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Introduction 
The tax reference manual provides background information on over 40 taxes and fees used by 
state and local governments in Washington. The Research and Fiscal Analysis Division of the 
Department of Revenue prepared this document. It updates the previous version published in 
January 2019. 

This document describes the general features and historical background for the Washington tax 
system. It is not a “how-to” guide for taxpayers on reporting any taxes or fees. It does not 
contain legal interpretations of state tax laws. It is not instructions for how to calculate or 
submit taxes.  

Caution: Tax laws and tax rates change. Do not use the information in this document to 
report any taxes or fees. Please visit the Department of Revenue’s website to find this 
information at: https://dor.wa.gov. 

WHAT IS NEW IN THIS EDITION? 

The 2022 publication reflects tax changes that occurred in the last four years, and: 

• Includes new chapters for: 
o New taxes since the previous publication. 
o Existing taxes not previously included. 

• Reports total state collections from all Washington taxes or fees. Previous editions 
reported total collections only from Department of Revenue administered taxes and 
fees.  

• Reduces redundancies and the use of legalese. 
 
CHAPTER OUTLINE 

Each chapter includes the following eight sections: 

RCW 
This is the relevant reference(s) to the Revised Code of Washington, which is the compilation of 
all permanent laws now in force in Washington.   

  

https://dor.wa.gov/
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Tax base 
This section explains what is taxable, or the measure of the tax. This section also includes a link 
to the Tax Exemption Study where relevant. The term tax exemption includes a variety of 
preferences that reduce taxes for taxpayers. Tax exemptions include: 

• Exclusions 
• Deductions 
• Credits 
• Deferrals 
• Preferential tax rates 
• Exemptions 

 
Tax rate 
The tax rate is the percentage or dollar amount used to determine the tax owed. Tax due 
equals the tax rate multiplied by the tax base. A surtax applies to some taxes. A surtax or a 
surcharge is an additional percentage or dollar amount of tax owed usually for a specific 
purpose.  

Recent collections ($000) 
Collections represent the revenue collected minus any credits and refunds. This document 
shows collections by state fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) for a ten-year period. Values are 
in thousands of dollars ($000). To convert to dollars, multiply the collections by 1,000. For taxes 
administered by DOR, collections come from the Tax Statistics publication. For taxes 
administered by other state agencies, the agency provided the collections. Local tax 
information may be available from the listed local sources. The percent change represents a 
simple year-over-year computation.  

This section also includes the percent of all state taxes to show the relative magnitude of the 
tax. Taxes included in this publication may or may not be in the total of “All State Taxes” shown 
below. For reference, we computed the percentages based on the following totals.  

Fiscal Year All State Taxes ($000) 
2021 $29,969,619 
2020 $26,834,601 
2019 $25,743,777 
2018 $23,885,196 
2017 $22,043,170 
2016 $20,369,676 
2015 $18,723,684 
2014 $17,783,750 
2013 $17,027,697 
2012 $16,158,504 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
http://www.dor.wa.gov/Content/AboutUs/StatisticsAndReports/stats_taxstats.aspx
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Distribution of receipts 
This section describes the use of the revenues produced by each tax, including any dedicated 
revenues to specific funds. 

Levied by 
This section indicates which governmental jurisdictions may impose the tax. 

Administration 
This section indicates the state or local agency administering the collection of the tax and a 
brief description of who pays the tax. 

History 
This section includes a brief explanation of selected historical developments for each tax. This 
list of events is not comprehensive. The list is in reverse chronological order. 

OTHER WASHINGTON TAX INFORMATION 
The DOR Statistics & Reports webpage contains additional information about Washington 
State’s tax system, including statistical reports, data, and interactive data visualizations. Some 
are referenced throughout this publication, including: 

• Tax Exemption Study 
• Local Tax Reference Guide 
• Property Tax Statistics 
• Tax Statistics 
• History of Washington Taxes 

 
ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS 
In preparing this report, the Research and Fiscal Analysis Division would like to acknowledge the 
assistance and information provided by staff in the following state agencies: 

• Department of Labor and Industries 
• Department of Licensing 
• Department of Transportation 
• Employment Security Department 
• Horse Racing Commission 
• Liquor and Cannabis Board 
• Office of the Insurance Commissioner 

 
Additionally, we gratefully acknowledge the expertise of the Department of Revenue staff who 
assisted. 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports
https://www.dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Reports/Local_Tax_Reference_Guide.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/property-tax-statistics
https://dor.wa.gov/about-us/statistics-reports/tax-statistics
https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/history-washington-taxes
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RCW Chapter 82.48 

 
Tax base This tax applies to privately-owned small planes registered in Washington and 

used for personal or business purposes. 
 
Washington tax law exempts several classes of aircraft from this tax. These 
include commercial aircraft primarily used for interstate commerce and aircraft 
registered in other states. For more information, see RCW 82.48.100. 

 
Tax rate The aircraft excise tax is an annual fee based on: 

• Type of aircraft. 
• Weight, for aircraft owned and operated by a commuter air carrier that 

is not an airplane company. 
 
Type of aircraft fee schedule: 

Type of Aircraft Registration Fee 
Single Engine $65 
Small multi-engine $80 
Large multi-engine $95 
Turboprop multi-engine $115 
Turbo jet $140 
Helicopter $90 
Sail plane $35 
Lighter than air $35 
Home built $35 

 
Weight-based fee schedule:  

Gross Maximum Take-Off Weight Registration Fee 
Less than 4,001 lbs. $500 
4,001 - 6,000 lbs. $1,000 
6,001 – 8,000 lbs. $2,000 
8,001 – 9,000 lbs. $3,000 
9,001 – 12,000 lbs. $4,000 
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Recent 
collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $378  10.9% 0.001% 
2020 $341  -6.3% 0.001% 
2019 $364  -0.8% 0.002% 
2018 $367  3.1% 0.002% 
2017 $356  1.6% 0.002% 
2016 $351  2.1% 0.002% 
2015 $343  -1.7% 0.002% 
2014 $349  12.2% 0.002% 
2013 $311  3.3% 0.002% 
2012 $301  3.0% 0.002% 

Source: Washington State Department of Transportation 

 
Distribution of 
receipts 

The state dedicates revenues from the aircraft excise tax to maintaining and 
improving airports in Washington.  
 
The Aeronautics Account receives all aircraft excise tax revenues. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Transportation 

 
The Department of Transportation collects the tax when the owner registers 
the aircraft. In following years, the owner owes the tax each January.  
 
The Department of Revenue collects unpaid aircraft excise tax. 

 
History 2021 The non-weighted fee schedule rates increased.  

 
2015 The Aeronautics Account became the destination for 100% of aircraft 

tax. Previously, 90% of revenues went into the state general fund. 
 
2013 Registration fees based upon aircraft weight were added for commuter 

air carriers. 
 
1983 A tiered schedule of non-weighted fees replaced the 1967 airplane fee 

system. 
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1967 The tax changed from a percentage of the fair market value to a flat fee 
of $15 for single engine planes and $25 for multi-engine planes. 

 
1949 Washington first enacted an aircraft excise tax at a rate of 1% of fair 

market value. Aircraft owners previously paid personal property tax. 
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RCW Chapter 82.42 

 
Tax Base Distributors of aircraft fuel pay tax on each gallon of aircraft fuel sold, 

delivered, or used in the state, except for fuel used by commercial and other 
exempt aircraft. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce the taxes of distributors.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 
 
This tax operates in addition to business and occupation, retail sales and use 
taxes. 

 
Tax Rate 18 cents per gallon 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $2,444 3.6% 0.01% 
2020 $2,358 -10.3% 0.01% 
2019 $2,629 -4.0% 0.01% 
2018 $2,739 13.2% 0.01% 
2017 $2,419 94.6% 0.01% 
2016 $1,243 -51.2% 0.01% 
2015 $2,548 3.6% 0.01% 
2014 $2,460 -2.1% 0.01% 
2013 $2,513 -15.7% 0.01% 
2012 $2,983 21.2% 0.02% 

   Source: Washington State Department of Licensing 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Aeronautics Account receives all receipts from this tax. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Licensing  

 
Distributors of aircraft fuel report and pay the tax monthly.  

 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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History 2022    The tax rate increased to 18 cents per gallon effective July 1, 2022. 

 
2015    Provisions related to enforcement, exemptions, refunds, violations, and 

collection of taxes from non-licensees and security payments by 
licensees.  

 
2005 The tax rate increased to 11 cents per gallon. 
 
2003 A fixed statutory rate replaced the prior variable rate calculation. The 

new rate was set at 10 cents per gallon. 
 
1989 The export exemption began requiring detailed reporting for exported 

sales.  
 
1983 Added a minimum tax of 5 cents per gallon.  
 
1982 Established a variable tax rate calculation.  
 
1967 Established the aircraft fuel tax at 2 cents per gallon.  
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RCW 66.24.290 

 
Tax Base Each 31-gallon barrel of beer (or its equivalent in cans and bottles) sold in 

Washington by a brewer or distributor. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce the taxes of brewers and distributors.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 
 
This tax is in addition to business and occupation, retail sales and use taxes. 

 
Tax Rate $4.782 per barrel on the first 60,000 barrels sold in a year. 

$8.080 per barrel once a brewer exceeds 60,000 barrels sold in a year. 
 
The per barrel tax rate is comprised of: 
• A $1.30 base tax. 
• A $2.00 additional tax. 
• An additional tax of: 

o $1.482 on the first 60,000 barrels sold in a year. 
o $4.78 once a brewer exceeds 60,000 barrels sold in a year. 

 
Distributors of beer pay the rates applicable to each brewer of the beer sold. 
the Liquor and Cannabis Board publishes the “Brewer’s Tax Rate Per Barrel 
Table” on their website.  

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $31,120 3.5% 0.1% 
2020 $30,058 -3.2% 0.1% 
2019 $31,048 0.0% 0.1% 
2018 $31,037 5.6% 0.1% 
2017 $29,390 -6.4% 0.2% 
2016 $31,385 2.1% 0.2% 
2015 $30,736 2.8% 0.2% 
2014 $29,898 -61.3% 0.2% 
2013 $77,324 -2.9% 0.5% 
2012 $79,642 -1.2% 0.6% 

   Source: Washington State Liquor & Cannabis Board 

 
 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
https://lcb.wa.gov/taxreporting/brewers-tax-rate-barrel-table
https://lcb.wa.gov/taxreporting/brewers-tax-rate-barrel-table
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Distribution of 
Receipts 

The state distributes the receipts from the beer tax as follows: 
• 0.3% of the $1.30 base tax goes to certain border cities and counties for law 

enforcement costs. 
• Of the remaining 99.7% of the $1.30 base tax: 

o 20% goes to counties based on unincorporated population. 
o 80% goes to all cities based on population. 

• The $2.00 additional tax is deposited to the State General Fund. 
• The $1.482 additional tax is deposited to the State General Fund. 
• Of the $4.78 additional tax for annual sales exceeding 60,000 barrels: 

o The general fund receives 97%. 
o Border cities and counties receive 3%. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Liquor and Cannabis Board 

 
Brewers and distributors report and pay the tax monthly. 

 
History 2013 The additional per barrel and per gallon taxes imposed in 2010 

expired. 
 
2010 The tax rate increased to $0.76 per gallon. Added an additional tax of 

$15.50 per barrel on breweries producing over 60,000 barrels 
annually.  

 
2009 Eliminated the portion of the tax earmarked for the Violence 

Reduction and Drug Enforcement Account and the Health Services 
Account. 

 
2003 Strong beer (more than 8% alcohol by weight) shifted from the liquor 

sales tax to the beer tax. 
 
1997 Reduced the beer tax rate to $1.30 per barrel and repealed the 7% 

surtax. 
 
1994 Made permanent the temporary tax enacted in 1989. 
 
1993 Added an additional tax of $0.96 per barrel to fund health care and 

increased this rate to $2.39 per barrel in 1995 and $4.78 per barrel in 
1997. 
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1989 Adopted a temporary additional tax of $2.00 per barrel to fund drug 
prevention programs. 

 
1982 Added surtaxes, increasing the overall rate to $2.782. 
 
1981 Combined the tax rates and increased the basic rate to $2.60. 
 
1965 Increased the tax rate to $1.50 per barrel for canned and bottled 

beer. 
 
1934 Initially enacted the beer tax at $1.00 per barrel. 
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RCW 82.12.022 

 
Tax Base This use tax applies to natural gas delivered through a pipeline from out-of-

state when a seller has not paid the public utility tax. This tax ensures all 
natural gas consumed in Washington is taxed at a uniform rate. Natural and 
manufactured gas includes compressed or liquefied natural gas.  
 
The taxable value of natural gas equals the purchase price paid by the 
consumer plus any transportation costs not taxed under state or city public 
utility taxes. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate 3.852%.  

 
The same rate as the gas distribution rate under public utility tax. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $23,144 0.0% 0.1% 
2020 $23,166 -23.3% 0.1% 
2019 $30,123 56.4% 0.1% 
2018  $19,258  -9.8% 0.1% 
2017  $21,347  -0.1% 0.1% 
2016 $21,370 -23.9% 0.1% 
2015 $28,076 -18.4% 0.1% 
2014 $34,412 56.5% 0.2% 
2013 $21,992 -7.6% 0.1% 
2012 $23,800 -18.0% 0.1% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The general fund receives all receipts from the brokered natural gas use tax. 

 
  

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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Levied by State and city 
 
For information about the local portion of this tax, see the Local Tax 
Reference Guide. 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
The Department of Revenue collects and reports both state and local taxes. 

 
History 2014 Effective July 1, 2015, the use tax on brokered natural gas expanded to 

include compressed and liquefied natural gas for non-transportation 
fuel purposes.  

 
1989 Adopted state and municipal taxes on brokered natural or 

manufactured gas effective July 1, 1990. 

 
 

https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Reports/Local_Tax_Reference_Guide.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Reports/Local_Tax_Reference_Guide.pdf
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RCW Chapter 82.04 

 
Tax Base Gross receipts of all businesses with substantial nexus in Washington.  

• Gross receipts mean gross income, gross sales, or the value of products of 
the business.  

• A business may include businesses, local governments, or non-profits.  
• Substantial nexus means the business: 

o Has a physical presence in Washington, 
o Has more than $100,000 in combined gross receipts sourced or 

attributed to Washington, or 
o Is organized or commercially domiciled in Washington. 

 
Tax exemptions may reduce the taxes of businesses.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate The business and occupation (B&O) tax applies different rates to different 

business activities. A business with multiple activities, may pay the tax at more 
than one rate.  
 
This table lists the common B&O classifications and tax rates. For a full list 
refer to the Department’s B&O tax classifications webpage. 

Tax classification Tax Rate 

Retailing 0.471% 
Manufacturing, Wholesaling, and Warehousing 0.484% 
Government Contracting and Public Road Construction  0.484% 
Extracting, Extracting for Hire, Insurance Agents, and Child Care 0.484% 
Royalties 1.50% 
Service and Other Activities (Less than $1 million) 1.50% 
Service and Other Activities ($1 million or more)1 1.75% 
Gambling Contests of Chance (less than $50,000 a year) 1.50% 
Gambling Contests of Chance ($50,000 a year or greater)2 1.63% 
Sale of Standing Timber, Extracting Timber, Extracting Timber for 
Hire, Processing for Hire Timber Products, and Manufacturing or 
Wholesaling of Timber or Wood Products3 

0.3424% 

1 See the workforce education webpage for more detailed information on this tax classification.  
2 This B&O tax rate includes an additional tax of 0.13% (RCW 82.04.285) 
3 This B&O tax rate includes a surcharge 0.052%. (RCW 82.04.261) 
 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
https://dor.wa.gov/taxes-rates/business-occupation-tax/business-occupation-tax-classifications
https://dor.wa.gov/taxes-rates/business-occupation-tax/workforce-education
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 A B&O tax surcharge applies to certain activities in addition to the B&O tax 
rate.  

Surcharge Tax Rate 
Select Advanced Computing Surcharge1 1.22% 
Specified Financial Institutions 1.20% 

1 See the select advanced computing businesses webpage for more information. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $5,285,225 14.1% 17.6% 
2020 $4,633,201 4.3% 17.3% 
2019 $4,440,702 6.8% 17.2% 
2018 $4,156,327  8.6% 17.4% 
2017 $3,826,274  5.3% 17.4% 
2016 $3,633,250 7.0% 17.8% 
2015 $3,396,730 4.5% 18.1% 
2014 $3,250,359 -1.8% 18.3% 
2013 $3,311,594 5.8% 19.4% 
2012 $3,130,753 3.9% 19.4% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The general fund receives B&O with the following exceptions: 
• The workforce education and investment account receives the advanced 

computing surcharge and 14.3% of the B&O tax from the service and 
other activities ($1 million or more) classification.  

• The problem gambling account receives the parimutuel wagering tax and 
the additional B&O tax imposed on contests of chance ($50,000 or more). 

• The forest and fish support account receives the timber and wood 
manufacturers, extractors, and wholesalers surcharge. Any receipts above 
$8 million per biennium fund tribal participation grants. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Many cities impose local B&O taxes in addition to the B&O taxes imposed by 
the state. The Department of Revenue does not administer or collect local B&O 
taxes. 
 
