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Washington State

online application.

Form BLS 700 031

Business Licensing Service
PO Box 9034

Olympia, WA 98507-9034
360-705-6741
BLS@dor.wa.gov

Application fee

$50 - Open/Reopen a business (non-refundable)

S0 - Add an additional location

S0 - Add a Non-Resident Business endorsement to
an existing location

$10 - Any other purpose (non-refundable)
Department of Revenue

Must be paid each time a Business License Application
is submitted.

The following endorsements are valid as
long as you remain in business.

Tax Registration

No additional fee

Department of Revenue

You must obtain a tax registration if you answer “yes”
to any of questions listed below. A tax registration
cannot be transferred to another business.

e Do you plan to gross over $12,000 per year?

e Wil Y]ou be selling any retail items or products to
another person?

e Will you be repairing, installing, altering,
decorating, or improving any item or product for
another person (e.g., car repair, construction)?

* Will you engage in a business that is responsible
for any other state taxes (e.g., timber, fish, litter,
public utility, hazardous substance/waste)?

Industrial Insurance

No additional fee

Department of Labor & Industries

If you employ one or more people, you must apply for
industrial insurance coverage.

The groups listed below are excluded from mandatory
coverage, but you may request optional coverage by
completing the Employment section of the Business
License Application. An Application for Optional
Coverage will be sent to you.

State Endorsement Fee Sheet

Use the Business License Application to obtain any endorsements listed on
this form. We have indicated which endorsements you can apply for using our

We have also indicated if an endorsement requires agency approval. Do not
begin an activity requiring approval until you receive a Business License that
displays the name of that endorsement.

There are many other endorsements not available through the Business
Licensing Service. To determine if you need any others, or to download
application forms, visit our Business Licensing Guide at dor.wa.gov or call us

Excluded groups incude:

e Sole proprietors, partners, LLC members with
management responsibility.

e Executive officers and corporate officers who are
directors and shareholders. If you select elective
coverage for your executive officers,
all executive officers must be covered.

e Domestic servants (if less than 2 full time
employed) and those performing gardening,
maintenance or repair around the private home.

e Services in return for aid or sustenance received
from a religious or charitable organization.

e Minors employed under 18 on the family farm.

e Jockey racing.

e Entertainers and musicians.

e Volunteer law enforcement officers.

e Volunteer workers or student volunteers (K-12).

e Community service workers.

e Cosmetologists, barbers, estheticians or
manicurists who lease stations.

e Newspaper carriers and freelance journalists.

e Insurance agents, brokers and solicitors.

Unemployment Insurance
No additional fee

Employment Security Department

If you employ one or more people, you must apply for
unemployment insurance coverage. Social security
numbers are required for all owners of a business that
hires employees.

All corporate officers wages of profit corporations
are exempt from Ul taxes in Washington. However

a corporation may elect to pay taxes on all officer
wages by completing Voluntary Election Form

with the Employment Security Department and
choosing voluntary coverage on the Business License
Application.

To ask about the availability of this publication in an alternate format for the visually impaired, please call
360-705-6705. Teletype (TTY) users may use the WA Relay Service by calling 711.
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Non profit 501(c)(3) corporations must report and pay
taxes on officer wages.

Trade Name(s)

$5 per name

Department of Revenue

Trade name or “Doing Business As” name must be
registered if:

e Sole proprietor or partnership is using a name
other than the full legal name of all the owners;
or

e Corporations, limited partnerships or limited
liability companies are operating under a name
other than the name registered with the Security
of State.

Please indicate all “Doing Business As” names on

section 2 of the Business License Application.

This registration does not provide protection of the
name. To see if the trade name you are planning
to use is already registered visit dor.wa.gov/
businesslookup or call 360-705-6741.

Renewable endorsements
(must be renewed annually)

Architect Firm
Certificate of authorization
$292 per location

$6.50 surcharge

Additional forms required
Department of Licensing

Required for businesses practicing or offering to
practice architectural services in Washington. Each firm
is required to have at least one Designated Architect
listed at the licensed location. The Designated

Architect must have an active architect registration.

Bulk Fertilizer Distributor
$50 per location
Department of Agriculture

Required for any business that brings into or that
distributes within Washington commercial fertilizer in

bulk (nonpackaged form).
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Washington State

Cannabis Research

$250 application fee per location

Additional forms and agency approval required
Liquor and Cannabis Board

A cannabis research license is required for the licensee
to produce, process, or possess cannabis to conduct
scientific research on cannabis and cannabis-derived
products. Note: The Liquor and Cannabis Board

will contact applicants for any additional required
information or documentation, and bill for the initial
annual license fee prior to approval of any license.

