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2010 Special Session Comes to a Close 
By David Saavedra, Program Coordinator & Staff 

Inside this issue: 

Special points of interest: 

• Quarterly Reminders 

(see page 2) 

• Upcoming Training 

(see page 3) 

The 2010 Regular Session of the 

Washington State Legislature 

opened on January 11, 2010, and 

was originally scheduled for 60 

days. Major budget issues led to 

Governor Gregoire calling the 

Legislature into Special Session. 

Despite the Legislature’s focus 

on economic matters, there 

were a number of property tax 

measures that were adopted. Of 

the 182 property tax bills we 

analyzed, 17 are being enacted 

into law. If there is an underlying 

theme to the property tax 

measures that did pass, it 

appears to be “local flexibility.” 

These bills provide for new local 

taxing authorities, update 

options for local annexation, 

revise programs that fund local 

infrastructure, permit electronic 

billing and payment of property 

tax, and allow nonprofits to 

share their property with the 

community for farmer’s markets. 

We’ve provided brief profiles for 

each of the 16 property tax 

related bills that have passed 

and ESSB 6143, which is likely to 

be finalized in the last few days 

of the Special Session. Links are 

provided to the Legislature’s 

website, where the detailed 

history of each measure, staff bill 

reports, and the actual text of 

the bills are available. In the 

next edition of the Property Tax 

Review newsletter, we will focus 

on the bills that the Department 

of Revenue’s Property Tax 

Division staff will actively 

implement. Until then, if you 

have any questions or concerns 

about these measures, please 

contact us. 

David Saavedra at (360) 570-

5861 or davids@dor.wa.gov 

Mike Braaten at (360) 570-5862 

or michaelb@dor.wa.gov 

We will connect you with the 

property tax specialist most 

familiar with how each bill might 

affect you. 

E2SHB 1597 – Relating to 
improving the 
administration of state and 
local tax programs without 
impacting tax collections. 
This bill focused on a wide 

variety of administrative issues, 

including a number of legislative 

measures that Washington State 

committed to enacting when it 

came into full compliance with 

the Streamlined Sales and Use 

Tax Agreement (Agreement) and 

became a full member state on 

the Streamlined Sales Tax 

Governing Board. In addition, 

the act included improvements/ 

safeguards in the handling of 

confidential information, 

simplified processes for 

taxpayers, made technical 

changes and removed obsolete 

language. On the property tax 

side, the act made several 

corrections & improvements: 

Current Use: Grammatical 

corrections are made to the 

current use program, and 

references to surviving domestic 

partners are included. 

Nonprofit Exemptions: Outdated 

references were corrected to 

clarify the definition of a 

daycare. Harborview Hospital is 

now included under the 

exemption statute for leased 

hospital equipment. 

Senior Exemptions: Definitions 

of disability were clarified by 

correcting out-of-date 

references to federal definitions. 

The renewal requirement for the 

exemption is changed from 

every 4 years to every 6 years to 

allow more flexibility by the 

assessors in how frequently 

exemptions are reviewed. 

(Continued on page 2) 

2010 Special Session 
Highlights 

Personal Property 
Discovery Tools 

Levy Audit Findings 

Personal Property 
Questions—Rental 
Equipment 

New Faces at Property 
Tax 
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P a g e 2 P r o p e r t y T a x R e v ie w V o l u m e 1 1 , I s s u e 1 

2010 Special Session Comes to a Close (cont.)This Quarter’sThis Quarter’s 

RemindersReminders 

April 30 
Personal property listing forms 
are due to the county assessor. 
Penalties apply. (RCW 
84.40.020, 040, 060 and 130) 
Taxes are due. If taxes are less 
than $50, full payment is due. If 
taxes are $50 or more, one half of 
the payment is due. Second half 
payment is due October 31. 
(RCW 84.56.020) PUD Privilege 
Tax billings are issued. 

May 1 
Applications for forest land 
designation are considered 
approved unless assessor has 
notified the owner otherwise. 
(RCW 84.33.130) Current use 
farm and agricultural land 
applications are considered 
approved unless assessor has 
notified owner otherwise. (RCW 
84.34.035) 

May 31 
County assessors complete 
valuation on all property. 
Property may be added later (new 
construction and mobile homes) 
after giving written notice to the 
taxpayer. (RCW 84.40.040) 

June 1 
Three percent penalty assessed 
on the current year s delinquent 
taxes. (RCW 84.56.020) PUD 
Privilege Tax is due. 

June 30 
(On or before) DOR prepares 
stumpage values for July through 
December 2010. (RCW 
84.33.091) DOR determines 
value of state assessed property 
and sends tentative value notices. 

July 1 
Appeals to the County Board of 
Equalization must be filed by 
today or within 30 days of 
notification. County legislative 
authority may extend the deadline 
up to 60 days by adoption of local 
ordinance/rule. (RCW 84.40.038) 

(Continued on page 4) 

(Continued from page 1) 

Limited Income Deferrals: The bill clarifies several interpretations made in the creation of the rules for its 

administration. The bill also provides that this program be reviewed in 2011 by the Citizen’s Commission 

for Tax Preferences, instead of by the Joint Legislative Audit Review Committee. 