For information about local B&O taxes refer to the Association of Washington 
Cities (AWC) website. 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/taxes-rates/business-occupation-tax/workforce-education/select-advanced-computing-businesses
https://wacities.org/
https://wacities.org/
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Administration Department of Revenue 
 
Generally, businesses report B&O taxes and surcharges monthly, quarterly, or 
annually on the combined excise tax return. Quarterly, affected taxpayers 
separately report the select advanced computing surcharge. Washington 
requires most businesses to file tax returns electronically. 
 
A business files a return if they meet any of the following conditions: 
• The business has annual B&O gross receipts greater than or equal to 

$125,0001. 
• The business is required to collect retail sales tax. 
• The business has annual gross receipts from public utility activities greater 

than or equal to $24,000. 
• The business owes any other tax or fee collected by the department. 

 
1This threshold began January 1, 2023. For previous years the threshold was $28,000 per year, 
or $46,667 if more than 50% of receipts are taxable under the Service & Other, Contests of 
Chance, and Real Estate Brokers B&O tax classifications. 

 
History 2022  Effective January 1, 2023, the B&O threshold for filing returns 

increased to $125,000 per year for businesses not reporting other 
taxes to the department.  

 
2022    Effective January 1, 2023, the small business B&O tax credit 

increased.  
 
2022    Provided an exemption from the workforce education investment 

surcharge on select advanced computing businesses for certain 
provider clinics and qualifying affiliates.  

 
2022    Created an exemption for custom farming services to farmers.  
 
2022    Updated and expanded the Motion Picture Competitiveness Program. 
 
2021 Created a deduction for health or social welfare and behavioral 

health administrative services organizations.  
 
2021    Created an exemption for the generation, purchase, sale, transfer, or 

retirement of transportation fuel carbon credits.  
 
2020  Workforce Education – Service and Other Activities Rate Changes 

• Eliminated the workforce education investment surcharge on 
specified persons back to January 1, 2020.  

https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2022-02/sn_21_CarbonCapTradePrograms.pdf
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• Created a new B&O tax rate for businesses (and affiliated groups) 
with $1 million or more of taxable income for the service and 
other activities classification.  

• Created an advanced computing surcharge equal to 1.22% on 
select advanced computing businesses, beginning April 1, 2020.  

 
2020    Increased the tax rate for certain aerospace tax classifications and 

made preferential rates available with certain requirements.  
 
2019  Effective January 1, 2020, lowered the nexus thresholds to $100,000 

in gross receipts.  
 
2019    Limited the exemption for imported goods to the wholesale sale of 

unroasted coffee beans or wholesale sales between a parent 
company and its wholly owned subsidiary.  

 
2019   Effective January 1, 2020, established a three-tiered Workforce 

Education Investment surcharge.  
 
2019    B&O tax applied to the production and sale of renewable natural gas 

instead of the public utility tax by expanding the definition of “to 
manufacture” for B&O tax to include the production and processing 
of renewable natural gas.  

 
2019    Limited the requirements to qualify for the International Investment 

Management Services classification to any business that forms part of 
an affiliated group meeting certain criteria and having more than 25% 
of its employees in Washington.  

 
2019   Effective January 1, 2020, added a surcharge on specified financial 

institutions.  
 
2019    Increased the tax rate for travel agents and tour operators with more 

than $250,000 in annual taxable income.  
 

 For a comprehensive history of the B&O tax prior to 2019, refer to the History 
of Major Washington Taxes. 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2022-02/sn_19_ImportedGoodsExemption.pdf?uid=62c571b39d61d
https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/history-washington-taxes/history-major-washington-taxes
https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/history-washington-taxes/history-major-washington-taxes
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RCW 69.50.530, 69.50.535, and 69.50.540 

 
Tax Base Retailers of cannabis products collect tax on the selling price of cannabis 

concentrates, useable cannabis, and cannabis-infused products.  
 
This tax applies in additional to the retail sales, use, business and occupation 
and litter taxes that retailers collect or pay. 

 
Tax Rate 37% 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $554,861 18.4% 2.0% 
2020 $468,810 20.2% 2.0% 
2019 $389,975 8.0% 1.7% 
2018 $361,169 14.9% 1.7% 
2017 $314,460 69.3% 1.6% 
2016 $185,778 187.9% 1.0% 
2015 $64,530 -- 0.4% 
2014 $2 -- -- 
2013 $0 -- -- 
2012 $0 -- -- 

   Source: Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

All cannabis excise tax receipts are deposited into the Dedicated Cannabis 
Account.  
 
Each fiscal year the legislature makes appropriations from the Dedicated 
Cannabis Account to multiple agencies, universities, and other government 
entities. 
 
Additional transfers are made from the Dedicated Cannabis Account to other 
accounts, including the Basic Health Plan Trust Account and the State 
General Fund. 

 
Levied by State 
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Administration Liquor and Cannabis Board 
 
Retailers must obtain a license to sell cannabis products, which may include a 
criminal background check.  
 
Licensed cannabis retailers report and pay taxes monthly.  

 
History 2022    The terms “marijuana” and “marihuana” were changed to “cannabis” 

throughout the Revised Code of Washington. 
 
2015 The 25% cannabis tax paid by cannabis producers and processors was 

eliminated. The statutory burden of the cannabis tax on retail sales 
shifted from retailers to buyers. This made the tax in addition to the 
retail sale price, rather than being included in the sale price. The rate 
was also increased from 25% to 37% of retail sales.  

 
2015 A retail sales and use tax exemption was created for qualifying patients 

holding a medical cannabis authorization card. 
 
2014 Cannabis was excluded from certain tax preferences, including all 

agricultural tax preferences. 
 
2012 Voters passed Initiative 502 legalizing recreational cannabis sales, 

processing, and production in Washington. I-502 also established a 25% 
cannabis tax on each level of production (producer to processor, 
processor to retailer, and retailer to consumer sales). 

 
1998 Voters passed Initiative 692, which permitted the use of cannabis for 

medical purposes by qualifying patients. No specific taxes were 
applied to medical cannabis. 
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RCW Chapter 82.87 RCW 

 
Tax Base The sale or exchange of certain long-term capital assets. Only individuals pay 

the tax. The tax applies to gains allocated to Washington. 
 
Washington’s capital gains tax includes an annual standard deduction of 
$250,000 per year and exempts real estate gains. 
 
See Chapter 82.87 RCW for additional exemptions, deductions, and credits 
specific to the capital gains tax.   

 
Tax Rate 7% 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Collections began in fiscal year 2023.  

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

Two accounts receive collected capital gains taxes: 
• The education legacy trust account receives the first $500 million 

collected in a fiscal year.  
• The common school construction account receives any remaining 

collections in a fiscal year. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
Each taxpayer files a capital gains tax return and a copy of their federal tax 
return for the same taxable year. The capital gains tax return is due at the same 
time as the taxpayer’s federal income tax return. Taxpayers receiving a filing 
extension for their federal income tax return can receive to the same filing 
extension for their capital gains tax return. However, a filing extension does not 
extend the due date for paying the tax. 

 
  

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdor.wa.gov%2Ftaxes-rates%2Fother-taxes%2Fcapital-gains-tax&data=05%7C01%7CValerieT%40DOR.WA.GOV%7C93633651964c40fd688108db428d72de%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638176947502357262%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=B6xru11dtE7uvxARegT%2F4QIqQaZ%2FYCTkKYj4g92obFA%3D&reserved=0
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History 2023    Washington Supreme Court ruled the capital gains tax constitutional. 
 
2022    The Douglas County Superior Court ruled the capital gains excise tax 

unconstitutional in Quinn v. State of Washington. The Department of 
Revenue appealed the ruling to the Washington Supreme Court.  

 
2021  Effective January 1, 2022, established an excise tax on capital gains. 
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RCW Chapter 82.24 

 
Tax Base The sale, use, consumption, handling, possession, or distribution of cigarettes. 

The tax applies on the first such taxable event and on the first taxable person in 
the state. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 
 
This tax is in additional to retail sales, use, business and occupation and litter 
taxes that may apply. 

 
Tax Rate The cigarette tax rate is $0.15125 per cigarette which equates to: 

• $3.025 per package of 20. 
• $3.78125 per package of 25. 
• $30.25 per carton. 
  
Of the 29 federally recognized tribes located in Washington, the Department of 
Revenue (on behalf of the governor) entered into cigarette tax compacts with 
27. Tribes may impose a tribal cigarette tax in lieu of the state cigarette tax.  
 
The federal government also levies a tax on cigarette manufacturers. The 
federal cigarette tax is $1.01 per pack. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

State Cigarette Tax Collections: 

 
 
 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $317,992 -2.1% 1.1% 
2020 $324,855 -6.0% 1.2% 
2019 $345,688 -3.3% 1.3% 
2018 $357,445  -5.4% 1.5% 
2017 $377,899  -3.5% 1.7% 
2016 $391,487 -1.8% 1.9% 
2015 $398,823 1.7% 2.1% 
2014 $392,291 -3.6% 2.2% 
2013 $406,914 -4.2% 2.4% 
2012 $424,815 -1.9% 2.6% 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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Shared Tribal Cigarette Tax Collections: 
Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $11,028 69.8% 0.04% 
2020 $6,495 -26.3% 0.02% 
2019 $8,814 -4.9% 0.03% 
2018 $9,271  0.4% 0.04% 
2017 $9,236  0.7% 0.04% 
2016 $9,175 13.6% 0.05% 
2015 $8,078 -1.6% 0.04% 
2014 $8,207 0.2% 0.05% 
2013 $8,190 7.4% 0.05% 
2012 $7,624 -4.2% 0.05% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The general fund receives all cigarette tax receipts. 
 
Washington compacts with the Puyallup Tribe of Indians and the general fund 
receives 30% of tribal cigarette tax receipts.  

 
Levied by State  

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
Distributors must obtain a license to purchase, sell or distribute cigarettes, 
which includes a criminal background check and filing a bond with the 
Department of Revenue. 
 
Cigarette retailers, vending machines, and commercial cigarette making 
machines require separate licenses. 
 
Wholesalers and operators of retail roll-your-own facilities purchase stamps 
and affixed them to each package of cigarettes to pay the tax.  
 
Washington state provides compensation to businesses for affixing stamps: 
• Wholesalers receive a stamping allowance of $6 per 1,000 stamps.  
• Roll-your-own retail businesses receive an additional 5 cents per cigarette. 
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History 2012 Created a tax stamp to facilitate collection of the cigarette tax owed on 
those cigarettes rolled by consumers using machines in roll-your-own 
retail establishments. Added Roll-your-own cigarettes specifically to the 
definition of cigarettes. 

 
2011 Eliminated the earmarking of cigarette tax revenues for the Education 

Legacy Account retroactive to July 1, 2010.  
 
2010 The cigarette tax rate increased to $3.025 per pack. The amount 

dedicated to the Education Legacy Account increased to 51.6 cents per 
pack. 

 
2009 Eliminated the earmarking of cigarette tax revenues to various 

dedicated accounts except for the Education Legacy Account. 
 
2005 Added an additional tax of 60 cents per pack and dedicated the 

revenue to the Education Legacy Account in support of educational 
programs, making the total rate $2.025 per pack. Washington entered 
into four tribal cigarette tax compacts, including the Puyallup Tribe of 
Indians compact which distributes 30% of the tribal tax receipts to the 
state. 

 
2001 Legislation allowed the state to compact with 16 Indian tribes relating 

to the imposition of tribal cigarette taxes. The compacts allow tribes to 
impose and collect cigarette taxes equal to the state cigarette and retail 
sales taxes, providing revenues for tribal services and reducing the 
incentive for state tax evasion. 

 
2001 The cigarette stamping allowance increased to $6 per 1,000 stamps. 
 
2001 Voters approved Initiative 773, imposing an additional tax of 60 cents 

per pack, dedicating most of the increase to healthcare. The total rate 
increased to $1.425 per pack. 

 
1999 Diverted the 8-cent portion of the tax dedicated to water quality for 

two years. Diverted half to a new Salmon Recovery Account and half to 
the Violence Reduction and Drug Enforcement Account. 

 
1997 Cigarette tax enforcement shifted from the Department of Revenue to 

the Liquor and Cannabis Board. 
 

1993-1996 
 The tax rate increased in four annual steps: to 54 cents in 1993, to 56.5 

cents in 1994, to 81.5 cents in 1995, and to 82.5 cents in 1996. Of these 
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tax increases, healthcare received 41 cents and drug enforcement 
received 7.5. Implemented additional administrative controls to reduce 
illegal cigarette sales. 

 
1989 The rate increased to 34 cents per pack, with the additional 3 cents 

earmarked for drug education and enforcement programs.  
 
1986 The tax rate increased to 31 cents per pack, with the additional 8 cents 

earmarked for water quality programs.  
 
1983 Made the surtaxes permanent. 
 
1982 Surtaxes increased the rate to 23 cents per pack. 
 
1981 The rate increased to 20 cents per pack. 
 
1975 Repealed an exemption for possession of two cartons of unstamped 

cigarettes. 
 
1972 Retired a 1949 bond for veterans’ bonuses, funded by a 2 cent per pack 

tax. Directed the 2-cent tax to the general fund in 1977 when veteran 
compensation was fully paid. 

 
1971 The rate increased to 16 cents per pack. 
 
1965 The rate increased to 11 cents per pack. 
 
1961 The rate increased to 7 cents per pack. 
 
1959 The rate increased to 6 cents per pack. 
 
1955 Added an additional tax of 5% of the retail price. Dedicated the 

revenues to the Public School Building Bond Redemption Fund. 
 
1949 The rate increased to 4 cents per pack and dedicated the revenues to 

the retirement of bonds issued to pay compensation to veterans. 
 
1939 The rate increased to 2 cents per pack. 
 
1935 Added a cigarette tax at a rate of 1 cent per pack. 
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RCW Chapter 79.100 

 
Tax Base Commercial ships and vessels, as measured by vessel length.  

 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate $1.00 per vessel foot 

 
Recent 
Collections  
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $117 20.4% 0.00% 
2020 $97 -30.9% 0.00% 
2019 $140 63.7% 0.00% 
2018 $86 -17.5% 0.00% 
2017 $104 -11.9% 0.00% 
2016 $118 -0.3% 0.00% 
2015 $118 - 0.00% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Derelict Vessel Removal Account receives all taxes.   

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
The department collects the derelict vessel removal fee with the commercial 
vessel tax. 

 
History 2022 Redirected 25% of the watercraft excise tax to the Derelict Vessel 

Removal Account to provide additional funding for the removal of 
abandoned or derelict vessels from waterways.  

 
2014 Effective January 1, 2015, established the derelict vessel removal fee at 

$1 per vessel foot. 
 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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RCW Chapter 82.27 

 
Tax Base The value of enhanced food fish when first landed in Washington or its 

territorial waters. 
 
“Enhanced food fish” includes: 
• Species of food fish1, shellfish, and anadromous2 game fish including 

byproducts and parts thereof, caught in Washington territorial and 
adjacent waters. 

• Salmon caught from the waters of Washington, Oregon, or British 
Columbia. 

• Chinook salmon troll-caught in the territorial and adjacent waters of 
southeast Alaska. 

 
Persons engaged in commercial fishing and processing are also liable for 
business and occupation tax under the extracting, manufacturing, or 
wholesaling classifications. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 
 
1Food fish includes all species of food fish, except tuna, mackerel, and jack. 
2Anadromous game fish means steelhead trout, anadromous cutthroat trout, and Dolly 
Varden char. 

 
Tax Rate 

 

Enhanced Food Fish Species Rate 
Ocean waters, Columbia River, Willapa Bay, and Grays Harbor 
anadromous game fish, chinook, coho, and chum salmon 

6.69% 

Puget Sound anadromous game fish, chinook, coho, and chum 
salmon 

5.62% 

Pink and sockeye salmon and eggs 3.37% 
Sea urchins and cucumbers 2.25% 
Other food fish, eggs, and shellfish 2.25% 
Oysters 0.09% 

 
  

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $2,362 18.4% 0.01% 
2020 $1,994 -33.4% 0.01% 
2019 $2,994 1.3% 0.01% 
2018 $2,956  -1.9% 0.01% 
2017 $3,013  0.9% 0.01% 
2016 $2,987 -14.0% 0.01% 
2015 $3,475 24.1% 0.02% 
2014 $2,800 8.0% 0.02% 
2013 $2,593 219.9% 0.02% 
2012 $810 -74.6% 0.01% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The general fund receives these taxes except for the following, which the Fish, 
Wildlife and Conservation Account receives: 
• Receipts from anadromous game fish. 
• 1% of the receipts from ocean waters, Columbia River, Willapa Bay, and 

Grays Harbor chinook, coho, and chum salmon. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
The owner of the fish at the time of the first possession reports and pays the tax 
either monthly, quarterly, or annually on the Enhanced Food Fish Excise Tax 
addendum to the Combined Excise Tax return. 

