 
 
The state does try to provide accessible taxpayer information.  
There are 17 regional offices around the state to assist 
taxpayers.  The state also maintains an office of taxpayer 
information.2  The ultimate responsibility for properly 
reporting and paying taxes, however, rests on persons in 
business.  The state is not required to make sure a business 
knows its tax obligation before it can assess taxes, interest, 
or penalties. 
 
If the taxpayer had requested forms from the Department for 
reporting its taxes when it began doing business in this state 
in 1986, and the forms had not been provided in sufficient 
time, we would agree situation No. 6 would apply.  Instead, 
the taxpayer did business in this state and collected retail 
sales tax that had been remitted by the City of . . . during 
1986, but failed to report or pay the tax to the state.  We 
find that the assessment of the late payment penalty was 
valid. 
 
 DECISION AND DISPOSITION 
 
The taxpayer's petition is denied. 
 
DATED this 28th day of December 1987. 

                                                           

2The toll-free number from states other than Washington is 1-800-
233-6349. 



 

 

 

 