Cannabis Transportation

$250 application fee per location

Additional forms and agency approval required
Liquor and Cannabis Board

Required for common carrier businesses to transport
or deliver cannabis, cannabis concentrates, or
cannabis infused products between licensed cannabis
businesses in Washington State. Note: The Liquor

and Cannabis Board will contact applicants for any
additional required information or documentation, and
bill for the initial annual license fee prior to approval of
any license.

Cannabis - other licenses

Note: Applications for the following cannabis
licenses: medical, retailer, producer, or processor or
NOT being accepted at this time.

Cannabis Infused Edibles Processor

$895 main location

Agency approval required

Department of Agriculture

A cannabis infused edibles processor license is
required for each location at which the licensee will
commercially produce for wholesale sales to cannabis
retailers food items infused with cannabis, cannabis
extracts, or cannabis concentrates and cannabis-
derived products. Note: A valid cannabis processor
license issued by the Liquor and Cannabis Board is
required at each such location before applying for the
edibles license.
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Ciﬁarette/Tobacco/Vapor sales, retail and
wholesale

Cigarettes
Cigarette retailer

$175

Cigarettes sold at retail. Fee required per location.

(If BOTH a cigarette retailer OR an other tobacco
product retailer AND a vapor product retailer are
applied for at the same time, for the same business
location, a combined total of $250 will be due for both

endorsements.)

Commercial Cigarette Making Machine

$93

Required where a machine to produce ‘roll your

own’ cigarettes is provided. The fee is required for
each location with one or more machines. A cigarette
retailer endorsement and tobacco products retailer
endorsement are also required. The machine can only
be used with tobacco sold at the location at the time of
purchase.

Cigarette Vending Machine

$30 per machine at each location

A cigarette retailer endorsement is also required. Fee
required per machine at each location.

Cigarette Wholesaler

$650 main location

$115 each branch location

Purchase, sell, or distribute cigarettes to retailers for
resale. You must include with your application the
$5,000 surety bond required by the Department of
Revenue.

Tobacco Products

Tobacco Products Retailer

$175

Retail sales of tobacco products other than
cigarettes. Fee required per location. (Fee waived if
also applying for, or already have, cigarette retailer
at same business location. If BOTH a cigarette
retailer OR an other tobacco product retailer AND
a vapor product retailer are applied for at the same
time, for the same business location, a combined
total of $250 will be due for both endorsements.)

Tobacco Products Distributor

$650 main location

$115 each branch location

Purchase, sell, or distribute tobacco products other
than cigarettes to retailers for resale.

REV 700 031 (7/22/24)

Washington State

(Fee waived if also applying for, or already have,
cigarette wholesaler.)

Vapor Products Retailer

$175

Cigarettes sold at retail. Fee required per location.
(If BOTH a cigarette retailer OR an other tobacco
product retailer AND a vapor product retailer are
applied for at the same time, for the same business
location, a combined total of $250 will be due for
both endorsements.)

Liquor and Cannabis Board

The cigarette and tobacco product endorsements
must both be held if cigarette and other tobacco
products are sold at the same location. Additional
documents and agency approval required.

Vapor Product Distributor

$150

$100 each branch location

Required for each location of a business that
purchases vapor products and conducts wholesale
sales or distribution to vapor product retailers for
resale to consumers. Note: To sell or distribute at
wholesale cigarettes or other tobacco products
you’ll also need a cigarette wholesaler or a tobacco
products distributor endorsement.

Vapor Product Delivery Sales

$250

Required for each location of a business, regardless
whether located inside or outside Washington,
from which retail sales orders for vapor products
are taken from Washington consumers by means
of telephone or other voice transmissions, by mail
or other delivery services, or the Internet or other
online services; or from which vapor products are
delivered to Washington consumers by use of the
mails or other delivery services.