 
History 2017 Effective January 1, 2018, increased the tax rate on ocean waters, 

Columbia River, Willapa Bay, and Grays Harbor chinook, coho, chum 
salmon, and anadromous game fish. 

 
2013 Expired the temporary rate increase on sea urchins and sea cucumbers. 
 
2010 Extended the temporary rate increase on sea urchins and sea 

cucumbers through December 31, 2013, or until the number of licenses 
reduces to 20, whichever occurred first.  
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2005 Extended the temporary rate increase on sea urchins and sea 
cucumbers through December 31, 2010.  

 
2001 Clarified the taxable event occurs after the landing of enhanced food.  
 
1999 Provided additional funding for programs relating to the sea urchin and 

sea cucumber fisheries by increasing the rate on sea urchins and sea 
cucumbers through December 31, 2005.  

 
1995 Removed all species of tuna, mackerel, and jack from the definition of 

enhanced food fish.  
 
1993 Enhanced food fish tax rates increased effective January 1, 1994.  
 
1985 Substantially revised statutory definitions and clarified the fish subject 

to tax.  
 
1983 Added anadromous game fish as a taxable enhanced food fish. 
 
1982 Added a surtax of 7% to the enhanced fish food tax rates. 
 
1980 Enacted the enhanced fish food tax, replacing a fish tax previously 

administered by the Department of Fisheries.  

 



Estate and Transfer Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 32 

RCW Chapter 83.100 

 
Tax Base The value of all property located in Washington owned at a person’s date of 

death. The term “property” includes real estate and other property located 
in this state, as well as intangible assets, regardless of location. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate After subtracting deductions, the remaining taxable estate pays on a 

graduated rate schedule ranging from 10% to 20%:  
(1) 

Washington 
taxable estate 

of at least 

(2) 
But less than 

(3) 
Tax on amount 
in column (1) 

(4) 
Plus this tax 
rate on the 

excess up to 
column (2) 

$0 $1,000,000 $0 10.00% 
$1,000,000 $2,000,000 $100,000 14.00% 
$2,000,000 $3,000,000 $240,000 15.00% 
$3,000,000 $4,000,000 $390,000 16.00% 
$4,000,000 $6,000,000 $550,000 18.00% 
$6,000,000 $7,000,000 $910,000 19.00% 
$7,000,000 $9,000,000 $1,100,000 19.50% 
$9,000,000  $1,490,000 20.00% 

 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $325,865 -49.1% 1.1% 
2020 $646,251 116.9% 2.4% 
2019 $298,017 46.5% 1.2% 
2018 $203,411  20.6% 1.0% 
2017 $168,710  25.3% 0.9% 
2016 $134,680 -12.6% 0.8% 
2015 $154,040 -1.3% 0.7% 
2014 $156,019 49.0% 0.8% 
2013 $104,680 -8.8% 0.9% 
2012 $114,828 1.7% 0.6% 

 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020


Estate and Transfer Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 33 

Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Education Legacy Trust Account receives receipts from the estates of 
those who died on or after May 17, 2005. The general fund receives receipts 
from the estates of those that died prior to May 17, 2005.  

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue  

 
If the gross value of an estate exceeds the filing threshold, administrators or 
personal representatives of the estate must file an Estate and Transfer Tax 
Return within nine months of a person’s death. If applicable, administrators 
must include a copy of the federal estate tax return, with the state estate tax 
return. Once the estate pays the taxes, the department issues a release 
stating the administrators can transfer the deceased person’s property. 

 
History 2013 Added qualified terminable interest property (QTIP) in the 

Washington taxable estate when the second spouse dies, regardless 
of when the spouse acquired the interest in the property. 

 
Beginning with the estates of decedents dying in 2014, also: 
• Provided an annual adjustment to the Washington estate tax 

threshold based on the Consumer Price Index. 
• Increased the top four estate tax rates. 
• Allowed a qualified family-owned business interests (QFOBI) 

deduction. 
 
2012 The Washington Supreme Court found that the decedents’ 

Washington estate should exclude qualified terminable interest 
property (QTIP) when computing Washington’s estate tax in the 
consolidated cases of Estate of Bracken and Estate of Nelson v. State 
of Washington on October 18, 2012. 

 
2006 The state estate tax survived a repeal attempt in November 2006, 

when voters rejected Initiative 902. 
 
2005 The Washington Supreme Court overturned Washington’s estate tax 

in Hemphill et al v. State of Washington on February 3, 2005.  
 
 Effective May 17, 2005, enacted a “stand-alone” estate tax based on 

the Internal Revenue Code as of January 1, 2005.   
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2001 The U.S. Congress phased out the federal estate tax by 2010 and 
eliminated the credit for state taxes at the end of 2004.  

 
Washington continued collecting the estate tax based on the Internal 
Revenue Code as of January 1, 2001. 

 
1981 Voters approved Initiative 402 repealing the state inheritance and 

gift taxes effective January 1, 1982.  
 

The initiative allowed continuation of a state estate tax equal to the 
amount of federal estate tax credit, referred to as a “pick-up” tax.  

 
1979 Washington enacted comprehensive revisions to the inheritance tax. 
 
1941 Washington enacted a companion gift tax at rates equal to 90% of 

the inheritance tax rates.  
 
1901 Washington established the inheritance tax which became one of the 

first state taxes. A court ruling upheld the tax as an excise tax on the 
privilege of inheriting property, and not as a tax on the property 
itself. 
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 RCW Chapter 82.21 

 
Tax Base The first possession in Washington of petroleum products, pesticides, and 

certain chemicals that the Department of Ecology determines to present a 
threat to human health or the environment if released into the environment.  
 
Taxable products include: 
• Petroleum products. 
• Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act 

(CERCLA) listed substances. 
• Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA) registered 

pesticides. 
 

The tax base for petroleum products is the volume in barrels.   
 
For non-petroleum products and petroleum products not easily measured on a 
per-barrel basis, the tax base is the wholesale value. 
 
Examples of products taxed on a per-barrel basis: 
• Gasoline. 
• Aviation fuel. 
• Kerosene. 
• Diesel fuel. 
• Lubricating oil. 
 
Examples of products not taxed on a per-barrel basis: 
• Ethane. 
• Propane. 
• Butane. 
• Petroleum coke. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate $1.20 per barrel1 from July 1, 2022, through June 30, 2023, or 

0.7% of the wholesale value. 
 

1The department adjusts the per barrel rate for inflation on July 1 of each year. 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $249,284 -3.3% 0.8% 
2020 $257,827 70.2% 1.0% 
2019 $151,513 6.8% 0.6% 
2018 $141,897  14.8% 0.6% 
2017 $123,638  9.2% 0.6% 
2016 $113,225 -26.2% 0.6% 
2015 $153,496 -21.3% 0.8% 
2014 $195,011 -1.7% 1.1% 
2013 $198,464 0.4% 1.2% 
2012 $197,604 12.6% 1.2% 

    

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Motor Vehicle Fund for transportation stormwater activities and projects 
receives the first $50 million of these taxes each biennium. During the 2021-23 
biennium, the Motor Vehicle Fund received the $50 million equally across each 
month.  
 
These accounts receive the rest of the per barrel receipts as follows: 
• 60% to the Model Toxics Control Operating Account (RCW 70A.305.180). 
• 25% to the Model Toxics Control Capital Account (RCW 70A.305.190). 
• 15% to the Model Toxics Control Stormwater Account (RCW 70A.305.200). 
 
The Model Toxics Control Capital Account receives the wholesale value taxes.  

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
History 2021    The timing of the $50 million 2021-2023 biennium transfer to the Motor 

Vehicle Fund changed to monthly transfers for the duration of the 
biennium, instead of at the beginning of the biennium. 

 
2019     Beginning July 1, 2019, the calculation of the hazardous substance tax 

on petroleum products changed from a value-based rate to a volume-
based rate of $1.09 per barrel. Beginning July 1, 2020, the department 
adjusts the rate annually. 
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2015 Added a hazardous substance tax exemption for possession of 
agricultural crop protection products warehoused, but not otherwise 
used or sold in Washington. 

 
2013 Created the Environmental Legacy Stewardship Account and adjusted 

the distribution of funds between the State Toxics, Local Toxics, and 
Environmental Legacy Stewardship accounts.  

 
2002 Updated references to taxable hazardous substance products to those 

defined in federal law. 
 
1989 The hazardous substance tax became effective March 1 at a rate of 

0.7% of the wholesale value of the product. 
 
1988 Voters passed Initiative 97 establishing a tax on the possession of 

hazardous substances in Washington. The tax replaced a similar 
hazardous substance tax established January 1, 1988. 
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RCW Chapter 82.51 

 
Tax Base The rental price of heavy equipment rental property, when rented to a 

consumer by a heavy equipment rental property dealer. 
 
Heavy equipment rental property means any equipment rented by a heavy 
equipment property dealer that is: 

o Mobile and not permanently affixed to real property.  
o Customarily used for construction, earthmoving, or industrial 

applications. 
o Rented without an operator. 

 
This tax is in addition to the retail sales, use, and business and occupation taxes 
that may apply. 
 
See Chapter 82.51 RCW for exemptions, deductions, and credits specific to the 
heavy equipment rental tax. 

 
Tax Rate 1.25% 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Collections will begin to appear in the next manual. 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

Receipts from this tax are deposited as follows: 
• 50% into the Motor Vehicle Fund. 
• 50% into the Multimodal Transportation Account. 

 
Levied by State  

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
History 2020    Established the heavy equipment rental tax, effective January 1, 

2022. 
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RCW Chapters 51.12 and 51.16 

 
Tax Base Most employers in Washington must carry no-fault industrial insurance for 

employees, known as workers’ compensation. The state bases the premium on 
the number of hours worked by employees. 
 
Tax exemptions may exempt certain employers from the tax or reduce the 
taxes. For more information, refer to Chapters 51.12 and 51.16 RCW. 

 
Tax Rate The state intends for the premium rate to reflect the costs the state expects 

a business to add to the workers’ compensation system. The state bases this 
on: 
• Risk classification.  
• Base rates. 
• Experience factor. 

 
The state calculates the premium rate by: 
1. Multiplying a business’ experience factor by the sum of the Accident 

Fund, Medical Aid Fund, and Stay at Work base rates. 
2. Adding the base rate for the Supplemental Pension Fund. 

 
Risk Classification 
The state classifies each business according to the degree of hazard 
associated with its occupation or industry. Over 300 risk classifications exist. 
A business may have more than one risk classification if it meets certain 
criteria. 
 
Experience Factor 
The experience factor is a prediction of how a business’ future claim costs 
compare to its risk classification. The experience factor adjusts the base 
rates by comparing a business’ experience with all businesses in the same 
risk class. 
 
Base rates 
Base rates vary by risk classification. The four base rates include: 
• Accident Fund: Pays for injured workers' wage replacement, permanent 

disability or death benefits, and some vocational retraining. 
• Medical Aid Fund: Pays for healthcare and private vocational counselors 

for covered services provided to injured workers. 



Industrial Insurance 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 40 

• Stay at Work: Partially reimburses employers for wages, training, and 
equipment costs provided under light duty or transitional work for 
injured workers. 

• Supplemental Pension Fund: Pays COLAs on extended wage replacement 
benefits. This base rate is the same for all businesses regardless of risk 
classification. 

 
Employers pay (after adjusting for experience factor): 

• 100% of the Accident Fund. 
• 50% of the Medical Aid Fund. 
• 50% of Stay at Work. 
• 50% of the Supplemental Pension Fund. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $2,445,313 -7.2% 8.2% 
2020 $2,635,304 0.3% 9.8% 
2019 $2,627,669 -3.5% 10.2% 
2018 $2,723,488 3.2% 11.4% 
2017 $2,638,150 7.9% 12.0% 
2016 $2,444,264 5.3% 12.0% 
2015 $2,321,211 7.4% 12.4% 
2014 $2,160,494 3.1% 12.1% 
2013 $2,094,760 4.1% 12.3% 
2012 $2,011,360 8.6% 12.4% 

   Source: Washington State Department of Labor and Industries 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Washington State Industrial Insurance Fund receives all the receipts. The 
receipts pay for: 
• Medical treatment, partial wage replacement, and other industrial 

insurance benefits to employees injured on the job. 
• Operational and administrative expenses of the Department of Labor and 

Industries. 
 
The State Investment Board invests unspent funds. 

 
Levied by State 
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Administration Department of Labor and Industries 
 
Employers receive an annual rate notice summarizing insurance coverage 
beginning in January.  
 
Each employer files quarterly reports and premium payments based on its 
industry and workers’ hours.  

 
History 2011 Added changes to help prevent large rate increases in the future, 

including the Stay at Work Program, structured settlement 
agreements, and a rainy-day fund. 

 
1972 Extended mandatory coverage from only extra-hazardous industries 

to include non-hazardous industries. 
 
1972 Allowed firms with substantial financial resources and effective 

accident prevent programs to self-insure.  
 
1911 Established the industrial insurance program. 

 



Insurance Premiums Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 42 

RCW Chapter 48.14, 48.15.120, and 48.201.040 

 
Tax Base The net premiums received by authorized insurers, surplus line brokers, and 

registered eligible captive insurers.  
 
Ocean marine and foreign trade insurers pay taxes on their net underwriting 
profit. Net underwriting profit means the net premiums received minus any 
net losses paid. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate 2% for authorized insurers, surplus line brokers, and registered eligible captive 

insurers. 
 
0.95% for ocean marine and foreign trade insurers. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $683,639 -1.1% 2.3% 
2020 $691,393 8.0% 2.6% 
2019 $640,136 1.5% 2.5% 
2018 $630,657 4.4% 2.6% 
2017 $603,963 13.0% 2.7% 
2016 $534,663 -3.8% 2.6% 
2015 $555,976 19.0% 3.0% 
2014 $467,351 7.2% 2.6% 
2013 $436,118 1.4% 2.6% 
2012 $430,052 4.1% 2.7% 

   Source: Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner 

 
Levied by State 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020


Insurance Premiums Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 43 

Distribution of 
Receipts 

The general fund receives all taxes except for:  
• A portion of fire insurance premiums.  
• Premiums written on qualified health and dental plans offered through 

the Health Benefit Exchange. 
 
For fire insurance premiums taxes: 
• The Volunteer Fire Fighters’ Relief and Pension Fund receives 40% of the 

receipts.  
• The firemen’s pension funds receive 25% of the receipts. 
• The Fire Service Training Account receives 20% of the receipts. 

 
The Health Benefit Exchange Account receives taxes on premiums written on 
qualified health and dental plans offered through the Health Benefit Exchange. 

 
Administration Office of the Insurance Commissioner 

 
Insurance companies and surplus line brokers report premium revenues 
annually on March 1, for the prior calendar year.  
 
Insurers owing $400 or more for a calendar year must prepay premium tax for 
the following year:   
• 45% of tax due by June 15. 
• 25% of tax due by September 15. 
• 25% of tax due by December 15. 

 
Reconciliation and payment of the remaining tax is due when filed on March 1. 

 
History 2021    Legislation required captive insurers to register and pay premium 

taxes at the 2% rate. 
 
2014 Directed premium taxes collected on medical and stand-alone dental 

plans offered through the Health Benefit Exchange to the Health 
Benefit Exchange Account. 

 
2009 Health care insurance revenue was no longer allocated to the Health 

Services Account. The revenue instead was allocated to the State 
General Fund.  

 
2000 Prohibited local governments from imposing a tax similar to the tax on 

premiums of health maintenance organizations (HMOs), health care 
service contractors (HCSCs), or self-funded multiple employer welfare 
arrangements. 



Insurance Premiums Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 44 

1997 Re-enacted the tax credit for guaranty associations, eliminated in 1993. 
 
1994 Allocated tax revenues from health care to the Health Services Account. 
 
1993 Shifted health care companies, such as HMOs and HCSCs from paying 

the business and occupation tax to paying the insurance premiums tax 
by imposing the 2% premiums tax on premiums and prepayments. 
Allocated the revenues to the Health Services Account. 

 
Eliminated the credit for the insurance premiums tax when a guaranty 
association paid the insurance claims of policyholders against 
insolvent companies. 

 
1986 Merged the foreign and domestic rates into a single rate of 2%. The 

ocean marine rate remained 0.95%. 
 
1982 Increased the foreign, domestic and ocean marine tax rates by 0.16%. 

Added a surtax of 4%. 
 
1949 Lowered the foreign rate to 2% and established a lower rate of 0.75% 

for ocean marine insurance. 
 
1937 Reduced the tax rate to 1% for domestic companies and increased the 

rate for foreign companies to 2.25%. 
 
1891 Established the first tax imposed in Washington - the insurance 

premiums tax - at a rate of 2%.  

