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BEFORE THE APPEALS DIVISION
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
STATE OF WASHINGTON

DETERMINATION

In the Matter of the Petition For Refund of
No. 00-218

)
)
)
)
) Registration No. . . .

) Tax Assessment No. . . .
Headnotes are provided as a convenience for the reader and are not in any way a part of the
decision or in any way to be used in construing or interpreting this determination.

NATURE OF ACTION:

Petition concerning unpaid retail sales tax on the Washington purchase of a motor home by
Washington residents, and the penalties and interest assessed thereon.!

FACTS:

Bauer, M.M., A.L.J. Prior to the incident at issue, Taxpayers had been contacted by the
Department concerning a [three automobiles] which they had registered in Oregon. Taxpayers had
given a Portland, Oregon address . . . as their residence to register these vehicles. The address was a
business plaza — not a residence. Taxpayers’ names were not in evidence. Taxpayers, when
contacted by the Department of Revenue (Department), registered these three vehicles in this state
and paid the taxes owing on them. When the motor home purchase later became an issue, the
Department’s Compliance Division pointed to this history to conclude that these taxpayers were
aware of their obligation to register vehicles in this state and pay the use tax.

The Department . . . obtained a purchase agreement from the [Washington dealership-seller]
indicating Taxpayers had not paid retail sales tax when they purchased their motor home in
Washington on May 23, 1999. The purchase agreement reflected a purchase price of $28,000. In
support of their nonpayment of retail sales tax at the time of purchase, Taxpayers had supplied the
[Washington dealership-seller] with a copy of [Mr. Taxpayer]’s Oregon driver’s license and [Mrs.
Taxpayer]’s California driver’s license. Taxpayers’ motor home left the [Washington dealership-
seller’s sales] lot under the authority of Washington Trip Permit . . ., which reflected [Mr. Taxpayer]

! 1dentifying details regarding the taxpayer and the assessment have been redacted pursuant to RCW 82.32.410.
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as the driver, and . . ., Portland Oregon . . . as his address. This address was identical to that given
on the purchase agreement and was the same address used previously by Taxpayers for the licensing
of their [three automobiles] in Oregon. [Mr. Taxpayer] signed the trip permit, and its dates of
validity were May 23 through May 28.

On January 10, 2000 Taxpayers registered their motor home in Washington using a bill of sale
dated December 28, 1999. This bill of sale was handwritten and reflected a purchase price of
“$4,875.” The bill of sale was not from the [Washington dealership-seller], but appeared to be from
a private individual. The signature is unreadable. Based on this bill of sale, Taxpayers paid only $.
.. in use tax on the motor home.

The Compliance Division, after trying unsuccessfully to contact Taxpayers, determined that they
had unlawfully avoided paying retail sales tax on their motor home’s purchase at the [Washington
dealership-seller], and that they had, further, substantially underpaid the use tax. The Department
issued an assessment on July 20, 2000, as follows:

Total Value $28,000.00
Retail Sales Tax @ 8.2%

Delinquent Penalty 20%

Failure to Pay Sales Tax 10%

Evasion Penalty 50%

Credit for Use Tax Paid

Interest

Total Remittance

In an undated letter to the Revenue Agent in response to the assessment, [Mr. Taxpayer]
contended the Department of Licensing (DOL) had “misread” the bill of sale and thus
undercharged the use tax. Taxpayers argue they would have paid the full tax due had they
known the correct amount. Taxpayers now want to pay use tax pursuant to the “correct” bill of
sale — identical to the one submitted to DOL, except that it now reflects a purchase price of
$14,875. [Mr. Taxpayer] also submitted in his correspondence to Compliance that a
[motorhome], like the one they purchased, sells in his area “anywhere from 12500 to 19000
depending on its condition,” and that [ Taxpayer’s motorhome] was not in good, or even running,
condition because it had an electrical fire/problem.

The Department has recovered the copy of the bill of sale Taxpayers submitted to DOL. The bill of
sale does in fact state the purchase price to be $4,875. It is identical to the “correct” bill of sale
which Taxpayers now submit to the Department, except that the “1” between the “$” and the “4” is
clearly missing.