Levies, Collections, and Appeals: A number of technical changes were made to correct outdated cross-

references, correct grammatical errors and delete outdated statutes for levies & collections. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=1597&year=2009 

SHB 2402 – Concerning a property tax exemption for property owned by a nonprofit 
organization and used for the purpose of a farmers market 
This measure permits exempt church property or exempt public assembly hall property to be rented or 

loaned to a nonprofit that will host a farmers market on up to 53 days per year, without jeopardizing the 

underlying property tax exemption. The measure includes a very specific definition of a farmers market, 

requiring at least 5 farmers that sell their own product. In this setting, the farmers market events must 

also satisfy a number of criteria controlling gross revenues, the products sold and who participates as a 

vendor. The bill applies to property taxes levied for collection in 2011 through 2020 and these changes to 

the exemptions expire December 31, 2020. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=2402&year=2009 

HB 2406 – Relating to updating and removing obsolete references from the statutes 
governing the joint legislative audit and review committee. 
The Joint Legislative Audit and Review Committee (JLARC) is a joint legislative committee that works to 

make state government operations more effective, efficient, and accountable. This bill gives JLARC broad 

new authority to access books, records, files and accounts of both state & local government. The measure 

provides authority to administer oaths, issue subpoenas, compel attendance of witnesses and the 

production of any papers, books, accounts, documents and testimony. This authority also provides access 

to confidential records needed to discharge JLARC’s performance audit duties. However, confidential 

records are to remain confidential. http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=2406&year=2009 

ESHB 2776 – Relating to funding distribution formulas for K-12 education 
This bill has to do with funding distribution formulas for K-12 education and creates a working group, 

which requires DOR participation and support. The group is tasked with examining local school district 

facility capacity in order to phase in full day kindergarten and reducing K-3 class sizes; and provide the 

Quality Education Council with analysis on the use of local funds that may become available as a result of 

increased state allocations for pupil transportation and maintenance, supplies and operating 

costs. http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=2776&year=2009 

SHB 2893 - Changing school levy provisions. 
This measure permits school districts to seek higher amounts in voter-approved levies in certain 

circumstances. It allows additional funding for local school districts by: Adjusting the levy base for local 

districts to restore funding for I-728 & I-732; Increasing the levy authority percentage to 28% for 2011 – 

2017; Allowing school districts to impose additional concurrent M&O levies when the legislature enacts 

bills that increase districts’ levy base or maximum levy percentage; and Increasing the local effort 

assistance percentage from 12% to 14%. Most changes expire in 2018 and revert to current restrictions. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=2893&year=2009 

SHB 2962 - Allows county treasurers to use electronic bill 
presentation and payment that includes an automatic electronic 
payment option for property taxes 
This bill authorizes the county treasurer to create optional systems for the 

collection of taxes, assessments, fees, rates and charges using electronic 

billing and payment. The electronic billing and payment may be monthly 

(Continued on page 3) 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=2893&year=2009
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=2776&year=2009
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=2406&year=2009
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=2402&year=2009
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=1597&year=2009
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P r o p e r t y T a x R e v i e w V o l u m e 1 1 , I s s u e 1 P a g e 3 

2010 Special Session Comes to a Close (cont.) ~ 2010 ~ 
Upcoming Training 

(State/County Personnel ONLY) 

April 20 21 
Ratio Study/Statistics Workshop 

Ellensburg $125 

April 28 
Personal Property Update 

*WEBINAR* $50 

May 19 20 
Current Use Basic 

*WEBINAR* $75 

May 26 
Current Use Advanced 

*WEBINAR* $50 

June 8 9 
Board of Equalization New Members 

Moses Lake *FREE* 

June 10 
Board of Equalization Senior Members 

Moses Lake *FREE* 

June 15 
Board of Equalization Senior Members 

Olympia *FREE* 

June 17 
Board of Equalization Senior Members 

Location To Be Determined *FREE* 

July 14 
Senior Exemption/Deferral Workshop 

Spokane $75 

July 15 
Senior Exemption/Deferral Workshop 

Tri Cities $75 

July 21 
Senior Exemption/Deferral Workshop 

Smokey Point $75 

July 28 
Senior Exemption/Deferral Workshop 

Olympia $75 

For further information, contact: 

Patty Concepcion 
Education Coordinator 

Washington Department of Revenue 
Property Tax Division 

P.O. Box 47471 
Olympia, WA 98504 7471 

Phone: (360) 570 5866 
E Mail: PattyC@dor.wa.gov 

(Continued from page 2) 

or on some other periodic basis as determined by the county treasurer. The county treasurer must 

electronically provide a payment agreement which must be approved by the taxpayer prior to the 

taxpayer being sent an electronic bill. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=2962&year=2009 

