EXPEDITED RULE MAKING



CR-105 (December 2017) (Implements RCW 34.05.353)

CODE REVISER USE ONLY

OFFICE OF THE CODE REVISER STATE OF WASHINGTON FILED

DATE: September 24, 2020

TIME: 10:15 AM

WSR 20-20-006

Agency: Departn	nent of Revenue		
	other identifying informa artment of licensing – Mea	ation: (describe subject) WAC 458-20-17802 Collecture of tax.	tion of use tax by county
			
		ted effects, including any changes in existing rune two instances where the subsection states "\$2,00	
typograpinoar orre	510 III 000000IIII (0)(a). 11	φ±,σε	o chould be 20 percent.
Dagage augus	sting proposal. The prop		naliaiaa aanaamiaa tha
	ax for motor vehicles.	osed amendments are necessary to reflect the rule's	policies concerning the
Statutory author	ity for adoption: PCW 8	2.01.060(2), RCW 82.32.300, and RCW 82.12.045.	
Statutory autilor	ity for adoption. NOW 02	2.01.000(2), NOW 02.32.300, and NOW 02.12.043.	
Statuta baing im	plemented: RCW 82.12.0	046	
Statute being in	piementeu. NOW 62.12.0	940	
la rula naggarari	y because of a		
Is rule necessary because of a: Federal Law?			□ Yes ⊠ No
Federal Court Decision?			□ Yes ⊠ No
State Court Decision?			□ Yes ⊠ No
If yes, CITATION	:		
Name of proponent: (person or organization) Department of Revenue			☐ Private
			☐ Public
			⊠ Governmental
Name of agency	personnel responsible t	or:	
	Name	Office Location	Phone
Drafting:	Brenton Madison	6400 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater, WA	360-534-1583
Implementation:	John Ryser	6400 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater, WA	360-534-1605
Enforcement:	John Ryser	6400 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater, WA	360-534-1605
•	nts or recommendations	, if any, as to statutory language, implementation	ı, enforcement, and fiscal
matters: None.			

Expedited Adoption - Which of the following criteria was used by the agency to file this notice:				
$\ \square$ Relates only to internal governmental operations that are	not subject to violation by a person;			
☐ Adopts or incorporates by reference without material chan rules of other Washington state agencies, shoreline master prestatewide significance, or, as referenced by Washington state standards, if the material adopted or incorporated regulates the incorporating rule;	rograms other than those programs governing shorelines of law, national consensus codes that generally establish industry			
□ Corrects typographical errors, make address or name cha	nges, or clarify language of a rule without changing its effect;			
☐ Content is explicitly and specifically dictated by statute;				
 ☐ Have been the subject of negotiated rule making, pilot rule participation by interested parties before the development of t ☐ Is being amended after a review under RCW 34.05.328. 	•			
Expedited Repeal - Which of the following criteria was used by the agency to file notice:				
 □ The statute on which the rule is based has been repealed and has not been replaced by another statute providing statutory authority for the rule; □ The statute on which the rule is based has been declared unconstitutional by a court with jurisdiction, there is a final judgment, and no statute has been enacted to replace the unconstitutional statute; □ The rule is no longer necessary because of changed circumstances; or 				
 Other rules of the agency or of another agency govern the same activity as the rule, making the rule redundant. 				
Explanation of the reason the agency believes the expedited rule-making process is appropriate pursuant to RCW 34.05.353(4): The expedited rule-making process is applicable to this rule update because the department is merely correcting language in the rule (the example in subsection (5)(a))) without changing the rule's effect.				
NOTICE				
THIS RULE IS BEING PROPOSED UNDER AN EXPEDITED RULE-MAKING PROCESS THAT WILL ELIMINATE THE NEED FOR THE AGENCY TO HOLD PUBLIC HEARINGS, PREPARE A SMALL BUSINESS ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT, OR PROVIDE RESPONSES TO THE CRITERIA FOR A SIGNIFICANT LEGISLATIVE RULE. IF YOU OBJECT TO THIS USE OF THE EXPEDITED RULE-MAKING PROCESS, YOU MUST EXPRESS YOUR OBJECTIONS IN WRITING AND THEY MUST BE SENT TO				
Name: Brenton Madison				
Agency: Department of Revenue				
Address: PO Box 47467, Olympia, WA 98504-7467				
Phone: 360-534-1583				
Fax: 360-534-1606				
Email: BrentonM@dor.wa.gov				
Other:				
AND RECEIVED BY (date) December 7, 2020				
Date: September 24, 2020	Signature:			
Name: Atif Aziz	AN Ais			
Title: Rules Coordinator	8			