Taxpayers paid the full assessment and appealed for a refund under the small claims hearings
process. Although the case was initially accepted for small claims treatment, we find the case to be
unsuitable for small claims resolution because of the number of issues involved. WAC 458-20-
100(7)(b). The case has, therefore, been converted to a mainstream appeal.
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ISSUES:

1. Whether $. . . in deferred sales tax should be refunded to Taxpayers on their . . . motor home
(i.e., the amount assessed on its value in excess of Taxpayers’ claimed value of $14,875).

2.  Whether the 20% delinquency penalty should be refunded.
3. Whether the 10% “failure to pay sales tax” penalty should be refunded.
4. Whether the 50% evasion penalty should be refunded.

5. Whether the interest paid on the assessment should be refunded.
TAXPAYERS” ARGUMENTS:

Taxpayers claim the Department of Licensing charged them the wrong amount of use tax on their
motor home, and that they have complied in good faith with written instructions of the Department.

Taxpayers’ petition for refund (undated, but postmarked September 15, 2000), states:

We purchased this vehicle in late 1999 with intentions to move out of state of Washington
and travel the country. This move did not occur due to massive mechanical/electrical
problems that were discovered with this vehicle.

This vehicle at best may be worth around 15,0003[sic], unfortunately we were defrauded at
the time of purchase for a higher dollar amount.

Based on our good faith in paying the assessment, we do here by request the department to
hear our case, and grant us relief on the assessment itself, penalties and interest charges
included with the assessment.

In the teleconference, [Mr. Taxpayer] explained that the [three automobiles] had been sitting in their
driveway — unlicensed -- while they traveled overseas. He contends they had a fourth Washington-
licensed vehicle that they drove when they were home.

According to Taxpayers, a private individual had consigned the motor home to the [Washington
dealership-seller] . Taxpayers contend they financed the motor home’s purchase from the
[Washington dealership-seller] by borrowing $20,000 from a bank and placing the remaining
$8,000 on a credit card. [Mr. Taxpayer] further explains that, when he discovered the motor home’s
many electrical problems, he returned it to the [Washington dealership-seller]., cancelled his bank
loan and received an $8,000 credit on his credit card. According to [Mr. Taxpayer], he was able to
work out a direct purchase from the motor home’s consignor later that year for a sales price of
“$15,000.”
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When asked if he could supply any documentation concerning this version of events, [Mr.
Taxpayer] stated that he has no time to do so, and that his wife is taking care of a baby. According
to [Mr. Taxpayer], he and his wife have not maintained good records since the birth of their second
baby. He states that he is now willing to pay use tax on the full $28,000 if the Department will
waive all interest and penalties. He justifies his request for waiver of interest and penalties on RCW
82.32.090(4), pointing to his “good faith effort to comply with the specific written instructions
provided by the department. . . .” Taxpayers do not dispute they were Washington residents at the
time of their motor home’s purchase.

DISCUSSION:

Taxable measure. RCW 82.32.070(1) provides:

Every person liable for any fee or tax imposed by chapters 82.04 through 82.27 RCW shall
keep and preserve, for a period of five years, suitable records as may be necessary to
determine the amount of any tax for which he may be liable. . . . Any person who fails to
comply with the requirements of this section shall be forever barred from questioning, in
any court action or proceedings, the correctness of any assessment of taxes made by the
department of revenue based upon any period for which such books, records, and invoices
have not been so kept and preserved.

Taxpayers in this case have chosen not to produce records documenting the claimed return of their
motor home to the [Washington dealership-seller] and its subsequent purchase from the individual
consignor for a lower price of $14,875. Because they have not met this burden of proof, we must
find they made a retail purchase from the [Washington dealership-seller] in the amount of $28,000
and, as residents, owed retail sales tax on that amount at the time they took delivery on it.

10% “failure to pay sales tax”” penalty.