SHB 3066 - Creating uniformity among annual tax reporting survey provisions. 
The bill creates uniform reporting requirements for those persons who are required to prepare an 

annual report while eliminating redundant statutes and language for applicants claiming property tax 

exemptions under RCW 84.36.645 (property tax exemption for M&E used in manufacturing 

semiconductor materials) and under RCW 84.36.655 (property tax exemption for buildings, M&E, and 

other personal property used for manufacture of superefficient airplanes.) 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=3066&year=2009 

ESSB 6143 - Relating to revenue and taxation 
This is a major piece of legislation dealing broadly with revenue and taxation. As of April 6, this bill is 

still being debated and amended by both houses of the legislature in special session. It is expected to 

pass in some form. Three sections that may survive this process are property tax related: Section 411 

amends the B&O credit for property taxes paid for the manufacture of commercial airplanes. Section 

1401 defines gross revenues for public utility privilege tax to include any regularly recurring charge 

billed to consumers as a condition of receiving electric energy. Section 2202 extends B&O credit 

against property taxes paid for aluminum smelters until 2017. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6143&year=2009 

ESSB 6241 – Relating to creating community facilities districts 
Community Facilities Districts are created as a new type of taxing authority, for the purpose of 

financing community facilities and infrastructure. All landowners within the district must sign a 

petition authorizing formation of the district. The district is authorized to impose special assessments 

and revenue bonds. DOR will write rules in order to clarify how special assessments should be 

collected and how to handle delinquencies or refunds. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6241&year=2009 

SSB 6271 - Relating to annexations by cities and code cities located within the boundaries 
of a regional transit authority 
If a city or code city is located within a regional transit authority, and the city or code city annexes 

territory, the regional transit authority boundaries change at the same time as the city. The city is 

responsible for notifying the authority of the change. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6271&year=2009 

ESB 6287 - Relating to the disposition of existing voter-approved indebtedness at the time 
of annexation of a city, partial city, or town to a fire protection district 
If a city is annexed to a fire district, property owners in the city, who are now 

also in the fire district, continue to pay any pre-existing city levy for fire 

protection facilities, along with a fire district levy that is already in place. 

This bill creates an express exemption from any pre-existing fire district levy for 

fire protection facilities, if a city is annexed to a fire district and property in the 

city is subject to a pre-existing city levy for fire protection facilities. 

The purpose of this bill is to assure that property within a city that annexes into 

a fire district is not subject to more fire protection-related property tax than 

other property that is within the district but outside the city. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6287&year=2009 

(Continued on page 4) 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6287&year=2009
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6271&year=2009
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6241&year=2009
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6143&year=2009
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=3066&year=2009
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=2962&year=2009
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P a g e 4 P r o p e r t y T a x R e v ie w V o l u m e 1 1 , I s s u e 1 

2010 Special Session Comes to a Close (cont.) 

July 12 
(On or before the second Monday) 
County officials and local taxing 
districts begin preparing estimated 
budgets for submission to county 
auditor or chief financial officer, if 
in a charter county, on or before 
the second Monday in August. 
(RCW 36.40.010) 

July 15 
County Boards of Equalization 
meet in open session. Minimum 
session is three days; maximum 
session is four weeks. They may 
meet earlier if authorized by 
county commissioners. (RCW 
84.48.010) Requests for hearings 
on state s assessment of public 
utility property are due. (RCW 
84.12.340) (Ten working days 
after June 30.) 

July 16 
Hearings on state assessment of 
public utility property begin, 
continuing through July 29. 
(Eleven working days after June 
30.) 

For a complete version of the Property 
Tax Calendar , visit the Department of 
Revenue s website at this link: 
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/ 
PropCal.pdf ���� 

This Quarter’sThis Quarter’s 

RemindersReminders 

(Continued from page 2) 

(Continued from page 3) 

SSB 6379 – Streamlines and makes technical corrections to vehicle and vessel registration 
and title provisions. Amends provisions relating to senior deferral and limited income 
deferral programs. 
This measure makes several changes that may affect property tax administration. It changes the 

terminology “certificate of ownership” to “certificate of title”. It requires payment of all taxes prior to 

transfer of ownership of a manufactured home. . DOL is obligated to notify the county assessor of a 

change in ownership or location of manufactured home. DOL may adopt rules to implement this section. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6379&year=2009 

SB 6418 - An act relating to cities and towns annexed to fire protection districts 
The bill increases the population limitation of a city or town being annexed into a fire district from 

100,000 to 300,000. The bill removes certain limitations as to where a fire protection district can be 

established. http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6418&year=2009 

E2SSB 6609 - An act relating to infrastructure financing for local governments. 
The local revitalization financing (LRF) program is revised to increase the funding for public 

improvements within a designated, revitalization area. Incremental local sales and use tax revenues and 

incremental local property tax revenues are measured and used with state matching funds to pay the 

bonds necessary finance the construction. On the property tax component of this program, several 

changes were made. The changes: 