 



Intermediate Care Facilities Tax 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 45 

RCW Chapter 82.65A 

 
Tax Base Gross receipts of intermediate care facilities for services provided to individuals 

with developmental disabilities. The Department of Social and Health Services 
and the federal Department of Health and Human Services certify taxable 
facilities. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate 6% 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $9,781 -8.1% 0.03% 
2020 $10,640 3.2% 0.04% 
2019 $10,312 1.1% 0.04% 
2018 $10,203  7.3% 0.04% 
2017 $9,507  5.4% 0.04% 
2016 $9,020 13.1% 0.04% 
2015 $7,978 -8.4% 0.04% 
2014 $8,708 10.9% 0.05% 
2013 $7,851 -0.1% 0.05% 
2012 $7,858 -11.1% 0.05% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The general fund receives these taxes to fund the state share of the cost of 
the facilities. The facilities receive federal funds on a matching basis. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
History 1992 Lowered the tax rate to 6% effective July 1, 1993, to comply with new 

federal regulations for Medicaid reimbursement. 
 
1991 Enacted the intermediate care facilities tax at a rate of 15%, effective 

April 1, 1992.  
 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020


Leasehold Excise Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 46 

RCW Chapter 82.29A 

 
Tax Base Typically, contract rent paid for leasing or using publicly owned property.  

 
Contract rent includes: 
• Cash payments. 
• Rent paid by a sub-lessee. 
• A lessee’s costs for the protection of the owner’s interest in the property. 
• A lessee’s costs for improvements that become the property of the owner. 
 
Contract rent does not include: 
• Costs reimbursed by an owner. 
• Costs for repair or replacement of facilities due to fire or another loss. 
• Costs for improvements required by government action taken after a lease. 
• Improvements subject to personal property tax. 
• Payments for concession rights. 
 
The Department may create a taxable rent computation when: 
• The lease payment was not arrived at through competitive bidding, and the 

payment does not represent a fair market value lease. 
• The owner and lessee negotiated the lease at least 10 years ago. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate 12.84% 

• 6.84% goes to the state. 
• 6.00% goes to counties and cities. 
 
Counties and cities may impose this tax at a combined rate of 6%. 
• A county can impose up to 6%. 
• A city can impose up to 4% that is credited against the county’s rate. 

 
  

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020


Leasehold Excise Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 47 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $37,206 2.8% 0.1% 
2020 $36,205 -0.2% 0.1% 
2019 $36,281 6.2% 0.1% 
2018 $34,150  3.1% 0.1% 
2017 $33,118  0.7% 0.2% 
2016 $32,900 15.4% 0.2% 
2015 $28,504 3.0% 0.2% 
2014 $27,682 1.1% 0.2% 
2013 $27,394 1.2% 0.2% 
2012 $27,077 1.7% 0.2% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The general fund receives all receipts from the state portion of this tax.  
 
The State Treasurer distributes the local receipts bi-monthly.  

 
Levied by State, counties, and cities 

 
Administration Department of Revenue  

 
Public entities leasing property to private lessees report and pay the tax 
quarterly on the Leasehold Excise Tax Return.  
 
Lessees of federal property report and pay the tax annually on the Leasehold 
Excise Tax Return.   
 
The Department retains 2% of the county and city receipts for administrative 
expenses. 

 
History 2022 Exempted facilities owned by the Parks and Recreation Commission and 

listed on the National Register of Historic Places or Washington Heritage 
Register until January 1, 2034. 

 
2020 Made permanent the property tax exemption, leasehold excise tax, and 

payment in-lieu of tax provisions for property owned by federally 
recognized Indian tribes and used for economic development.  



Leasehold Excise Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 48 

2019 Expanded the exemption for hydrogen fueling stations and renewable 
hydrogen production facilities and extended the expiration to July 1, 
2025. Also exempted certain public arenas from leasehold excise tax in 
King County. 

 
2014 Extended the leasehold excise tax to leasehold interests in property 

owned exclusively by federally recognized Indian tribes. Excluded 
cannabis related activities from leasehold excise tax preferences. 

 
2013 Assessors do not have to maintain current property assessed values on 

publicly owned property subject to leasehold excise tax. 
 
2010 Exempted community centers from property tax for 40 years and added 

them to the leasehold excise tax instead. 
 
2001 Shifted approximately 3,000 residential and recreational parcels at Lake 

Cushman in Mason County from leasehold excise tax to property tax 
even though the land remains in public ownership. 

 
1999 Modified the definition of leasehold interest to exclude a right of access 

to public properties for the purposes of exploring for energy resources or 
the removal of natural resource products. This removed livestock grazing 
leases from the tax base. Also, changed the definition of contract rent 
for product leases to exclude the value of products removed. 

 
1986 Approved a provision limiting the leasehold excise tax to the amount due 

under the property tax. 
 
1982 Added a 7% surtax.  
 
1976 Created the leasehold excise tax with a rate of 12%, of which counties 

and cities could levy up to 6%. 
 
1973 Imposed an excise tax of 14% of annual lease payments on leases 

effective prior to July 1, 1970, to provide some equity for leases of public 
property.  

 
1971 Imposed a moratorium on property taxes on public leases until 1974 for 

leases made since July 1, 1970.  
 
1970 Washington’s Supreme Court ruled in Pier 67 v King County that 

leasehold interest in publicly owned property could be taxed. 

 



Litter Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 49 

RCW Chapter 82.19 

 
Tax Base The value of products manufactured or sold in Washington, including: 

• Food for human or pet consumption. 
• Groceries. 
• Cigarettes and tobacco products. 
• Soft drinks and carbonated waters. 
• Wine, beer, and other malt beverages. 
• Newspapers and magazines. 
• Household paper and paper products. 
• Glass and Metal containers. 
• Plastic or fiber containers made of synthetic materials. 
• Cleaning agents and toiletries. 
• Nondrug drugstore products. 
 
Instead of accounting for all items not subject to litter tax separately: 
• Drugstores may report and pay tax on 50% of total sales. 
• Grocery stores may report and pay tax on 95% of total sales. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate 0.015% 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $14,173 6.2% 0.0% 
2020 $13,340 2.4% 0.0% 
2019 $13,023 10.4% 0.1% 
2018 $11,795  0.6% 0.0% 
2017 $11,727  2.4% 0.1% 
2016 $11,453 5.4% 0.1% 
2015 $10,865 5.5% 0.1% 
2014 $10,302 4.5% 0.1% 
2013 $9,856 4.5% 0.1% 
2012 $9,434 0.8% 0.1% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Waste Reduction, Recycling, and Litter Control Account receives the tax 
receipts. The Department of Ecology uses these funds for various control 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020


Litter Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 50 

programs, public education, and awareness programs related to litter control 
and recycling. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue   

 
History 2020     Enacted legislation to end distributions to the State Parks Renewal and 

Stewardship Account on June 30, 2020. 
 
2019     Enacted legislation to authorize the distribution of $1.25 million per 

fiscal year to the State Parks Renewal and Stewardship Account until 
June 30, 2021. 

 
2017     Enacted legislation extending the distribution of $5 million per fiscal 

year to the State Parks Renewal and Stewardship Account to June 30, 
2019. 

 
2015 Add the encouragement of proper and appropriate as a purpose of the 

litter tax. Also made permanent additional changes to specific 
allowable uses of litter tax funds from 2013. 

 
2013 Enacted legislation requiring distribution of $5 million per fiscal year to 

the State Parks Renewal and Stewardship Account until July 2017.  
 
2008 Repealed the department performing a biennial analysis of the litter 

tax compliance. 
 
2005 Added an exemption for the sale of prepared food or beverages by 

caterers with certain requirements. 
 
2003 Added an exemption for food and beverages consumed indoors on 

the premises of the seller. 
 
2001 Added an exemption for the sale of products for resale by a qualified 

grocery distribution cooperative to its customer-owners. 
 
1998 Changed the reporting frequency from annual to coincide with the 

reporting frequency of each taxpayer. Added that the department 
perform a biennial analysis of litter tax compliance. 

 



Litter Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 51 

1992 Renamed the Model Litter Control and Recycling Act to the Waste 
Reduction, Recycling, and Model Litter Control Act. Gave the 
department the authority to establish rules allowing businesses to pay 
the tax based on a ratio of taxable activity to total sales. Allocated a 
portion of the tax receipts to youth litter control programs. 

 
1971 Established the litter tax under the Model Litter Control and Recycling 

Act to fund litter control with annual payments. 

 



Local Admissions Taxes 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 52 

RCW 35.21.280, 35.57.100, 36.38.010, & 36.100.210 

 
Tax Base The charge for admission to a place or event. The tax applies to: 

• Season tickets or subscriptions. 
• Cover charges. 
• Charges for food and refreshment when providing free entertainment, 

recreation, or amusement. 
• Charges for the rental or use of recreational facilities and equipment. 
• Charges for vehicle parking if the charge is based on the number of 

passengers. 

 
Tax Rate Maximum of one cent per 20 cents (5%) of the admission charge. 

 
King County may levy a tax of one cent per 10 cents (10%) of the admission 
charge for events at the football stadium, Lumen field, and the adjacent 
exhibition center. 

 
Recent 
Collections 

Collection information may be available from counties and cities imposing 
the tax, or through the State Auditor Office’s Financial Intelligence Tool. 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

Jurisdictions use the receipts as follows: 
• Counties: For payments on bonds related to the construction of a baseball 

stadium. For repairing, re-equipping, and improving the constructed 
baseball stadium. 

• Cities and towns: For the construction, operation, maintenance, repair, 
replacement, or enhancement of the public facility in which an event 
occurs or to develop, support, operate, or enhance programs in the public 
facility. 

• Public facility districts: For preparing and distributing information to the 
public. For promoting, advertising, improving, developing, operating, and 
maintaining facilities or regional centers. 

 
 
  

https://portal.sao.wa.gov/FIT/


Local Admissions Taxes 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 53 

 
Levied by Cities, towns, counties, and public facilities districts 

 
If a city and its county both levy the tax, the county tax does not apply within 
the city. 
 
For the professional baseball and football stadiums located in Seattle, King 
County levies the tax rather than Seattle. 
 
The law limits the admissions tax levied by public facilities districts to the 
regional centers they operate. Counties and cities may not impose an 
admissions tax on events at a regional center if a public facilities district levies 
the tax. 

 
Administration County auditors, city clerks, and public facilities districts 

 
Those charging admissions collect and pay the tax to the appropriate local 
jurisdiction. 

 
History 2012 Authorized Seattle to collect a temporary admissions tax for certain 

college games played at the professional football stadium. 
 
1999 Authorized admission taxes for tickets to events at regional centers. 
 
1997 Extended exemptions to the professional football stadium and 

exhibition center in Seattle. 
 
1995 Adopted an exemption from Seattle’s admissions tax for the new 

professional baseball stadium and the 10% county tax for events at the 
baseball stadium.  

 
1943 Repealed the state tax and authorized counties and cities to levy the 

tax.  
 
1935 Established the admissions tax in the Revenue Act of 1935.  

 
 



Local Employer Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 54 

RCW 81.100.030 and 81.104.150 

 
Tax Base Full-time equivalent (FTE) employees working in the county or city.  

 
Includes all employers (private firms and governmental agencies). 

 
Tax Rate Up to $2.00 per FTE employee per month.  

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Collection information may be available from counties and cities imposing 
the tax, or through the State Auditor Office’s Financial Intelligence Tool. 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

Counties and cities use receipts for local transportation-related purposes. 

 
Levied by With voter approval, the following levy these taxes:  

 

High Occupancy Vehicle Systems (RCW 81.100.030):   
King, Pierce, or Snohomish counties for high occupancy vehicle (HOV) 
systems (e.g., carpooling programs and HOV lanes) or a regional 
transportation investment district (RTID) for authorized capital and RTID 
purposes. 
 
High-Capacity Transportation (RCW 81.104.150):   
Counties, cities, metropolitan municipal corporations, public transportation 
benefit areas, high-capacity transportation corridor areas, and regional 
transit authorities if the district operates high-capacity transportation 
systems (e.g., commuter rail systems). If the county levies a local employee 
tax for HOV systems, then these jurisdictions may not levy the tax. 

 

 
Administration The levying jurisdiction may contract with the Department of Revenue or 

another appropriate entity for collection of the tax from employers.   

 
History 2009 Allowed a new type of taxing jurisdiction in Clark and Spokane counties 

known as a high-capacity transportation corridor area to impose the 
tax.  

 

https://portal.sao.wa.gov/FIT/


Local Employer Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 55 

2002 Allowed regional transportation investment districts to impose an 
employer tax if a county does not already impose a tax. 

 
1990 Adopted the local employer tax.  

 



Local Gambling Taxes 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 56 

RCW 9.46.110 

 
Tax Base Operator’s receipts from gambling activities, including: 

• Amusement games. 
• Bingo. 
• Cardrooms. 
• Punchboards. 
• Pull-tabs. 
• Raffles. 
 
Except for cardrooms, receipts exclude amounts paid in prizes. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce the taxes for operators.  
For more information, see RCW 9.46.291. 

 
Tax Rate The maximum rate a local jurisdiction may levy: 

Type of Game Tax Rate 
Amusement Games 2% of net receipts, cannot 

exceed enforcement costs 
Bingo 5% of net receipts 

 
Cardrooms 20% of gross receipts 

 
Punchboards and Pull-tabs - Charitable 10% of net receipts 

 
Punchboards and Pull-tabs - Commercial 5% of gross receipts, or 

10% of net receipts 
Raffles  5% of net receipts over $10,000 

 
 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Collection information may be available from counties and cities imposing 
the tax, or through the State Auditor Office’s Financial Intelligence Tool. 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

Counties and cities use receipts for local gambling enforcement programs. 
purposes. 

 

https://portal.sao.wa.gov/FIT/


Local Gambling Taxes 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 57 

Levied by Counties, cities, and towns 
 
The county tax applies only in the unincorporated area even if the cities or 
towns in the same county levy the tax. 

 
Administration County treasurers and city clerks 

 
The Washington State Gambling Commission licenses and regulates gambling 
activities. 

 
History 1999 Reduced the tax rate for bingo and raffles from 10% to 5%. 

 
1997 Adopted different punchboard and pull-tab rates. 
 
1984 Eliminated the tax on coin-operated pull-tab dispensing machines.  
 
1981 Adopted a 20% tax rate for social card games. 
 
1977 Reduced the maximum tax rate for amusement games to 2% and 

created a nonprofit exemption. 
 
1976 Adopted a tax on coin-operated pull-tab dispensing machines. 
 
1973 Adopted local taxation of certain nonprofessional gambling activities 

after a 1972 constitutional amendment authorized these activities.  
 
1952 Eliminated the gambling tax on slot machines that the courts 

considered an unconstitutional form of lottery. 
 
1947 Doubled the tax rates on gambling (slot) machine activity. 
 
1941 Adopted the initial tax on gambling (slot) machine activity with rates of 

10% and 20% depending upon the operator’s skill.  

 



Local Household Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 58 

RCW 35.95.040 

 
Tax Base County or city residents as measured by household units. 

 
Tax Rate Up to $1.00 per month per household. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Collection information may be available from counties and cities imposing 
the tax, or through the State Auditor Office’s Financial Intelligence Tool. 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

Cities use receipts for the operation, maintenance, and capital purposes of 
municipally owned, leased, or operated transportation systems.   
 
Counties use receipts for the unincorporated transportation benefit area 
(created through RCW 36.57.100 and RCW 36.57.110). 

 
Levied by Counties and cities 

 
Counties levy the tax only within the unincorporated area of the county.  

 
Administration County treasurer, county auditor, city treasurer, or city clerk 

 
History 1975 Counties allowed to levy the tax. 

 
1965 Adopted the local household tax allowing cities to impose the tax. 

 
 

https://portal.sao.wa.gov/FIT/


Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax 
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RCW Chapter 82.38 

 
Tax Base Suppliers, distributors, refiners, and blenders of fuel pay tax on each gallon of 

fuel imported, produced, or delivered from a terminal rack in Washington. 
 
Fuel includes motor vehicle fuel and special fuel: 
• Motor vehicle fuel includes gasoline and other inflammable gases or liquids 

used to propel motor vehicles or boats. 
• Special fuel includes all combustible gases and liquids used to propel motor 

vehicles, such as diesel, biodiesel, natural gas, propane, and butane. 
 

Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 
 
In addition to the state fuel taxes, federal taxes apply as may local taxes. 

 
Tax Rate 49.4 cents per gallon 

 
In lieu of this per gallon tax, owners of natural gas and propane powered 
vehicles pay an annual license fee based on gross vehicle weight. Taxpayers 
calculated the fee by multiplying the appropriate annual fee below by the fuel 
tax rate and dividing by 12 cents. 
 