RCW 82.08.050 provides:

Where a buyer has failed to pay to the [Washington dealership-seller] the tax imposed by
this chapter and the [Washington dealership-seller] has not paid the amount of the tax to the
department, the department may, in its discretion, proceed directly against the buyer for
collection of the tax, in which case a penalty of ten percent may be added to the amount of
the tax for failure of the buyer to pay the same to the [Washington dealership-seller],
regardless of when the tax may be collected by the department; and all of the provisions of
chapter 82.32 RCW, including those relative to interest and penalties, shall apply in
addition; and, for the sole purpose of applying the various provisions of chapter 82.32 RCW,
the twenty-fifth day of the month following the tax period in which the purchase was made
shall be considered as the due date of the tax.

Based on the finding that Taxpayers, as residents, made a retail purchase from the [Washington
dealership-seller] in the amount of $28,000, they clearly owed retail sales tax when they purchased
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their motor home and took delivery in this state. We find the 10 % “failure to pay sales tax” penalty
was lawfully imposed.

20% delinguency penalty.

RCW 82.32.090(1) provides:
If payment of any . . . tax is not received on or before the last day of the second month
following the due date, there shall be assessed a total penalty of twenty percent of the
amount of the tax.

Taxpayers’ payment of their tax underpayment occurred well after the commencement of the 20%
penalty period. We find this penalty was lawfully imposed.

50% evasion penalty.

RCW 82.32.090(5) provides:

If the department finds that all or any part of the deficiency resulted from an intent to evade
the tax payable hereunder, a further penalty of fifty percent of the additional tax found to be
due shall be added.

In Det. No. 00-014, 19 WTD 698 (2000) we described the standard used to impose an evasion
penalty under RCW 82.32.090(5):

The Department will impose an evasion penalty when the failure to pay the proper amount of
the tax "resulted from an intent to evade the tax." RCW 82.32.090(5). The Department has
the burden to show the elements of evasion by clear, cogent, and convincing evidence. Det.
No. 90-314, 10 WTD 111 (1990). Clear, cogent, and convincing evidence has been
described as evidence convincing the trier of fact that the issue is "highly probable,” or,
stated another way, the evidence must be "positive and unequivocal." Colonial Imports, Inc.
v. Carlton Northwest, Inc., 121 Wn.2d 726, 735, 853 P.2d 913 (1993).

Evasion requires that the taxpayers: (1) know they have a tax obligation; and (2)
intentionally do something, which is false or fraudulent to evade that obligation. Det. No.
92-133, 12 WTD 171 (1992). The Department has the burden to prove each element of
evasion by clear, cogent, and convincing evidence. Det. No. 90-314, 10 WTD 111 (1990).

The Board of Tax Appeals (BTA) has also addressed the Department’s burden of proof,
stating that the intent to evade must be established by “objective and credible evidence,” as
the “mere suspicion of intent to evade” is insufficient to sustain the penalty. Hicks v.
Department of Rev., BTA Docket No. 92-69 (1995). The Hicks decision went on to state:

In upholding an assessment of the evasion penalty we must find that the taxpayer
acted with intent. For this purpose, the Department must first show that the taxpayer
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acted with the specific purpose of escaping a tax liability which the taxpayer
knew to exist. Although the subjective intent of a person is difficult to ascertain, it
may be determined from objective facts such as the actions or statements of the
taxpayer. However, intent to evade does not exist where a deficiency was due to an
honest mistake, an unsuccessful attempt at legitimate tax avoidance, inefficiency, or
ignorance of proper accounting methods. Even gross negligence will not rise to the
level of intent to evade. There must be proof of a deliberate attempt on the part of
the taxpayer to evade a tax liability. (Emphasis added.)

