Lakewood is newest partner in state’s combined licensing service

OLYMPIA, WASH. – June 7, 2018 – Today, the Department of Revenue announced that Lakewood is the newest community to join the state’s combined licensing service.

The Pierce County city of 60,000, with about 5,000 businesses, is one of 15 Pierce County communities to join the one-stop licensing service. BLS partner communities support local businesses by simplifying license applications, renewals, and payments.

Lakewood businesses may register with state agencies and up to 77 cities in a single transaction to save time, effort, and money. In the coming months, more than 20 South Sound cities in Mason, Pierce, and Thurston counties will connect through BLS. By early 2019, more cities, including Orting, Shelton and Yelm, will join this service.

Revenue manages one of the few systems nationwide allowing businesses to simultaneously register with state agencies and cities in a single transaction. Learn more about BLS at, including the complete list of partner cities.

# # #

The Department of Revenue is Washington state’s primary tax agency, nationally recognized for innovation and quality customer service. Revenue administers nearly 60 categories of taxes that help fund education, social services, health care, corrections, public safety, natural resource conservation and other important services Washington residents count on.