DOR use only

Account ID
peparment of frd) | Application for Sales Tax Refund on  [Eefedbesr
Revenue(c e
Washington State Purchases & Installation of Qualified

Form 40 2432A | Renewable Energy Equipment

Category 1 - Renewable energy facility generating more than one kilowatt of
electricity and solar energy systems generating over 500 kilowatts.

Name (buyer): Phone number:
Mailing address:

City: State: Zip:
Physical address of energy system:

City: State: Zip:

Please complete the table below.
The 4-digit location code can be obtained on the department’s website at dor.wa.gov by clicking on the Find a
sales and use tax rate link, on the homepage.

Purchase or
delivery

Date of . Purchase price Amount of retail sales Name and address (city, state, & zip)
urchase location (before tax) tax paid of seller and/or installer
P (use 4-digit
code)

Renewable energy facility generating more than one kilowatt of electricity and solar energy systems
generating over 500 kilowatts

Sales and use tax exemptions apply to purchases and charges for installing machinery and equipment that
will be used directly to generate electricity using fuel cells, wind, biomass energy, tidal and wave energy,
geothermal resources, technology that converts otherwise lost energy from exhaust, or gas in a facility that
generates not less than one kilowatt of electricity based on the nameplate of the equipment. The exemption
also applies to solar energy systems generating over 500 kilowatts of electricity.

To ask about the availability of this publication in an alternate format for the visually impaired, please call
360-705-6705. Teletype (TTY) users may use the WA Relay Service by calling 711.
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Renewable Energy Equipment Washington State

Exemption amount

From January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2029, the exemption is equal to 50 percent of the total sales or

use tax paid on purchases of the electricity generating systems listed above, provided the Department of Labor

& Industries certifies that the project includes all of the following:

e Procurement from the contracts with women, minority, or veteran owned businesses.

e Procurement from and contracts with entities that have a history of complying with federal and state wage
and hour laws and regulations.

e Apprenticeship utilization.

e Preferred entry for workers living in the area where the project is being constructed.

The exemption is equal to 75 percent of the total sales or use tax paid for systems if the Department of Labor
& Industries certifies the project complies with the requirements above and the project compensates
workers at prevailing wage rates determined by the Department of Labor & Industries.

The exemption is equal to 100 percent of the total sales or use tax paid for systems if the Department of Labor
& Industries certifies the project is developed under a community workforce or project labor agreement.

Declaration and authorization

By signing this declaration, | authorize the Washington State Department of Revenue to contact the seller
regarding these purchases, and confirm that | have not obtained a refund or credit for these purchases from
the seller nor will | seek such a refund or credit for these purchases from the seller in the future. | waive all my
rights to prior notice of disclosure of tax information specified in RCW 82.32.330.

Buyer’s signature: Date:

Buyer’s name (please print or type):

What to do next

Attach legible copies of your receipts to this application and mail to:

Department of Revenue
Renewable Energy Refunds
PO Box 47476

Olympia, WA 98504-7476

Please keep a copy of this application for your records.
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Application for Sales Tax Refund on Purchases & Installation of Qualified

Renewable Energy Equipment

Washington State

Instructions and frequently asked questions

What information needs to be completed on
this application?

All applicable sections must be completed, and the
application must be signed. Incomplete applications
will not be returned. Submit legible copies of receipts
and invoices, not the originals.

What will happen if this application is not
fully completed?

You will be notified by letter that your retail sales

tax refund claim was not accepted as filed. You may
reapply for a refund within the time frame allowed by
statute.

What is the allowed statutory time frame to
claim a refund?

No refund may be made for taxes paid more than four
years after the end of calendar year in which the tax
was paid to the seller.

When can | expect my refund?

The department must on a quarterly basis remit
exempted amounts to qualifying purchasers who
submitted applications during the previous quarter.

How can | get the 4-digit code for the location
of purchase if | don’t get it?

The 4-digit location code can be obtained on the
department’s website at dor.wa.gov by clicking on the
Find a sales and use tax rate link, on the homepage.

What documentation must be attached to

this application?

You must provide legible copies of the following items:
e |nvoices.

e Receipts.
e Copy of one line diagram provided with your
equipment.

e L&l Project Certification Letter.

e Copy of the contractor’s certificate of registration.

e Contractor’s current unified business identifier
(UBI).
e Contractor’s proof of industrial insurance

coverage, and unemployment insurance coverage.

REV 40 2432A (4/16/20)

Need help? See instructions on page 3 or call 360-705-6705

e Documentation of the contractor’s history of
compliance with federal and state wage and hours
laws and regulations.

Can I file for a refund electronically?

Yes, go to the Department’s website at dor.wa.gov
and register for an online account or if you are
already registered, sign in to “My DOR.” On your

My DOR home page in the | want to section, click
Send a Message to compose a new message. In the
drop down box click on Refund Requests then attach
a scanned copy of this completed application and
scanned legible copies of supporting documents.

Where do | mail this application and
supporting documents if | do not file
electronically?

Attn: Renewable Energy Refunds
Washington State Department of Revenue
PO Box 47476

Olympia, WA 98504-7476

What records should | keep to support the
refund claim?

Keep all supporting documents such as original
receipts or invoices, poof of tax paid, and documents
describing the machinery and equipment.

What if | have questions about this
application?

Call the department at 360-705-6705, or send an
email inquiry to communications@dor.wa.gov. If you
have questions about an application you have already
submitted, call 360-705-6218.
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