Vehicle Tonnage (GVW) Annual Fee 
0 – 6,000 $45 

6,001 - 10,000 $45 
10,001 – 18,000 $80 
18,001 – 28,000 $110 
28,001 – 36,000 $150 

36,001 and above $250 
 

Federal tax rates: 
• 18.3 cents per gallon of motor vehicle fuel or gasohol. 
• 24.3 cents per gallon of diesel or kerosene. 
• 18.3 cents per gasoline gallon equivalent of liquefied petroleum gas, 

commonly called propane. 
• 24.3 cents per diesel gallon equivalent of liquefied natural gas. 
• 18.3 cents per gasoline gallon equivalent of compressed natural gas. 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020


Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax 
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Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

 
Fiscal 
Year 

Tax Rate 
(cents per 

gallon) 

 
 

Collections1 

 
 

% Change 

 
% of All  

State Taxes 
2021 49.4 $1,590,784 -6.5% 5.3% 
2020 49.4 $1,701,593 -4.1% 6.3% 
2019 49.4 $1,775,177 -1.4% 6.9% 
2018 49.4 $1,800,547 4.1% 7.5% 
2017 49.4 $1,729,806 15.2% 7.8% 
2016 44.5 $1,502,071 17.1% 7.4% 
2015 37.5 $1,282,378 1.4% 6.8% 
2014 37.5 $1,264,797 1.8% 7.1% 
2013 37.5 $1,242,422 0.1% 7.3% 
2012 37.5 $1,240,920 -1.2% 7.7% 

1Gross tax collections, based on month of distribution. 
Source: Washington State Department of Licensing 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Motor Vehicle Fund receives the taxes and the following distributions 
of the 49.4 cents per gallon occur: 
• The law splits 23 cents as follows: 

o 44.387% to the Motor Vehicle Fund. 
o 3.2609% to Special Category C Account for projects that require 

bond financing. 
o 2.3283% to the Puget Sound Ferry Operations Account. 
o 2.3726% to the Puget Sound Ferry Capital Construction Account. 
o 13.2336% to the Transportation Improvement Account. 
o 19.2287% to counties. 
o 10.6961% to cities and towns. 
o 1.9565% to the County Arterial Preservation Account. 
o 2.5363% to the Rural Arterial Trust Account. 

• 11.9 cents to the Connecting Washington Account. 
• 3.5 cents to the Transportation Partnership Account. 
• The law splits 6 cents as follows: 

o 83.3334% to the Transportation Partnership Account. 
o 8.3333% to counties. 
o 8.3333% to cities and towns. 

• 5 cents to bond retirement for the transportation projects authorized in 
2003. 

 
Levied by State 

 
 



Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax 
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Administration Department of Licensing 
 
Suppliers, distributors, blenders, fuel terminals, and registered carriers of 
vehicle fuel file monthly reports with the Department of Licensing that 
include the number of gallons of fuel:  

• Received and distributed from terminal or refinery facilities. 
• Transferred between licensees within the state. 
• Imported into the state or exported from Washington.  

Suppliers, distributors, blenders, fuel terminals, and registered carriers of 
vehicle fuel collect and assess the tax and then pass it on to retailers, who 
include it in the pump price. 

 
History 2015 Passed the Connecting Washington Transportation Act. The state tax 

rate increased by 7 cents per gallon in fiscal year 2016 and by an 
additional 4.9 cents per gallon in fiscal year 2017. 

 
2013 Merged Chapter 82.36 RCW with Chapter 82.38 RCW effective July 1, 

2016. 
 
2005 Adopted the Transportation Partnership Act resulting in , a phased in 

7 cent per gallon state motor vehicle and special fuel tax increase. 
 
2003 Adopted the Nickel Transportation. As a result, the state motor 

vehicle and special fuel tax rates increased by 5 cents per gallon. Each 
county in a regional transportation investment district received 
authority to levy a local fuel tax up to 10% of the state rate. 
Responsibility for administration transferred from the Department of 
Licensing to the Department of Revenue. 

 
1998 The burden of reporting motor vehicle fuel tax shifted from the 

distributor to the owner of the fuel when delivered from a refinery or 
terminal facility into Washington.  

 
1991 Authorized border jurisdiction areas to enact a motor vehicle fuel tax 

up to 1 cent per gallon. 
 
1990 Authorized county fuel taxes. 
 
1983 Repealed the fluctuating fuel tax rate. 
 



Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax 
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1978 Adopted a fluctuating fuel tax rate calculated using the average price 
of fuel and highway budgetary needs. 

 
1971 Adopted the special fuel tax statute with a rate of 9 cents per gallon; 

subsequent rate changes occurred consistent with changes to the 
motor vehicle fuel tax. 

 
1944 Voters approved the 18th amendment to the state constitution 

requiring the use of fuel tax revenues for highway purposes. 
 
1941 Adopted a separate “use” fuel tax at a rate of 5 cents per gallon for 

diesel fuel. 
 
1933 Adopted refunds for off-highway vehicle use. 
 
1921 Enacted the motor vehicle fuel tax that also applied to special fuels.  

 



Oil Spill Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 63 

RCW Chapter 82.23B 

 
Tax Base Crude oil or petroleum products transported into Washington by ship, barge, 

railroad tank car, or pipeline and off-loaded at an in-state marine or a bulk oil 
terminal. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate The oil spill tax rate is up to 5 cents per 42-gallon barrel: 

• The 4 cents oil spill administration tax. 
• The 1 cent oil spill response tax. 

 
When funds in the oil spill response account fall to $8 million, owners of crude 
oil or petroleum products must pay the oil spill response tax until the account 
balance once again exceeds $9 million. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $7,130 4.7% 0.02% 
2020 $6,809 -0.1% 0.03% 
2019 $6,814 44.8% 0.03% 
2018 $4,705  3.4% 0.02% 
2017 $4,551  13.3% 0.02% 
2016 $4,016 26.1% 0.02% 
2015 $3,184 -12.6% 0.02% 
2014 $3,641 -13.5% 0.02% 
2013 $4,211 17.9% 0.02% 
2012 $3,571 -6.7% 0.02% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 
 

The Military Department Active State Service Account receives the first 
$200,000 of taxes from the oil spill administration tax. The Oil Spill Prevention 
Account receives the rest of the taxes. The state uses these funds for: 
• The prevention of and response to oil spills in state waters and the control 

of water pollution. 
• Administrative costs incurred by the Department of Ecology and the Office 

of Marine Safety. 
 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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The Oil Spill Response Account receives all receipts from the oil spill response 
tax. The state uses these funds to: 
• Respond to spills and the imminent threat of spills of crude oil or petroleum 

products into state waters. 
• Pay for the use of emergency response towing vessels. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue  

 
Each owner of crude oil or petroleum products pays the tax to the terminal 
operator where they offload product. Each terminal operator or taxpayer 
with a direct pay certificate reports and remits the tax.  

 
History 2018 Extended the tax to oil received at bulk oil terminals from pipelines. 

 
2015 Extended the tax to oil received at bulk oil terminals from railroad tank 

cars. 
 
1999 Decreased the deactivation trigger for the oil spill response tax from 

$10 million to $9 million and the activation trigger from $9 million to $8 
million. 

 
1997  Decreased the oil spill response tax rate from 2 cents to 1 cent per 

barrel and increased the oil spill administration tax rate from 3 cents to 
4 cents per barrel. Transferred program administration to the 
Department of Ecology. 

 
1992 The person subject to the tax changed from the owner of the product 

at the time just prior to off-loading to the owner when the product 
transfers to storage tanks. 

 
1991 Adopted the oil spill tax at a rate of 3 cents per gallon for the 

administration account and 2 cents for the response account.  Created 
the Office of Marine Safety to administer subsequent programs. 
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RCW 67.16.105 

 
Tax Base Licensed conductors of horse racing events pay tax on the gross receipts from 

pari-mutuel machines.1 This tax is in addition to the business and occupation tax. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate Based on a taxpayer’s previous year gross receipts the tax rates are: 

• 1.803% with gross receipts of less than $50 million. 
• 1.300% with gross receipts of $50 million or more. 

 
Additionally, the Horse Racing Commission receives: 

• 1.1% of daily gross receipts. 
• 1.0% of daily gross receipts from exotic wagers. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $1,454 35.1% 0.01% 
2020 $1,076 -20.9% 0.00% 
2019 $1,361 -10.4% 0.01% 
2018 $1,519 -7.1% 0.01% 
2017 $1,635 -8.3% 0.01% 
2016 $1,782 2.9% 0.01% 
2015 $1,732 -4.3% 0.01% 
2014 $1,809 -2.7% 0.01% 
2013 $1,860 -8.3% 0.01% 
2012 $2,029 -8.4% 0.01% 

   Source: Washington State Horse Racing Commission 

 
 

Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Horse Racing Commission receives all receipts from this tax. They use the 
receipts for operating expenses. The state treasurer receives any amount not 
used by the end of the fiscal biennium and deposits them into the Fair Fund.   
 
The commission distributes the additional amounts received as follows:  

• 0.1% of the additional 1.1% funds nonprofit race meets. 

 
1 A “pari-mutuel machine” registers bets, then calculates and posts the changing odds and final payouts. 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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• The Washington Bred Owners’ Bonus Fund and Breeder Awards 
Account receives: 

o  1% of the additional 1.1%.  
All receipts from the additional 1% on exotic wagers. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Horse Racing Commission 

 
Licensed racetrack operators report and pay the tax daily. 

 
History 2020     Due to the impact of the COVID pandemic, in-state wagering fell below 

$50 million, and the tax rate increased to 1.803%. 
 
2017 Designated the collection of the additional 1% retained by the racing 

association on all exotic wagering for the Washington Bred Bonus Fund. 
A review determined this addition applied to only live races offered at 
the racing facility exempting Simulcast wagers. 

 
2009 Granted the Horse Racing Commission the authority to collect and 

distribute the additional 1% tax on exotic wagers to the Washington 
bred breeders’ awards.  

  
2004 Authorized advance deposit wagering (ADW) and full card simulcasting 

to satellite locations. ADW is the ability of Washington residents to 
wager on races, both in and outside the state, via telephone or by using 
the Internet.  

 
2003 Increased the tax rate for race meets with annual gross in-state pari-

mutuel receipts of $50 million or less from 0.520% of the daily gross 
receipts to 1.803%. 

 
2001 The temporary pari-mutuel tax rate reductions became permanent. 
 
1998 Reduced the pari-mutuel tax rates temporarily. 
 
1991 Reduced the top pari-mutuel tax rate to 2.5%. 
 
1987 Authorized wagering at satellite locations. 
 
1985 Reduced the pari-mutuel tax rates to a range of 0.5% to 4%. 
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1982 Revised the pari-mutuel tax rate schedule. 
 
1979 Lowered the pari-mutuel tax rate to 4.5% for smaller meets. 
 
1933 Created the pari-mutuel tax at a rate of 5%. 
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RCW Chapter 82.23A 

 
Tax Base The wholesale value of petroleum products upon first possessed in the state. 

 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.   
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate 0.15% until October 1, 2023, then 0.3% 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $24,776 124% 0.08% 
2020 $11,042 -66% 0.04% 
2019 $32,828 220% 0.13% 
2018 $10,245  -69% 0.04% 
2017 $32,665  28% 0.15% 
2016 $25,563 4,830% 0.13% 
2015 $518 -638% 0.00% 
2014 -$96 -110% 0.00% 
2013 $1,001 362% 0.01% 
2012 $217 -92% 0.00% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Pollution Liability Insurance Program Trust Account receives all receipts 
from this tax. Each biennium, if the account balance exceeds $7.5 million, the 
Pollution Liability Insurance Agency Underground Storage Tank Revolving 
Account may receive a transfer of up to $20 million (RCW 70A.345.080).  
 
The tax includes a "trigger" mechanism based on the amount of funds in the 
Pollution Liability Insurance Program Trust Account: 
• Beginning October 1, 2023, when the balance falls below $15 million for 

the most recent quarter, the tax starts.  
• Beginning October 1, 2023, When the balance exceeds $30 million for the 

previous calendar quarter, the tax stops. 
 
The Pollution Liability Insurance Agency uses funds from the Pollution Liability 
Insurance Program Trust Account for administration of the pollution liability 
insurance program and emergency program. 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
History 2016 Created and partially funded the Pollution Liability Insurance Agency 

Underground Storage Tank Revolving Account through transfers from 
the Pollution Liability Insurance Program Trust Account. Also, reduced 
the tax rate to 0.15% effective July 1, 2021, and extended the tax 
through July 1, 2030. 

 
2012 Reduced the tax rate from 0.5% to 0.3% and extended the tax through 

July 1, 2020. 
 
2006 Extended the tax through June 1, 2013. 
 
2000 Extended the tax through June 1, 2007. 
 
1996 Extended the tax through June 1, 2001. 
 
1989 Enacted the tax at a rate of 0.5% and set the tax to expire June 1, 1995. 

 



Property Tax 
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RCW Title 84 

 
Tax Base Property tax applies to the assessed value of all real and personal property 

located in Washington, unless specifically exempted. Real property includes 
land, buildings, improvements, and structures. 
 
Each county assessor annually values each property in their county. The county 
treasurer collects the property taxes. County assessors also physically inspect 
each property at least once every six years. The Department of Revenue each 
year values state-assessed property, such as property owned by interstate 
utility companies.  
 
Assessed values reflect the highest and best use of the property at 100% of 
market value except for those applying and receiving a valuation based on: 
• The property having a current use of agricultural, open space, or timber 

land. 
• The property being designated forest land. 
• The owner qualifying for a senior citizen and disabled homeowners’ 

property tax exemption. 
 
Personal property includes machinery, equipment, business supplies, non-
attached mobile homes, state-assessed commercial vessels and utility 
property, and other movable items.   
 
Tax exemptions may shift the taxes to other property owners.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate The same property tax rate applies to both real and personal property. County 

assessors determine the rate for each taxing district by dividing the allowed 
levy amount by the total taxable value of all real and personal property. The 
law provides: 
• A statutory maximum rate for regular levy rates. 
• A $5.90 aggregate limit for certain local regular levies. 
• A constitutional one percent limit for all regular levies, except ports and 

public utility districts. 
 
The Levy Manual contains the statutory maximum rate for regular taxing 
districts and explains more about the two aggregate limits.  
 
The Property Tax Statistics include taxing district levies, values, and current 
rates.  

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/LevyManual.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/property-tax-statistics
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Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

STATE PROPERTY TAX LEVY 
Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $4,432,353 24.2% 16.3% 
2020 $3,568,185 6.2% 15.8% 
2019 $3,359,107 21.8% 15.2% 
2018 $2,758,216  31.4% 13.1% 
2017 $2,099,211  1.8% 10.9% 
2016 $2,061,206 2.1% 11.4% 
2015 $2,019,486 2.3% 12.0% 
2014 $1,974,125 2.0% 12.3% 
2013 $1,935,875 2.0% 12.6% 
2012 $1,898,427 2.2% 13.2% 

 
Note: Legislation created part 2 of the state levy resulting in increased 
collections beginning in fiscal year 2018 and reduced the total rate resulting 
in decreased collections in fiscal year 2020. 
 
The Property Tax Statistics includes additional property tax collection 
information. 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The General Fund receives the taxes from the state school property tax levy 
for the support of basic education. 
 
County treasurers distribute local property taxes to each taxing district. 

 
Levied by The state levies the state school property tax. The Department of Revenue 

calculates and apportions this tax to each county.  
 
Counties, cities, school districts, fire districts, ports, libraries, public utilities, 
hospitals, parks, and other types of local taxing districts levy local property 
taxes. 

 
Administration County assessors determine the property tax rates for their portion of the state 

school property tax levy and most local levies. Regional libraries calculate their 
own levy rates and provide county assessors this information. 
 
County treasurers collect and distribute property taxes. 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/property-tax-statistics
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Each year, property owners pay at least one-half of these taxes by April 30 and 
the rest by October 31. Penalties and interest apply to late payments. Taxes 
delinquent for more than three consecutive years result in foreclosure action 
begin taken on the property. 

 
History Property taxes started before Washington became a state. A list of significant 

historical events for property taxes in Washington can be found in the Levy 
Manual  and also at History of Major Washington Taxes. 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/LevyManual.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/LevyManual.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/history-washington-taxes/history-major-washington-taxes
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RCW Chapter 82.16 

 
Tax Base Gross income from the operation of public and privately owned utilities for 

services including transportation, communications, and the distribution of 
energy or water. In lieu of the business and occupation tax, this tax applies only 
to sales to consumers.  
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate Six different rates apply, depending upon the specific utility activity: 

Classification Rate 
Distribution of water  5.029% 
Generation/distribution of electrical power 3.8734% 
Log transportation  1.3696% 
Telegraph companies, distribution of natural gas, and collection 
of sewage  

3.852% 

Urban transportation and watercraft vessels under 65 feet in 
length  

0.642% 

Motor transportation, railroads, railroad car companies, and all 
other public service businesses  

1.926% 
 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $439,708 3.9% 1.5% 
2020 $423,230 0.4% 1.6% 
2019 $421,737 0.1% 1.6% 
2018 $421,403  -1.1% 1.8% 
2017 $425,985  1.3% 1.9% 
2016 $420,623 5.0% 2.1% 
2015 $400,482 -3.2% 2.1% 
2014 $413,682 4.6% 2.3% 
2013 $395,622 4.9% 2.3% 
2012 $377,245 -5.8% 2.3% 

 

 
 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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Distribution of 
Receipts 
 

The General Fund receives all these taxes except for the following deposits into 
the Education Legacy Trust Account: 
• 20% of receipts from the 4.7% tax on water distribution. 
• 60% of receipts from the 3.6% tax on sewerage collection. 
 
