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RCW 66.24.210 

 
Tax Base Wine sold to distributors, directly to consumers on the winery premises, and 

direct shipments to consumers and retailers. Wine is also subject to retail sales 
tax when purchased in the original container and when consumed on the 
premises of the seller. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce the tax liability for this tax base. For more 
information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate For table wines the total wine tax rate per liter is $0.2292: 

Tax  Rate per liter RCW 

Base tax $0.2025 66.24.210(1) 

Additional tax, 7% of base rate $0.0142 66.24.210(2) 

Additional tax $0.0025 66.24.210(3) 

Additional tax $0.01 66.24.210(4) 

 
For fortified wines the total wine tax rate per liter is $0.4536: 

Tax  Rate per liter RCW 

Base tax $0.2025 66.24.210(1) 

Additional tax, 7% of base rate $0.0142 66.24.210(2) 

Additional tax $0.0025 66.24.210(3) 

Additional tax $0.2344 66.24.210(4) 

 
For cider the total wine tax rate per liter is $0.0814: 

Tax  Rate per liter RCW 

Base tax $0.0359 66.24.210(1) 

Additional tax, 7% of base rate $0.0025 66.24.210(2) 

Additional tax $0.0005 66.24.210(3) 

Additional tax $0.0018 66.24.210(4) 

Additional tax $0.0407 66.24.210(5) 
 

 
  

http://dor.wa.gov/content/aboutus/statisticsandreports/2016/Tax_Exemptions_2016/Default.aspx
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Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2018 $25,244 -1.0% 0.1% 

2017 $25,487 1.9% 0.1% 

2016 $25,012 4.2% 0.1% 

2015 $24,000 -0.3% 0.1% 

2014 $24,071 0.6% 0.2% 

2013 $23,925 2.0% 0.2% 

2012 $23,450 3.2% 0.2% 

2011 $22,733 1.9% 0.2% 

2010 $22,299 3.6% 0.2% 

2009 $21,531 1.7% 0.1% 

Source: Washington State Liquor & Cannabis Board 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

Receipts from the base rates for wine ($0.2025) and cider ($0.0359) are 
distributed to the Liquor Revolving Fund. Board expenses are funded first, 
followed by: 
 

 99.7 percent as follows: 
o 50 percent to the State General Fund 
o 10 percent to all counties on the basis of unincorporated 

population 
o 40 percent to all cities on the basis of population 

 0.3 percent to certain border cities and counties for law enforcement 
costs 

 
RCW 66.08.180 authorizes the Board to distribute $0.25 cents per liter of the 
tax under RCW 66.24.210 to Washington State University solely for wine and 
wine grape research.  
 
Receipts from the additional taxes on wine and cider under RCW 66.24.210 
are deposited in the State General Fund, except for the additional per liter 
wine tax of $0.25 cents and $0.05 cents for cider which are distributed to the 
Washington Wine Commission to finance their activities. 

 
Levied by State 
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Administration Liquor and Cannabis Board.  

 
Wholesale purchasers of wine report the tax on a monthly basis, with payment 
due by the 20th day of the following month. 

 
History 2016 The definition of cider changed to table wine that contains not less 

than 0.5 percent and not more than 8.5 percent alcohol by volume. 
 
2009 A portion of wine tax receipts earmarked for the violence 

reduction/drug enforcement account and the health services account 
was discontinued. 

 
2006 Shipments of wine from wineries directly to retailers or consumers 

allowed. 
 
1996 Separate tax rates for cider wine established. 
 
1994 Additional rates created in 1989 made permanent 
 
1993 Additional 0.25 cent liter tax extended until 2001 and then made 

permanent. 
 
1989 Additional liter taxes of 1 cent for wine and 23.44 cents for fortified 

wine adopted and scheduled to expire in 1995. 
 
1987 Additional liter tax of 0.25 cents adopted. 
 
1982 Additional tax for the general fund added. 
 
1981 Tax converted to the metric basis and basic rate of 20.25 cents per 

liter established. 
 
1973 26 percent excise tax repealed and gallon tax increased to 75 cents. 
 
1969 Direct import of wine from other states allowed. Wine removed from 

the 10 and 15 percent liquor sales taxes but subject to a special 26 
percent excise tax. 

 
1935 Wine tax established at initial rate of 10 cents per gallon. Wine was 

also subject to the 10 percent liquor sales tax. 

 


