(&

State of Washington
Department of Revenue
Forest Tax Program

(360)-534-1324, Fax (360)-705-6174
dor.wa.gov/taxes-rates/
other-taxes/forest-tax

PO Box 47472, Olympia WA 98504-7472

FOREST EXCISE TAX RETURN

Account ID:

Name:

Street Address:

City, State, Zip:

Make any address changes above. If permit ownership has changed, attach transfer information.

|:| NO HARVEST THIS QUARTER. Check this box, sign your name at the bottom and
mail in page 1. Or go online to dor.wa.gov. Or call 360-705-6708 after the end of the

Quarter

Year

|:| ALL HARVESTING IS COMPLETED. Check this box. You will

no longer receive a return.

quarter.
SUMMARY TOTAL FROM DETAIL PAGE(S
Check Check if
. to Check to Stump{  Haul No
Petail - County | pelete . Land | Delete Rge | age | 7 38U | Harvest [Approved)  Amount Total Taxable
Page Name/ Permit| Permit Number Tvoe | Sec.* Sec. | Twn E or Wl value one | 44this | EARR of EARR
# Number * yp (v) Area Sec. | Credit Credit Stumpage Value
(v) (v)
Grand Total Taxable $
Stumpage Value
Tax Due = Grand Total $
Stumpage Value Times X
Current Rate 0.05 (Do Not Round)
Signature Less EARR Credit :$
Subtotal $
Print Name
$
Penalty .
Daytime Phone Date AVAILABLE (Do Not Round)
Visit dor.wa.gov Total Amount Due | $
Email Address Make Check Payable To: Department of Revenue
If subtotal for the quarter is less than $50, send completed return
without a payment.
Internet/Fax (02/13/23) See Reporting Instructions on Page 4 Page 1
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Quarter/Year — Enter the quarter and year being reported.
Detail Page — Enter the page number on each Detail page.

Block 1 — Your Account ID is the 9-digit assigned by the
Department of Revenue. If you do not have a number or are
unsure call 360-534-1324.

Block 2 — Timber owner’s name.
Block 3 — Landowner’s name.
Blocks 4 through 8 — Transfer the information from page 1.

Block 9 — Enter the number of acres logged (rounded to the
nearest acre) this quarter. Check one box for partial cut or clear
cut.

Block 10 - If harvesting is completed in this quarter, check yes;
if not, check no.

Block 11 - If the permit has been approved for the EARR as
shown on page 1, check yes; if not, check no.

Block 12 — Enter the net volume (MBF) of scaled conifer and
hardwood logs and weighed conifer and hardwood logs.
Convert the tons to MBF. Add together; this equals the total
volume. This information may be obtained from your scale
tickets, mill receipts, or your logger.

Stumpage Value

When the land owner retains ownership of the timber until it is
harvested and sold, the taxable stumpage value is the total log
selling price minus the harvesting & marketing costs.

If ownership is transferred, a notice of transfer must be filed with
the permitting agency. If the ownership of the timber is in
question (undocumented), the responsibility for the Forest
Excise Tax defaults to the landowner.

Timber harvesting is considered a business activity under
Washington law. Those harvesting timber may also be subject
to Business & Occupation (B&O) tax for extracting timber. A
small harvester is allowed an annual $100,000 deduction on
the B&O tax. For more information, call our toll free number
360-534-1324.

Block 13 — Sale of Logs

Line 1 — Enter the gross amount paid by the mill (including
the logger’s share).

Line 2a or 2b — Enter either the harvesting and marketing
costs (2a) or department allowance (2b). You cannot apply
both. Actual harvesting costs (2a) must be used in all
instances where documented records are available.

Documented proof of costs must be available for audit.
When the timber owner cannot document the actual costs,
the Department will allow a percentage deduction from the
gross log sales. Currently, the Department allowance is
thirty five percent (35%). Records must be available for
audit for five years.