Beginning July 1, 2023, the Education Legacy Trust Account receives these 
taxes rather than the Public Works Assistance Account. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue  

 
History A comprehensive history of the public utilities tax can be found at  

History of Major Washington Taxes. 
 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/history-washington-taxes/history-major-washington-taxes
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RCW Chapter 54.28 

 
Tax Base Amounts received by a public utility district (PUD) for the sale of electricity the 

district generated, transmitted, or distributed. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate For hydroelectric dams and other electricity generating facilities: 

• 2% on sales of power distributed through a district’s own distribution 
systems to consumers. 

• 5% on the first 4 mils per kilowatt hour for either: 
o The wholesale value of self-generated energy distributed to a 

district’s customers. 
o The revenue from the resale of self-generated energy. 

 
For thermal electric generating facilities: 
• 1.5% of the wholesale value of energy produced for sale or use. 

 
An additional 7% surtax applies to all of the above.  

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $58,579 0.4% 0.2% 
2020 $58,356 -0.4% 0.2% 
2019 $58,608 2.9% 0.2% 
2018 $56,942  5.6% 0.2% 
2017 $53,903  5.3% 0.2% 
2016 $51,180 0.5% 0.3% 
2015 $50,924 3.2% 0.3% 
2014 $49,342 3.2% 0.3% 
2013 $47,816 6.7% 0.3% 
2012 $44,815 12.9% 0.3% 

    

 
  

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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Distribution of 
Receipts 

Hydroelectric dams and other electricity generating facilities taxes distribute 
as follows: 
• 4% to the General Fund. 
• The other 96% splits with: 

o 37.6% going to the General Fund for public schools. 
o The rest going proportionately to the counties with a generating 

facility. 
 
Thermal electric generating facilities taxes distribute as follows: 
• 4% to the General Fund. 
• The other 96% splits with: 

o 50% going to the General Fund for public schools. 
o 22% going to counties. 
o 23% going to cities. 
o 3% going to fire protection districts. 
o 2% going to library districts. 

 
The General Fund receives all of the 7% surtax. 

 
Levied by State and cities 

 
Cities may tax PUD facilities located within city boundaries based on gross 
revenues from the sale of electricity to consumers within the city.  

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
Public utility districts report and pay the tax using the PUD Privilege Tax Return 
by February 25 for the prior year.   

 
History 2021 Changed the due date to February 25th and directed the state treasurer 

to distribute the taxes at the same time as local sales and use tax 
distributions. 

 
2018    Beginning January 1, 2018, required the public utilities districts to 

calculate the tax due instead of the department. Also allowed the 
public utility districts to report the PUD privilege tax at the same 
frequency as their excise tax returns. 

 
2017 The PUD privilege tax became subject to the general administrative 

provisions of RCW Title 82. 
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2011 Specified special tax receipts distribution for certain districts. 
 
2010 Added “regularly recurring charge billed to consumers as a condition of 

receiving electric energy” to the definition of gross income. 
 
2004 Clarified that when public utility districts provide wholesale 

telecommunications services they must separately account for those 
revenues.  

 
1983 Made the surtax permanent. 
 
1982 Added a surtax of 7% to the PUD tax rates. 
 
1977 Established the 1.5% rate on wholesale value of power for nuclear 

generating plants at Hanford.   
 
1959 Changed the rate structure by adding a millage rate of the first 4 mils. 
 
1949 Changed the rate structure to include the tax on self-generated energy.  
 
1941 Enacted the PUD privilege tax at the rate of 2%. 
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RCW Chapters 82.45 and 82.46 

 
Tax Base Sales of real property measured by the selling price, including the amount of 

any liens, mortgages, or other debts. Typically, the seller of the property pays 
the tax. 
 
The tax also applies to transfers of controlling interests (50% or more) in 
entities that own real property in the state. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate Beginning January 1, 2023, the state graduated real estate excise tax rates 

apply to the portion of the sale price as follows: 
 

 Sales price threshold Tax Rate 
$525,000 or less 1.10% 

$525,000.01 - $1,525,000 1.28% 
$1,525,000.01 - $3,025,000 2.75% 

$3,025,000.01 or more 3.00% 
 
A flat rate of 1.28% applies to agricultural land and timberland sales.  
 
Counties, cities, and towns may add a local real estate excise tax. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $1,837,324 47.6% 6.1% 
2020 $1,245,078 5.0% 4.6% 
2019 $1,186,273 0.3% 4.6% 
2018 $1,183,271  8.7% 5.0% 
2017 $1,088,609  13.5% 4.9% 
2016 $959,492 18.6% 4.7% 
2015 $808,977 22.2% 4.3% 
2014 $662,132 13.4% 3.7% 
2013 $583,763 38.2% 3.4% 
2012 $422,360 11.2% 2.6% 

    

 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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Distribution of 
Receipts 

From January 1, 2020, through June 30, 2023, the taxes distribute as follows: 
• 79.4% goes to the General Fund. 
• 1.7% goes to the Public Works Assistance Account. 
• 1.4% goes to the City/County Assistance Fund. 
• The Education Legacy Trust Account receives the remainder. 

 
Beginning July 1, 2023, the taxes distribute as follows: 

• 79.4% goes to the General Fund. 
• 5.2% goes to the Public Works Assistance Account. 
• 1.4% goes to the City/County Assistance Fund. 
• The Education Legacy Trust Account receives the remainder. 

 
Levied by State, counties, and cities 

 
Administration Department of Revenue and county treasurers 

 
County treasurers collect the tax at the time of sale and send the taxes to 
the state treasurer.  
 
For transfers of controlling interests in entities that own real property, 
taxpayers pay the Department of Revenue directly.  

 
History 2022    Beginning January 1, 2023, exempted the sale or transfer of real 

property to a qualifying grantee using the property as low-income 
housing. 

 
2019    Adopted graduated state real estate excise tax rates.  
 
2019    Reinstated the exemption for sales of qualified manufactured/mobile 

home communities until January 1, 2030.  
 
2019    Exempted the sale of self-help housing by an affordable 

homeownership facilitator to a low-income household.  
 

 For a comprehensive real estate excise tax history prior to 2019, refer to the 
dor.wa.gov webpage History of Major Washington Taxes. 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/history-washington-taxes/history-major-washington-taxes
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RCW 82.08.020(2) and 82.08.011 

 
Tax Base The rental price paid for the rental of a passenger car for no more than 30 

consecutive days.  
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 
 
This tax is in addition to state and local retail sales taxes. 

 
Tax Rate 5.9% 

 
For information about the local portion of this tax imposed by counties and 
other jurisdictions refer to the Local Tax Reference Guide. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $20,643 -34.8% 0.1% 
2020 $31,663 -12.3% 0.1% 
2019 $36,110 6.1% 0.1% 
2018 $34,047  4.4% 0.1% 
2017 $32,611  2.7% 0.1% 
2016 $31,765 8.7% 0.2% 
2015 $29,218 8.9% 0.2% 
2014 $26,826 16.4% 0.2% 
2013 $23,039 -2.7% 0.1% 
2012 $23,672 2.7% 0.1% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Multimodal Transportation Account receives these taxes.  

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Reports/Local_Tax_Reference_Guide.pdf
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History 2000 Repealed the motor vehicle excise tax and directed the receipts from 
the rental car tax to the newly created Multimodal Transportation 
Account. 

 
1992 Adopted the rental car tax at a rate of 5.9% effective January 1, 1993. 
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RCW 70A.205.405 

 
Tax Base The retail sales of each new replacement vehicle tire. 

 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate $1.00 per tire 

 
The seller may retain 10% of the fee to cover the cost of collection. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $4,264  0.7% 0.01% 
2020 $4,232 -5.9% 0.02% 
2019 $4,496  9.1% 0.02% 
2018 $4,123  -3.3% 0.02% 
2017 $4,262  -0.3% 0.02% 
2016 $4,276 15.2% 0.02% 
2015 $3,713  -1.3% 0.02% 
2014 $3,763  2 .4% 0.02% 
2013 $3,674   1.0% 0.02% 
2012 $3,638  -4.5% 0.02% 

    

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Waste Tire Removal Account receives the fees. 
 
On September 1 of odd-numbered years, any balance of more than $1 million 
transfers to the Motor Vehicle Account. 
 
The Department of Ecology uses the Waste Tire Removal Account funds to 
clean up and prevent unauthorized piles of waste vehicle tires. 
 
For the 2021-2023 biennium, funds may transfer from the Waste Tire Removal 
Account to the Department of Transportation to address the risks of safety and 
public health associated with homeless encampments on Department of 
Transportation owned rights-of-way. 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue  

 
The buyer pays the fee to the seller. The seller collects the tax and reports 
the number of new tires sold to the department. The seller may retain up to 
10% of the fees collected.  

 
History 2022    Enacted allowing transfers from the Waste Tire Removal Account to 

the Department of Transportation, during the 2021-2023 fiscal 
biennium, to address the risk to safety and public health associated 
with homeless encampments on Department of Transportation owned 
rights-of-way. 

 
2017 Enacted the transfer of balances of more than $1 million in the Waste 

Tire Removal Account to the Motor Vehicle Account on September 1 
of odd-numbered years. 

 
2009 Repealed the June 30, 2010, sunset date. 
 
2005 For a second time, the legislature adopted a $1.00 per tire fee to 

sunset on June 30, 2010. 
 
1994 Expired the tire fee on September 30. 
 
1989 Changed the fee to $1.00 per tire. 
 
1985 Adopted the replacement tire fee at a rate of 0.12% of gross receipts 

from the sale of replacement vehicle tires.  
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RCW Chapter 82.08 

 
Tax Base The price when selling tangible personal property, certain services, and other 

products.  
 
Unless specifically excluded, the tax applies to sales of: 
• Tangible personal property. 
• Digital goods, digital codes, and digital automated services. 
• Certain services, such as installation, repair, cleaning, altering, improving 

construction, and decorating. 
• Extended warranties to consumers. 
• Certain recreational activities. 
• Lodging for less than 30 days. 
• Other products included in definition of retail sale. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate 6.5% 

 
An additional 0.3% state tax applies to sale or lease of new motor vehicles and 
the sale used motor vehicles.  

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $12,525,688 10.3% 46.2% 
2020 $11,357,457 1.7% 47.3% 
2019 $11,170,430 8.5% 48.7% 
2018 $10,291,675  8.2% 48.8% 
2017 $9,514,975  6.0% 49.5% 
2016 $8,979,623 8.8% 49.6% 
2015 $8,255,132 6.9% 48.9% 
2014 $7,720,827 7.1% 48.2% 
2013 $7,208,288 6.7% 47.0% 
2012 $6,755,380 1.5% 46.8% 

 

 
 
 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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Distribution of 
Receipts 

The General Fund receives these taxes, except as follows: 
• The Multimodal Transportation Account receives the 0.3% additional tax on 

motor vehicle sales or leases.  
• The Advanced Environmental Mitigation Account receives the tax from 

sales of leaded racing fuel. 
• the Statewide Tourism Marketing Account receives 0.2% of the tax from 

lodging, car rentals, and restaurants, not exceeding $3 million per 
biennium. 

• The Office of the Washington State Auditor receives 0.16% of these taxes 
to fund comprehensive performance audits. 

 
Levied by State  

 
For information about local sales taxes, refer to the Local Tax Reference Guide 
or the Association of Washington Cities (AWC).  

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
A buyer pays the tax to the seller. The seller pays the tax to the Department of 
Revenue.  

 
History 2022    Expanded and extended the rural data center sales and use tax 

exemption. Also created an exemption for certain urban data centers. 
The rural data center exemption expires July 1, 2048, and the urban 
data center exemption expires July 1, 2038.  

 
2022    Created a sales and use tax deferral program for eligible investment 

projects in clean technology manufacturing, clean alternative fuels 
production, and renewable energy storage. This program will expire 
January 1, 2033.  

 
2022    Created a sales and use tax deferral for qualified construction 

projects to improve the Interstate 405/State Route 167 corridor.  
 
2022    Extended the State Route 520 Bridge Replacement and High-

Occupancy Vehicle project sales and use tax deferral to 24 years after 
project completion.  

 
2022    Created a sales and use tax deferral for the construction of solar 

canopies placed on large-scale commercial parking lots and other 
similar areas.  

https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Reports/Local_Tax_Reference_Guide.pdf
https://wacities.org/data-resources
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2022   Created a sales and use tax deferral for the construction of 
manufacturing and research development facilities and/or the 
acquisition of eligible machinery and equipment in counties with a 
population of less than 650,000.  

 
2022    Expanded the retail sales and use tax exemption for renewable 

hydrogen production to include green electrolytic hydrogen 
production.) 

 
2021 Exempted qualifying grants from sales and use tax. “Qualifying grant” 

means government-funded financial assistance given to address the 
impact of conditions giving rise to a national emergency, including 
the COVID-19 pandemic. Also amended the definition of “retail sale” 
to clarify that the tax applies to purchases of tangible personal 
property and certain services made using qualifying grant. These 
changes were effective retroactively to February 29, 2020.  

 
2021 Created a hydrogen fuel cell powered vehicle sales and use tax 

exemption program.  
 
2021 Exempted qualifying salmon recovery grants from the tax. 
 
2021 Expanded the farmworker sales and use tax exemption set to expire 

January 1, 2032.  
 
2020 Excluded “Land development and management” services from the tax 

as “services rendered in respect to” construction activities if a person 
not responsible for the construction activities provides these services. 

 
2020 Expanded the retail sales and use tax exemption for new battery-

powered electric marine propulsion systems and extended the 
expiration date to July 1, 2030. 

 
2020 Created a sales and use tax exemption on the purchase or use of 

feminine hygiene products. 
 
2020 Extended the sales and use tax exemption for large private airplanes 

purchased or used by nonresidents, and the charges for services to 
repair, clean, alter, or improve such airplanes to July 1, 2031.  

 
2019 Created a 50% sales and use tax exemption for solar energy systems 

with power output ratings over 100 kW AC and under 500 kW AC on 
equipment installed from January 1, 2020, through January 1, 2030.  
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2019 Created a sales and use tax exemption for solar energy systems with 
power output ratings of no more than 100 kilowatts (kW) AC of 
electricity on equipment installed from July 1, 2019, through January 
1, 2030.  

 
2019    Expanded the sales and use tax exemption for personal property sold 

between two political subdivisions to include personal property 
transferred during the merger of two political subdivisions. Also 
exempted, personal property owned by one political subdivision and 
shared with another political subdivision as part of a contractual 
consolidation from the tax, if the party that originally paid the sales 
and use tax continues to benefit from the use of the property.  

 
2019 Amended and extended the retail sales and use tax exemption on 

purchases of machinery and equipment (M&E) and associated 
installation labor for M&E used at facility capable of generating at 
least 1,000 watts AC of electricity from certain renewable sources. 

 
2019 Created a sales and use tax exemption for the sale or use of new 

battery-powered electric marine propulsion systems. The prior 
exemption expired July 1, 2015.  

 
2019 Addressed conflicts between current sales tax laws and a U.S. 

Supreme Court decision ( South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc.)  Businesses 
with over $100,000 in sales must collect sales tax. Businesses 
facilitating sales must collect sales tax for their sellers.  

 
2019    Removed the requirement for registered tow truck operators to collect 

sales tax on sales of abandoned vehicles when sold at a public 
auction, or to a licensed vehicle wrecker, hulk hauler, or scrap 
processor. 
 

2019    Changed the existing nonresident sales tax exemption to a refund 
program.  

 
2019 Modified the sales and use tax exemption on sales of standard 

financial information to qualifying international investment 
management companies to only apply to persons qualifying for the 
preferential business and occupation tax rate and their affiliates also 
extended the exemption to July 1, 2031.  
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2019 Expanded the electric vehicle battery and infrastructure sales and use 
tax exemption to include fuel cells for electric vehicles and buses, 
hydrogen fueling stations, and renewable hydrogen production 
facilities. Extended the exemption to July 1, 2025.  

 
2019 Created a sales and use tax exemption for the sale or lease of new 

and used clean alternative fuel passenger vehicles.  
  
2019 Created a sales and use tax deferral for the redevelopment of a 

multipurpose sports and entertainment facility owned by King County 
and used to attract professional ice hockey and basketball league 
franchises. Repaying the deferred taxes occurred no later than June 
30, 2023. 

  
For sales tax history prior to 2019, see the History of Major Washington Taxes. 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/history-washington-taxes/history-major-washington-taxes
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RCW Chapter 82.18 

 
Tax Base Charges to the consumer for solid waste collection services by a solid waste 

collector who collects, transfers, stores, or disposes of solid waste. The charge 
does not apply to hazardous or toxic wastes or materials collected primarily for 
recycling or salvage. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate 3.6% 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $56,757 5% 0.2% 
2020 $54,253 8% 0.2% 
2019 $50,007 3% 0.2% 
2018 $48,506  7% 0.2% 
2017 $45,239  5% 0.2% 
2016 $42,912 7% 0.2% 
2015 $40,047 7% 0.2% 
2014 $37,352 5% 0.2% 
2013 $35,530 4% 0.2% 
2012 $34,281 2% 0.2% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Education Legacy Trust Account receives these taxes until June 30, 2023. 
Beginning July 1, 2023, the Public Works Assistance Account receives them. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue   

 
The service provider collects the tax from consumers and reports and remits 
the tax.   
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History 2017 Extended the Education Legacy Trust Account receiving all receipts until 
June 30, 2023.  