Clarify what taxing districts can participate in the LRFT and LIFT program rather than stating which taxing 

districts cannot participate in the programs; 

Allow Community Revitalization Financing (CRF) and LRF areas to overlap under certain conditions; 

Update the definition of “participating taxing district” to include a taxing district that has a revitalization 

area wholly or partially within its geographic boundaries; levies or has levied for regular property taxes a 

defined in RCW 39.104.020; has not taken action as provided in RCW 39.104.060(2); 

Define “bond” as a note or other evidence of indebtedness, including but not limited to a lease-purchase 

agreement or an executor conditional sales contract; 

Provide flexibility for participating local governments and districts to choose how they participate; and 

Require the sponsoring local government must notify the county assessor of each participating taxing 

authority and participating taxing district. http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx? 

bill=6609&year=2009 

(Continued on page 5) 

Join Our Distribution Lists to be Notified When . . . 

➨ the next edition of the Property Tax Newsletter is published, 

➨ a new Property Tax Special Notice is issued, 

➨ revisions are made to Property Tax WAC Rules, 

➨ the latest Property Tax Valuation Guidelines are released 

. . . simply visit the link below and join any of our e mail distribution lists. While you re there, check 
out the other distribution lists available from the Department of Revenue. You might find other 
topics of interest.� 

https://fortress.wa.gov/dor/efile/SecureForms/content/contactus/email/listservemail.aspx 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6418&year=2009
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6379&year=2009


 

 

                

        

                   
       

                       

                    

                       

              

  

                 
                            

           

          

        

         

            

  

         
       
          

        

          

             

          

          

          

           

           

            

          

      

  

       

      
           

                 
                   
                     

                  
                     

                  
                   

                   
                

                     
   

P r o p e r t y T a x R e v i e w V o l u m e 1 1 , I s s u e 1 P a g e 5 

2010 Special Session Comes to a Close (cont.) 

(Continued from page 4) 

SSB 6712 - Extends expiring tax incentives for certain clean alternative fuel vehicles, producers of certain biofuels, and federal 
aviation regulation part 145 certificated repair stations 
This bill extends tax incentives passed in prior legislative sessions that were about to expire. These included property tax and leasehold tax 

exemptions for qualified manufacturing facilities for the production of renewable fuels. Property used primarily in the manufacturing of alcohol 

fuel, wood biomass fuel, biodiesel fuel, or biodiesel feedstock are currently exempt from property tax and leasehold excise tax for six years. 

Claims for these exemptions may now be made through December 31, 2015. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6712&year=2009 

ESSB 6737 - Providing an exemption for property tax for aircraft used to provide air ambulance service 
Aircraft used in the state are subject to either an annual excise tax or the property tax This bill provides both a property tax exemption and an 

aircraft excise tax exemption for aircraft that is owned by a 

nonprofit exempt from federal income tax under 26 U.S.C Sec. 501 

(c)(3); and used exclusively to provide emergency medical 

transportation services. The exemption applies to taxes levied for 

collection in 2011. The Act expires January 1, 2020. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx? 

bill=6737&year=2009 

SB 6855 - Exempting community centers from property tax 
and imposing leasehold taxes on such property 
This bill creates a property tax exemption for Community Centers 

that are acquired and operated by community-based, nonprofit 

organizations. It is specifically limited to properties that were 

previously owned by a school district and found to be surplus to the 

district’s needs. The exemption is available to properties converted 

for the delivery of non-residential services to the community. 

Businesses and organizations that lease within the center will be 

subject to leasehold excise tax, unless their use of the property 

qualifies for property tax exemption. LET is paid in-lieu of property 

taxes at the rate of 12.84% of the market rental amount. This 

exemption is available within 40 years of the facility’s acquisition 

from the school district. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6855&year=2009 � 

Personal Property Discovery Tools for Assessors 
By Pete Levine, Personal Property Supervisor 

The Property Tax Division recently distributed to county assessors new and closed business lists from 2009. Busi-
ness owners are required to file with their county assessor an annual listing of all their taxable personal property 
used for business purposes located in the county as of January 1st. As part of the discovery of business personal 
property, the Property Tax Division annually sends each county assessor's office a list of businesses that were newly 
formed or closed in their county during the previous year. These lists were sent recently to all county assessors for 
new and closed businesses in 2009, to each respective county. The list includes business owner names and ad-
dresses, and is an option for the assessor to educate new business owners regarding personal property tax, as well 
as a tool for discovery of unreported business assets in the county. For businesses that have ceased operation dur-
ing the previous year, assessors can use the list to confirm that the business has closed. 

