

Form BLS 700 335

State of Washington Business Licensing Service PO Box 9034 Olympia, WA 98507-9034 360-705-6741

Collection Agency, Branch Office, or Out-of-State Office Addendum

Please read the next page for complete application instructions.

Upon filing, this document and the application become a public record subject to public disclosure provisions. (RCW 42.56)

Owner name:

UBI number:

Proof of business registration

Contact person who works at the location:	Phone:
Location address (on Business License Application):	

City:	State:	Zip:
-------	--------	------

R Sole proprietor/office/partners/general information

Within the last 5 years, in this state or any other jurisdiction, has the business entity, any business owners, or any persons with controlling interest in this business:

1.	Had any action (fine, suspension, revocation, censure, surrender, etc.) taken against any professional or occupational license, certification, or permit?	Yes	No
2.	Defaulted or been convicted of or entered a plea of no contest to a gross misdemanor or felony crime? (Don't include traffic offenses.)	Yes	No
3.	Had any civil court order, verdict, or judgement entered against them? (Don't include small claims decisions under \$5,000.)	Yes	No
lf you	answered "Yes," attach a detailed explanation.		

Continued...

To ask about the availability of this publication in an alternate format for the visually impaired, please call 360-705-6705. Teletype (TTY) users may use the WA Relay Service by calling 711.



1. The collection agency must have a bank account with at least \$5,000 available for the use of the business. (RCW 19.16.245)

	Name of bank with at least \$5000 asset account: Account number:				
	Bank address:				
	City:	State:	Zip:		
2.	ach in-state collection agency is also required to set up a "Customer's Trust Fund Account" for m hat was collected on behalf of clients and that is to be distributed to clients. (RCW 19.16.240)				
	Name of bank with trust fund account:				
	• · · ·				

Account number: Bank address: City: State: Zip:

Client information

1. Do you currently have clients or plan to solicit businesses located in Washington State?

Yes No

2. Are you applying as a debt buyer?

Yes No (See definition of client and debt buyer on page 2) Department of

Revenue



Definitions

Client: The business or person on whose behalf you will collect claims.

Collection Agency Endorsement

Choose this endorsement if:

- Your main office is in Washington State.
- Your main office is located outside Washington State, and you have, or plan to have, clients that are located in Washington State.

Debt Buyer: Any person or entity engaged in the business of purchasing delinquent or charged off debts for collection purposes, whether it collects the debts itself, or hires a third party for collection or an attorney for litigation to collect the debts.

Out-of-State Collection Agency Endorsement

Choose this endorsement if:

- Your main office and all branch offices are located outside Washington State.
- You have NO clients that are located in Washington State.
- You are contacting debtors that live in Washington State who owe money to your out of state clients.

Instructions

1. Select the correct endorsement and fee.

The type of endorsement you need is based on the location of your clients. See **Definitions** above.

Collection Agency Endorsement: \$890

Collection Agency Branch Endorsement: \$590

Out-of-State Collection Agency Endorsement: \$445*

Out-of-State Collection Agency Branch Endorsement: \$295*

*The endorsement fee for an Out-of-State Collection Agency License is waived if the state where the collection agency (main or branch office) is located requires a license or registration but does not require a fee for similar out-of-state collection agencies. To have the license fee waived, include a copy of the regulations from your home state.

2. Complete the following items and submit them with your fee.

- Business License Application.
- Collection Agency Addendum (page one of this form).
- Personal/Corporate Financial Statement form that shows:
 - The liabilities and assets of the agency in one of the three months prior to application. Example: If you are applying in May, we will accept a financial statement completed for the February, March or April time periods.
 - \$7,500 or more in cash or its equivalent
 - \$5,000 of the cash must be deposited in a bank account used to operate the business.
 - \$7,500 or more net worth.
- \$5,000 bond or cash deposit** (in the form of a cashier's check payable to State Treasurer).
- List of persons with more than 20% interest in the business.

** A bond is not required for an out-of-state collection agency if the agency's home state already requires a bond or similar legal alternative for collection agencies. To waive the Washington bonding requirement, enclose proof that your bond is current and a copy of the regulations from your home state for review.