# **Acknowledgments**

The Washington State Tax Structure Study Committee appreciates the contributions to this report from the Committee members, the Department of Revenue staff members, Technical Subcommittee members, Advisory Group members and others who participated in this study. We regret that it is impossible to name all the people who provided valuable input to this study report, but we would like to make a special acknowledgment of the contributions of the people named below.

#### **Committee Members**

We would like to acknowledge the extensive time, effort, and expertise that each Committee member devoted towards this study and report. The Committee was a diverse but cohesive group of individuals who each contributed their energy and skills to this project, and we would like to expressly recognize each member's contributions to this collaborative endeavor.

## Governor's Appointee

William H. Gates Sr., Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation – Committee Chair

## <u>Legislative Appointees</u>

Senator Lisa Brown, Washington State Senate Representative Jack Cairnes, House of Representatives Representative Jim McIntire, House of Representatives Gary Strannigan, Former Washington State Senator

## **Academic Appointees**

John Beck, Gonzaga University
Neil Bruce, University of Washington
Dick Conway, Dick Conway & Associates
Lily Kahng, Seattle University
Debra Sanders, Washington State University
Hugh Spitzer, University of Washington – Committee Vice Chair

We would also like to acknowledge the contributions of former Washington State Senator Dow Constantine. Mr. Constantine was a co-sponsor of the enacting legislation for this study and served as a member of the Committee until his appointment to the King County Council.

### **Department of Revenue Staff Members**

The following Department employees were the principal staff contributors to the research and analysis of the tax study. These individuals provided core support to the Committee throughout the duration of the study and the phases of study design, economic analysis, and development of

alternatives. Staff members from several divisions played key roles in supporting the economic research and policy analysis completed by the Committee.

### **Executive Division**

Will Rice, Acting Director of the Department of Revenue – Executive Sponsor of Study

Sue Meldazy, Project Manager – Committee Liaison, Study Design, Overall Study Coordination

Cyndi Mikota, Administrative Assistant – Organizational Assistance to Committee

# Research Division

Mary Welsh, Assistant Director – Research Staff Manager, Study Design Leadership

Lorrie Brown, Ph.D., Economist – Principal Economic Analyst and Study Design

Diane Mielke, Administrative Assistant – Meeting Coordination and Minutes

## Legislation and Policy Division

Russ Brubaker, Assistant Director – Tax Policy and Legal Guidance to Committee

Nicole Stewart, Tax Policy Specialist – Principal Contact for Advisory Group

In addition to the core staff members, many other Department employees provided support to the Committee.

<u>Research Division</u> – Technical Assistance on Economic Modeling, Fiscal Impacts, and Report Drafting

Byron Angel	Margaret Knudson	Don Taylor
Becki Gilyard	Scott Maddox	Diana Tibbetts
Don Gutmann	Fanny Nyaribo-Roberts	Stan Woodwell

Van Huynh Ray Philen Skeets Johnson Steve Smith

<u>Legislation and Policy Division</u> – *Legal, Administrative and Policy Assistance and Report Drafting* 

Leslie CushmanBeulah HolmanDonn SmallwoodCliff EllenwoodAlan LynnAnne SolwickCindy EvansGreg PotegalJim Thomas

Debbie Glover Amy Rotter Claire Hesselholt Julie Sexton Audit Division Bob Heller Legal Review of Chapter 5

<u>Taxpayer Services Division</u> Chris Donahue Graphic Design

Mike Gowrylow Public Relations

#### **Technical Subcommittee Members**

The in-depth research and analysis found in this report is the result of a collaborative effort among Committee members and staff from the Department of Revenue, Office of Financial Management, Senate Ways and Means Committee, House Finance Committee and the Washington Research Council. The Committee greatly appreciates their thoughtful, expert contributions.

Rick Peterson House Finance Committee
Terry Wilson Senate Ways and Means
Kriss Sjoblom Washington Research Council
Irv Lefberg Office of Financial Management
Wolfgang Opitz Office of Financial Management
Carol Jenner Office of Financial Management

## **Advisory Group**

The Tax Structure Study was required by law to include an Advisory Group of various representatives of business, state and local government, labor, taxpayers, and other advocacy groups. At the close of the study the Committee's electronic mailing list included almost 200 individuals who represent a much larger constituency of organizations and interested parties. We would like to acknowledge the valuable input of the Advisory Group and the numerous Washington citizens who took the time to share their thoughts and issues with the Committee.