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact Pete Levine, Personal Property Supervisor, at (360) 570-5884 or by 
e-mail at PeteL@dor.wa.gov.� 

http:PeteL@dor.wa.gov.�
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6855&year=2009
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=6712&year=2009


 

 

                 

                    

                    

                        

                        

 

                  
                    

                       
                      
      

           

                         

  

               

                        

                 

                 

                  

                  

          

 

                

     
         

                                                  
                                                      
                      

    

                 

                  
                    

                     
                       

  

                  
                     

              
                

           

                      
                  

                 
    

 

P a g e 6	 P r o p e r t y T a x R e v i e w V o l u m e 1 1 , I s s u e 1 

2009 Levy Audit Findings 
By Annette Hargadon, Levy Auditor 

During the 2009 levy review process, one area that consistently caused concern was in relation to taxing districts’ completion of 

the resolution/ordinance authorizing an increase in the levy. At times, districts authorize a dollar and percentage increase over an 

amount that has no relation to the amount levied in the previous year. When this occurs, we encourage assessors to work with the 

taxing districts to determine the districts’ intent. The contact should be documented so there is a clear record of the amount to be 

levied. 

We also discovered that refunds from the previous year are occasionally excluded from either the resolution/ordinance or the cal-
culation of the actual levy limit. The district’s resolution/ordinance should reflect the dollar increase and percentage change over 
the previous year’s actual levy according to RCW 84.55.120. The statute does not exclude any portion of the previous year’s levy; it 
simply states “the levy from the previous year.” Therefore, the calculation of the actual levy limit begins with the previous year’s 
actual levy amount, which includes refunds. 

The purpose of adopting a resolution/ordinance under RCW 84.55.120 is twofold: 

■ First, by adopting a resolution, the district is allowed to increase its levy by up to 1 percent over the highest lawful levy since 

1985. 

•	 Taxing districts with a population under 10,000 may increase the levy by 1 percent. 

•	 Taxing districts with a population of 10,000 or more may increase the levy by the lesser of 1 percent or the rate of 

inflation. (By adopting a separate resolution/ordinance with a finding of substantial need, these larger districts may 

increase the levy by more than the rate of inflation, up to a maximum of 1 percent.) 

■ Second, the resolution provides disclosure of the amount by which a taxing district is increasing its levy. 

To assist taxing districts, the Department of Revenue offers a resolution/ordinance template that meets the requirements of RCW 

84.55.120. The template can be found at: http://dor.wa.gov/docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/OrdinanceResolution.doc 

If you have questions, please contact Annette Hargadon at (360) 570-5891 or by e-mail at AnnetteH@dor.wa.gov.� 

Please send in that “Nuts & Bolts” question that you might have to harolds@dor.wa.gov. We’ll reply to any question you submit. If it’s a 
question that might be of interest to other readers, we’ll share it here. We’ll try to answer these in layman’s terms and take a little of the 
mystery out of property tax. A reader asked the following question.� 

Why isn’t property acquired by a Native American Tribe exempt from property tax like other government properties? 

The Washington State Constitution and corresponding state statutes provide that all property in Washington is subject to property 
tax unless specifically exempted by law. The Constitution provides exemption for property owned by the United States, the state 
of Washington, a county or a municipal corporation. This clearly provides exemption for property owned by the United States and 
held in trust for Native American Tribes. However, property owned directly by a Native American Tribe (in fee) is not included in 
these provisions. 

The property owned by other government entities, including Tribal Governments, is only exempt from property tax if the 
Legislature uses its authority to grant a property tax exemption. Over the years, the Legislature has created exemptions for other 
government entities, such as public corporations, housing authorities, tribal housing authorities, joint agencies, foreign 
governments and public/private endeavors. However, when the Legislature exempts these properties, they almost always put 
conditions or limitations into the law beyond the simple ownership requirement. 

In 2004, the Legislature provided an exemption for the property owned in fee by Tribal Governments. It was limited by the 
requirement that the exempt property be used exclusively for “essential government services” as defined and explained in the 
Washington Administrative Code (WAC 458-16-1000). This exemption generally does not apply to properties used for economic 
development or commercial purposes.� 

mailto:harolds@dor.wa.gov
http:AnnetteH@dor.wa.gov.�
http://dor.wa.gov/docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/OrdinanceResolution.doc


 

 

                

               

                       

     

                 
   

                     

                      

                     
        

                       

      

                  

         

                    
 

                        

                    

                      

               

                

                 

                   

                         

              

                   
         

                       

                       

            

                  

                      

                  

                 

                   

                

                    
 

                       

                   

       

         
           

P r o p e r t y T a x R e v i e w V o l u m e 1 1 , I s s u e 1 P a g e 7 

Personal Property Frequently Asked Questions for Rental Equipment 
By Pete Levine, Personal Property Supervisor 

We periodically receive questions regarding the assessment of rental equipment – generally rental service store 

equipment, as well as rent to own furniture stores and others. We would like to take the opportunity to answer some of 

the FAQs we have received. 

When personal property assets are rented, such as various tools and equipment, are those assets assessable for 
property tax purposes? 

The answer is “yes.” Rental assets, whether held or owned for short-term rental (generally less than 30 days), or long-term rental/ 

lease, are assessable for property tax purposes and are to be valued at 100 percent of their true and fair market value. 

What if the rented or leased equipment is “always for sale,” or could be purchased by the lessee/renter at any time 
– would the equipment be exempt as inventory? 