In this case, Taxpayers, who were undisputedly residents of Washington, submitted out-of-state
drivers’ licenses and an Oregon address to the [Washington dealership-seller] in order to avoid
payment of the retail sales tax lawfully due. The Oregon address they used was the same address
they had previously used to unlawfully license other vehicles that had previously been subject to
Departmental assessments. It is inconceivable that Taxpayers were unaware that their use of this
Oregon address for [the] purpose of claiming an out-of-state residency to avoid vehicle taxes was
unlawful. They further used what was apparently an altered version of what may itself have been a
fabricated bill of sale in order to pay only a fraction of the use tax which would have otherwise been
due. We see no evidence of an “honest mistake, an unsuccessful attempt at legitimate tax
avoidance, inefficiency, or ignorance of proper accounting methods.” We find the evidence in this
case clearly supports a knowing and deliberate attempt on Taxpayers’ part to evade their proper
sales tax liability, and therefore find the evasion penalty to have been properly assessed.

Waiver of Penalties. RCW 82.32.090(4) provides:

If the department finds that all or any part of a deficiency resulted from the disregard of
specific written instructions as to reporting or tax liabilities, the department shall add a
penalty of ten percent of the amount of the additional tax found due because of the failure to
follow the instructions. A taxpayer disregards specific written instructions when the
department of revenue has informed the taxpayer in writing of the taxpayer's tax obligations
and the taxpayer fails to act in accordance with those instructions unless the department has
not issued final instructions because the matter is under appeal pursuant to this chapter or
departmental regulations. The department shall not assess the penalty under this section
upon any taxpayer who has made a good faith effort to comply with the specific written
instructions provided by the department to that taxpayer. Specific written instructions may
be given as a part of a tax assessment, audit, determination, or closing agreement, provided
that such specific written instructions shall apply only to the taxpayer addressed or
referenced on such documents. Any specific written instructions by the department of
revenue shall be clearly identified as such and shall inform the taxpayer that failure to follow
the instructions may subject the taxpayer to the penalties imposed by this subsection.

Taxpayers contend all penalties and interest should be waived under the “good faith” standard
provided by RCW 82.32.090(4) because they made a “good faith effort to comply with the specific
written instructions provided by the department,” supposedly in that they paid the Department’s
assessment. Taxpayers’ reliance on RCW 82.32.090(4) for waiver of their penalties and interest
assessed is misguided. The “good faith effort” defense articulated in that subsection is only
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applicable to the 10% penalty actually assessed under RCW 82.32.090(4) for the “disregard of
specific written instructions as to reporting or tax liabilities.” Taxpayers have not been assessed this
particular penalty. We also note that mere payment of an assessment, once an underpayment is
discovered, would never be considered a “good faith effort to comply with written instructions”
under this subsection.

RCW 82.32.105(1) provides for the waiver of penalties imposed by chapter 82.32.RCW:

If the department of revenue finds that the payment by a taxpayer of a tax less than that
properly due or the failure of a taxpayer to pay any tax by the due date was the result of
circumstances beyond the control of the taxpayer, the department of revenue shall waive or
cancel any penalties imposed under this chapter with respect to such tax.

Taxpayers have offered no evidence their failure to pay the retail sales tax was the result of
circumstances beyond their control. Thus, there is no justification for the waiver of penalties.

Imposition of Interest. RCW 82.32.050(1) provides:

If upon examination of any returns or from other information obtained by the department it appears
that a tax or penalty has been paid less than that properly due, the department shall assess against the
taxpayer such additional amount found to be due and shall add thereto interest on the tax only.

Because Taxpayers did not pay retail sales tax when they purchased their motor home, less tax was
paid than that which was properly due. We find that interest was properly assessed.

Waiver of Interest. RCW 82.32.050(3) provides for the waiver of interest:

The department shall waive or cancel interest imposed under this chapter if:

(@) The failure to timely pay the tax was the direct result of written instructions given
the taxpayer by the department; or

(b) The extension of a due date for payment of an assessment of deficiency was not
at the request of the taxpayer and was for the sole convenience of the department.

Neither circumstance articulated in RCW 82.32.050(3) apply in this case. We find there is no basis
for the waiver of interest.

DECISION AND DISPOSITION:
Taxpayers’ petition for refund is denied.

Dated this 28" day of December, 2000.



