

# Contact

Property Tax 360-534-1400

#### TTY

Teletype (TTY) users may use the Washington Relay Service by calling 711.

### **Hours**

Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

### **Our Mission**

To achieve the highest level of voluntary compliance and customer service though collaboration and innovation.

### **Our Vision**

To fairly and effectively collect revenues and administer programs to fund public services and advocate sound tax policy.

## **Headquarters**

6500 Linderson Way SW Tumwater, WA 98501

### **Media Contact**

360-534-1602 AnnaG@dor.wa.gov

# **Tax Topic**

# How will the new state property tax rate to fund education affect your wallet? It all depends on where you live.

A change to state law raised the school portion of the state's property tax rate. The rate for 2018, 2020, and 2021 is \$2.70 per \$1,000 of fair market value. As a result of 2018 legislation (ESSB 6614), the rate for 2019 will be \$2.40 per \$1,000 of fair market value. However, this tax rate varies based on the county you live in.

The final tax rate that appears on your tax bill is based on:

- how close your county's property valuations are to fair market value, and
- other legal adjustments (such as court-ordered refunds and unpaid property taxes in your county)

This process ensures the state tax rate is equally applied to all property owners across Washington. We included a graphic on the back page to explain this process better.

This change does not affect groups already taking exemptions such as senior citizens, nonprofits, and the disabled.

## Why did this state tax rate change?

This new state tax rate comes from the legislative obligation to fund the state's basic education program.

### What was the state tax rate in 2017?

Before this law passed, the state tax rate was \$1.89 per \$1,000 of your house's fair market value (adjusted according to where you live). You can find out your 2017 adjusted county rate by contacting your local county assessor's office, looking at your most recent bill, or checking your county's website using your last name or property address.

### When do I need to start paying the new tax rate?

You need to pay this new tax rate starting in 2018. Counties generally send your bill by mid-February. If you use an escrow payment schedule, your dates may vary.

# Will my tax rate change again?

The new state tax rate is \$2.70 for 2018, 2020, and 2021. Your rate for 2019 will be \$2.40. However, like we mentioned before, your specific amount varies based on your county.

<u>You can click here for an infographic about your 2018, 2020, and 2021 taxes.</u>

You can click here for an infographic about your 2019 taxes.