The answer is “no.” While business inventories held for sale in the normal course of business are exempt from property tax under 

RCW 84.36.477, rental equipment is not. 

Specifically, “‘business inventories’ does not include…property held within the normal course of business for lease or rental for 

periods of less than thirty days." RCW 84.36.477(2)(iii) 

If rental assets are taxable, how are those assets handled for property tax purposes and how does the assessor value 
equipment? 

Washington law requires all property be assessed and appraised at 100 percent of the true and fair market value. As a result, RCW 

84.40.040 requires owners, users, and persons in control of personal property to list their assets with the county assessor every 

year, as of January 1
st

. As part of listing personal property, the owner must include the date of purchase, acquisition cost (including 

all costs associated with making the property operational), and a description of the property. 

The Department of Revenue annually publishes “Personal and Industrial Valuation Guidelines” (Guidelines) to assist counties in 

estimating values for tangible property. The Department recommends that assessors consider the guidelines in the valuation 

process in order to promote and improve statewide uniformity and standardization in the assessment of personal property. As 

well, in the case of personal property, boards have further ruled that the market value of assets in use in a business is to be 

assessed at the value-in-use level, sometimes called the “value in continued use.” 

I see in the Guidelines under the Rental Equipment index, there is Public U-Rent (excluding Heavy Equip) and Rental 
of Heavy Equipment. What is the difference? 

As a general rule of thumb, Public-U-Rent rental equipment is the type rented from a rental service store which can be placed in 

the back of a pickup. Whereas “heavy” type equipment is commonly transported on a trailer or a larger vehicle. Some notable 

examples of “heavy” equipment include backhoes, dozers, scissor-lifts, skidsteers, etc. 

While not always a specific delineation between Heavy vs. Public-U-Rent, the assessor makes the final determination given the 

particulars of the equipment for the category and table reflects the corresponding economic life for the asset. In nearly all cases, 

“heavy” equipment is the type of equipment that has a long life, regardless of whether rented or not. 

I now see under the Rental Equipment index, Rented Medical Equipment for 2010 – is this new? 

While added for clarification purposes in the Guidelines in 2010, the Department’s position and advice to stakeholders for Rented 

Medical Equipment has been to value that equipment by type, rather than the Public U-Rent index. 

What about rent to own furniture, where there’s an option to buy the furniture. Are those assets taxable or 
exempt? 

There are two considerations to keep in mind. First, the owner of the furniture is ultimately responsible for the property tax. 

There is an exemption for one's "household goods, furnishing, and personal effects" in RCW 84.36.110 (further delineated in WAC 

(Continued on page 9) 



 

 

                 

        

                     

                   

                    

                      

               

 

                 

                      

                   

                      

                       

 

                      

                     

               

                  

               

                       

                   

                 

 

 

                   

                    

                      

                  

                  

                   

        

 

                       

                  

                   

                   

                   

 

 

                    

                   

                    

                     

                 

                 

       

   

   

   

 
 

   

   

P a g e 8 P r o p e r t y T a x R e v i e w V o l u m e 1 1 , I s s u e 1 

New Faces & New Places at Property Tax 

Ole Hoiby has just accepted a position as a Property & Acquisition Specialist 3 (Property Tax Appraiser) with the 

Property Tax Division’s Ratio Valuation Team. Ole comes to us as a licensed Certified Real Estate Appraiser who also 

knows his way around a printing press. Despite working at two careers in recent years, he brings great enthusiasm 

and a sense of humor to the Everett field office. His office mates anxiously wait for Ole to disclose whether he roots 

for the Dawgs or Cougs. Ole can be reached at (425) 356-4836 or OleH@dor.wa.gov. 

Ole Hoiby 

The Valuation Advisory Team has announced that Linda Thomas has been selected for the Property & Acquisition 

Specialist 5 position in our Richland field office. Linda first joined the Division in July of 2008 in the Ratio Valuation 

Section. Linda is experienced in commercial real estate and has 10+ years experience as a commercial appraiser in 

Oregon. After a successful year and a half with the Ratio Section, Linda will now do great things for the Advisory 

group. She can be reached at LindaTh@dor.wa.gov or (509) 734-7548. 

Jay Jetter has accepted an appointment to the Tax Policy Specialist 4 position in the Property Tax Division. Jay 

arrived on March 1
st 

and will assume the mantle of property tax counsel for Jim Winterstein, who is retiring soon. Jay 

received his undergraduate degree from Northwestern University and his law degree from the University of 

Arizona. Employed by the Department of Revenue’s Interpretations & Technical Advice (ITA) Division for the past 2 

years, he has provided legal, technical, and policy advice to the Department’s Executive Division, Department 

personnel, and tax practitioners on a wide variety of sales and excise tax issues. He is also familiar with property tax 

laws and concepts, having been assigned responsibility for Real Estate Excise Tax for ITA. Before joining DOR, Jay 

was a Tax Counsel for the Arizona Department of Revenue. Please congratulate Jay at JayJ@dor.wa.gov or (360) 570-

5335. 

