Estate and Transfer Tax

RCW 83.100.040

Tax Base The value of all property located in Washington at the decedent’s date of
death. The term “property” includes real estate and other property located
in this state, as well as intangible assets owned by a Washington resident,
regardless of location.

Tax exemptions may reduce the tax liability for this tax base. For more
information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study.

Tax Rate After subtracting all allowable deductions, the remaining Washington
taxable estate is subject to a graduated rate schedule ranging from 10 to 20
percent. The estate tax brackets found in RCW 83.100.040 are summarized
below:

(1) (4)

Washington (3) Plus tax rate on
taxable estate is (2) Tax on amount  excess amount
at least But less than in column (1) in column (1)
SO $1,000,000 SO 10.00%
$1,000,000 $2,000,000 $100,000 14.00%
$2,000,000 $3,000,000 $240,000 15.00%
$3,000,000 $4,000,000 $390,000 16.00%
$4,000,000 $6,000,000 $550,000 18.00%
$6,000,000 $7,000,000 $910,000 19.00%
$7,000,000 $9,000,000 $1,100,000 19.50%
$9,000,000 - $1,490,000 20.00%
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Recent % of All

Collections Collections % Change State Taxes

($000) 2018 $203,411 20.6% 1.0%
2017 $168,710 25.3% 0.9%
2016 $134,680 -12.6% 0.7%
2015 $154,040 -1.3% 0.9%
2014 $156,019 49.0% 1.0%
2013 $104,680 -8.8% 0.7%
2012 $114,828 1.7% 0.8%
2011 $112,928 43.5% 0.8%
2010 $78,717 -42.6% 0.6%
2009 $137,116 25.6% 0.9%

Distribution of  Current estate tax receipts are deposited into the Education Legacy Account.
Receipts Receipts for decedents who died prior to May 17, 2005, are deposited into
the State General Fund.

Levied by State

Administration  Department of Revenue.

If the value of the gross estate exceeds the filing threshold, administrators or
personal representatives of estates must file a Washington estate tax return
with the Department. The return must be filed within nine months following
the decedent’s death. Administrators must include a copy of the federal
estate tax return, if applicable, with the state tax return. When the estate tax
liability has been fully satisfied, a release is issued to the estate stating that
the decedent's property may be transferred.

History 2013 Legislation passed to include qualified terminable interest property
(QTIP) in the Washington taxable estate when the second spouse
dies, regardless of when the spouse acquired the interest in the
property.

Beginning with the estates of decedents dying in 2014, the bill also:

e Provides an annual adjustment to the Washington estate tax
threshold based on the Consumer Price Index.

e Increases the top four estate tax rates.
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e Allows a qualified family-owned business interests (QFOBI)
deduction.

2012 The Washington Supreme Court determined that qualified
terminable interest property (QTIP) should not be included in the
decedents’ Washington estates when computing Washington’s estate
tax in the consolidated case of Estate of Bracken and Estate of Nelson
v. State of Washington on October 18, 2012.

2006 The state estate tax survived a repeal attempt in November 2006,
when 62 percent of the voters rejected Initiative 902.

2005 The State Supreme Court overturned Washington’s estate tax in
Hemphill et al v. State of Washington on February 3, 2005.

The Legislature enacted a “stand-alone” estate tax effective May 17,
2005.

2001 In May, Congress adopted H.R. 1836 (PL 107-16) which phased out
the federal estate tax by the year 2010 and eliminated the federal
credit for state taxes at the end of 2004.

The State of Washington continued to collect the estate tax based on
the Internal Revenue Code as of January 1, 2001.

1981 Voters approved Initiative 402 at the November general election. This
initiative repealed the state inheritance and gift taxes effective
January 1, 1982.

The initiative allowed continuation of a state estate tax equal to the
amount of federal estate tax credit. This is referred to as a “pick-up”
tax.

1979 The Legislature enacted a comprehensive revision of the inheritance
tax.

1941 A companion gift tax was enacted at rates equal to 90 percent of the
inheritance tax rates.

1901 Aninheritance tax was one of the first state taxes established in
Washington. The tax was upheld in a court ruling that found it was an
excise tax on the privilege of inheriting property, and not a tax on the
property itself.
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