Cigarette, Tobacco, and Vapor

If Cigarette Retailer, Tobacco Product Retailer, and Vapor Product Retailer endorsements are all applied for at the same time and business location, the endorsement fees will be $250.00.

Cigarette endorsements

Cigarette Retailer
$175

Required for each location where cigarettes are sold at retail.

Note: To sell other tobacco products besides cigarettes, a Tobacco Products Retailer endorsement is also required.

Cigarette Vending Machine
$30

Required for each machine that dispenses cigarettes. The fee is charged per machine at each location.

Note: A Cigarette Retailer endorsement is also required. Vending machine stickers, issued by the Department of Revenue, are required for each machine.

Cigarette Wholesaler
Variable fee

Required for businesses that purchase, sell, or distribute cigarettes to retailers for resale. You must include a $5,000 surety bond required by the Department of Revenue with your application.

Note: To purchase, sell, or distribute other tobacco products besides cigarettes, you will also need a Tobacco Distributor endorsement.

 

State endorsement

Fee

Main location

$650

Each additional location (branch)

$115

Commercial Cigarette Making Machine
$93

Required for each location where one or more machines are provided to retail customers to produce 'roll your own' cigarettes.

Note: Cigarette Retailer and Tobacco Products Retailer endorsements are also required.

Required tax stamps

After your endorsement has been approved you must purchase and attach ‘roll your own’ cigarette tax stamps for the cigarettes produced through the cigarette making machine. Contact the Department of Revenue for information on obtaining the tax stamps at 360-705-6219.

Tobacco endorsements

Tobacco Distributor
Variable fee

Required for businesses that purchase, sell, or distribute tobacco products other than cigarettes to retailers for resale.

 

State endorsement

Fee

Main location

$650

Each additional location (branch)

$115

Note: The fee is waived if you are also applying for or already have a Cigarette Wholesaler endorsement.

Tobacco Products Retailer
$175

Required for each location at which tobacco products other than cigarettes are sold at retail.

Note: The fee is waived if you are also applying for or already have a Cigarette Retailer License at same business location.

Vapor endorsements

Vapor Product Delivery Sales
$250

For vapor products, the business location cannot be a residence per WAC 314-35-020 (4).

Required for each location of a business, regardless whether located inside or outside Washington, where retail sales orders for vapor products are taken from Washington consumers by telephone or other voice transmissions, mail or other delivery services, the internet or other online services, or from which vapor products are delivered to Washington consumers by use of the mails or other delivery services.

Vapor Product Distributor
Variable fee

For vapor products, the business location cannot be a residence per WAC 314-35-020 (4).

Required for each location of a business that purchases vapor products and conducts wholesale sales or distribution to vapor product retailers for resale to consumers.

 

State endorsement

Fee

Main location

$150

Each additional location (branch)

$100

Vapor Product Retailer
$175

For vapor products, the business location cannot be a residence per WAC 314-35-020 (4).

Required for each location of a business where vapor products are sold at retail to consumers.

Note: To obtain a Vapor Product Retailer endorsement, you must have a physical location in Washington state.


Licensing requirements and additional supporting documents

  • Business License Application.
  • Along with your Business License Application, a separate Personal/Criminal History Statement must be submitted for each of the following:
    • Sole Proprietor and spouse.
    • Corporate officers.
    • Partners and spouses.
    • Limited Partners who hold more than 10% interest in the business.
    • Financiers.
    • Limited Liability Company members or managers.
    • Stockholders that hold 10% of the issued stock.

Send the completed Personal/Criminal History Statement to the Liquor and Cannabis Board by email, CHRI@lcb.wa.gov or fax, 360-704-5054.

Additional fees

State tax registration $0
Registering your business name as a trade name $5
Business License Application fee Variable fee

How to apply

Online

Add a state endorsement to your business

Apply for a new business license

Online assistance
Setting up your business licensing and tax account
How to add a state endorsement

By mail

Complete the licensing requirements above and mail to:

Business Licensing Service
P.O. Box 9034
Olympia, WA 98507-9034