 
2013 Rerouted tax receipts from the Public Works Assistance Account to the 

Education Legacy Trust Account from July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019, the 
Education Legacy Trust Account receives all receipts from the tax. 

 
2012 Changed the accounts receiving these taxes from July 1, 2011, through 

June 30, 2015, the General Fund received all tax receipts. From July 1, 
2015, through June 30, 2018, the General Fund received 50% of the 
receipts and the Public Works Assistance Account received the 
remainder.  

 
1995 Expired the 1% companion solid waste collection tax on June 30, 1995. 
 
1989 The name of the tax changed from "refuse" to "solid waste" collection 

tax. Levied a companion tax of 1% on customers of solid waste 
collection businesses.  

 
1986 Enacted a refuse collection tax paid by consumers using refuse 

collection services. Previously, public utility tax applied to refuse 
collection. 
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RCW 82.08.150 

 
Tax Base Spirits sold in the original packaging, measured per liter.  

 
The term “spirits” means any beverage containing alcohol obtained by 
distillation, including wines with more than 24% alcohol by volume but 
excluding flavored malt beverages. 
 
Retail sales tax does not apply to purchases of spirits by consumers. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate $3.7708 per liter for consumers 

$2.4408 per liter for on-premises retailers (restaurant, bars, etc.) 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $186,954 7.1% 0.6% 
2020 $174,505 6.6% 0.7% 
2019 $163,657 4.0% 0.6% 
2018  $157,388  3.7% 0.7% 
2017  $151,822  2.9% 0.7% 
2016 $147,541 3.8% 0.7% 
2015 $142,137 1.9% 0.8% 
2014 $139,549 0.7% 0.8% 
2013 $138,635 4.0% 0.8% 
2012 $133,250 6.4% 0.8% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The General Fund receives all receipts from this tax. 

 
Levied by State 
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Administration Department of Revenue 
 
The buyer pays the tax to the seller. The seller reports and pays the tax to the 
Department of Revenue.  
 
Distributors and retailers must obtain a license to sell spirits from the Liquor 
and Cannabis Board. 
 
The Liquor and Cannabis Board conducts enforcement activities. 

 
History 2021    Exempted sales of “mini-bottles” from the spirits liter tax. The 

exemption expired July 1, 2023. 
 
2011 Voters passed Initiative 1183 privatizing the sale of liquor. Before this 

initiative passed, only the Liquor Control Board supplied spirits and 
sold spirits at a bottle price that included the spirits tax. The initiative 
made the Department of Revenue responsible for collecting the 
spirits liter tax. 

 
2009 Directed receipts from the 7 cents per liter tax, the 41 cents per liter 

tax, and the $1.33 per liter tax to the General Fund. 
 
2005 Added an additional tax of $1.33 per liter to the total consumer tax 

rate and directed the funds to the General Fund, Health Services 
Account, and Violence Reduction and Drug Enforcement Account. 

 
1994 The temporary 7 cents per liter tax became permanent. 
 
1993 Enacted an additional tax of 20 cents per liter and deposited the 

receipts in the Health Services Account to fund public healthcare 
services. Scheduled the additional tax to increase to 30 cents on July 
1, 1995, and to 41 cents on July 1, 1997.   

 
1989 Enacted a temporary 7 cent per liter tax and deposited the receipts in 

the Violence Reduction and Drug Enforcement Account to fund drug 
education and enforcement programs. 

 
1982 The tax rate increased to $1.9608 per liter with the addition of a 14 

percent surtax. 
 
1981 Changed the basis of the tax from ounces to liters and set the tax rate 

to $1.72 per liter. 
 



Spirits Liter Tax 
 

 Tax Reference Manual Page 93 

1971 The tax rate increased to 4 cents per ounce. 
 
1965 The tax rate increased to 2 cents per ounce. 
 
1961 Established the liquor liter tax at 1.1 cents per ounce. 
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RCW 82.08.150 

 
Tax Base The selling price of spirits in the original packaging.  

 
The term “spirits” means any beverage containing alcohol obtained by 
distillation, including wines with more than 24% alcohol by volume but 
excluding flavored malt beverages. 
 
Retail sales tax does not apply to purchases of spirits by consumers. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate 20.5% for consumers 

13.7% for on-premises retailers (restaurants, bars, etc.) 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $208,891 13.4% 0.7% 
2020 $184,259 10.2% 0.7% 
2019 $167,222 7.0% 0.6% 
2018 $156,304  5.2% 0.7% 
2017 $148,589  5.0% 0.7% 
2016 $141,573 6.7% 0.7% 
2015 $132,646 3.8% 0.7% 
2014 $127,826 1.0% 0.7% 
2013 $126,539 16.7% 0.7% 
2012 $108,465 6.2% 0.7% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The following funds receive a portion of these taxes: 
• The General Fund receives 74% of the taxes. 
• The Liquor Excise Tax Fund receives 26% of the taxes. 

 
Levied by State 
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Administration Department of Revenue 
 
The buyer pays the tax to the seller. The seller reports and pays the tax to the 
Department of Revenue.  
 
Distributors and retailers must obtain a license to sell spirits from the Liquor 
and Cannabis Board. 
 
Enforcement activities related to the spirits sales tax are performed by the 
Liquor and Cannabis Board. 

 
History 2021    Exempted sales of “mini-bottles” from the spirits liter tax. The 

exemption expired July 1, 2023. 
 
2011 Voters passed initiative 1183, privatizing the sale of liquor. Before 

this initiative passed, only the Liquor Control Board supplied spirits 
and sold spirits at a bottle price that included the spirits tax. The 
initiative made the Department of Revenue responsible for collecting 
the spirits sales tax. 

 
2009 Redirected receipts from the additional taxes from the Health 

Services Account to the General Fund. 
 
2003 Strong beer (more than 8% alcohol by weight) shifted from the liquor 

sales tax to the beer excise tax. 
 
1993 Enacted additional tax rates and deposited the taxes in the Health 

Services Account to fund public healthcare services. The initial rates 
were 1.7% for consumers and 1.1% to class H licensees. Scheduled 
the additional taxes to increase to 2.6% and 1.7% on July 1, 1995, and 
to 3.4% and 2.3% on July 1, 1997.  

 
1982 Added a 14% surtax to the basic rate. The definition of strong beer 

increased from 4% to 8% alcohol by weight. 
 
1959 The tax rate increased to 15% for sales to consumers. 
 
1951 Adopted the liquor sales tax at a rate of 10% and exempted liquor 

from the retail sales tax. 
 
1949 Repealed the liquor sales tax. 
 
1943 Added a “war liquor tax” of 10%. 
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1939 Extended the retail sales tax to sales by the Liquor Control Board. 
 
1935 Adopted the liquor sales tax. 
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RCW 46.37.427 

 
Tax Base Retail sales of new studded vehicle tires, excluding bicycle tires and 

retreaded vehicle tires. This fee is in addition to all other fees imposed on 
retail tire sales. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate $5.00 per studded tire 

 
Vendors retain 10% of the fee receipts to cover the cost of collection. 

 
Recent 
Collections  
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $255 -16.9% 0.001% 
2020 $307 -13.5% 0.001% 
2019 $355 -13.1% 0.001% 
2018 $408 -16.8% 0.002% 
2017 $491 - 0.002% 
2016 - - - 
2015 - - - 

    

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Motor Vehicle Fund receives all the receipts from this fee.  

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
Vendors report the number of studded tires sold and fees collected, less 
10%, on the combined excise tax return. The fee receipts are trust funds of 
the state. 

 
History 2015 Established the studded tire fee effective July 1, 2016. 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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RCW Chapter 82.64 

 
Tax Base The wholesale or retail value of syrup used in making carbonated beverages.  

 
Syrup is a concentrated liquid that, when added to carbonated water, produces 
a carbonated beverage.  
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate $1.00 per gallon 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $11,090 66% 0.04% 
2020 $6,697 -12% 0.02% 
2019 $7,579 -49% 0.03% 
2018 $14,915  109% 0.06% 
2017 $7,122  -18% 0.03% 
2016 $8,650 26% 0.04% 
2015 $6,847 -10% 0.04% 
2014 $7,636 -11% 0.04% 
2013 $8,575 200% 0.05% 
2012 $2,855 -82% 0.02% 

    

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The General Fund receives all receipts from this tax. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
Wholesalers collect the syrup tax when they sell the syrup. Retailers pay the 
tax directly to the Department if they did not pay the tax on a wholesale 
purchase.   
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History 2009 Removed the transfer of Syrup tax receipts to the Violence Reduction 
and Drug Enforcement Account. Directed receipts to the General 
Fund. 

 
1994 Voters approved Referendum 43 extending the syrup tax by 

eliminating the expiration date. This measure also repealed the 
carbonated beverage tax on canned and bottled drinks and increased 
the syrup tax from $0.75 to $1.00 per gallon. 

 
1991 Modified the tax from a first possession tax to one that applied at 

both the wholesale and retail level, while exempting subsequent 
sales of previously taxed products. 

 
1989 The first carbonated beverage and syrup tax became effective July 1, 

1989. The original tax applied to canned and bottled carbonated 
beverages at a rate of 0.084 cents per ounce as well as a $0.75 tax 
per gallon of syrup used to produce carbonated beverages. The tax 
expired after six years. 
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RCW 82.14B.030 and 82.86.020 

 
Tax Base Subscribers of telephone services including switched access lines (wireline), 

radio access lines (wireless), and Voice Over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service 
and consumers of prepaid wireless services. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate 911 excise tax: 

• State rate is 25 cents per month per radio access line, VoIP line, switched 
access line, or per retail transaction of prepaid wireless services.  

• County rate is 70 cents per month per radio access line, VoIP line, switched 
access line, or per retail transaction of prepaid wireless services.  
 

Statewide 988 tax: 
• State rate is 40 cents per month per radio access line, VoIP line, switched 

access line, or per retail transaction for prepaid wireless services, effective 
January 1, 2023. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $28,176 3.3% 0.1% 
2020 $27,273 2.8% 0.1% 
2019 $26,525 1.0% 0.1% 
2018 $26,256  1.5% 0.1% 
2017 $25,860  2.4% 0.1% 
2016 $25,249 0.4% 0.1% 
2015 $25,158 -6.1% 0.1% 
2014 $26,774 -21.0% 0.2% 
2013 $33,906 6.4% 0.2% 
2012 $31,874 -0.3% 0.2% 
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Distribution of 
Receipts 

The State 911 Account receives the state 911 excise tax.  
 
The County 911 Excise Tax Account receives the county 911 excise tax  
 
Proceeds from these state and county taxes finance the 911 emergency 
communications system. 
  
The Statewide 988 Behavioral Health Crisis Response and Suicide Prevention 
Line Account receives the Statewide 988 tax and uses the funds to finance state 
crisis hotline call center(s), crisis call center hub(s), and for personnel providing 
crisis services.  

 
Levied by State and counties 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
Telephone companies and retailers of prepaid wireless services collect and 
remit both the state and county taxes to the Department.  

 
History 2022 Mandated that the State 911 Account receive from the 911 excise taxes 

and used these funds to manage the statewide 911 network and to 
assist and the Washington State Patrol and counties in providing a 
baseline level of service for 911 operations. 

 
2021 Created a statewide 988 behavioral health crisis response and suicide 

prevention line tax. Beginning October 1, 2021, through December 31, 
2022, the tax rate was 24 cents for each access line. Beginning January 
1, 2023, the tax rate increased to 40 cents. 

 
2014 Beginning January 1, 2014, shifted prepaid wireless E911 tax collection 

from individual telecommunication providers to retailers selling prepaid 
wireless services. Also allowed these retailers to charge an additional 
five cents per transaction as compensation for collecting the E911 
taxes, through June 30, 2018. 

 
2013 Eliminated the telephone assistance tax (WTAP) and telephone relay 

service tax (TRS) and replaced them with biennial general fund 
appropriations. 
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2011 Made the Department of Revenue responsible for administration of 
both state and county E911 excise taxes. Also, included VoIP lines in the 
tax base for both state and county E911 excise taxes. The maximum 
state E911 excise tax rate increased to 25 cents and the maximum 
county E911 excise tax rate increased to 70 cents. 

 
2004  Transferred the responsibility for collecting the TRS and WTAP taxes to 

the Department of Revenue. 
 
2002 Extended the state tax to wireless telephones and increased the 

maximum rate of the county tax on wireless lines to 50 cents. 
Responsibility for collecting the state E911 telephone tax transferred 
from the State Military Department to the Department of Revenue. 

 
1994 Authorized the county tax on wireless lines at a maximum rate of 25 

cents per line.  
 
1991 Voters approved Referendum 42 creating the state E911 excise tax 

effective January 1, 1992, with a maximum state rate of 20 cents per 
switched line, to ensure funding for the implementation of a statewide 
E911 telephone system.  

 
1987 Established the TRS tax to fund telephone services for persons with 

hearing difficulties at a maximum rate of 10 cents per switched line. 
Also, adopted the WTAP tax to fund telecommunication services for 
low-income households at a maximum rate of 16 cents per switched 
line. The Department of Social and Health Services administered both 
taxes. Also, permitted a county legislative authority to levy a tax on 
behalf of an emergency service communication district, which could 
serve an area less than countywide.  

 
1981 Authorized a countywide tax on switched telephone lines. 
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RCW Chapter 84.33 

 
Tax Base The stumpage value of timber harvested for sale or for commercial or industrial 

use. Taxpayers determined stumpage value using the Stumpage Value Tables 
published by the Department of Revenue with the following exceptions: 
• Small harvesters may elect to report the actual gross receipts received from 

the sales of the timber. 
• The stumpage value for timber harvested on public land is the amount paid 

for the timber. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 
 
Timber excise tax is in addition to the business and occupation tax.  

 
Tax Rate 5% including the: 

• 1% state rate. 
• 4% county rate. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 
  

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $(281) -67% 0.00% 
2020 $(840) -137% 0.00% 
2019 2,299 43% 0.01% 
2018 $1,610  -10% 0.01% 
2017 $1,786  -33% 0.01% 
2016 $2,669 23% 0.01% 
2015 $2,166 -21% 0.01% 
2014 $2,742 -3% 0.02% 
2013 $2,821 -19% 0.02% 
2012 $3,492 -13% 0.02% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Timber Tax Distribution Account receives all taxes and distributed them as 
follows: 
• 20% to the General Fund. 
• 80% to the county of the harvested timber. 

 
County treasurers distribute funds to:  
1. Taxing districts for capital projects. 
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2. School districts. 
3. Taxing districts in proportion to the timber assessed value of each district. 

 
Levied by State and counties 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
A harvester with an active permit must report and pay these taxes quarterly 
until a harvest is complete. 

 
History 2021    Extended the expiration date for the reporting requirement for 

purchasers of privately owned timber to September 30, 2025. 
 
2017 Required the Department of Revenue to estimate the amount of public 

forest land available for timber harvesting by October 1 each year.  
 
2014 Reduced the minimum size requirement for designated forest land 

from 20 acres to 5 acres. New provisions required devotion of forest 
land parcels to primarily growing and harvesting timber. The parcels 
cannot include any residence, building improvements, or land used for 
a homesite.  

 
2010 The Pollution Control Hearing Board began reviewing applications for 

the timber harvest tax credit for Enhanced Aquatic Resource 
Requirements. Previously, the Forest Practices Appeals Board reviewed 
applications. Also, added reporting requirements timber purchases and 
made privately purchased timber reports confidential. Extended the 
expiration date for the reporting requirements for timber purchase to 
July 1, 2014. 

 
2008 Authorized special valuation of timber impacted by the 2007 floods in 

the Presidential Declared Disaster Area counties. Allowed small 
harvesters who cut less than 5 million board feet of timber annually 
from federally designated impact counties to base their excise tax on 
sales receipts, less expenses, rather than using the Department’s 
stumpage value tables. 

 
2007 Authorized the Governor to enter into an agreement with the Quinault 

Indian Nation relating to the imposition of a tribal timber excise tax. 
Required the tribal timber harvest excise tax rate to equal to the state 
timber tax rate. 
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2004 Instituted a ten-year phase-down of the state tax on timber harvested 
on public lands and a corresponding transfer of this tax to counties. The 
change did not impact the amount of tax paid by harvesters but 
required the state and county tax rates be the same by 2014. Also 
exempted all standing timber from property tax.  

 
1999 Established a new program to protect salmon habitats and added a 

timber excise tax credit for harvesters impacted by the enhanced 
aquatic resource requirements as determined by the Department of 
Natural Resources. 

 
1984 Adopted a phase-down of the 6.5% tax. Beginning July 1, 1985, 

reduced the rate to 5%, of which 4% goes to the county of the 
harvested timber. 

 
1982 Extended the forest tax to timber harvested on state and federally 

owned lands with receipts from public lands going to the General Fund 
and receipts from private lands going to local governments. 

 
1981 Established forest land values and adjusted the forest values annually 

based on the change in harvest value over the prior five years. 
 