<u>AMENDATORY SECTION</u> (Amending WSR 20-14-064, filed 6/26/20, effective 10/1/20)

WAC 458-20-17802 Collection of use tax by county auditors and department of licensing—Measure of tax. (1) **Introduction**. The department of revenue (department) has authorized county auditors and the department of licensing to collect the use tax imposed by chapter 82.12 RCW when a person applies to transfer the certificate of title of a vehicle acquired without the payment of sales tax. 82.12.045. This rule explains how county auditors, their subagents, and the department of licensing determine the measure of the use tax. This rule does not relieve a seller registered with the department of the statutory requirement to collect sales tax when selling tangible personal property, including vehicles. RCW 82.08.020 and 82.08.0251. The use tax reporting responsibilities of Washington residents in other situations and the general nature of the use tax are addressed in WAC 458-20-178 (Use tax). The application of tax to vehicles acquired by Indians and Indian tribes is discussed in WAC 458-20-192 (Indians-Indian country).

Vehicle licensing locations and information about vehicle titles and registration are available from the department of licensing on their website at: dol.wa.gov. This information is also available by contacting the local county auditor's office listed in the government pages of a telephone directory.

- (2) What is use tax based on? For purposes of computing the amount of use tax due, the value of the article used is the measure of tax. The value of the article used is generally the purchase price. If the purchase price does not represent the true value of the article used, the value must be determined as nearly as possible according to the retail selling price at place of use of similar vehicles of like quality and character. RCW 82.12.010.
- (3) Use of automated system to verify measure of tax. When a person applies to transfer the certificate of title of a vehicle, county auditors, their subagents, or the department of licensing must verify that the purchase price represents the true value. In doing so, county auditors, their subagents, or the department of licensing compare the vehicle's purchase price to the average retail value of comparable vehicles using an automated valuing system. The automated valuing system identifies the average retail value using a database that is provided by a regional industry standard source specializing in providing valuation services to local, state, and federal governments, and the private sector.

In limited situations, the automated valuing system's database may not provide the average retail value for a vehicle. For example, the automated valuing system's database does not provide average retail value information for collectible vehicles or vehicles that are over twenty years of age. In the absence of an average retail value, county auditors, their subagents, or the department of licensing will determine the true value as nearly as possible according to the retail selling price at place of use of similar vehicles of like character and quality. To assist in this process, the department of revenue and the department of licensing may approve the use of alternative valuing authorities as necessary.

(4) What happens when the purchase price is presumed to represent the true value? County auditors, their subagents, or the department of

licensing will use the purchase price to compute the amount of use tax due when the purchase price represents the vehicle's true value. County auditors, their subagents, or department of licensing will presume the purchase price represents the vehicle's true value if one of the following conditions is met:

(a) The vehicle's average retail value, as provided by the automated valuing system, is less than \$7,500.

For example, a person buys a vehicle for \$2,800. The automated valuing system indicates that the vehicle's average retail value is \$4,900. The purchase price is presumed to represent the vehicle's true value because the average retail value is less than \$7,500.

(b) The vehicle's purchase price is not more than 20 percent below the average retail value as provided by the automated valuing system.

For example, a person buys a used vehicle for \$17,000. The automated valuing system indicates the vehicle's average retail value is \$20,000. When compared to the average retail value, the purchase price is not more than 20 percent (\$4,000) below the average retail value. Consequently, the purchase price is presumed to represent the vehicle's true value.

