AIRCRAFT EXCISE TAX
Chapter 82.48 RCW

Tax Base Aircraft used within the state. Because of the exemption of interstate
commercial aircraft, the tax applies mainly to private owners of small planes
used for personal or business purposes.

Tax Rate The tax consists of an annual fee based on the type of aircraft:
Single engine, fiXed WiNG........cccovururreieiinnirnsieenns $50
Small multi-engine, fixed WiNg ........ccccvverniereinennns 65
Large multi-engine, fixed Wing........c.cccoeereivrerernennnn. 80
Turboprop multi-engine, fixed Wing............ccococevnnnee 100
Turbojet multi-engine, fixed Wing.........c.coceovvveiinnnes 125
HEIICOPLENS. ... 75
Sailplanes, lighter-than-air, home-built ..................... 20

Levied by State

Recent Collections ($000)

% of All
Calendar Year Collections % Change State Taxes

2009 $285 (0.2)% 0.0%
2008 286 0.7 0.0
2007 284 0.5 0.0
2006 282 0.9 0.0
2005 280 0.2) 0.0
2004 280 1.1 0.0
2003 277 23.8 0.0
2002 223 (0.4) 0.0
2001 224 (1.2 0.0
2000 227 (1.3 0.0

Distribution of Receipts

90% state general fund
10% aeronautics account
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Administration

Department of Transportation. Every aircraft must be registered for each calendar year in
which it is operated within the state. The tax is collected by the Aviation Division of DOT
when the aircraft is first registered and is subsequently paid annually during January of each
year. Possession of the appropriate effective federal certificate, permit, rating, or license
relating to the ownership and airworthiness of the aircraft are requisites for registration of an
aircraft. The Department of Revenue is authorized to collect unpaid aircraft excise tax per
RCW 82.48.020.

Exemptions

- aircraft owned and used exclusively by any governmental entity;

- aircraft registered in other countries;

- aircraft owned by nonresidents, if located in Washington for less than 90 days;

- commercial aircraft principally used in interstate or foreign commerce;

- aircraft used by the manufacturer for testing, experimental, and training purposes;

- aircraft held for sale by dealers;

- aircraft that are not in an airworthy and flyable condition;

- refund for any excessive tax paid;

- aircraft owned by nonresidents kept at a Washington airport that is jointly owned by
governmental entities from this state and other states, and the owner or operator has
paid all taxes, licenses, and registration fees required by the state in which the owner
or operator resides.

History

The tax was established in 1949 with a rate of 1 percent of fair market value. Previously,
aircraft were subject to personal property tax. In 1967, the tax was changed from a
percentage of fair market value to a flat fee of $15 for single engine planes and $25 for
multi-engine planes. In 1983, the current schedule of rates was adopted.

Discussion/Major Issues

Approximately 5,950 aircraft are currently registered and pay the annual excise tax.

The tax is levied in lieu of personal property tax. Thus, there is greater uniformity of tax
burden for owners throughout the state than might be the case under the property tax.
However, the receipts of the tax are not distributed to local taxing districts, and the amount
of tax paid does not equal the amount that would be due under the property tax, if aircraft
were assessed on the basis of fair market value.
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