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RCW 66.24.290 

 
Tax Base Brewers or distributors of beer pay a tax for the privilege of manufacturing or 

selling beer in Washington. The tax applies to each 31-gallon barrel or its 
equivalent in cans and bottles. Beer is also subject to retail sales tax, whether 
purchased in the original container or for consumption on-premises of the 
seller. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce the tax liability for this tax base. For more 
information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate For breweries that produce less than 60,000 barrels each year, the overall rate 

is $4.782 per barrel: 

Tax  Rate per barrel RCW 

Base tax $1.30 66.24.290(1)(a) 

Additional $2.00 66.24.290(2) 

Additional $1.482 66.24.290(4) 

 
For breweries that produce over 60,000 barrels each year the overall rate is 
$8.08 per barrel: 

Tax  Rate per barrel RCW 

Base tax $1.30 66.24.290(1)(a) 

Additional $2.00 66.24.290(2) 

Additional $4.78 66.24.290(3)(a) 
 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2018 $31,037 5.6% 0.1% 

2017 $29,390 -6.4% 0.2% 

2016 $31,385 2.1% 0.2% 

2015 $30,736 2.8% 0.2% 

2014 $29,898 -61.3% 0.2% 

2013 $77,324 -2.9% 0.5% 

2012 $79,642 -1.2% 0.6% 

2011 $80,609 118.8% 0.6% 

2010 $36,833 13.6% 0.3% 

2009 $32,418 2.9% 0.2% 

   Source: Washington State Liquor & Cannabis Board 

http://dor.wa.gov/content/aboutus/statisticsandreports/2016/Tax_Exemptions_2016/Default.aspx
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Distribution of 
Receipts 

Receipts from the base tax of $1.30 per barrel are distributed as follows: 

 0.3% to certain border cities and counties for law enforcement costs. 

 Of the remaining 99.7%, 20% is distributed to all counties on the basis of 
unincorporated population and 80% is distributed to all cities on the basis 
of population. 

 
Receipts from the additional tax of $2.00 per barrel and $4.78 per barrel are 
deposited into the State General Fund. 
 
Receipts from the $1.482 tax for barrels exempted from the $4.78 rate are 
distributed as follows: 

 97 percent into the State General Fund. 

 3 percent to border cities and counties. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Liquor and Cannabis Board. 

 
Brewers and beer wholesalers report the tax monthly, with payment due by 
the 20th day of the following month. 

 
History 2013 Additional per barrel and per gallon taxes imposed in 2010 expired. 

 
2010 Additional tax of $15.50 per barrel imposed on breweries that 

produced over 60,000 barrels. The excise tax on beer increased from 
26 to 76 cents per gallon but the additional tax did not apply to the 
sale of the first 60,000 barrels annually by breweries entitled to a 
reduced rate of tax under 26 U.S.C. Sec. 5051 of the federal internal 
revenue code. 

 
2009 A portion of the tax was earmarked for the violence reduction/drug 

enforcement account and the health services account. These 
dedicated revenues were eliminated. 

 
2003 Strong beer (more than 8 percent alcohol by weight) shifted from the 

liquor sales tax and made subject to the beer tax. 
 
1997 Beer tax rate reduced to $1.30 per barrel from $2.60 per barrel and 

the 7 percent surtax was repealed. 
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1994 Temporary tax created in 1989 made permanent. 
 
1993 Established an additional tax of $0.96 per barrel for health care.  This 

tax automatically increased to $2.39 per barrel in 1995 and $4.78 per 
barrel in 1997. 

 
1989 Adopted an additional temporary tax of $2.00 per barrel for drug 

programs. 
 
1982 Surtaxes added, increasing the overall rate to $2.782. 
 
1981 Combined the $1.00 and $1.50 rates and increased to a basic rate of 

$2.60. 
 
1965 Rate increased to $1.50 per barrel for canned and bottled beer. 
 
1934 Beer tax enacted at $1.00 per barrel. 

 