- (5) What happens when the purchase price is not presumed to represent the true value? If the vehicle's purchase price is not presumed to be the true value as explained in subsection (4) of this rule, a person may remit use tax based on the average retail value as indicated by the automated valuing system or substantiate the true value of the vehicle using any one of the following methods.
- (a) Industry-accepted pricing guide. A person applying to transfer a certificate of title may provide the county auditor, a subagent, or the department of licensing with documentation from one of the various industry-accepted pricing guides. The value from the industry-accepted pricing guide must represent the retail value of a similarly equipped vehicle of the same make, model, and year in a comparable condition. The purchase price is presumed to represent the vehicle's true value if the purchase price is not more than ((\$2,000)) 20 percent below the retail value.

For example, a person buys a vehicle for \$6,500. The automated valuing system indicates that the vehicle's average retail value is \$8,700. An industry-accepted pricing guide shows that the retail value of a similarly-equipped vehicle in a comparable condition of the same make, model, and year is \$8,000. When compared to the retail value established by the industry-accepted pricing guide, the purchase price is not more than ((\$2,000)) 20 percent (\$1,600) in this case) below the retail value. Consequently, the purchase price is presumed to represent the vehicle's true value.

(b) **Declaration of buyer and seller**. A person applying to transfer a certificate of title may provide to the county auditor, a subagent, or the department of licensing a Declaration of Buyer and Seller Regarding Value of Used Vehicle Sale (REV 32 2501) to substantiate that the purchase price is the true value of the vehicle. The declaration must be signed by both the buyer and the seller and must certify to the purchase price and the vehicle's condition under penalty of perjury. The department may review a declaration and assess additional tax, interest, and penalties. A person may seek review of an assessment to the department as provided in WAC 458-20-100 (Informal administrative reviews).

The declaration is available on the department's website at dor.wa.gov. It is also available at all vehicle licensing locations, department's field offices, or by writing:

Department of Revenue Taxpayer Services P.O. Box 47478 Olympia, WA 98504-7478

(c) Written appraisal. A person applying to transfer a certificate of title may present to the county auditor, a subagent, or the department of licensing a written appraisal from an automobile dealer, insurance or other vehicle appraiser to substantiate the true value of the vehicle. If an automobile dealer performs the appraisal, the dealer must be currently licensed with the department of licensing dealer services division or be a licensed vehicle dealer in another jurisdiction.

The written appraisal must appear on company stationery or have the business card attached and include the vehicle description, including the vehicle make, model, and identification number (VIN). The person performing the appraisal must certify that the stated value represents the retail selling price of a similarly equipped vehicle of the same make, model, and year in a comparable condition. The department may review an appraisal and assess additional tax, interest, and penalties. A person may seek review of an assessment to the department as provided in WAC 458-20-100 (Informal administrative reviews).

- (d) **Declaration of use tax.** A person applying to transfer a certificate of title may present to the county auditor, a subagent, or the department of licensing a Declaration of Use Tax (REV 32 2486e) to substantiate the true value of the vehicle. An authorized employee of the department must complete the declaration. Determining the true value may require a visual inspection that is not available at all department locations.
- (e) Repair estimate. A person applying to transfer a certificate of title may present to the county auditor, a subagent, or the department of licensing a written repair estimate, prepared by an auto repair or auto body repair business. This estimate will then be used to assist with determining the true value of the vehicle. The written estimate must appear on company stationery or have the business card attached. In addition, the written estimate must include the vehicle description, including the vehicle make, model, and identification number (VIN), and an itemized list of repairs. The department may review an appraisal and assess additional tax, interest, and penalties. A person may seek review of an assessment to the department as provided in WAC 458-20-100 (Informal administrative reviews).

The purchase price is presumed to represent the true value if the total of the purchase price and the repair estimate is not more than 20 percent below the average retail value. For example, a person purchases a vehicle with extensive bumper damage for \$13,700. The automated valuing system indicates that the vehicle's average retail value is \$18,000. An estimate from an auto body repair business indicates a cost of \$2,500 to repair the bumper damage. The purchase price is presumed to represent the vehicle's true value because when the total of the purchase price and the repair estimate (\$13,700 + \$2,500 = \$16,200) is compared to the average retail value, the total is not more than 20 percent below the average retail value (\$18,000).