Corey Gunnerson accepted a promotion to a Property & Acquisition Specialist 4 position for the Ratio Valuation 

Section in the Everett field office. Corey is a graduate of Western Washington University with a Bachelor’s Degree in 

Accounting. In 2003, he started his career with DOR as a Revenue Auditor. During his time in the Audit Division, 

Corey dealt with a wide variety of taxpayers, helped train new auditors, wrote detailed audit narratives dealing with 

complicated tax issues, and has audited many complex and unique business types. Corey made the switch to 

Property Tax last year and has already earned a reputation for hard work, teamwork, and an upbeat attitude. You 

can reach Corey at CoreyG@dor.wa.gov or (425) 356-4871. 

Linda Thomas 

Jay Jetter 

Corey
 
Gunnerson
 

Jennifer Lundin has joined the Property Tax Division as an OA-3 on the Support Staff Team in the Olympia office. 

Jennifer comes to us from a shipping company, where she is the Import/Purchasing Coordinator. She has an 

extensive background in office administration and is creative in her approach to learning and helping to solve issues. 

Jennifer’s friendly nature and her quest to add a personal touch to dealings with the public and fellow employees 

will make her a definite asset to the team and office. You may contact Jennifer at JenniferLu@dor.wa.gov or (360) 

570-5900. 

Tarah Downs has joined the County Performance and Administration Section as a PAS 3 assigned to the annual 

revaluation work group. Tarah came to us from the Department of General Administration where she worked in the 

Procurement & Contracts and Real Estate Divisions. Tarah is a graduate of WSU with a degree in Communications. 

She has held a real estate license, which has been in inactive status while a state employee. Tarah has a reputation 

for bringing enthusiasm to her workplace, with a strong desire to contribute, and success working with both 

property owners and government entities. Tarah can be welcomed at TarahD@dor.wa.gov or (360) 570-5899. 

(Continued on page 9) 

Jennifer Lundin 

Tarah Downs 

mailto:TarahD@dor.wa.gov
mailto:JenniferLu@dor.wa.gov
mailto:CoreyG@dor.wa.gov
mailto:JayJ@dor.wa.gov
mailto:LindaTh@dor.wa.gov
mailto:OleH@dor.wa.gov


 

 

                

   

   

      

     

     

        

     

                       

                        

     

                         

                       

                     

                    

         

       

         

                     

                  

                     

                     

                        

                      

                      

                        

                        

                           

                      

  

       

          

    

                       

                        

                       

                          

                 

P r o p e r t y T a x R e v i e w V o l u m e 1 1 , I s s u e 1 P a g e 9 

New Faces & New Places at Property Tax (cont.) 

(Continued from page 8) 

T. J. Mains has just accepted an appointment as the newest member of the Property Tax Division’s Ratio Program at our Richland 

office. T.J. comes to us from the Benton County Assessor’s Office where he has been a farm & agricultural appraiser and a 

residential appraiser for the past 4 years. He is a graduate from Washington State University (Go Cougs) with degrees in Social 

Science and Business Administration. T.J. is known for his hard work, easy-going personality, and great customer service skills. T.J. 

can be reached at TJM@dor.wa.gov or (509) 734-7547. � 

Personal Property Frequently Asked Questions for Rental Equipment (cont.) 

(Continued from page 7) 

458-16-115), where furniture might be an item exempt as one's household goods, if normally found in or about a residence. 

However, this exemption would not apply to rented furniture if it was not owned by the homeowner. 

If the “rent to own furniture” lease agreement met the criteria of a security agreement (i.e. a financial arrangement used to 

purchase property), as specified in the Property Tax Advisory (PTA) 10.1.2009, then the rental customer would be the owner of the 

furniture. In that case, the furniture might qualify for an exemption under RCW 84.36.110. However, if the lease is a true lease, 

then the rent to own company is the owner of the furniture and would not be exempt as household goods and furnishings. 

Secondly, while the leasing/rental company might make the furniture available for purchase at any time or at the end of the rental, 

the assets would not be exempt as inventory under RCW 84.36.477(2). That is, if the furniture was leased or rented at any time 

during the calendar year prior to the year of assessment, it would be taxable. For example, if the year of assessment is 2010 

(1/1/10), then if the furniture was leased or rented at any time during 2009, then it would be taxable. If it was not leased or rented 

in 2009 - i.e. the furniture was for sale, then it would be considered business inventory and would be exempt from personal 

property tax.� 

Property Tax Special Notices 

Property Tax Special Notices are generally sent to assessors, treasurers, and those stakeholders that we can identify with a specific interest in the 

particular topic. Prior to being issued, each Special Notice will go through an internal review process. Special Notices are posted on the 

Department’s website at www.dor.wa.gov under Property Tax Publications. You may also receive a copy of a Special Notice by adding your name 

to the ListServ. This can be done by going to www.dor.wa.gov, clicking “Find Taxes and Rates,” then clicking “Property Tax,” and one more click to 

