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Under this deferral program, the 
Washington State Department of 
Revenue pays the second installment 
of your property taxes and/or special 
assessments, due Oct. 31, on your 
behalf. The program is not an 
exemption or a grant. Deferred taxes 
are taxes that have been postponed. 
When you no longer own and use the 
property as your personal residence, 
you must repay the deferred tax. The 
deferred amount, plus interest, 
becomes a lien in favor of the state 
until the total amount is repaid.

Property tax deferral for  
homeowners with limited income

Program requirements
To be eligible for this program, you 
must meet the ownership, 
occupancy, income, and equity 
requirements. In addition, your first 
property tax installment for the year, 
due April 30, must already be paid 
and your application must be filed 
with your county assessor no later 
than Sept. 1.

Ownership and occupancy
The program is only available to 
residents and property located in 
Washington State. 

You must have owned your home for 
five years before you can apply for a 
deferral, and the home must be your 
principal place of residence when 
you apply for a deferral. You must 
have been living in the home as of 
Jan. 1 of the application year, and you 
must live there for more than nine 
months during that year and every 
subsequent year.

Your residence may qualify even if 
you are in a hospital, nursing home, 
boarding home or adult family home, 
or home of a relative for long-term 
care. Even though you currently 
reside in one of these facilities, you 
can still meet the occupancy 
requirement if your home is 
temporarily unoccupied, occupied by 
your spouse or domestic partner, or 
by someone else who is financially 
dependent on you, or if your home  
is rented to help pay for the cost of 
your stay in the facility. 

This material is intended for general information purposes and does not alter or supersede any administrative regulations or rulings issued by the 
Washington State Department of Revenue.

If you are a Washington State homeowner with limited income, there is a program that may help you pay your 
property taxes and/or special assessments.

Income limit
Your annual household disposable 
income for the previous year must be 
$57,000 or less. Household income 
includes your disposable income as 
well as the disposable income of your 
spouse or domestic partner and any 
co-tenants. A co-tenant is a person 
who lives in the home and has an 
ownership interest in the home. 
Disposable income is defined in 
statute and is not the same as your 
taxable income used for federal 
income tax purposes. For more 
information on calculating your 
income, see “Calculating Your 
Disposable Income" on page 3.

Equity
Do you have sufficient equity in your 
home? Equity is the difference 
between the assessed value of the 
property and any debts secured by 
the property.

Debts include mortgages, lines of 
credit, special assessments, and any 
other liens against the property. The 
taxes deferred cannot exceed 40% of 
your equity.
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Following is an example of the equity 
calculation:

Equity

Land assessed value $100,000

Dwelling assessed value $150,000

Total assessed value 
included in calculation

$250,000

Mortgage balance $150,000

Equity value for deferral 
program

$100,000

40% of equity value  
– maximum deferral

$40,000

You must carry fire and casualty 
insurance, and the State of 
Washington Department of Revenue 
must be listed as a “Loss Payee” on 
your policy, otherwise, we cannot 
include the value of your dwelling in 
the calculation. Provide a copy of the 
summary declaration for your policy 
when you submit your application.

How much of my property tax  
can be deferred?
If you meet the qualifications, you 
can defer the second installment of 
your property taxes and/or special 
assessments due Oct. 31. The first half 
of your taxes, due April 30, must be 
paid before applying for the deferral 
on your second installment due  
Oct. 31.

What is the interest rate?
The rate of interest for the deferral is 
based on an average of the federal 
short-term rate, plus 2%. For deferrals 
made in 2019 and 2020 under this 
program, the interest rate will be 4%. 
This rate will apply to the 2019 and 
2020 deferrals until those deferrals 
are paid in full. Any change in the 
interest rate in 2021 will not affect 
deferrals made in 2019 and 2020.

How can I apply for the deferral?
Your county assessor administers this 
program and is responsible for 
determining whether you meet the 
qualifications. You can request an 
application form from your county 
assessor, or visit our website at  
dor.wa.gov. Submit your application 
for the deferral after you have paid 
the first half of your property tax and 
prior to Sept. 1. As long as you qualify 
for the program, you can continue to 
defer your tax by submitting a 
renewal application each year.

What can I do if my deferral 
request is denied?
If your request for deferral is denied, 
the county assessor will notify you in 
writing. The written notice will 
include the reason for the denial. You 
may appeal the assessor’s decision to 
the county Board of Equalization.

When does the deferral have  
to be repaid?
At any time, you may choose to pay 
any or all of your deferral balance. 
However, you must repay the 
deferred taxes and/or special 
assessments and accrued interest if 
any of the following circumstances 
occur:

	� Your property is transferred or 
conveyed to someone else.

	� Upon your death, unless your 
surviving spouse or domestic 
partner meets the qualifications 
and elects to continue in the 
program.

	� You no longer permanently reside 
at the residence.

	� Your property is condemned.

http://dor.wa.gov
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Laws and rules
Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 
Chapter 84.37 – Property Tax Deferral 
Program

Washington Administrative Code 
(WAC) Chapter 458-18A – Limited 
Income Deferral Program

For more information
If you need an application form or 
have questions about the application 
process, contact your local county 
assessor’s office.

Calculating your disposable 
income
The disposable income you receive 
during the year before your 
application year determines your 
eligibility. You must use your 2018 
income to qualify for this deferral in 
2019. If there was a change in your 
income prior to Nov. 1, and the 
change is expected to last 
indefinitely, you may estimate annual 
income by multiplying your new 
average monthly income by 12.

Disposable income is defined in 
statute (RCW 84.36.383) and includes 
income from all sources, whether or 
not the income is taxable for federal 
income tax purposes. You must 
include nontaxable income such as 
social security, and you may not 
deduct losses and depreciation or 
use losses to offset gains.

	� Legislation passed in 2008 allows 
the exclusion of veterans' disability 
compensation and dependency 
and indemnity compensation paid 
by Department of Veterans Affairs.

	� You may deduct non-reimbursed 
amounts paid by you, your spouse, 
or your domestic partner for the 
following:

	� Amounts you pay for yourself, 
your spouse, or your domestic 
partner to live in a nursing home, 
boarding home, or adult family 
home.

	� Insurance premiums for Medicare 
under Title XVIII of the Social 
Security Act.

	� Amounts paid for prescription 
drugs for yourself, your spouse, 
or your domestic partner.

	� Amounts you pay for goods and 
services that allow you, your 
spouse, or your domestic partner 
to receive in-home care. In-home 
care includes medical treatment, 
physical therapy, Meals on 
Wheels (or similar services), and 
household and personal care. 
Personal care includes assistance 
with preparing meals, getting 
dressed, eating, taking 
medications, or personal 
hygiene. Special furniture and 
equipment such as wheelchairs, 
hospitals beds, and oxygen also 
qualify.

Visit our website at 
dor.wa.gov
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To ask about the availability of 
this publication in an alternate 
format for the visually impaired, 
please call 360-705-6705. 
Teletype (TTY) users may use 
the WA Relay Service by calling 
711.
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