1971 Enacted the forest tax and replaced the property tax on timber grown 

on privately owned lands. The tax phased in over a period of three 
years, with the final rate of 6.5% effective by 1975. The value of bare 
forest lands and parcels of at least 20 acres continued to be subject to 
property taxes. 

 
1931 Enacted the Reforestation Act was providing an alternative to property 

tax on harvested lands or lands producing less than their potential. 
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RCW Chapter 82.26 

 
Tax Base The sale, handling, or distribution of tobacco products. The tax applies to the 

first taxable activity occurring in Washington. and is a percentage of the selling 
price, by item, or by weight. 
 
Tobacco products subject to the tax:  
• Cigars. 
• Pipe tobacco. 
• Chewing tobacco. 
• All other forms of tobacco, except for cigarettes. 
 
This tax is in addition to the state and local retail sales, use, business and 
occupation, and litter taxes that may apply. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes. 
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate Tobacco products tax rates: 

 
Tobacco Product Tax Rate 
Moist snuff, for cans with net weight 
of 1.2 ounces or less $2.526 per can 

Moist snuff, for cans with net weight 
greater than 1.2 ounces $2.105 per ounce 

Cigars (except little cigars) 95% of taxable sales price, not to 
exceed $0.65 per cigar 

Little cigars (cigars that have a 
cellulose acetate integrated filter) 

$0.15125 per stick ($3.025 per pack 
of 20) 

All other tobacco products 95% of taxable sales price 
 

 
  

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $51,679 -2.6% 0.2% 
2020 $53,061 -13.0% 0.2% 
2019 $61,011 6.8% 0.2% 
2018 $57,110  8.9% 0.2% 
2017 $52,437  1.5% 0.2% 
2016 $51,641 11.0% 0.3% 
2015 $46,517 0.1% 0.2% 
2014 $46,469 7.2% 0.3% 
2013 $43,337 -6.9% 0.3% 
2012 $46,569 0.4% 0.3% 

 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The General Fund receives all the taxes.  

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
Distributors and retailers of tobacco products must obtain a license, which 
includes a criminal background check.  
 
The tax is reported and paid on the excise tax return.  

 
History 2019 Reduced the 95% tax rate on other tobacco products by: 

• 50% for products issued a modified risk tobacco product order by 
the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
stating the products may be commercially marketed. 

• 25% for products issued a modified risk tobacco product order by 
the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
stating the products may be sold but not marketed. 

 
2010 Increased the tax rate to 95% of taxable value except for little cigars and 

moist snuff. Taxed little cigars at the same rate as cigarettes and taxed 
moist snuff based on net weight.  

 
2009 Required the General Fund receive all the taxes and ended 27 years of 

other accounts receiving funds. 
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2005 Reduced the tax rate to 75% of a redefined taxable value and made 
regulatory changes to reduce tax evasion. 

 
2002 Voters passed Initiative 733 increasing the tobacco products tax rate to 

129.42% of wholesale value. Dedicated the additional revenues to 
health services. 
 

1993 Added an additional 10% tax to fund healthcare. 
 
1986 Added an additional 16.75% tax to fund water quality. 
 
1982 Added surtaxes of 4% and 3%. 
 
1971 The tax rate increased to 45%. 
 
1965 The tax rate increased to 30%. 
 
1959 Established the tobacco tax at a rate of 25% of wholesale value and 

directed the taxes to the General Fund. 
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RCW Chapters 50.04, 50.12, 50.24, 50.29, 50.44, and 50.50 

 
Tax Base Wages paid to employees up to the taxable wage base. Wages include:   

• The amount each employee is paid for working, whether paid as a fixed 
salary, hourly pay or overtime. 

• Reportable paid earning for vacation or holidays. 
• Tips reported by the employee. 
• Bonuses or prizes. 
• Non-cash payments, such as meals and lodging. 
• Sick leave under a nonqualified plan. 
 
The taxable wage base is the maximum amount on which an employer must 
pay taxes for each employee. For 2022, each employer pays taxes on the first 
$62,500 of each employee's wages. 

 
Tax Rate The 2022 rates: 

• Employers in the lowest rate class pay 0.23%. 
• Employers in the highest rate class pay 6.02%. 
• The average rate is 1.30%. 
 
The basic unemployment compensation tax rate combines the: 
• Experience-rated tax. 
• Shared-cost tax. 
• Employment Administration Fund tax. 
 
Experience-rated tax 
The experience-rated tax is based on an employer’s benefit claim history. 
There are 40 experience-rate classes. The rates range from 0% to 5.4%. To 
determine an employer’s rate class, divide the unemployment benefits 
charged by taxable payroll for the past four fiscal years. 
 
Social-cost tax 
The social-cost tax recovers shared costs of the insurance system that cannot 
be attributed to a specific employer. The social cost rate graduates for each 
rate class. Rate class percentages range from 40% to 120% of the social-cost 
rate. To determine the social-cost rate for an employer, multiply the social-
cost factor by the variable percentage determined by your rate class.  
 
Employment Administration Fund 
A fee assigned at either 0.02% or 0.03% to each employer. 
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Additional tax rates and fees: 
• Delinquent-tax rates: Employers considered delinquent pay tax at higher 

rates. 
• Solvency Surcharge: Applies only when the amount in the 

Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund has less than 9 months of benefits 
as of September 30. This surcharge is waived through 2025. 

 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $1,439,722 31.1% 4.8% 
2020 $1,098,144 0.5% 4.1% 
2019 $1,092,759 -1.2% 4.2% 
2018 $1,105,718 -3.2% 4.6% 
2017 $1,142,333 -11.3% 5.2% 
2016 $1,288,107 -3.5% 6.3% 
2015 $1,335,081 -13.4% 7.1% 
2014 $1,542,109 18.2% 8.7% 
2013 $1,304,462 -10.0% 7.7% 
2012 $1,448,731 -3.5% 9.0% 

   Source: Washington State Employment Security Department 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund and the Administrative Contingency 
Fund receive these taxes. The Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund funds pay 
unemployment benefits to eligible unemployed individuals. The Administrative 
Contingency Fund funds pay the Employment Security Department's 
administrative costs. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Employment Security Department 

 
Employers receives a tax rate notice in December of each year. 
 
Employers file a tax-and-wage report quarterly. 
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History 2022    The maximum social tax decreased from 0.75% to 0.50% in 2022. In 
2023, the maximum social tax declined from 0.80% to 0.70%.   

 
2021    Capped the social tax rate at varying levels by year and suspended 

the solvency surcharge for five years. 
 
2011 The tax rate declined for most employers. 
 
2010 Reduced the higher tax rates for delinquent taxpayers. Established a 

civil penalty for employers who knowingly fail to register for 
unemployment insurance. Set the maximum rate to 6% for qualified 
employers and 6.5% for delinquent employers. 

 
2005 Major revisions to the tax structure occurred. Created 40 classes to 

replace the 20 previous classes. Added the social-cost factor and the 
experience-rated factor to the calculation of the premium tax rate. 

 
1993 A seventh rate schedule was added. 
 
1984 The rate system with six schedules and 20 classifications was 

adopted. 
 
1942 Added the benefit experience factor and the maximum rate became 

2.7%. 
 
1937 Established the unemployment compensation tax as part of the Social 

Security Act. 
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RCW Chapter 82.12 

 
Tax Base The value of tangible personal property, prewritten computer software, 

services defined as a retail sale, extended warranties, digital goods, digital 
codes, or digital automated services used by the taxpayer, acquired in any 
manner, when retail sales tax has not been paid. The use tax complements, 
and in most instances mirrors, the retail sales tax. 
 
Some examples of when use tax may be due include: 
• A purchase of tangible personal property: 

o When the seller did not collect retail sales tax. 
o As a casual or isolated and the seller did not collect retail sales tax. 

• When a manufacturer uses a product, it produces. 
• Gifts and prizes. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate 6.5% 

 
An additional 0.3% state tax applies to sale or lease of new motor vehicles and 
the sale used motor vehicles. 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $847,853 16.4% 3.1% 
2020 $728,483 -4.8% 3.0% 
2019 $765,206 8.9% 3.3% 
2018 $702,756  2.9% 3.3% 
2017 $682,737  6.0% 3.5% 
2016 $643,880 8.6% 3.6% 
2015 $592,857 4.9% 3.5% 
2014 $564,996 7.8% 3.5% 
2013 $524,101 7.8% 3.4% 
2012 $486,305 -9.9% 3.4% 
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Distribution of 
Receipts 

The General Fund receives these taxes, except as follows: 
• The Multimodal Transportation Account receives the 0.3% additional tax on 

motor vehicle sales or leases.  
• The Advanced Environmental Mitigation Account receives the tax from 

sales of leaded racing fuel. 
• The Statewide Tourism Marketing Account receives 0.2% of the tax from 

lodging, car rentals, and restaurants, not exceeding $3 million per 
biennium. 

• The Office of the Washington State Auditor receives 0.16% of these taxes 
to fund comprehensive performance audits. 

 
Levied by State 

 
For information about local use taxes refer to the Local Tax Reference Guide or 
the Association of Washington Cities (AWC). 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
Registered businesses report and pay use tax on the combined excise tax 
return. Persons not registered with the Department of Revenue report and pay 
tax on the consumer use tax return. 

 
History The use tax is a "compensating" tax related to the retail sales tax adopted in 

1935. Subsequent rate changes and most other revisions applied to both the 
retail sales and use taxes.  
 
For a comprehensive use tax history, refer to the dor.wa.gov 
webpage History of Major Washington Taxes. 

 

https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Reports/Local_Tax_Reference_Guide.pdf
https://wacities.org/data-resources
https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/history-washington-taxes/history-major-washington-taxes
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 RCW Chapter 82.25 

 
Tax Base The sale, use, consumption, handling, possession, or distribution of vapor 

products measured by the volume of the solution as listed by the 
manufacturer. 
 
Vapor products include: 
• Electronic cigarettes, cigars, cigarillos, pipes, or similar products or devices. 
• Cartridges or containers of liquid nicotine, solution, or other consumable 

substances, regardless of whether it contains nicotine. 
 
This tax is in addition to retail sales, use, business and occupation, and litter 
taxes that may apply. 
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate $0.09 per mL on accessible containers of solution greater than 5mL 

 
$0.27 per mL on all other vapor products 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $14,958 165.4% 0.05% 
2020 $5,635 - 0.02% 

    

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The follow accounts receive these taxes: 
• The Andy Hill Cancer Research Endowment Fund Match Transfer 

Account receives 50% up to $10 million. 
• The Foundational Public Health Services Account receives the 

remainder. 

 
Levied by State 
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Administration Department of Revenue 

 
Distributors and retailers of vapor products must obtain a license from the 
Liquor and Cannabis Board including a criminal background check.  
 
Taxpayers report and pay on the combined excise tax return. 

 
History 2019    Established the vapor products tax, effective October 1, 2019. 
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RCW Chapter 82.49 

 
Tax Base The purchase price or fair market value of noncommercial boats 16 feet and 

longer used on Washington waters. 
 
The Department of Revenue prepares a depreciation schedule to be used in 
the determination of fair market value. The Department of Revenue may 
appraise boats which were not purchased, or whose purchase price does not 
represent fair market value.  
 
Tax exemptions may reduce these taxes.  
For more information, refer to the Tax Exemption Study. 

 
Tax Rate 0.5%, with a minimum of $5.00 

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $20,403 19.5% 0.1% 
2020 $17,073 6.5% 0.1% 
2019 $16,030 1.7% 0.1% 
2018 $15,769 8.3% 0.1% 
2017 $14,559 5.4% 0.1% 
2016 $13,809 1.2% 0.1% 
2015 $13,649 4.7% 0.1% 
2014 $13,039 4.6% 0.1% 
2013 $12,463 0.4% 0.1% 
2012 $12,418 -8.7% 0.1% 

   Source: Washington State Department of Licensing 

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

Receipts from this tax are deposited as follows: 
• 75% to the State General Fund. 
• 25% to the Derelict Vessel Removal Account. 

 
Levied by State 

 
 
 
 

https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/tax-exemptions-2020
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Administration Department of Licensing 
 
Watercraft owners pay the tax to the Department of Licensing and its agents, 
including county auditors and authorized private firms, when first registering 
the vessel and then each June 30.  
 
The Department of Revenue collects unpaid taxes. 

 
History 2022     Redirect 25% of the taxes to the Derelict Vessel Removal Account to 

provide funding for the removal of abandoned or derelict vessels from 
waterways.  

 
2021 The Department of Revenue codified an administrative rule providing 

guidance and an overview of the watercraft excise tax and the 
watercraft depreciation schedule. The rule became effective January 1, 
2022. 

 
2014 Instituted new penalties for unregistered vessels. 
 
1983 Adopted the watercraft excise tax. Prior to this, watercraft owner paid 

personal property tax.  
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RCW 66.24.210 

 
Tax Base Each liter of wine sold to distributors, retailers, and consumers by a winery. 

 
This tax is in addition to business and occupation, and the retail sales tax or use 
tax. 

 
Tax Rate For table wines, $0.2292 per liter, which consists of: 

• A $0.2025 base rate. 
• $0.027 in additional taxes. 
 
For fortified wines, $0.4536 per liter, which consists of: 
• A $0.2025 base rate. 
• $0.2511 in additional taxes. 
 
For cider, $0.0814 per liter, which consists of: 
• A $0.0359 base rate. 
• $0.0455 in additional taxes. 

  
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $27,311 3.2% 0.1% 
2020 $26,461 4.0% 0.1% 
2019 $25,443 0.8% 0.1% 
2018 $25,244 -1.0% 0.1% 
2017 $25,487 1.9% 0.1% 
2016 $25,012 4.2% 0.1% 
2015 $24,000 -0.3% 0.1% 
2014 $24,071 0.6% 0.2% 
2013 $23,925 2.0% 0.2% 
2012 $23,450 3.2% 0.2% 

Source: Washington State Liquor & Cannabis Board 
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Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Liquor Revolving Fund receives the taxes from the base rates.  
 
Of the additional taxes: 
• The Washington Wine Commission receives 0.0025 cents of the additional 

wine and 0.0005 cents of the additional cider taxes. 
• The General Fund receives the remainder. 
 
Every quarter, Washington State University receives $0.25 per liter for wine 
and wine grape research.  

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Liquor and Cannabis Board 

 
Distributors and retailers report and pay tax on wine purchased for resale. Out 
of state wineries report wine sold and shipped to Washington consumers.  
 
Taxpayers report and pay monthly, except for wineries selling 6,000 gallons of 
wine or less per year, who may report annually. 

 
History 2016 The definition of cider changed to table wine that contains not less 

than 0.5% and not more than 8.5% alcohol by volume. 
 
2009 Discontinued the portion of the wine tax earmarked for the Violence 

Reduction and Drug Enforcement Account and the Health Services 
Account. 

 
2006 Authorized shipments of wine from wineries directly to retailers or 

consumers. 
 
1996 Established separate tax rates for cider. 
 
1994 Made permanent the additional rates established in 1989. 
 
1993 Made permanent the additional tax of 0.25 cent. 
 
1989 Adopted additional liter taxes of 1 cent for wine and 23.44 cents for 

fortified wine and scheduled them to expire in 1995. 
 
1987 Adopted an additional liter tax of 0.25 cents. 
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1982 Added a surtax of 7% of the basic rate with the General Fund 
receiving the surtax.  

 
1981 Converted the tax to the metric basis and established a basic rate of 

20.25 cents per liter. 
 
1973 Repealed the 26% tax and increase the gallon tax to 75 cents. 
 
1969 Authorized direct imports of wine from other states and removed 

wine from the 10% and 15% liquor sales taxes instead subjecting it to 
a 26% excise tax. 

 
1935 Established the wine tax at rate of 10 cents per gallon and subjected 

it to a 10% liquor sales tax. 
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RCW 70A.15.3620 

 
Tax Base A per stove fee on sales of wood stoves and solid fuel burning devices. 

 
Tax Rate $30 per stove or device 

 
The fee may be increased annually for inflation as determined by the Economic 
and Revenue Forecast Council.  

 
Recent 
Collections 
($000) 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
Collections 

 
% Change 

% of All  
State Taxes 

2021 $264 19.8% 0.001% 
2020 $220 9.4% 0.001% 
2019 $201 0.2% 0.001% 
2018 $201  -8.6% 0.001% 
2017 $220  0.5% 0.001% 
2016 $219 6.7% 0.001% 
2015 $205 -6.7% 0.001% 
2014 $220 5.7% 0.001% 
2013 $208 -6.3% 0.001% 
2012 $222 -13.9% 0.001% 

  

 
Distribution of 
Receipts 

The Wood Stove Education and Enforcement Account receives funds from this 
fee.  
 
The Department of Ecology uses the funds to educate consumers about the 
effects of wood stove smoke upon air pollution and to enforce burn restrictions 
during periods of reduced air quality. 

 
Levied by State 

 
Administration Department of Revenue 

 
Sellers of wood stoves report the fee on the combined excise tax return.   
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History 1991 Increased the fee to $30 and removed the exemption for masonry 
fireplaces. 

 
1990 The fee increased to $15. 
 
1988 Established the initial wood stove fee at $5 per stove.  
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