City business endorsements

Most cities require businesses operating within the
city limits to register and renew annually. Several
cities have partnered with BLS to handle their
endorsements. Go to dor.wa.gov/city-endorsements
to see the list of city partners.
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Collection Agency

$890 main location in Washington

$590 each branch location (in/out of state/country)
Additional forms and agency approval required
Department of Licensing

Required for any Washington business that:

e Directly or indirectly collects debts on behalf
of clients located in Washington and/or other
states;

e Solicits claims for collection;

e Markets forms or a collection system to be used
in debt collection; or

e Collects their own debts using a fictitious name
to imply that a third party is involved; or

e Purchases claims for collection purposes in
Washington, whether or not it collects claim
itself.

The business must maintain a trust account and an
office in Washington for the purpose of conducting
its collection agency business. The office must be
managed by a Washington resident and be open to
the public during regular business hours. A $5,000
surety bond is required.

Collection Agency - out-of-state/country
$445 main out-of-state location

$295 each out-of-state/country branch location
Additional forms and agency approval required
Department of Licensing

Required for any business outside Washington that;

e Undertakes the collection of a debt on behalf of
clients who are also outside Washington, and
that uses only telephone, mail or fax to collect,
or attempt to collect, on debts from persons or
businesses located inside Washington. A $5,000
surety bond is required; or

e Purchases claims for collection purposes in
Washington, whether or not it collects the claim
itself.

Note: Based on other state’s laws, some businesses
may be exempt from these endorsements fees and
bonding. Please contact the Business & Professions
Division at 360-664-1388 for more information.

REV 700 031 (7/22/24)

Washington State

Commercial Telephone Solicitor

$82

Additional forms and agency approval required
Department of Licensing

Required for each location making unsolicited
commercial telephone calls and selling goods or
products during the call. Also required for those
who offer free prizes by mail and invite a telephone
response. Exclusions from coverage include, but

are not limited to, those soliciting for educational,
political, or charitable purposes; and those who sell to
businesses who either resell the product or use it for
manufacturing.

Contractor Registration

Additional forms and agency approval required
Registration not available through BLS

Contact: Department of Labor & Industries 360-902-
6359 or 1-800-647-0985 (in-state only) or [ni.wa.qgov
Any individual or business involved in construction,
remodeling, repair, excavation, or demolition of any
structure, road or property must obtain a Contractor
Registration. This includes those who install floor
coverings, lawn sprinkler systems, or scaffolding.
Those who perform plumbing or electrical work must
have additional certificates or licenses. Registration

is also required for an individual who plans to hire
subcontractors from more than one trade to work on a
single project related to the individual’s own property,
with the intent to sell that improved property.

Corporate Registration

Additional forms required

Registration not available through BLS

Contact: Office of the Secretary of State
360-705-0377

Washington based corporations doing business in
Washington must file articles of incorporation.
Firms incorporated in any other state or country should
contact the Corporations Division of the Office of the
Secretary of State for filing requirements. In addition
to filing the corporate registration forms a Business
License Application is required to BLS.

For expedited service to incorporate your business,
complete the Application to Form a Profit Corporation
at secstate.wa.gov/corps.
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Or you can complete a paper application and mail it in
a separate envelope to:

Corporations Division

Office of the Secretary of State
PO Box 40234

Olympia WA 98504-0234

Egg Handler/Dealer
$30 first location

$15 each additional location
Additional forms required
Department of Agriculture

Required for businesses or persons that:

e Produce, handle, contract for, or obtain
possession or control of eggs for sale to
wholesalers, dealers or retailers within or into
Washington; or

® Process eggs and sell them to wholesalers,
dealers, retailers or consumers within or into
Washington.

A license must be posted at each location where the
licensee operates. Note: Poultry producers who sell
eggs from their own flocks at the place of production
directly to household consumers do not need to be
licensed.

For Hire
Permit: $110 (one-time, nonrefundable) per
location

Certificates: $55 per vehicle per permitted location
Additional forms and agency approval required
Department of Licensing

Required for all vehicles used for the transportation of
passengers for compensation in taxicabs, cabulances
or other for hire vehicles (except limousines see
Limousine Carrier for those for hire vehicles). The state
permit fee is not required if a permit fee is paid to a
local city or county, however all vehicles must have a
for hire certificate from the state, regardless. See also
the section headed “Weighing & Measuring Devices”
about registering the meter used in for hire vehicles.
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Washington State

Limousine Carrier
$350 per location

Vehicle Certificate: $75 per limousine

Vehicle Inspection Report: $25 per limousine
Additional forms and agency approval required

Department of Licensing; Washington State Patrol,
and Port Districts of King County

Required for any business that operates unmetered,
unmarked, chauffeur-driven, luxury, for hire vehicles
(definition of a limousine is found in RCW 46.04).
Limousines must transport persons under a single
contract, on a prearranged basis, to a specific
destination or particular itinerary. Each limousine
vehicle must pass a vehicle inspection and be certified
by the Department of Licensing. Businesses operating
in the Port District of King County may be licensed
through the port district. Other for hire businesses
(such as taxi cabs) must register separately with the
Department of Licensing (see For Hire license).

