Table 13. 2015 Rates of Selected Major State Taxes

State	Retail Sales (State Rate)	Corporation Income %	Capital Gain (State Rate)
Alaska	none	2 to 9.4	0.0%
Arizona	5.6	6.00	4.5%
Arkansas (a)	6.5	1 to 6.5	*7%
California	7.5	8.84	13.3%
Colorado	2.9	4.63	4.6%
Connecticut (b)	6.35	9.00	6.7%
Delaware (c)	none	8.70	6.6%
Florida	6	5.50	0.0%
Georgia	4	6.00	6.0%
Hawaii	4	4.4 to 6.4	*7.3%
Idaho	6	7.40	7.4%
Illinois (d)	6.25	7.75	5.0%
Indiana (e)	7	7.00	*3.4%
Iowa	6	6 to 12	*9%
Kansas	6.15	4.00	4.8%
Kentucky	6	4 to 6	6.0%
Louisiana	4	4 to 8	*6%
Maine	5.5	3.5 to 8.93	8.0%
Maryland	6	8.25	*5.8%
Massachusetts	6.25	8.00	5.2%
Michigan	6	6.00	*4.4%
Minnesota	6.875	9.80	9.9%
Mississippi	7	3 to 5	5.0%
Missouri	4.225	6.25	6.0%
Montana	none	6.75	*6.9%
Nebraska	5.5	5.58 to 7.81	6.8%
Nevada	6.85 (6)		0.0%
New Hampshire	none	8.50	0.0%
New Jersey (f)	7	6.5 to 9	9.0%
New Mexico (g)	5.125	4.8 to 6.9	*4.9%
New York	4	7.10	*8.8%
North Carolina	4.75	5.00	5.8%
North Dakota	5	1.48 to 4.53	*3.2%
Ohio	5.75		*5.4%
Oklahoma	4.5	6.00	5.3%
Oregon	none	6.6 - 7.6	9.9%
Pennsylvania	6	9.99	3.1%
Rhode Island	7	7.00	6.0%
South Carolina	6	5.00	*7%
South Dakota	4		0.0%
Tennessee	7	6.50	0.0%

State	Retail Sales (State Rate)	Corporation Income %	Capital Gain (State Rate)
Texas	6.25		0.0%
Utah	5.95 (5)	5.00	5.0%
Vermont	6	6 to 8.5	9.0%
Virginia (c)	5.3 (2)	6.00	5.8%
Washington	6.5		0.0%
West Virginia	6	6.50	6.5%
Wisconsin	5	7.90	*7.7%
Wyoming	4		0.0%

Sales tax Notes:

- -- indicates exempt from tax, blank indicates subject to general sales tax rate. Source: Compiled by FTA from various sources.
- (1) Some state tax food, but allow a rebate or income tax credit to compensate poor households. They are: HI, ID, KS, OK, and SD.
- (2) Includes statewide 1.0% tax levied by local governments in Virginia.
- (3) Tax rate may be adjusted annually according to a formula based on balances in the unappropriated general fund and the school foundation fund.
- (4) Food sales subject to local taxes.
- (5) Includes a statewide 1.25% tax levied by local governments in Utah.
- (6) Nevada sales tax rate scheduled to decrease to 6.5% on July 1, 2015. Corporate Income Tax Notes:
- (a) Arkansas assesses a surcharge of 3% of the taxpayer's total liability.
- (b) Rate includes a 20% surtax, which effectively increases the rate from 7.5% to 9%. Surtax is required by businesses with at least \$100 million annual gross income.
- (c) Ohio, Texas, and Washington do not have corporate income taxes but do have gross receipts taxes with rates not strictly comparable to corporate income tax rates. Delaware and Virginia have gross receipts taxes in addition to their corporate income taxes.
- (d) Illinois' rate includes two separate corporate income taxes, one at a 5.25% rate and one at a 2.5% rate.
- (e) The tax rate in Indiana will decrease to 6.5% on July 1, 2015.
- (f) Corporations with entire net income greater than \$100,000 pay 9% on all taxable income, corporations with entire net income greater than \$50,000 and less than or equal to \$100,000 pay 7.5% on all taxable income, and corporations with entire net income less than or equal to \$50,000 pay 6.5% on all taxable income.
- (g) The tax rate in New Mexico will decrease to 6.6% in 2016. Capital Gains Notes:

*These states either allow a taxpayer to deduct their federal taxes from state taxable income, have local income taxes, or have special tax treatment of capital gains income.

FEDERATION OF TAX ADMINISTRATORS -- JANUARY 2015