Line 3 — Subtract the harvesting & marketing costs (line 2a
or 2b) from the gross amount (line 1) and enter on line 3.
Transfer this amount to the Total Taxable Stumpage Value
column on page 1.

Internet/Fax (02/13/23)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 3 (Detail)

Harvesting and Marketing Costs (WAC 458.40.610)(11)
are only costs associated with harvesting the timber and
delivering it to the mill.

Examples of Allowable Costs:
¢ Falling, bucking and yarding (skidding) costs.
e Loading and hauling costs.

¢ Slash disposal costs as required by the permitting
agency.

o Building costs for temporary roads and purchases of
temporary easements.

o Timber sale preparation costs such as cruising, timber
marketing, sale administration and harvest
administration. These costs need to be clearly
documented in a written contract with a professional
Forester.

o Timber harvesting permit fee(s).
Examples of Costs Which Are Not Allowed:
e Property boundary surveys.

o Reforestation costs such as scarification, planting and
fertilization.

¢ Cost of improvements such as permanent roads or
bridges, land clearing and stump removal.

e Equipment purchases and repairs.

e Cost for labor when performed by timber owner.
e Forest Excise Tax.

¢ DNR or county conversion fees.

Conversion costs — Timber harvest costs must be
documented separately from land conversion costs.

Conversion work expenses such as stump removal, permanent
roads, land clearing, and excavation are not allowable costs. If

a clear separation cannot be documented, use the department
allowance.

Block 14 — Purchase of Standing Timber - This applies to the
purchase of timber that has not been cut from the stump.
Harvest must occur within 24 months of purchase. Total

Stumpage Value is the timber purchase price plus other
considerations (permanent roads, reforestation, etc.). If harvest
occurs more than 24 months after the purchase, use Block 13
or the published Stumpage Value tables.

Total Taxable Stumpage Value — Transfer Total Taxable
Stumpage Value from Block 13 (3) or 14 to page 1 in the
column that matches with the correct permit number.

Block 15 — EARR Credit - If the EARR Credit is allowed for this
permit, multiply Total Taxable Stumpage Value by 0.008, this is

the amount of your EARR credit. Transfer this amount to the

EARR column on page 1 that matches the correct permit
number.

Refer to page 1 to determine Total Amount Due.

Page 2



N (q FOREST EXCISE TAX RETURN — _
Revenue & Small Harvester Detail
VORI Scte See Instructions on Page 2 —
etail Page

e If you harvest more than 2 million board feet in a calendar year, you must report on a Standard Harvester Return.
HARVEST FROM PRIVATE LAND

1. Account ID 2. Timber Owner 3. Landowner

4. County Name/Number 5. Permit Number 6. Sec. Twn Rge []East| 7.Stumpage | 8.HaulZone
[0 west| Value Area

9. Number of acres harvested this quarter: 12.Volume Harvested this Quarter:

ift Hard d
(Round to the nearest MBF) Conifer arawoods

[ Partial Cut  [] Clear Cut

Check only one

Net Scaled L 1th d board feet = 1 MBF
10. Is harvesting completed for this permit? et Scaled Logs (1 thousand board fee )

OYes [No

Net Weighed Logs Tons (volume that was weighed and
If yes, delete permit on page 1

not scaled, such as CHW or pulp). Divide tons by 8 to
convert to MBF.

11. Has DNR approved the EARR Credit for this
permit? (Refer to page 1)
[ Yes ] No TOTAL VOLUME (MBF)

Report Under Block 13 or Block 14, but NOT both.
13. Sales of Logs

1. Gross amount Paid fOr I0gS. ... ...cu.iuiirii i $
2a. [] Harvesting and Marketing Costs Actual costs must be used when documented records are available
Itemized Costs
Item Amount
$
$
$
$
$
$
TOTAL COSTS | $ —> ($ )
OR
2b. [] Department Allowance (35% of gross amount, line 1) .......................ciiiieeeee L. ($ )
3. Total Taxable Stumpage Value (subtract line 2a or 2b from line 1) ..........cocoviiiiiiiiiinss $

Transfer amount to page 1

14. Purchase of Standing Timber

Total you paid for timber plus the value of other
considerations (permanent roads, reforestation, etc.).

