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Replace the B&O Tax with a Margin Tax 
Draft v. 9-16-22 

Under a margin tax, businesses are taxed on their margin, which is generally calculated as gross receipts minus the 

greater of the following: 

• Compensation paid, 

• Cost of goods sold, 

• A fixed percentage of gross receipts, or 

• A flat amount (i.e., $1 million). 

The Department’s model 

The margin tax model created by the Department of Revenue uses data from the IRS and the Department to estimate 

the revenue expected to be generated (under the assumption of revenue neutrality) if Washington State were to replace 

the business and occupation (B&O) Tax with a margin tax. 

The model assumes that each taxpayer will select the largest of the four standard deductions (i.e., compensation paid, 

cost of goods sold, 30% of gross receipts, or $1 million) to determine its pre-apportioned taxable margin. 

Possible approaches 

The Department has determined that there are two potential approaches to developing a proposal for the 

compensation paid and cost of goods sold deductions. We could: 

1. Use the IRS’s method of calculating the compensation and cost of goods sold deductions as a guide, or 

2. Use Texas’s method in developing custom definitions for the compensation and cost of goods sold deductions. 

We outline and compare the two methods for each deduction below. 

 

Compensation paid deduction 
 

IRS method background 

For Federal income tax withholding purposes, the term “wages” is defined in IRC section 3401(a) as all remuneration for 

services performed by an employee for his employer, with certain specific exceptions.  

Employers use Form W-2 to report: 

• Wages, tips, and other compensation paid to an employee, including some but not all stock-based 

compensation. 

• Income and social security taxes withheld. 

• Information regarding deductible benefits, etc. 

Partners or other owners of pass-through entities are not employees and do not receive a Form W-2. The pass-through 

entity must furnish copies of Schedule K-1 for Forms 1065 or 1120-S to each partner. Each partner reports their share of 

the partnership's income or loss on their personal tax return. 

Form 1099-MISC and Form 1099-NEC are used to report payments to independent contractors and other non-

employees, including corporate directors. 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26/3401
https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-w-2
https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-1065
https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-1120-s
https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-1099-misc
https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-1099-nec
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Considerations 

• Taxpayers will already be familiar with W-2 wages. 

• Using the IRS forms would be easier to administer and audit for the Department. 

• Not allowing wages outside of W-2 wages might make the compensation deduction less attractive. 

 

Texas method background 

The Texas compensation deduction includes: 

• W-2 wages and cash compensation paid to officers, directors, owners, partners, and employees. 

• Benefits provided to all personnel to the extent deductible for federal income tax purposes, including workers’ 

compensation, health care and retirement benefits. 

• The net distributive income from entities treated as partnerships for federal tax purposes and LLCs treated as 

either S-Corps or sole proprietors for federal income tax purposes. Such income is not included on Form W-2, 

nor is it considered wages under IRC 3401. Generally, such distributions would be included on Schedule K-1 for 

Forms 1065 or 1120-S. 

• Fees paid to directors of the business. These fees are not generally included on Form W-2. They would normally 

be included in Form 1099. 

• Stock awards and stock options deducted for IRS purposes, to the extent not included in W-2 wages. 

Texas imposes a wage limitation on W-2 wages and cash compensation paid to officers, directors, owners, partners, and 

employees. The wage limitation is adjusted each even-numbered year using the consumer price index. The limitation is 

$400,000 per person for reports due in 2022 and 2023. 

Considerations 

• Allowing wages outside of W-2 wages makes the compensation deduction more attractive. 

• Including wages outside of W-2 wages increases complexity. 

• Capping the deduction keeps businesses from claiming higher than expected compensation deductions. 

• Capping the compensation deduction might make the deduction less attractive. 

 

The Department’s model 

With respect to compensation, the model assumes salaries and wages as reported on the underlying IRS forms (i.e., 

1120, 1120-S, and 1065) along with an option to include benefits (i.e., pensions, profit sharing plans, and employee 

benefit programs). This model does not assume that businesses would be allowed to deduct compensation paid to 

contractors, which would be reported on IRS Form 1099. Additionally, the model does not assume the definition of 

compensation used under the Texas franchise tax and therefore does not cap compensation to an inflation-adjusted 

amount of  $400,000 per employee.  
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Decisions requested 

The table below includes items we need a decision on for proposal development. 

Decision Options Department Recommendation  

How should Washington calculate 

the compensation paid deduction? 

• Limit the deduction to IRS W-2 
wages 

• Create a Washington definition 
of compensation 

The Department recommends using 

the IRS W-2 wages. Limiting the 

compensation deduction will help 

keep rates low and reduce the 

complexity. 

Should Washington allow contractor 

compensation to qualify for the 

compensation deduction? 

• Allow contractor compensation 

• Do not allow contractor 
compensation 

The Department recommends not 

allowing a deduction for contractor 

compensation. This might incentivize 

businesses to use more contractors 

rather than employees earning W-2 

wages. 

