Revenue links South Prairie to Pierce County’s preferred licensing solution

OLYMPIA, Wash. – July 22, 2021 – The town of South Prairie is the newest local partner of the Department of Revenue’s Business Licensing Service (BLS). BLS streamlines application and renewal processes for hundreds of different state and local licenses using the same secure portal that facilitates state tax reporting.

Commerce in South Prairie is now linked to 20 Pierce County communities, from the Tacoma Narrows to the Mount Rainier foothills. The cities of Auburn and Pacific, both straddling the King-Pierce county line, will join BLS in 2022. More than 925,000 residents live in Pierce County making it Washington’s second-most populous county and a significant driver of the Evergreen State’s economy.

BLS offers free local licensing administration support to nearly 180 Washington cities and towns. Find the list of all BLS partners on the City license endorsements page.

# # #

The Department of Revenue is Washington state’s primary tax agency, nationally recognized for innovation and quality customer service. Revenue administers nearly 60 categories of taxes that help fund education, social services, health care, corrections, public safety, natural resource conservation and other important services Washington residents count on.