“Join E-mail Service.” A notice will usually provide a contact for more information on the topic.� 

W a s h i n g t o n D e p a r t m e n t o f R e ve n u e 
P r o p e r t y T a x D i v i s i o n 

Attn: Newsletter Editor 
PO Box 47471 
Olympia, WA 98504­7471 

The Property Tax Review is published by the Department of Revenue’s Property Phone: 360­570­5864 
Tax Division. Comments and suggestions for featured topics should be forwarded to Fax: 360­586­7602 
our newsletter editor. 

http:www.dor.wa.gov
http:www.dor.wa.gov
mailto:TJM@dor.wa.gov
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Property Tax Division 
P. O. Box 47471 

Olympia, Washington 98504-7471 

DESCRIPTION OF PROGRAM 

OR SERVICE 

CONTACT PHONE 

NUMBER 

E MAIL ADDRESS 

Property Tax Administration/Policy Brad Flaherty 

Assistant Director 

(360) 570-5860 BradF@dor.wa.gov 

Property Tax Program Coordinator David Saavedra (360) 570-5861 DavidS@dor.wa.gov 

General Information 

FAX 

Receptionist (360) 570-5900 

(360) 586-7602 

SPECIFIC TOPICS 

Accreditation Leslie Mullin (360) 570-5865 LeslieMu@dor.wa.gov 

Accreditation Testing Patty Concepcion (360) 570-5866 PattyC@dor.wa.gov 

Advisory Appraisals Howard Hubler (425) 356-4850 HowardH@dor.wa.gov 

Appraisals & Audits for Ratio Study Rick Bell 

Dave McKenzie 

(509) 663-9748 

(360) 256-2125 

RickB@dor.wa.gov 

DaveM@dor.wa.gov 

Annexation/Boundary Change Rules Diann Locke (360) 570-5885 DiannL@dor.wa.gov 

Boards of Equalization Diann Locke (360) 570-5885 DiannL@dor.wa.gov 

County Performance & Admin. Program Kathy Beith (360) 570-5868 KathyB@dor.wa.gov 

Current Use/Open Space Assessment Leslie Mullin (360) 570-5865 LeslieMu@dor.wa.gov 

Designated Forest Land Leslie Mullin (360) 570-5865 LeslieMu@dor.wa.gov 

Destroyed Property Kathy Beith (360) 570-5868 KathyB@dor.wa.gov 

Education & Training for County Personnel Patty Concepcion (360) 570-5866 PattyC@dor.wa.gov 

Exemption & Deferral Program Harold Smith (360) 570-5864 HaroldS@dor.wa.gov 

Forest Tax General Information 1-800-548-8829 

Forms Leslie Mullin (360) 570-5865 LeslieMu@dor.wa.gov 

Governmental & Miscellaneous Exemptions Mike Braaten (360) 570-5862 MichaelB@dor.wa.gov 

Industrial Property Valuation Howard Hubler (425) 356-4850 HowardH@dor.wa.gov 

Legislation Mike Braaten (360) 570-5862 MichaelB@dor.wa.gov 

Levy Assistance Diann Locke (360) 570-5885 DiannL@dor.wa.gov 

Mobile Homes Pete Levine (360) 570-5884 PeteL@dor.wa.gov 

Nonprofit/Exempt Organizations Sindy Armstrong (360) 570-5870 SindyA@dor.wa.gov 

Personal Property Pete Levine (360) 570-5884 PeteL@dor.wa.gov 

Railroad Leases Bill Johnson (360) 570-5882 BillJ@dor.wa.gov 

Ratio Study Deb Mandeville (360) 570-5863 DebM@dor.wa.gov 

Real Property Howard Hubler (425) 356-4850 HowardH@dor.wa.gov 

Revaluation Cindy Boswell (509) 663-9747 CindyB@dor.wa.gov 

Revaluation 

❏ Annual Revaluation Project 

❏ County Revaluation Plans 

Cindy Boswell 

R. C. Cavazos 

(509) 663-9747 

(425) 356-4848 

CindyB@dor.wa.gov 

RC@dor.wa.gov 

Senior Citizens/Disabled Homeowners, 

Exemption/Deferral 

Peggy Davis (360) 570-5867 PeggyD@dor.wa.gov 

Utilities Management 

❏ Certification of Utility Values to Counties 

❏ Code Area/Taxing District Boundary 

Changes & Maps 

❏ Public Utility Assessment 

❏ PUD Privilege Tax 

Neal Cook 

Ha Haynes 

Jane Ely 

Jay Fletcher 

Paul Hutt 

(360) 570-5877 

(360) 570-5879 

(360) 570-5894 

(360) 570-5876 

(360) 570-5869 

NealC@dor.wa.gov 

HaH@dor.wa.gov 

JaneE@dor.wa.gov 

JayF@dor.wa.gov 

PaulHu@dor.wa.gov 

Effective April 2010 