Should Washington cap the per 

employee compensation deduction? 

• Cap the deduction to a set 
amount (i.e., $400,000) 

• Do not cap the deduction 

The Department does not have a 
recommendation. Limiting the 
compensation deduction with a per 
employee cap will help keep rates 
lower. 

Should Washington limit the 

compensation deduction to a certain 

percentage of possible compensation 

costs? 

• Cap the deduction at a certain 
percentage (e.g., 35%) of 
compensation costs 

• Do not cap the deduction at a 
certain percentage of 
compensation costs 

The Department does not have a 
recommendation. Limiting the 
compensation deduction with a 
percentage cap will help keep rates 
lower. 
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Cost of goods sold deduction 
 

IRS method background 

The IRS allows businesses that manufacture products or purchase them for resale, to deduct cost of goods sold. If an 

expense is included in the cost of goods sold, it cannot be deducted again as a business expense. Corporations and 

partnerships use Form 1125A to calculate their cost of goods sold. Sole proprietors calculate cost of goods sold on 

Schedule C. 

Generally, the IRS calculates cost of goods sold as follows: 

Inventory at the beginning of the year. 

+ Add purchases. 

+ Add labor costs that are a necessary part of the manufacturing process. 

+ Add other costs incurred in the manufacturing process, such as packaging, freight-in and overhead expenses 

allocable to the manufacturing operation. 

− Subtract inventory at the end of the year. 

Considerations 

• Taxpayers will already be familiar with how they calculate cost of goods sold for IRS purposes. 

• The IRS calculation is easier to administer and audit for the Department and reduces complexity for businesses. 

• Taxpayers may be able to manipulate what is included in the cost of goods sold amount reported on the IRS 

return. For IRS reporting purposes, taxpayers are simply trying to arrive at net income. Therefore, the IRS does 

not appear to strictly regulate which expenses are included in cost of goods sold. 

• The calculation is narrower than Texas’s definition and may exclude many businesses from being able to claim a 

cost of goods sold deduction. 

• Does not allow businesses to deduct labor costs related to acquiring goods, only the labor costs related to the 

production of goods. 

 

Texas method background 

Texas allows entities that sell real property, tangible personal property and digital products in the ordinary course of 

business to claim a cost of goods sold deduction. Texas has also expanded its definition of cost of goods sold to allow 

certain service providers to claim a cost of goods sold deduction, including construction contractors, movie theaters, 

restaurants, oil change service providers, and others. Texas does not use the IRS cost of goods sold calculation. Texas 

created its own definition but generally allows expenses that are capitalized for federal tax purposes.  

Unlike the IRS, Texas details all allowable costs under Texas’s definition of cost of goods sold. Texas’s definition of cost of 

goods sold is broader than the IRS’ because it allows businesses to deduct costs for both producing and acquiring goods. 

Specifically, Texas includes the following costs to the extent they are allocable to acquiring or producing goods: 

• Labor costs including W-2 wages, contractor compensation, temporary labor, payroll taxes and benefits. 

• Costs attributable to processing, assembling, repackaging, storing, warehousing and inbound transportation. 

• Indirect costs subject to IRS capitalization rules. 

Considerations 

• Using Texas’s approach gives Washington more flexibility to specifically define which costs qualify. 

• Allows retailers and wholesalers, in addition to manufacturers, to deduct qualifying labor costs, because 

businesses can deduct the costs of producing or acquiring goods. 

https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-1125-a
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• Allows service businesses who sell or provide tangible personal property while performing their services to claim 

a cost of goods sold deduction. 

• Texas has found their definition of cost of goods sold to be difficult to administer. 

• A broader definition increases complexity and makes it more difficult for both taxpayers and the Department to 

determine which labor costs qualify.  

• Determining allowable costs for digital products increases complexity as technology changes rapidly. 

 

The Department’s model 

With respect to cost of goods sold, the model uses the cost of goods sold reported on the underlying IRS forms (i.e., 

1120, 1120S, and 1065). This does not assume the Texas definition of cost of goods sold which includes certain 

adjustments based on the nature of the business activity (e.g., the cost incurred for production versus acquisition). 

 

Decisions requested 

The table below includes items we need a decision on for proposal development. 

Decision Options Department Recommendation  

How will Washington calculate cost 

of goods sold? 

• Start with the IRS cost of goods 
sold calculation 

• Create a Washington definition of 
cost of goods sold 

The Department recommends 

starting with the IRS cost of goods 

sold calculation. Limiting the cost of 

goods sold deduction will help keep 

rates lower and reduce the 

complexity. 

Should Washington limit the cost of 

goods sold deduction to a certain 

percentage of possible cost of goods 

sold? 

• Cap the deduction at a certain 
percentage (i.e., 35%) of cost of 
goods sold 

• Do not cap the deduction at a 
certain percentage of  cost of 
goods sold 

The Department does not have a 
recommendation. Limiting the cost of 
goods sold deduction with a 
percentage cap would help keep rates 
lower. 

 