Liquor

Various fees (see Liquor License Description and Fee
Information Sheet)

Additional forms and agency approval required
Liquor and Cannabis Board

Required for businesses or nonprofit organizations
retailing or serving beer, wine or spirits; or
manufacturing, distilling, wholesaling, transporting,
importing, or exporting alcoholic beverages. Also
needed for changing the location of a licensed
premises.

Lottery Retailer

$25 per location (one-time, nonrefundable)
Additional forms and agency approval required
Washington’s Lottery

Required for businesses selling lottery products.
Applicants must certify that they comply with federal,
state and agency accessibility requirements, and
provide a personal/criminal history. The Lottery also
requires an electronic funds transfer account to
transfer lottery sales debits and credits. The Lottery
will separately charge retailers a one-time $200 set-up
fee, and a weekly equipment and support fee. Contact
the Lottery at 1-800-732-5101, option 4, for more
information.
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Manufactured/Mobile Home Community
(Mobile Home Parks)

$15 per qualifying manufactured home in park*
Additional forms required

Department of Revenue

Required of all manufactured and mobile home parks
that offer two or more spaces (lots) in the park for
rent or lease for year-round occupancy. A separate
application must be submitted for each park. New
parks must be registered within three months of
offering spaces for rent to avoid penalties. *A $15 fee
must be paid for each manufactured or mobile home
within the park when the owner of the home does not
also own the space on which the home is located.
Minor Work Permit

No fee permit required per location

Agency approval required

Department of Labor and Industries

If you employ one or more people under 18 years

old, you must apply for a permit to employ minors, in
addition to industrial insurance as described on page 1.

Nursery Plant Seller/Installer -
Retailer/Wholesaler

Fees listed below include a 20% surcharge
Additional forms required

Department of Agriculture

Required for businesses that:

e Sell or hold live plants or turf for planting,
breeding, or decoration; or

e Perform landscaping lawn maintenance which
provides planting or installing new plants or turf.

Is not required if you sell les than $100 per year or
only sell cut flowers. Choose either a wholesale or
retail endorsement based on what you believe will
be your primary source of income, then estimate
your total nursery sales for the calendar year.
Determine the fee due based on your license type
and your sales estimate.

Fee
$80.64 per location
$176.64 per location
$350.40 per location

Nursery retailer
$100 - 52,499
$2,500 - $14,999
$15,000 and over

Fee
$176.64 per location
$350.40 per location

Nursery wholesaler
$100 - $14,999
$15,000 and over
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Washington State

Pesticide Dealer

$88 per location

$7 per location Pesticide Safety Education
Additional forms and agency approval required
Department of Agriculture

Required to sell all pesticides. Exception: Not required
if the pesticide is labeled home and garden use only.
Each location must have a licensed Pesticide Dealer
Manager to supervise pesticide distribution.

Private Investigation Agency

$640 with unarmed principal

$750 with armed principal

No fee for each additional location

Additional forms and agency approval required
Department of Licensing

Required for any business that exists to detect,
discover or reveal criminal activity; obtain information
related to persons or things; recover lost property;
identify cause for accidents/losses; obtain evidence for
investigations or detect eaves/dropping devices.

See RCW Chapter 18.165 for full description.

Rental Car Registration

No fee registration required per location
Department of Licensing

A rental car is a passenger vehicle (PAS or M/H use
class) that is used solely by a rental car business for
rental to others, without a driver provided by the
rental car business, for periods of not more than 30
consecutive days. Only passenger vehicles (cars, SUVs
and motor home qualify). Trucks and other types of
vehicles such as motorcycles are exempt from the
rental car registration.

Scrap Metal

Various fees (see the Vehicle-Related and Scrap
Metal Recycling Fee Description Sheet)

Additional forms and agency approval required
Department of Licensing

Required for businesses that are suppliers, processors,
and/or recyclers of scrap metal. Note: These
endorsements do NOT include handling scrap metal
from motor vehicles. For vehicle-related motor vehicle
salvage processing see the entry under “Vehicle Sales
or Disposal”.
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Seed Dealer

$125 per location

Department of Agriculture

Required for selling seeds except those packaged in
containers of 8 ounces or less by a registeredd seed
labeler.