. i Total Taxable Stumpage Value: $
Harvesting and marketing costs are not allowed.

Transfer amount to page 1

15. EARR Credit — If block 11 is yes, then multiply Total Taxable Stumpage Value
(Block 13 line 3 or block 14) by 0.008, this is the EARR credit amount...................cc.ooeeeits $

Transfer amount to page 1

COMPLETE AND RETURN THIS PAGE WITH PAGE 1 TO THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Internet/Fax (02/13/23)

Page 3
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 1 (Summary)

Page 1 of the return is the Summary page. A Detail page (page 3) or several Detail pages will need to be filled out before

completing page 1.

Errors and Omissions - If there are errors or omissions in
the pre-printed information on page 1, cross out the errors.
Enter correct information.

No Harvest This Quarter — If you did not harvest timber this
quarter, you can:

e Check the box on Summary Page
e Go online to dor.wa.gov

e Call our automated line 360-705-6708, available 24
hours a day 7 days a week

e Orcall 360-534-1324 during normal business hours.

All Harvesting is Completed — If harvesting is completed on
all sections and you do not want to receive future returns,
check this box.

Detail Page Number — You must fill out a separate detail
page for each permit. ldentify by numbering this column to the
corresponding detail pages you complete (upper right hand
corner of the detail page).

Delete Permit — Check column if harvesting for all sections of
this specific permit is completed. This will delete the permit
from future tax returns.

CAUTION: A deleted permit indicates that harvest is
completed for all sections under the permit. If the permit has
been transferred, please attach transfer information.

Delete Section — Check column if harvesting for this section
is completed. This will delete the section from future tax
returns.

Sections With No Harvest — Check this column if no
harvesting has occurred in this section.

EARR Credit — Taxpayers are allowed a credit for timber
harvested under a DNR approved permit subject to Enhanced
Aquatic Resource Requirements (EARR). Look for the yes in
the EARR credit column on page 1 of your tax return to
determine eligibility.

Optional Reporting Method — If you harvest less than two
million board feet in a calendar year you are considered a small
harvester and you have the option to report on this return or the
Standard Harvester return which calculates tax based on the
Department’s Stumpage Value Tables. These forms and
tables can be requested by phone or by accessing our Internet
home page at dor.wa.gov/taxes-rates/other-taxes/forest-tax.

CALCULATIONS:

Grand Total Taxable Stumpage Value — Add the Total
Taxable Stumpage Value column. Enter the amount in
the Grand Total Taxable Stumpage Value box at the
bottom of page 1.

Tax Due — Multiply the Grand Total Taxable Stumpage
Value amount by the current rate (0.05) and enter the
tax due in this box.

EARR Credit — Add all amounts from the EARR Credit
column on page 1. Enter this amount in the Less EARR
Credit box.

Subtotal — Subtract the EARR Credit from the Tax Due.
Enter this amount in the Subtotal box.

Penalty — Return must be postmarked by the due date
to avoid penalties.

Penalty Calculation: Subtotal multiplied by the
appropriate penalty rate.

Penalty rates:

9% penalty assessed after due date;

19% penalty assessed after the last day of the

month following the due date;

29% penalty assessed after the last day of the

second month following the due date.

Total Amount Due — Subtotal plus Penalty equals Total
Amount Due. Make check payable to: Department of
Revenue. (If the tax due minus the EARR credit is less
than $50, send the return without payment.)

Signature and Telephone Number — Sign your name, print
your name. Enter your daytime telephone number with area
code. Enter the date. Enter your Email address (optional).

For tax assistance or to request this document in an alternate format, please call 360-534-1324. Teletype (TTY) users may use the Washington Relay

Service by calling 711.

Internet/Fax (02/13/23)
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