Seller of Travel

$222 per location

Additional forms and agency approval required
Department of Licensing

Required for businesses that arrange, or advertise
to arrange travel accommodations for Washington
consumers.

Shopkeeper

$55 per location

Department of Health - Board of Pharmacy
Required for businesses (except licensed pharmacies)
selling any nonprescription medication. These
medications must be in the original manufacturer’s
packaging.

Tobacco sales, retail and wholesale
See Cigarette/Tobacco/Vapor sales

Transportation Network Company (TNC)
$5000

Additional forms and agency approval required
Department of Licensing

Required for any business using a digital network or
software to connect passengers to drivers for the
purpose of providing prearranged rides.

Underground Storage Tanks

$228.58 per tank at each location

Additional forms required

Department of Ecology

Required for owners of storage tanks with a capacity
greater than 110 gallons, that have at least 10 percent
of volume (including piping) below the surface of

the ground, and that contain petroleum or other
hazardous substances. Some tanks may be exempt.
The application must be filed by the owner within

30 days after a new installation is complete, or upon
modification or purchase of existing tanks. Note: A
notice of intent to install (Form ECY 020-95) must also
be filed directly with the Department of Ecology at
least 30 days before new installation work begins.

REV 700 031 (7/22/24)

Washington State
Vehicle Sales or Disposal
Various fees (see the Vehicle-Related and Scrap
Metal Recycling Fee Description Sheet)
Additional forms and agency approval required

Department of Licensing
Required for businesses that:

e Annually offer, display or sell more than four
cars, trucks and/or motor home, or otherwise act
as a dealer of such vehicles;

e Deal in boats or vessels, manufactured homes,
park homes, travel trailers, fifth wheel trailers,
horse trailers, utility trailers, off-road vehicles,
motorcycles and/or snowmobiles;

e Manufacture or remanufacture vehicles for
distribution to Washington dealerships;

e Transport vehicles over Washington highways;

e Operate a registered tow truck; and/or

e Act as a hulk hauler, vehicle wrecker or motor
vehicle salvage processor. Note: This is NOT for
non-vehicle scrap metal. To handle non-vehicle
scrap metal see the entry under “Scrap Metal”.

Waste Tire Carrier

$200 ($50 non-refundable) per location plus

$50 per vehicle

Additional forms and agency approval required
Department of Ecology

Required for businesses transporting tires no longer
usable due to wear, damage or defect. Solid waste
collection businesses licensed by the Utilities and
Transportation Commission need not apply. A $10,000
bond is required.

Waste Tire Storage Site Owner

$250 per location ($50 non-refundable)

Additional forms and agency approval required
Department of Ecology

Required for businesses with outside storage or more
than 800 tires which are no longer suitable for their
original purpose. The business is required to have:

e A permit from the County Health Department
where the site is located.

e Financial assurance sufficient for hiring a third
party to remove the maximum number of tires
permitted to be stored at the facility and deliver
the tires to a facility permitted to accept the
tires.

Contact Department of Ecology for regulatory
questions at 425-649-7104.
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Weighing and Measuring Devices

Various fees (see the Weighing and Measuring
Devices Addendum)

Department of Agriculture (statewide); and Cities of
Seattle & Spokane

Required for businesses where devices are used to
determine the charges for a product or service on

the basis of weight or measure (i.e. scales, meters or
electric vehicle supply equipment). The Weighing and
Measuring Devices addendum must be submitted with
the Business License Application.

Whitewater River Outfitter

$35 per location

Additional forms and agency approval required
Department of Licensing

Required for businesses carrying, or advertising to
carry, for-hire passengers on whitewater sections of
Washington rivers. Applicants must provide proof of
correct liability insurance and certify that they meet all
requirements, including use of qualified guides.

X-ray Facilities and Devices

Various fees (see the X-ray Facility and Devices
Registration Addendum)

Department of Health

Required for businesses that have a facility with any
of the X-ray tube types listed on the x-ray addendum
form, including dental or medical offices, hospitals,
veternary, educational, securty, research or industrial
facilities. Contact Department of Health for regulatory
questions at 1-800-299-9729.
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